Pantene • Moisture Renewal Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.2(116 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 Floca on 3/9/2014 4:55:00 AM more reviews by Floca

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Just no. It has silicone (in the form of dimethicone) combined with chloride compounds. It makes the silicone layer on your hair relentlessly. In the end, it sucks up the moisture of the hair shaft causing extreme dryness. How this works for anyone is mind boggling. It will give a very nice sleek feel to the hair when wet, but it lets all the water to evaporate leaving nothing behind. The hair ends up feeling like straw/plastic-y.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hellen0mia on 1/19/2014 1:12:00 AM more reviews by hellen0mia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This made my hair SO DRY! Waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 onmybehalf on 12/8/2013 10:14:00 PM more reviews by onmybehalf

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I, too, am surprised by so many negative reviews. I've used Pantene products in the past without experiencing this seemingly common buildup around the roots. I had a coupon/caught a sale (can't remember which) offering a buy one get one free on Pantene shampoo and conditioners. As my hair is long, thick, and kind of coarse, I chose the Moisture Renewal shampoo and conditioner. It smells nice and lathers up well. It may dry out my hair more than other shampoos do, but the conditioner balances it out so much that I don't notice. All in all, I'd say this is a great product. My hair is shiny, bouncy, and silky when it dries after using this shampoo and its accompanying conditioner, but again, I don't know how much of the after effects are because of the shampoo alone, the conditioner alone, or the two together.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LenaOfDC on 11/25/2013 8:21:00 AM more reviews by LenaOfDC

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Is this product a joke? Left a heavy wax residue on the top portion of my hair no matter how much I rinsed. Have no idea how this is on shelves.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 christinaisawesome on 8/20/2013 5:16:00 PM more reviews by christinaisawesome

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This would work for children 8-10 but once you hit puberty and your hair kind of changes, this isnt the shampoo for you. I am a tween, and I used a biolage shampoo and conditioner for about a week and then I used this shampoo and conditioner for a week. I noticed a very big difference. I am never going to buy Pantene again. If you are a teen, dont use this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 leemitchell on 8/8/2013 1:34:00 PM more reviews by leemitchell

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, Pantene does not leave waxy residue on your hair. There are a lot of myths and lies about Pantene, but it's a classic product. Consider this: there is a reason for its longevity.

I use this shampoo along with the matching conditioner. This shampoo is just OK. It's not good or bad, and I would purchase another bottle with it. It's not too drying, but the truth is, shampoo DOES dry out your hair. If you have dry hair, don't shampoo it very often. Use shampoo once a week to clear out product buildup. Otherwise, just stick to using conditioner.

Some people have qualms about silicones, but my hair loves 'em. I don't have major buildup issues, but I like the clean feeling that I get from using this product, and it works fine for my twice weekly shampoos to remove hairspray or other styling products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lizzy119 on 7/10/2013 2:26:00 PM more reviews by Lizzy119

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I know your not suppose to use hydrating shampoos because they leave residue on your scalp but I can't help it I have dry hair! Usually though If the shampoo is decent and I use a clarifying shampoo twice a month then I have no problem. However this stuff just sucks! From the moment I washed it out, my hair felt heavy and weighed down. The second time I used it I rewashed my hair within minutes because it just felt dirty and gross! I rarely waste products but this headed straight for the trash can!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pinksexyhair on 6/28/2013 12:48:00 AM more reviews by pinksexyhair

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

No no no. Just no. My roots were stiff with a waxy build up after just one use. I get this result from every single Pantene shampoo with the pearlescent formula. I suggest the Pantene Aqua Light shampoo, it's a clear formula and doesn't leave any build up behind.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Squelzy on 6/3/2013 8:02:00 PM more reviews by Squelzy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this Pantene shampoo because it said "moisture renewal" - however, it did the complete opposite, and dried it to the extreme! The texture was nice and creamy, and so it boded promising, but then I looked at the ingredient list: Sodium Laurel Sulfate reared its ugly head. This did not sound good for my super dry hair, but I decided to try it any way.
I applied the shampoo, and it went on with some difficulty, and felt "waxy" and kind of odd. I washed it off, and it left a sticky residue while not feeling moisturising at all!
When my hair air dried it was left feeling straw-like yet still uncleansed and dirty at the same time.... oh dear!!!
Will not buy this product again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shampooaholic on 5/11/2013 4:50:00 PM more reviews by Shampooaholic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This shampoo left my fine hair dry and crunchy! It felt like a crispy birds nest. The damage was so bad I had to get 2 inches cut off...and the damage is still there! Good for people who have oil scalp and hair. The only good thing about it is the smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pantene products

More Shampoo products