Unlisted Brand • Castor Oil • Brows

rated 4.4(341 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 EmRose6 on 7/26/2014 12:30:00 AM more reviews by EmRose6

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know if I'm using the right kind of castor oil, but the cheapie stuff found in the digestive aid section of Wal-Mart does wonders. I noticed that the ends of my eyebrows weren't looking as full as they once were.. I picked this stuff up for less than $3 and then put it on my brows with a q-tip after I showered. After doing this nightly for about a week my brows were looking much better. About 2 months later, and I can say that they look better than ever. I started using an old (clean) mascara spoolie (CoverGirl Lash Blast Length) to put on my brows and occassionally my lashes. The thin rubbery bristles help comb it thru each hair so that really helps. I don't even have to fill in my brows anymore! I tried mixing this in my shampoo and that kinda left my hair a thick greasy mess! This oil is extremely thick and my face is an oil spill so I haven't put this anywhere near my skin. For brows/lashes, this stuff is wonderful! I've noticed less fallout but more fullness!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 monka191 on 6/7/2014 10:12:00 AM more reviews by monka191

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I like castor oil, but would definately not recommend to use it for skin or anywhere close to that. I used to use it for hair long back, and I saw improvements, but you need to continously use it and thats why I stopped.
Another thing is that, it is very difficult nowadays to find a very good brand for castor oil, just like for Maroccan Oil.
Most of them are cheap, and don't do much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliciousdelicious on 5/18/2014 6:13:00 AM more reviews by maliciousdelicious

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've always been advised to use this for my sparse eyebrows and when I use it, it really does help. I can see a difference even after 4-5 uses. However it makes me break up and it has even dripped to my eye area causing my eyelids to get inflamed. So no matter how much I would like to use it, I can't.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ButterflyLobster on 5/17/2014 1:57:00 PM more reviews by ButterflyLobster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I started using Castor Oil mainly because some of my eyelashes fell out after I got eyelash extensions done. I was so depressed about it and after doing some research online on how to grow them back I brought the Extra Dark Jamaican Castor Oil from Ebay (8oz for 9). I used it for a week and my eyelashes grew back, but to my surprise they were thicker and darker too. This stuff seriously helps with hair growth. I use it on my eyebrows and baby hairs (I got rid of my baby hairs via waxing and regretted it) and it also made the hair on my head appear thicker and fuller. I purchase this every month because I use it head to toe. It helps get rid of acne and fade stretch marks (new mom with red stretch marks on my stomach). I hate that it's so pricy compared to other oils but it's not a big deal :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 glendonwyne on 5/11/2014 12:37:00 PM more reviews by glendonwyne

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

So like a lot of people, I heard from the internet that this stuff would make your eyelashes grow. I was skeptical, but it's so damn cheap that I was willing to try it. Does it work? Surprisingly, yeah, it sort of does. Read on for more!

Background: I don't have great eyelashes. They're not long, they're not thick, and they tend to fall out and poke me in the eye. Often. We're talking at least 2 a day. Every time I pulled on my eyelashes a teeny bit, at least one would fall out.

What I did: So I bought some castor oil, and used an eyeliner brush to swipe it along my upper lashline. Then I'd use an old spoolie to brush an excess along my lashes. If I'd had an old mascara tube, I would have put some in there and applied it like mascara as well. I applied it in the morning only (when I applied it at night I woke up to puffy eyes in the morning).

What happened: The first thing I noticed is that my eyelashes stopped falling out. This was almost immediate. Within 1-2 weeks, my eyelashes started to look thicker. In another week, they started to look longer. I didn't apply any to my lower lashline, but they also had a similar effect. Because the lashes are on different growth cycles, it took maybe ~4-6 weeks for everything to even out.

Conclusion: I've been using the oil regularly for ~6 weeks now, and my lashes don't seem to be growing anymore. They do look much better, especially with mascara, but the effects aren't anywhere as drastic as Latisse. My theory is that the oil works for lashes like conditioner works for hair: it reduces breakage, which helps the lashes reach their genetic potential. If your lashes are already good, it may not do anything for you. For me, considering the cost and the amount of effort, I'm pleased with the results.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 5/10/2014 12:49:00 PM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Castor oil is extremely thick so I wouldn't recommend it for use on the face, but for hair - especially thinning or out of condition hair - it's great when mixed with other oils and left on overnight then washed out with a mild clarifying shampoo the next morning. I mix mine with sweet almond and jojoba and add other hair-friendly oils such as rosemary, lavender and tea tree. I then pop pure argan oil just on my hair ends to help prevent split ends as I wash and blow dry or use straighteners most days and colour it at least once every 3 weeks. Since I started using hair oils my hair is in extremely good condition and has a shine I haven't seen since I was in my late teens/early twenties.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gemmyca on 5/7/2014 2:02:00 AM more reviews by gemmyca

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this stuff!

I use it to massage my face to unclog my pores (oil cleansing method), my hardened sebum bumps (ew!) just slips out with a little squeeze. (I use castor oil + sweet almond oil for this)

I also use it to grow my lashes and eyebrows. I'm Asian so I originally have thin, short lashes but now they're pretty long ;)

Tip for all the ladies but mostly for y'all Asians with small lashes: use the Shu Uemura eyelash curler and a waterproof mascara to show off what castor oil has gifted you! Haha :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eyelinerjunkie on 4/22/2014 8:03:00 PM more reviews by eyelinerjunkie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Miracle product. I have used castor oil to rid my chin and neck of shaving bumps (a thin layer before bed for a week), reduce dark circles (with the same nightly application) and as an overnight body moisturiser.

These are all wonderful and practical uses but my favourite use is on my eyelashes. I have been applying it to the roots for a few months almost every night and there is noticeable growth and extra thickness. Even my friend of many years asked what mascara I was wearing on my bare lashes. What's more is that applying it under my eyes have even made my almost non-existent bottom lashes spring forth. You can even use it as a makeup remover for that stubborn eyeliner between the lash roots. I've also read about it being used to treat verrucas but I haven't tried this myself.

I use the Pukka organic cold-pressed castor oil. It's not exactly cheap but for the results I am happy to pay the price again.

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cgil7 on 4/20/2014 10:41:00 PM more reviews by cgil7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have used castor oil now...in my hair...for several years. My hair started thinning in my late 30's due to hormonal issues and anemia. I have long, baby fine hair that used to be pretty abundant but after so many years of hair loss, is now half of what it use to be. I tried a lot of things but what ultimately stopped the shedding is castor oil.

No need to glob it on...it is a very thick oil. All you need to do is add 2 or 3 drops of it to the amount of shampoo you use every time you wash your hair. It will not make your hair gummy or flat or greasy. But after using it for a few weeks it stopped my shedding and has ever since.

I use the Heritage brand from Whole Foods. The small bottle will last you well over a year so it is dirt cheap. I keep it in my shower. It worked perfectly for me and is definitely worth a try if you have shedding problems.

I also used it for awhile on my lashes...worked well but tended to break me out around the eyes and brows (I tried it there too) I really loved it for my lashes and would have kept using it if it weren't for the breakouts. I may revisit it one day...see if I still have the same problem.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Habibiii on 4/20/2014 7:13:00 AM more reviews by Habibiii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using castor oil for around a year now. I bought it from a supermarket in the UK.

EYELASHES; I had hardly any on the lower eyelids and the upper were very sparse. I applied castor oil to the lashes only every night for a month and now have a visible lower lid full of lashes. You do have to be careful incase you get it in your eyes as with vaseline or you will have uncomfortable, red or puffy eyes the next morning so I find it is helpful to use disposable mascara wands you can get cheaply on ebay.

HAIR; around 7-8 months ago i cut my hair to just 2 inches below shoulder length. I have applied castor oil mixed with mustard seed oil probably about 5 times within the first three months of having it short. I would mix more mustard seed oil than castor as it is too thick to massage into the scalp and then left it on overnight on most occasions or for half an hour to an hour before showering. I now have a lot more hair (after fall out and thinning from flat irons) its healthy (i stopped hair straighteners all together) and it is at least 4-5 inches if not more, longer now. As well as the hair growth my hair was noticeably softer as soon as I had dried my hair after washing it out.

EYEBROWS; My eyebrows were a bit thin in places and applying castor oil has filled the gaps right up!

I know a persons diet can affect the outcome, mine isn't the most healthiest you can do but it definitely isn't all junk either. E.g. I never skip a breakfast of cereal. Regularly have tuna or other kinds of fish (known for hair care properties) as well as small amounts of fruit, I don't eat white bread only brown and always have a desert in the evening (some chocolate, mini ice cream lollies, or sweets)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Brows products