Elizabeth Arden • Ceramide Skin Smoothing Loose Powder • Loose Powders

rated 4.3(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Ruskydoll on 3/21/2013 12:42:00 PM more reviews by Ruskydoll

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

The hunt for a decent loose powder is very much like trying to find the Scarlet Pimpernel when he is feeling particularly hidey. It also involves some time looking orange, some looking sparkly and some looking like a walking, talking piece of chalk.

This stuff is perfect. It does not dry your skin out, it has a tiny, teeny tiny, bit of sparkle which just makes your skin look a little iridescent and if you're a bit Irish, ie, so pale you're almost blue, translucent is a bang-on match.

Loose powder is, for me, essential as primers all seem to make my foundation look patchy, and this is the best I've ever used, and I have used an inordinate number.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Wheeze on 12/30/2012 10:16:00 PM more reviews by Wheeze

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Though my HG has been Cover FX's Setting Powder (Light), a fellow product junkie/artist gave me an extra jar of her EA powder (translucent), and ... I am now in LOVE with this product!

No cakiness, crepiness, or strobing. It gives a luminous look to the skin, mattifying my t-zone, while beautifully balancing the rest of my face. Gorgeous!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crawfore on 9/24/2011 2:21:00 PM more reviews by crawfore

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

The best loose powder I have ever used. I'm in my 40s and have combination skin that is on the sensitive side. I use an anti-aging serum on my face after washing it, and then a tinted moisturizer with a high SPF on top of that, which I mix with a little foundation for more coverage. I then apply a generous amount of this powder with a soft brush. I use the color, light, and it's a great match for my skin tone - a light peachy color that looks and feels fabulous. It controls the shine and doesn't feel dry on my cheeks. It is simply the best I have ever used and I've tried just about every loose powder out there - Clinique, Lancome, Shiseido, Chanel, La Mer, etc.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 evemarie2 on 12/5/2009 4:30:00 PM more reviews by evemarie2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Fabulous product!!! I'm fussy about powder because it's an essential part of my makeup routine - my favourite powders before I tried this one were Clinique and Lancome but lately I've been trying to spend less on makeup so was on the hunt for a cheaper alternative. I went shopping and tested a few cheap powders but they didn't cut the mustard - I used to work for Elizabeth Arden and haven't used their products since so I had a look at their stand just out of curiosity and tried a bit of the ceramide powder on my hand - it was gorgeous - the colour (light) was perfectly pale and golden toned and there was a slight subtle shimmer which I loved (I've never liked 'shimmery' powders but this was very subtle and sophisticated looking). I asked the assistant the price and she told me it was 35 euro - that's around the same price as Lancome so I reluctantly declined to purchase it. I couldn't get the ceramide powder out of my head and I was thinking about it and coveting it so much that I went back the next day and bought it!!! I'm delighted with it, the coverage is great and it's nice and matte without being drying or cakey. I use the puff to apply it over foundation (the puff is a bit stiff and thin for my liking but it does the trick) and then use my fingers to rub it in a bit (I've never rubbed a powder on before but this is so silky that it just glides across my skin). It gives my skin a lovely smooth healthy look and doesn't need to be touched up very often (I would usually reapply powder a few times a day but this only needs one touch up, if that) Best purchase I've made in a long time and well worth the money - a big thumbs up from me!!!
Update: Am back to Clinique because I noticed that this powder was a little bit dark on me but couldn't find it in the palest shade (I like powders that are slightly paler than my foundation). I would still give it 4 lippies though but would recommend it more for medium skintones or for those of you with fair skin that like their powder to give a bit of colour as opposed to just set foundation. If I could find a shop that stocked the translucent shade I would definitely repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emmgill on 9/2/2009 7:06:00 AM more reviews by emmgill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favourite powders. I have it in Medium 3. I use this if i want to have a 'glowy sun kissed look' and then Maybelline Matte powder for a matte finish (best matte powder i have found)

This powder comes as a loose one which i really like. You can see the sparkles in it but if you put it on with a good brush and brush a small amount over the whole face you look like you have a nice glow not a sparkle face. It looks amazing on and people comment me on my 'glow'.

I tried it on with my other powder foundation brush and it was so thick and sparkles everywhere. So i think it depends on the brush you use. Don't give up on this if you put it on too thick!!
UPDATE: this makes me break out a little form the fragrance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WannaBmysurfer on 8/12/2009 6:59:00 AM more reviews by WannaBmysurfer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a very nice loose powder. I believe it only comes in two shades. I chose the medium shade. The other shade is for fair to very light skin tones. The medium looks good on fair mediums, mediums and medium deep. I use this every time. It truly is a great loose powder. The powder offers a lasting finish, a luminous finish and does make the skin look smoother, brighter and fresher. On confident lazy days, I use my #3 corrector Shiseido Pencil to conceal imperfections and dust this on top. Of course with good moisturized skin.

Its great! I got it when Elizabeth Arden had a gwp at Ulta. Go for it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 promakeupartist on 5/21/2009 8:47:00 AM more reviews by promakeupartist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

As a makeup artist, I get clients that want to wear a powder, but their skin is so dry the powder winds up makeing the skin's texture look worse....however, that is not the case with the ceramide loose powder. It gives a beautifully smoothe and radiant finnish on the skin. I love it for my "mature" clients and it also photographs beautifully for professional photography. Tis is something I wouldn't suggest for an oily skin,. but for all others it's a GO!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goodtiger on 5/3/2009 6:40:00 PM more reviews by goodtiger

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this on the good recs of MUA. Back it went. Too orangey/pinky for my golden- toned lt/med skin. Too cakey no matter how thinly applied. Made my skin itch.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sugarcrumb on 4/13/2009 7:21:00 AM more reviews by sugarcrumb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Great powder! i have yellow undertones and in Asian countries, they always carry make-up that is meant for Asian skin which is mostly very light coloured and with pink undertones. Most loose powders usually end up looking pasty, chalky and ashy on me (I'm an NC43 for reference). However, this powder is awesome - its light, smoothing, great colour and the best part, it has little (minute really) gold sparkles that give you radiance and glow. Sometimes i just use the EA tinted moisturiser and this on top and I'm good to go! I can't wait for them to premiere the new Summer 2009 bronzers and the mineral foundation ranges here!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 7/29/2008 12:23:00 PM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with the other reviewers who have stated that this powder gives you a nice healthy glow and radiance! I TOTALLY concur. I LOVE this powder! It's light and it's just superb. I don't know what it is but it makes me look so fresh. I use 'Translucent' and I can wear it alone or on top of the Ceramide Plump Perfect Spf 15 cream foundation. Either way it's awesome. For everyday use (for office) i normally don't like wearing a lot of makeup so I use this (as it's quick) and i'm set to go. It hides all my imperfections (not totally but to a good degree) and beautifully evens out my skintone. A definite purchase! EDIT: I use this only on occasions because the loose powders are a mess to take out of the container (since I don't like to dip my brush in it). I want somethng fast for everyday when getting ready in the mornings so I use the EA Flawless Face Pressed Powder which is much lighter, quicker in application and good for everyday use. I still like this loose powder though for it's own properties so 5 lippies remain.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Arden products

More Loose Powders products