Ecotools Powder Brush

4.5

264 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Brushhhhh :]


on 8/25/2015 11:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've been a brush snob in the past and only preferred higher-end brands. However over the past year I've come to the conclusion - drugstore brands can compete with my beloved $$$$$ favorites.

Ecotools is often recommended for women looking for a quality brush on a budget. And to be honest, I've tried most of the line. There HAVE been some flops along the way. But this powder brush is pretty damn decent. It's "fluffy" enough for me to apply my setting powder. I need a "fluffy" brush because it gives a less cakey finish.

If you are looking for more coverage, go with Ecotools blush brush instead.... the blush brush is more densely packed (meaning less fluffy). You can use it to apply powder more intensely. I go for a lighter setting powder finish because my liquid foundation itself is very thick. Too much foundation + too much setting powder = cakeface.

I haven't really seen any bristle strands falling out, so that's good. It drove me nuts after one of my NARs powder brushes started shedding on me during every application.

I will repurchase.



on 6/17/2015 8:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This has quickly become my favourite face brush. I was dubious of the horizontally tapered shape of the brush itself, but I've found that the shape makes it an excellent multipurpose tool. I use it for mineral foundation and it gives a beautiful natural coverage that more dense powder brushes haven't given me. The slightly pointed end is amazing for sweeping blush up the cheekbones and blending everything together. I've used the highly lauded Real Techniques powder brush but I prefer the design of this one, the feel of the brush on my face and the results it gives me. Honestly the best powder brush I've ever used.


on 6/14/2015 12:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am very torn in my review... I have been using this brush for maybe a little over 2 years now. I have the bronze design but it was when it first came out. It was great and had a lot of bristles and very fluffy. I recently tried to replace it because I noticed it's starting to feel a little scratchy but the replacement felt so flimsy, way too soft to pick up product, and not enough bristles. I'm really sad because I'm going to have to find another powder brush. I like Real Techniques one, but I prefer to have another main powder brush I like, or a couple but I haven't found anymore that I like (that are under $20 that is)

I've tried Elf's complexion brush but the handle became loose after a few months but I think it's a little better for the money/value. I think the "pinched" or "tapered" brushes are not best for someone like me who is wanted to pack powder on to get a nice coverage. If you're just lightly setting, then these are better I think.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After I got this out of the package, I knew this wasn't so great. I've used it now for a year, but feel like its a mediocre product for what I need. It's good for dusting powder, but for good for pressing the powder to the skin. Also, after a year the bristles have warped, to which none of my other Ecotools or high end brushes have done. I love Ecotools just not this brush.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My all time favorite powder brush! I've been consistently using it for about 4 years now. I love how soft it feels on my face. The bristles are thick so it picks up the perfect amount of powder and blends it in perfectly. I've washed it several times and it still holds up perfectly. I haven't noticed any shedding. For the price (in a pack of 4 brushes $5.00), it is a great brush. It is a great compact size so I also use it frequently while traveling.


on 1/3/2015 12:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I absolutely love this brush for powder foundation application. I occasionally use it to apply blush, but I much prefer to use it to apply loose powder to my face to set my makeup. This brush is fluffy and soft and easy to clean. Excellent quality.


on 12/14/2014 7:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this brush 4 long years ago... and it's still going strong! The bristles are still soft and still great at applying powder. I wash it with Dawn dish detergent, the one for soft hands.

Yes,this brush doesn't pick up enough product, but he reason why I prefer this brush is because I tend to over-apply powder anyway so this is actually a pro for me. I use this brush 6 days a week, and I apply powder to my t-zone with this by kinda squishing the bristles together to get the most concentrated application. And then powder all over, lightly dusting it everywhere. This is a staple for me. I wash it every week, and it's just perfect.

I have tried other brushes but this is my favorite for applying powder, and also for blending out my blush. Works like a dream!! This is better for me than the E.L.F. powder brush, and the Ecotools bronzer brush. Those both apply too much powder and take too long for me to do my whole face.

It's HG for me. I'm completely satisfied for once, and not even trying to look for other powder brushes. If mine breaks, I would just buy another Ecotools.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/13/2014 12:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Way to skinny, no enough bristles


on 11/14/2014 6:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this brush! It's extremely soft and picks up a lot less product than my older brush--I didn't realize how much I was wasting until I got this. The new design is flatter but I find it's great for sweeping on powder as opposed to buffing in product. I think it looks beautiful and I would purchase it again. I have had it for a few weeks and I haven't noticed a single shed bristle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/8/2014 1:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

DISCLAIMER: This review is for the original brush design: the one with the thicker handle and silver aluminum ferrule. I don't have any experience with the updated design (thinner handle, bronze ferrule) and am not sure how it compares.

I love this brush so much that I bought two for me and one for both my mom and sister! It's so, so silky soft and fluffy, it almost feels luxurious on the face! The Powder Brush also lives up very well to it's name; powder goes on very evenly and easily. I use this every day and have only had great experiences.

Pros:
* perfect size for powder application (loose and pressed)
* easy to use
* good feel in the hand
* so, so very soft
* long-lasting (through many washes and daily spot cleaning)
* price is great!

Cons:
* original design might not be available anymore
* needs to be cleaned regularly to avoid powder build-up




Top Rated Ecotools Products

Back to Top