TheBalm • Sexy Mama • Pressed Powders

rated 4.3(90 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 heatherbelleday on 9/10/2014 7:49:00 PM more reviews by heatherbelleday

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really love this stuff. I love the packaging and I think the price is reasonable. I carry it with me during the day and it is my touch-up powder with a mini kabuki brush. It doesn't oxidise on me, and doesn't appear to build up on my skin or look cakey. It just takes away the shine and makes my skin appear a little better! I will definitely repurchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yolanda71 on 7/28/2014 12:44:00 PM more reviews by yolanda71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product because of the genius packaging...
I use it as a setting powder after my liquid foundation. I use it under my eyes too.
It is a good powder but it does not last all day. It stays 4-5 hours in my combination/dry skin. It is a decent product but a bit pricey.
I will not buy it again because i want to try other setting powders.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aliciabanwell on 6/20/2014 10:21:00 PM more reviews by aliciabanwell

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this a few weeks ago in a package with the Bahama mama and hot mama for only 38.50! This powder really does keep your skin matte for a long time! The packaging is adorable and I like that it has a magnetized lid! After wearing this for a few days straight, I noticed a few more breakouts than normal... so I stopped wearing this and they cleared up. I was so upset to find out that this powder breaks me out, and apparently it happens to quite a few other people!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ad0 on 6/19/2014 4:33:00 AM more reviews by ad0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Here I go again.

I love TheBalm, I have NEVER been disappointed with their products.

This does what it does, it's a translucent anti-shine powder. I use it as setting powder after I've put on my liquid or cream foundation.
As always, it last's all day so I don't need to touch up throughout the day and that's a winning because I have combination skin and normally throughout the day my face is loaded with so much oil I can reflect light off my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 at77339 on 6/11/2014 8:06:00 PM more reviews by at77339

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know how to rate this powder. The oil control is good but it's oxidized on me, turned me into one of those oompah loompah within 15 min. I've been using tonymoly bcdation and wanted something to help with my shiny nose toward the end of the day, so after reading all the reviews I picked one up but :( I will give it another try when the weather is cooler to see if the weather is the cause because I never had makeup oxidize on me before. Weird!!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vivthai on 5/24/2014 12:47:00 PM more reviews by vivthai

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is truly an amazing product! I expected it to be ok but it is even better. it keeps me matte and does not look like I'm wearing anything. This is a nice product with A+ packaging. Its more like a setting powder over your bb cream/foundation/tm or concealer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lozzie88 on 5/21/2014 11:57:00 PM more reviews by lozzie88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great setting powder for every day without adding additional coverage (resulting in cake face). It's decent for oil control. The small rectangle shape of the pan is a pest getting a powder brush in it, would be better in a larger round pan (ie size of Mary lou) but it's all good I can overlook that

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupaddict6 on 3/23/2014 7:18:00 AM more reviews by makeupaddict6

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is my favorite blot powder!!! Its almost comparable to the MAC PRESSED BLOTTING POWDER but I have to admit TheBalm has a dryer/chalkier finish. I use this as a eyelid primer/base.I have somewhat oily eyelids so I use this before my eye shadow and my eye shadow stays there the entire day. I experience no creasing/fading whatsoever! Those with oily lids should give this a try as a eye shadow primer/base and I promise you your shadow will last the entire day! I have not used this powder on my face yet so I cannot really comment on that. But if this is able to work amazingly on OILY lids, what's more left to say? One compact can last me months despite using it every single day. I highly recommend you guys to give this a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Blondebeauty2 on 1/22/2014 2:57:00 AM more reviews by Blondebeauty2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was totally caught off guard by this brand to begin with.. I never in a million years thought that a company that invested this much time into cute & gimmicky packaging would turn out to be amazing! And it is seriously amazing!! This is one of my favorite products from the line. I use it to set my under-eye concealer and sometimes my whole face. It's a great translucent powder, that just has a hint of "off white or beige" to it. When applied to darker skin tones, I don't think it shows up unless u use a lot of it, but I'm not super sure. That's what I've heard.

I love the packaging! I love all of the cute risky names & pinup beauties on the covers. I also love that this is in a cardboard package & not some cheap bulky plastic package. It's small & slim, so it's great for storing or ur purse. I will continue to repurchase this & highly recommend it!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anera on 1/15/2014 1:53:00 PM more reviews by Anera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

For the first time in my life I didn't look like an oil slick after 8 hrs but looked like I applied foundation 2.5 hrs ago. I didn't feel ashamed by my "facial looks", was astonished when I looked myself in the mirror (my makeup stayed in place, no touch-ups in those 8 hrs) and self-conscious (hello!, I've got my make-up right in place).

EIGHT HOURS, PEOPLE!!

I've never bothered to write a review about this powder since it didn't have any effect on me, and I didn't want to downgrade it. For the first time I added these (*) steps:
- applied moisturizer for oily skin, Sans Soucis
- * applied Garnier 5 seconds primer
- applied Bobbi Brown Skin foundation
- *heavily applied MUFE HD powder (I usually applied it lightly, sparingly)
- * heavily applied TheBalm Sexy Mama powder on forhead and cheeks (sually applied it lightly, sparingly, and never combined it with MUFE.
Note, it was noticeable I applied powder, but I can live with that. As long as the foundation holds.

I've worn this foundation for 8 hrs and there was no oil on my face. And when I say it, I mean it. From now on, I'll be sticking to this routine.

The problem with my skin is that I get oily after 2.5 hrs no matter what foundation I wear, and after that, the foundation starts to fade or break.

Try it, either this, or any other. But, there is a way to keep oil at bay. It exists!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More TheBalm products

More Pressed Powders products