Everyday Minerals • Gentle Lip Scrub • Lip Treatments

rated 3.8(20 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 strickers on 5/8/2009 4:37:00 PM more reviews by strickers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This lip scrub grew on me. First off, I must agree that it isn't a scrub at all. It's just jojoba wax beads. The tin is cute, but messy if you're not careful, and is hard to apply without getting wax beads in your mouth or on your face.

It does melt nice once you get the hang of it, and conditions decently. I like that it isn't sticky.

EDM is reformulating this product, so I will most likely repurchase the new version, because trying new things like this amuse me, and I'm a huge fan of natural, moisturizing lip things.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IamDirtyandNeedaBath on 5/1/2009 6:03:00 PM more reviews by IamDirtyandNeedaBath

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I will start out by saying, I actually like the packaging. It comes in an adorable little brown tin and you can reuse it for other things after you use the product up, like a little pill or vitamin case to take with you in your purse or travel.
I have never spilled any of the product out because I am just careful when I open it.

It doesn't really scrub your lips, it is just in the texture of a scrub, but when you rub it on your lips, it sort of just rubs right in. So it is more like a balm to me. I won't repurchase because I have tried other balms that I like much better.

Edit: I have been using this product every other night since I got it and it has really grown on me, I changed it to 5 lippies. I love this now and will repurchase :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aznxswtgerl on 4/11/2009 2:32:00 PM more reviews by aznxswtgerl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

After reading the reviews on this product, I decided to get one, only because I'm constantly on the lookout for lip scrubs and such. Upon receiving this, I was very very careful while opening it, only because of the reviews that this is very easy to spill. The best way to approach this would be to tap the top, like when you've dropped a soda can and you don't want it to explode when you open it, and then very slowly twist the top off. The thing I really like about this product is the fact that it's pure jojoba oil beads. Basically looks like miniature white beads of oil. The labeling I think is a little misleading, I would call this just a lip balm does not have the usual solid substance. It's fun to take a finger full and smear across your lips and watch it fade away. It doesn't really "scrub" anything, more like a conditioning. I said I would repurchase only because it's pure jojoba oil, and the concept in interesting.
Edit: Ok...while i love the feel and conditioning of this product...i would not buy again because the cons outweigh the pros: 1) packaging sucks...everytime i try to open..i end up scattering beads all over the desk 2)scrubing this on my lips is hard for me...i always end up with some in my mouth...and it doesn't taste all that great...like wax...that melts in your mouth and you can't spit it out...ugh...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lexymiss on 3/5/2009 9:14:00 PM more reviews by lexymiss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I"m in a minority here. I didn't care too much for this. First, I hate the packaging. I have to be extremely careful when opening to prevent the spillage. I do like the fact that it leaves my lips soft and non-sticky and non-shiney while applying. But it just didn't deliver... It doesn't last but for a few minutes. Sometimes, it makes my lips look even more flakey. It is just dissapointing all around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lesliexyang on 12/19/2008 5:46:00 PM more reviews by lesliexyang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know what kind of packaging i would prefer this to come in but for now it'll do.

What do I love about this? The jojoba balls melt on my lips when I start rubbing. It even leaves a small minty feeling on my lips which I love. My lips go back to being soft and smooth, and calm when rubbing this on.

I also love how it doesn't leave me a lip gloss/sticky feel.

What do I hate about this? Probably just the packaging.

What I recommend this to a friend? YES! This is great for chapstick lovers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 peeweewee on 10/26/2008 2:05:00 AM more reviews by peeweewee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was not happy with this product that Everyday Minerals had. This did not do anything for my lips...I tried to leave it on at night and I woke up with dried flaky lips. The jojoba just doesn't seem to "melt" on my lips as well. I tried rubbing it and this just fails on me. I'm glad that it is working for many.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* junerose000 on 10/16/2008 9:05:00 PM more reviews by junerose000

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The product is nice, but the packaging is awful! The tin that it comes in is quite shallow, so there isn't that much leverage room for your hand to twist the lid off, making it quite the difficult task. The first time I opened this, I was struggling with it. The lid popped off, and most of the beads fell into the wet sink. The horror! I am now left with 1/4 of the original amount. The product itself is really moisturizing, and I like that it doesn't give that slippery feel to my lips that some of my other lip balms do. To prevent future disasters, I transferred the little amount that I had left to a Sephora sample jar. Unless EDM changes the packaging for this, I don't think that I will be purchasing it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tenchi on 7/26/2008 6:31:00 PM more reviews by tenchi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I recently picked up this during one of my sample kit orders from EM. I thought this would be a great product, since i have been looking for a lip scrub and lip mask for a while now. Since everything else from EM have been very satisfying so far, so I figured I will give this a try (also because it is not expensive, why not right?).

When I got the product, I was already disappointed by the tin can packaging. Something for in home use only. I wish it came with some sort of applicator. I don't really like using my fingers with this.... another in home use only sign....

It is moisturizing alright, but not so much of the scrub part. When I put it on at night, the next morning, my lips are soft...but feels a thick layer of something.... but that is okay. I wouldn't use it in the morning, because it is first of all, too thick, and also, sometimes some white discoloration will appear on my lips or the side of my mouth (that might me me though..),

I most likely will not buy this product again, but will finish what I already have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mudpud on 7/20/2008 8:14:00 PM more reviews by mudpud

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this product for awhile now and was originally going to mark it as a "no" on the repurchase option b/c I thought it was more of a novelty product than something I'd use on a daily basis. That's when I realized that I have been using it on a daily basis, or rather, on a daily basis once I ran out of my usual lip balm. Let's start off w/ the drawbacks: first and foremost, the packaging. It comes in a tin w/ a lid that comes off too easily--this is NOT something to throw into your purse or shove in your pocket. Be very careful the first time you open this up b/c the tiny beads will fall out everywhere. The person below who said not to open this up in a moving car (w/ the windows open) had it totally right. Secondly, this stuff won't really scrub off dry or dead skin unless you use it in conjunction w/ a washcloth or soft toothbrush. That leads us to the positives. When used regularly, it seems to prevent dry lips. And yes, it sure is fun rubbing those little beads around your mouth just to watch them disappear (hence the original feeling of it being more of a fun item than a necessary one). I use this at night instead of a traditional balm and my lips still feel smooth and soft in the morning. Also, as w/ all other EM products I've ever bought, this is packed to the brim and will last a long time. Plus, I just really like the fact that it's only made out of 100% pure jojoba and nothing else. On a side note, my skin and I love and use jojoba oil a lot, but the consistency wasn't quite right for use on the lips, therefore I'm really happy to have found this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laurelita on 7/2/2008 2:18:00 PM more reviews by laurelita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love how this product melts into my lips. You definitely have to be careful when opening. This isn't something you can just open in the car while someone else is driving, you'll have beads everywhere and it's just not pretty. The texture once it's melted is just a silky balm. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Everyday Minerals products

More Lip Treatments products