MAC Paint Pot in Soft Ochre

4.2

344 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isodocecane, dimethicone, polyethylene, hydrogenated polyisobutene, quaternium-90 bentonite, dimethicone silylate, octyldodecanol, silica, trihydroxystearin, retinyl palmitate, tocopheryl acetate, lecithin, carnauba wax, propylene carbonate, triethoxycaprylylsilane. May contain: mica, titanium dioxide, iron oxides, bismuth oxychloride, blue 1 lake, carmine, chromium hydroxide green, chromium oxide greens ferric ferroxyanide, manganese violet, ultramarines, yellow 5 lake.


on 8/31/2015 10:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

As much as I love the Soft Ochre paint pot, I voted no to repurchasing because I reach for the Layin' Low paint pot much more than this one.
Soft Ochre is great for those days when I want to really emphasize my eyeshadows or if I'm going for a 'brighter' eye look.
It's a tad bit too light for my Asian NC30 skin tone but I think it would look fantastic on fair skin tones.
It stays on all day and my eyeshadows don't crease or fade so the paint pots are fabulous as bases. I also use primer beforehand so my eye looks stays put for just about the whole day.



on 8/30/2015 4:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't understand the reviews marking this product down for a primer. It's not marketed as a primer so why would someone take off a lippy for it? Pet peeve of mine...

Anyways, this paint pot is good for creating an even color canvas. If you're warm toned, this shade would be great. You lay it on after primer (or no primer at all) and it covers any veins or discoloration. You can apply eyeshadow a on top or not. For a fast look I'll apply this, some eyeliner, and mascara. If you are cool toned I would recommend Painterly instead of soft ochre. If you have dry lids I wouldn't use this (it will show any texture) and if you have very oily lids I wouldn't use it (unless you use a primer under). Good basic staple.


on 8/30/2015 3:39:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have very oily, hooded lids and I had high hopes for the soft ochre paint pot as an eyeshadow primer. It did NOT work at all for my oily lids. It creased and broke apart and somehow absorbs shadows so they looks less pigmented. (I don't know how this is even possible).

I have tried every possible way to improve it (powdering after, using more or less product) and nothing really worked. I even put the Milani eyeshadow primer under and this on top (kinda defeats the propose) and it was still only ok.

The ONLY fix I found to this was to scoop it out, transfer some to another small container and mix it with some pressed powder. This creates a paste which then I blend on my eyelids. With this mixture I find my eye shadows last way longer and they also blend like a dream. However this is a lot of work for an already pricey product.

I highly recommend testing this out in store before buying it.


on 8/10/2015 10:17:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The BEST eye primer! It is a cream shadow.. but I use it as an eye primer. It is very close to the color of my skin. Will cover veins and discoloration on the lid. Makes my eyeshadow stay for 12+ hours. It dries quickly so get ready to blend quickly.

If you apply with fingers have a makeup remover wipe handy... soap will not get this off your hands!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/5/2015 11:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I had used the Painterly previously and was not impressed at all.. On my eyelids it was almost pink.. So I moved on and used other products.. I had been using UD Eden primer and it dried out and I needed something better so I came back to Mac some I just got Swiss Chocolate.. And the sales girl recommend this as a primer to go with it.. Love it! This is up my alley and I can just wear this alone with mascra.. This will last a good long while.... Will definitely repurchase if I ever run out!


on 6/25/2015 7:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have very oily eyelids and I always wear this before eyeshadow. The trick, at least for me, is using JUST A LITTLE BIT, blending it with your finger or a brush, and then applying a base color (like similar to your skin tone) to set it. THEN, do your eyeshadow, liner, etc.
Works very good, I only see some creasing after like 8 hours and that's great if you ask me....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2015 3:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For reference, I'm NC25, chinese, yellow undertones.

I hemmed and hawed about trying a paint pot because never found the need for eyeshadow primer but I was thinking a paint pot may brighten my eyelid area when i want to do a nude eye with black winged liner. When I decided to try it out, I had to decide between Soft Ochre (slight yellow toned) or Painterly (slight pink toned). Since i have more yellow undertones, I chose Soft Ochre. I LOVE IT! it gives my eyelids the perfect light color when I use a soft cool toned contour color in the crease of my eye and black winged liner. It dones't crease on me. If' you are on the fence, give it a try!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2015 11:00:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This covers my veins and freckles on my eyelids and blends like a dream. But, my eyeshadow still creases when i wear this! My eyelids aren't even oily.


on 6/9/2015 11:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great color for those with yellow undertones in their skin as it has a little bit of a yellowish-cream color. I do love the color and they way it applies, however I would not buy this again and here is why:
First of all if you are buying this as an eyeshadow primer to make your eyeshadow last longer, you are better off going with Urban Decay Primer Potion. This creases and doesnt last long at all. The only way I was able to get this not to crease was to apply UDPP underneath which is completley pointless since this is a base. I will probably use what I have because it will last me forever, but I will not be repurchasing this. One thing I do like this for is on lazy days or on the weekends when I want a polished-but easy look- I will just use this by itself and it give a nice color to the eyelid but like I said it will crease usually with just an hour or so. Overall 3 lippies because it creases and doesnt work well with eyeshadows. I will not be repurchasing this product.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've used this every time I've done my makeup for a year, and I have to say that I really like it. It works great under other eyeshadows as a base. Everything shows up better and I rarely have issues with creasing or budging. It applies better with your fingers than with a brush, makes it more malleable. It also lasts a surprisingly long time. I've used half of it and I probably still have another 8 months of use to completely use it up. I think it was a great investment for the price.


Popular Eye Shadows


Eye Shadow
Eye Shadow
185 Reviews
Créme de Miel
Créme de Miel
14 Reviews
3D Eyeshadow
3D Eyeshadow
14 Reviews


Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top