Cargo • Better-Than-Waterproof Black • Mascara

rated 3.6(30 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snowshoe73 on 5/17/2014 12:56:00 PM more reviews by snowshoe73

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

It definitely is better than waterproof: apply it and nothing short of jumping into a pool will take it off. Even after submersion, it is still notoriously difficult to remove: I have to hold a soaked washcloth to my eyes for a minute and then rub (I know) before it starts coming off. Unfortunately it doesn't come off in neat little tubes like Blinc or even L'Oreal: it crumbles off and is actually kind of a mess.

The formula doesn't do anything drastic in terms of volume and length. It's a heavy, gluey formula but nowhere as bad as Too Faced's Lash Injection. But still, it requires combing between coats if you want to have any lash separation.

One annoying feature it has is the brush. It's not an exceptionally large brush, but for some reason it is very prone to landing on eye surfaces other than the lash. If this happens, clean it up fast with a wet Q-tip because once it sets it's not going anywhere.

It's not a horrible product, but honestly, it's not great enough for me to want to repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 spacebabe4 on 11/21/2013 2:49:00 PM more reviews by spacebabe4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this mascara. I wear it every day. All mascaras runs on me, but this stuff is like glue. Yet when I wash my face at night it just disappears. Lancome Definicils is another I have tried, but it doesn't give the same volume and drama as Cargo. You can layer this over any other mascara and make it better than waterproof too! It does get flaky once it is a few months old. Totally worth the 20 bucks. I actually found it through a Citi credit card deal for 11 dollars. Sweet!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erincollard on 4/5/2013 3:32:00 PM more reviews by erincollard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this mascara at Ulta and found it was the only mascara I'd purchased that didn't smudge or give me raccoon eyes. I returned it, however, because I hadn't used tubing mascara before and thought I was pulling out my eyelashes.

I'm using the Clinique smudgeproof now and it's pretty good but I think I'll repurchase now that I've read the reviews and I understand how it works. It might just be worth the mess when you remove it. I wish Cargo had given better instructions on the packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 perfectionism on 11/20/2012 3:07:00 PM more reviews by perfectionism

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Finally - no smudges! It definitely doesn't remove quite the same as other tubing mascaras and tends to break off in pieces instead, but there's minimal tugging involved and my lashes are quite happy. I switched to this from MUFE aqua smoky lash (not tubing) which was a huge pain to take off! I get nice length and volume from this drier formula but could use a little more drama for a special event. I'm very pleased with it as an everyday mascara, but I do find that I need 2-3 coats to make my lashes look lush :) I love the tapered wand, too! I do find flakes very rarely with this mascara and wear this to the gym often.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SwampThing on 9/2/2012 5:51:00 PM more reviews by SwampThing

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is pretty much the only mascara I use now. I LOVE it. I already have very long eyelashes, and this mascara just makes them insane. People actually ask me if I'm wearing fake lashes. I also live where it is very humid, and not once has this rubbed off, flaked, or smudged AT ALL. It is not too hard to get off with a good makeup remover or good soap.....and it is always weird seeing fibers running down your face- but otherwise, no complaints! My holy grail of mascaras.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilly116 on 7/22/2012 5:40:00 PM more reviews by lilly116

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am a fan of tubing mascaras because every mascara, even waterproof, WILL smudge on me (unless I use a combination of a primer such as Origins or Clinique under or Clarins Mascara Fix --great product which I have also reviewed-- over, which adds a lot of extra cost and an extra step). If you don't have that problem, I'm sure you could find a mascara that delivers similar results that is cheaper.

That being said, I think this is my favorite tubing mascara out of Clinique High impact Curling (my last favorite -- which flaked a little and was more volumizing than lengthening IMO), Two Faced Lash Injection pinpoint (not enough impact) Lash Injection (flaked a LOT) and Blinc Kiss Me (also not enough impact, but the easiest to remove).

As has been noted, this does not come off in tubes, but if you thoroughly WET with warm water and splash (I kind of hold my lashes gently so the water soaks them) it does comes off without a separate remover, although it is more in pieces.

I got a small sample tube at Ulta which was not at all dry, so if it dries out quickly that would affect my decision to repurchase.

The reasons I liked this one the best was because you could build it some -- do one eye, do the other, and come back and add another coat to the first eye -- which you CANNOT do with most tubing mascaras. Also, as someone else noted -- this works better if you just comb it through without wiggling the brush (wiggling made it clump on me). This allows for IMO a nicely lengthened, slightly thickened, nicely defined lash with no clumping.

I generally prefer a lengthening mascara to a volumizing one, as my lashes are short. It is definitely enough for me for everyday, and even for evening with a heavier liner. It also does not flake and most importantly for me does not smudge, even on bottom lashes. I can't testify that it is waterproof since I haven't tried that yet.

I am not thrilled that for $20 it is more than the Clinique, but I like the lengthened and defined look it gives me better. It also holds my curl (although the Clinique does that too) and it leaves my lashes soft. What more could you ask? : )

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mehays on 6/5/2012 6:49:00 PM more reviews by mehays

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Best mascara I've found for not smearing on hot summer days by the pool. It does clump alot though. I got it in a mini and usually wipe some off before I apply it to prevent clumping on lashes, This probably wastes a lot, so I wouldn't use it as everyday mascara. No problem removing with DHC cleansing oil

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vaigai on 5/31/2012 11:43:00 AM more reviews by vaigai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is awesome! I got a sample-size in a luxebox and at first, I wasn't too enthused about the 'tubes' concept. I have fairly long and thick eyelashes and I hate wearing non-clear mascara because it looks clumpy and gross on me and doesn't do much.

This stuff though.. amazing. It subtly thickens and lengthens my lashes - they look dramatic and beautiful like falsies - but NO CLUMPS. This formula is super smooth and the brush doesn't look like anything special, but it works.

My only complaint with this mascara is that I don't actually notice the "tube" effect - it comes off in little.. speckles.. which can be irritating to my eyes. And it takes a TON of effort to get this off (which is good..ish..). It is definitely "better" than waterproof. I'm not sure how much it costs full size or in store, but when this runs out.. I will definitely repurchase unless it is crazy expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarlaN on 4/22/2012 6:04:00 PM more reviews by CarlaN

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like this mascara!

I fell in love with "tubing" mascara after trying MAC Optimum Black, because I found this kind of formula to wear wonderfully on contact-lens-wearing, oily-skinned me. Earlier this year, though, I quit buying MAC, and all other Estee Lauder brands, when EL started contracting for animal testing.

The hunt was on for a tubing mascara from a cruelty-free company. I tried a mascara by Trish McEvoy, and it was way too clumpy. Then it was Too Faced Lash Injection, which gave me "raccoon eyes" in short order. Enter Cargo Better-Than-Waterproof.

It's true that Better-Than-Waterproof does not add a lot of volume, but I'm more interested in length than volume, anyhow, and this mascara lengthens nicely, is a good deep black, is not at all clumpy, and it STAYS ON. I do notice a few flakes by the end of the day, after a nap, but nothing that can't be easily swept off with a tissue. At $20, Better-Than-Waterproof is on the pricey side, but I don't mind paying more for cruelty-free.

I haven't been using Better-Than-Waterproof for very long, and if my opinion changes, I'll update this review, but so far, it's looking good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sbiringer on 12/21/2011 7:42:00 AM more reviews by sbiringer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I stumbled upon this almost a year ago at the checkout counter at Ulta. I bought the mini size and absolutely love it! So far, this is the only mascara that will not run or give me raccoon eyes.I have been caught in the rain and sat in 90+ degree humid weather and have not had one problem with this. I will continue to buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cargo products

More Mascara products