TheBalm • Sexy Mama • Pressed Powders

rated 4.4(83 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 makeupaddict6 on 3/23/2014 7:18:00 AM more reviews by makeupaddict6

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is my favorite blot powder!!! Its almost comparable to the MAC PRESSED BLOTTING POWDER but I have to admit TheBalm has a dryer/chalkier finish. I use this as a eyelid primer/base.I have somewhat oily eyelids so I use this before my eye shadow and my eye shadow stays there the entire day. I experience no creasing/fading whatsoever! Those with oily lids should give this a try as a eye shadow primer/base and I promise you your shadow will last the entire day! I have not used this powder on my face yet so I cannot really comment on that. But if this is able to work amazingly on OILY lids, what's more left to say? One compact can last me months despite using it every single day. I highly recommend you guys to give this a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Blondebeauty2 on 1/22/2014 2:57:00 AM more reviews by Blondebeauty2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was totally caught off guard by this brand to begin with.. I never in a million years thought that a company that invested this much time into cute & gimmicky packaging would turn out to be amazing! And it is seriously amazing!! This is one of my favorite products from the line. I use it to set my under-eye concealer and sometimes my whole face. It's a great translucent powder, that just has a hint of "off white or beige" to it. When applied to darker skin tones, I don't think it shows up unless u use a lot of it, but I'm not super sure. That's what I've heard.

I love the packaging! I love all of the cute risky names & pinup beauties on the covers. I also love that this is in a cardboard package & not some cheap bulky plastic package. It's small & slim, so it's great for storing or ur purse. I will continue to repurchase this & highly recommend it!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anera on 1/15/2014 1:53:00 PM more reviews by Anera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

For the first time in my life I didn't look like an oil slick after 8 hrs but looked like I applied foundation 2.5 hrs ago. I didn't feel ashamed by my "facial looks", was astonished when I looked myself in the mirror (my makeup stayed in place, no touch-ups in those 8 hrs) and self-conscious (hello!, I've got my make-up right in place).

EIGHT HOURS, PEOPLE!!

I've never bothered to write a review about this powder since it didn't have any effect on me, and I didn't want to downgrade it. For the first time I added these (*) steps:
- applied moisturizer for oily skin, Sans Soucis
- * applied Garnier 5 seconds primer
- applied Bobbi Brown Skin foundation
- *heavily applied MUFE HD powder (I usually applied it lightly, sparingly)
- * heavily applied TheBalm Sexy Mama powder on forhead and cheeks (sually applied it lightly, sparingly, and never combined it with MUFE.
Note, it was noticeable I applied powder, but I can live with that. As long as the foundation holds.

I've worn this foundation for 8 hrs and there was no oil on my face. And when I say it, I mean it. From now on, I'll be sticking to this routine.

The problem with my skin is that I get oily after 2.5 hrs no matter what foundation I wear, and after that, the foundation starts to fade or break.

Try it, either this, or any other. But, there is a way to keep oil at bay. It exists!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 graceyyy on 1/6/2014 2:12:00 AM more reviews by graceyyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

So, i'm sort of a powder junkie. I have oily skin, so i'm always trying to find the perfect powder to keep the oilies at bay, and this does the job! My favorite thing about it is that most setting/tranlucent powders can give an over powdery or white cast look, but this blends right into the skin. My only complaint is the packaging is tiny and i think the amount of product should be more for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xtinahb on 1/2/2014 10:24:00 AM more reviews by xtinahb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The best setting powder I have ever tried on my combo skin. I am light tan Asian gal C4/NC30 with dry cheeks and an oily T-zone, not the worst, but definitely powdering by 2pm. This stuff is truly translucent even on my tannish skin and minimizes pore appearance and completely mattifies without deadening the skin. I love it. It truly leaves a silky soft matte finish. Replacing my Nars Light Reflecting powder as my HG, since I realized the Nars is more of a finishing powder and this is a legit setting powder. Sets even MAC F&B for a full work day, which is dewy, to say the least. I think thebalm packaging is cute, slim, and has a decent mirror. Love love love this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moosefied on 11/20/2013 2:31:00 AM more reviews by moosefied

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Black    

its my 5th pan now. i have a very oily skin and this one makes my make up stay in their place. i do still need blotting but my oil face like sits on top of the make up and doesnt mess all up. if i dont use this, my make up melts like crazy and when i blot, all transfer and blotchy.
sexy mama doesnt break me out which is superb. its truly translucent and i love it the most bcz of it. if you seek coverage, this one is not for you. and nothing beats its cute slim packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 adeballesteros on 9/25/2013 3:59:00 PM more reviews by adeballesteros

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The perfect finish for my foundation routine!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 7/14/2013 7:57:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I discovered TheBalm recently and I was very impressed. Lovely textures, packaging, effective products and reasonably priced.
Unfortunately Sexy Mama didn't live up to my expectations. I find the texture quite dry and it's not really finely milled. Not that mattifying or longlasting either.
I might be spoiled by YSL Matte and Radiant Pressed Powder but this one was really underwhelming...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 funnygirlup on 7/6/2013 1:19:00 PM more reviews by funnygirlup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

As always the packaging's adorable, as is everything in TheBalm's line. The price is crazy for a face powder but I bought it after reading the positive reviews. What I don't like about this powder is I find it dulls my skin, I find it makes me sallow and my skin look dull and tends to highlight my large pores and any patches of dry skin. I've very dissatisfied with this product and I would not repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jessface83 on 6/10/2013 3:24:00 PM more reviews by jessface83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I got Sexy Mama at TJ Maxx in a 3 product set for $20! I had recently finished my MACBlot powder and really dididn't want to spend $26 one that one item. When I saw this at TJ Maxx I immediately had to have it for this one item. I have oily skin so I love blot powders and finishing powders. First off, I like the caedboard packaging. It feels sturdy and is easy to open and close. It also contains a mirror. The only thing I'm a like "ehh" about is the girl in lingerie on the cover. When I use this, I always get funny stares in public. Lol! Most arr curious as to what I am putting on my face. But that's the only thing off putting, in my opinion. But I just found some cute cloth and covered it that. Secondly, the product itself is awesome! I blot my face with it and it helps the oils and disapears into my skin! Love it and I will buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More TheBalm products

More Pressed Powders products