Alba Botanica • Un-petroleum Multi-Purpose Jelly • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.6(77 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 toohautetohandle on 8/5/2014 12:01:00 AM more reviews by toohautetohandle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this hoping it would be a versatile alternative to petroleum jelly. I'm not opposed to using petroleum jelly but I try to use natural products if I can/they meet expectations, but I'm not thrilled with this. I didn't find it as moisturizing as I had hoped and didn't feel like it really sunk into my skin completely.
Like other users have said, the consistency is more liquidy than vaseline. This also has a kind of nutty scent. Neither of those things bother me but I thought I'd mention them in case you're sensitive to scents.
Some natural product advocates try to make it sound like all natural products are better for you than anything synthetic. As a biologist this drives me crazy. As much as I love natural products that are good for you, the idea that all natural products are good is not true. There are plenty of things in nature that are harmful, and plenty of natural topical ointments that people with sensitive skin will react to.
That being said, something in this bothered the skin on my face and around my eyes. I'm pretty sure it was the castor oil, as this contains more castor oil than anything else. I tried it as an overnight eye treatment for a while and would wake up with red and really itchy eyes so I've stopped using it on my face completely. Petroleum jelly has never bothered my eyes like that and I'm back to using that or vitamin e oil as my eye treatment.
All in all, mehh. It's a more natural alternative to petroleum jelly. It's decent but it's overhyped. I'll use up the bottle I have (on my hands and feet) but I won't repurchase. People with sensitive skin, be careful when using it on your face!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amyhuskiewicz on 4/8/2014 9:41:00 AM more reviews by amyhuskiewicz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have nothing against petroleum products but I like this for what it is - an oil-based, thick, occlusive, ointment-type product that protects and moisturizes. The scent is minimal. It does "sink in" to my skin a bit more than petroleum jelly rather than just sitting on top. It is great for chapped and irritated areas. A bonus for me is that a bit of it in my hair acts as a deep conditioner and gives me surfer-girl waves (the kind you get with coconut oil!).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 1/16/2014 12:24:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great petroleum-free alternative to Vaseline and Aquaphor. You can use it in a ton of different ways (pretty much any way you'd use Vaseline) but right now I use it mainly on my lips before bed. I also gave tubes of this to my sister for her eczema, and to my friend to use on her baby/herself. Packaging isn't great because it can be hard to squeeze out of the tube at times, but this is a new staple that will come in handy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marisaew1 on 12/26/2013 5:19:00 PM more reviews by marisaew1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this. I try to use all natural and this fits the bill. Moisturizes lips well, but I really love it for hands at night with some little cotton gloves to sleep in. Although fiance makes fun of me -- mickey mouse, michael jackson, etc -- it's worth it! Baby soft hands.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmherman on 12/15/2013 3:16:00 AM more reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Nice alternative to petroleum jelly. It feels the same and works in the same manner. It is greasy, but so is petroleum jelly. It is wonderful for my horribly abused winter hands. I work at a pottery store and am a nursing student....all which adds up to washing my hands a lot. I have some really good lotions I like to use, but I'm really terrible about putting lotion on and usually I end up having to put some sort of thick ointment type product on to relieve the painfully dry skin.


I have seen reviews for this product continuously pop up on MUA, but I was never able to find it. I found it tonight while walking around the local Hyvee so I had to pick it up. I'm a product junky and even though I had a perfectly good tub of Vaseline with me, that I had no "moral" qualms against using, I had to pick this up. The product comes out of the tube nicely and applies very easily. It gave me instant relief and even works well on my lips. It appears you can do just about anything with this product that you would with Vaseline or Eucerin Aquafor. I am personally a big fan of Eucerin Aquafor and I would say this product is definitely comparable to Eucerin in consistency more so than Vaseline. It is slightly less "goopy" than Vaseline, which I don't mind. I think if you are a fan of either products you would enjoy this one, especially if you are looking for a more natural product.


That being said about the only thing I don't care for about this product is the smell. It reminds me of shea butter and by gosh I'm just not a fan of the smell of shea butter. From what I can see there is no shea butter in this product, but it really smells like there is. I'm sure for a lot of people this isn't a big deal...and for me it really isn't either because I didn't mark the product down for it. It just has a smell that distinguishes it from the other products mentions. That complaint aside I really enjoy this product and I'm glad I checked it out. :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Espressophia on 12/2/2013 12:30:00 PM more reviews by Espressophia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is pretty great. I used to use regular ol' Vaseline on my lips, around my eyes and on my lashes at night after a heavy moisturizer to help lock in the hydration (with awesome results!). However, in my quest to ditch any unnatural skincare products I found Alba Botanica Un-petroleum Jelly in the beauty section of Sprouts Market and immediately had to try it. It's a good substitute-- the consistency is comparable in viscosity, although the texture is a little off, it's got a slightly grainy texture that takes some getting used to. It also has an oily smell to it (to be expected, considering this product is castor oil-based)-- not awful, but definitely different considering Vaseline is odorless And I don't like using this on my lips because it has a weird taste too. But all in all it's a good swap if you're looking for a natural substitute to regular petroleum jelly. I will keep using this because that's something that matters to me... I just need to find something else for my lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xenobia1968 on 11/18/2013 6:31:00 PM more reviews by xenobia1968

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The people responsible for creating this are genious! I use it for everything from my face to my granddaughter's butt lol It's natural and better than Vaseline! LOVE!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yoyocanary on 8/8/2013 10:27:00 AM more reviews by yoyocanary

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is awesome, and it works for Everything! I have used it in the winter for dry skin on my face, and I bought a separate tube to use for my feet, and it works wonders. It also helps with severely chapped lips like nothing else. It has never caused me any issues with my skin, even on my face. It moisturizes well, and it absorbs fairly quickly considering that it's mostly oils. It is a lovely product, and I wish it were more readily available in stores (I always have to order it online). I repurchase, and I recommend.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kmichael on 7/1/2013 12:36:00 AM more reviews by kmichael

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this for so many things! It's the only product containing castor oil that doesn't dry me out terribly, so I use it on my eyelashes, on my face, and on my legs after shaving. My mom goes through about 2 tubes a month so I had to try - lo and behold, this is a fantastic multipurpose product and an excellent alternative for those of us who slather Vaseline/Aquaphor on everything. If your skin agrees with coconut products, this stuff is the best.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 htibbetts on 5/28/2013 7:11:00 PM more reviews by htibbetts

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried this out after reading makeup alley reviews touting it as a healthier alternative to vaseline. Not only does this absorb quickly (great for hands and cuticles) but after I rub it in to my hands, I smooth them over my dry, frizz-prone hair and it tames down any unruly strands without leaving my hair greasy.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alba Botanica products

More Lotions/ Creams products