MAC • Naughty Nauticals - Port Red [DISCONTINUED] • Lipstick

rated 4.8(36 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 10/28/2011 12:34:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Wet N Wild makes a lipstick VERY SIMILAR to this Hot Read 519A, both are HG for me : )

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sushiomelette on 8/10/2011 9:40:00 PM more reviews by sushiomelette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Holy crap this red is awesome. I've worn it all day (8 hours plus) and it's still there! I had to reapply at lunch once and after I ate a soda, but not once has it bled. MAC needs to re-release this so I can buy several more. It has this beautiful frost finish that isn't entirely drying. I kinda find it similar to MAC's Prolongwear in Prolong, but I find that can even bleed. MAC please bring back Port Red!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 spacedoll on 2/21/2011 7:28:00 PM more reviews by spacedoll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I will preface this review by saying that I do not generally like to wear frost finish lipsticks, and although I own a number of red lipsticks, my lipsticks of choice are almost always nudes and neutrals. So imagine my surprise when I picked up Port Red from the Naughty Nauticals 2008 release on a whim and fell in love!
I think this is a fantastic red to try if you're a little nervous about taking the plunge into the world of bright red lips. Although it can be applied to have a rather vibrant, opaque finish, you can also use it more tentatively for an equally effective look.
For reference, I'm a pale girl who wears MUFE HD 115/MAC NC 15 (although the latter is not perfect for me, it's just my closest MAC match). Port Red has a fabulous golden shimmer throughout which is more noticeable with a stronger application. It gives it a very unique and versatile look. It works well with a neutral eye, but I also think I'd be brave enough to try it with a soft charcoal smoky eye, too. Despite the description of it being yellow and warm, I find it pulls a little cool on me, but I like that as I often find warmer reds with strong orange tones don't quite work on me.
Unfortunately it was limited edition, so finding one is becoming more and more difficult. I bought a back up as it's likely I will use more than one tube. I use this in both winter and summer despite the colour initially looking to me like more of a winter shade. It's a fabulous shade to pair with a Christmas party dress! I have to say that this is the only red shade I wear and feel truly confident in. It is long lasting and doesn't tend to bleed badly, so I don't stress about constant touch ups, and despite the finish I don't find it the least bit drying on my lips. My HG red, for certain.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mandibulo on 10/29/2010 9:22:00 PM more reviews by Mandibulo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very unique color. A warm, frosty, vibrant red. Unfortunately, two don'ts in one tube for me: The warmth (aka more on the orangey than the pinky side) and the frost. A simple cool matte red already looks on the verge of exaggeration on me, let alone a frosty one. I just wore it once for a night out in Manhattan, with a little black dress and pearls - the drill. It didn't look bad, but probably what really made me pull it off was the whole vibe of the city rather than genuine bravery. Looks quite luxurious, I do find it an awesome color in the bullet case, just not on myself. I've seen it compliment tan-medium skintones beautifully, I just happen to think it's a bit too much for pale ladies. Then again, it's up to everybody's personal preferences. Would recommend for dramatic looks, but wouldn't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfelettem on 10/12/2009 9:29:00 AM more reviews by elfelettem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I love red lipsticks, but usually find I'm a bit lazy to make the proper commitment re: maintenance. So they tend to be saved for special occasions.

Port Red is extremely wearable. I love the finish, and this works well blotted as a stain, lightly applied or more heavily applied (gets slightly metallic sheen due to gold shimmer which otherwise isn't noticeable on my lips).

This doesn't dry my lips, wears well without migrating and surprisingly if I haven't reapplied all day will end up fading evenly so it looks like a stain rather than me being lazy. This is an extremely beautiful colour and, I think, quite unique. I hope it gets re-released. I would repurchase in a heartbeat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PopHarlot on 8/30/2009 9:37:00 AM more reviews by PopHarlot

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this on Ebay after reading all the positive reviews an here and can categorically say I think it's the best red MAC ever made - and I'm on the downhill run to 40, so I've had many years to check out red lipsticks. As a reviewer notes below I think this would work for many skin tones. As another reviewer notes the closest colour in MACs 'normal' range is Ruby Woo - imagine a metallic, slightly softer version of that and you get Port Red. Really stunning. I bought a couple of back ups on Ebay after my first wear! Fortunately MAC lipsticks last for years, so I reckon I'll get to use them.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 illini2008 on 7/24/2009 10:15:00 AM more reviews by illini2008

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i managed to finally buy this lipstick off someone and it was love at first sight when i applied it. I'm of a really complex coloring, to a point where i shun buying foundations because i can never get a good match. The closest i'm come to is a C40 in mac, MUFE 34 and Armani LSF 6.5. This lipstick is the only red lipstick that actually looks good on me. I've tried all the famous mac red lippies- russian red, dubbonnet, red, etc, but they all came off as garish on my full lips. This has tiny flecks of gold that makes this lipstick look slightly shiny and sleek on my lips. It's also very comfortable, not drying at all. In all, it's very very pretty! I highly recommend this to all girls out there who have had problems finding their perfect red. Give this a try, you will not regret it :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dmaried81 on 5/13/2009 10:51:00 PM more reviews by dmaried81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I wish I could buy this again but it was limited edition. The color is so vibrant. It is in my opinion THE perfect red. Looks great if you want to do that pinup girl look. The lipstick glides on so smoothly. And I love that there's a bit of a metallic look to it which looks great in the light. MAC needs to bring this color back! Cause I want another one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* juicycouture on 4/26/2009 8:50:00 PM more reviews by juicycouture

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

the only red lipstick i have, or will ever need. a shimmery pure red reminiscent of dorthy's red slippers, an absolute beauty. i tried this on when i was in the mac store on whim and was actually quite surprised by how good it looked. this was the 1st red l/s i ever owned. up until then i was afraid of wearing red l/s. now i'm a bit older and wiser, i figure every woman should have 1 red lippie in her arsenal. before leaving the store i topped it off with love alert dazzleglass and proceeded to the rest of my shopping. i got soooo much attention from guys, it was ridiculous. who would have though a red lip had so much power. lol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 muffinphonic on 3/6/2009 8:19:00 PM more reviews by muffinphonic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Frosty lipsticks usually scare me a bit - they remind me of older ladies. However, the vibrant colour of Port Red counters this awful thought of mine. Most red lipsticks go pink on me (light yellow toned asian skin) but this one doesn't seem to.

It goes on as it should do - a rich ruby red which is slightly metallic but not so much that you look like a fembot. It lasted through a meal for me, so great lasting power too. It is quite dry though so lipbalm underneath is recommended, but its a shame it is limited edition because it is truly beautiful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products