Tom Ford • Tom Ford in Black Violet • Fragrances

rated 4.2(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 LushLuke10 on 9/16/2014 9:24:00 AM more reviews by LushLuke10

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love this, my fave fragrance, it's unisex but it's on the manly side, good for day or night, deffo get again when I run out

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mathou on 6/1/2012 4:46:00 AM more reviews by Mathou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I bought this in 250ml yesterday and I really, really like it. It's so different from every other smell - but more light than my other favourite Black Orchid.

It's not classic violet but very delicate anyway. It's really dark and mysterious - the drydown is gorgeous and it gets more floral/fruity with time... I keep smelling my wrist when I wear this and I get lots of compliments. I guess the smell is very different on everyone as my friend tried it and it smelled really strange on her. Anyway, this is soooo good. It's mysterious and sexy, not easy to wear but when you do it you will turn heads.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Melloney on 4/23/2012 7:54:00 PM more reviews by Melloney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I originally wanted to buy Noir de Noir and on this occasion , I bought Black Violet because I loved its vintage inspired beauty .
It's quite a classical chypre and yes - it has both oakmoss and tree moss in it.
Bright and almost aftershave type top notes with sharp lime and then a very vague violet note , a few spices and fruits of the unamed kind mixed with that velvety oakmoss base .
My immediate connection was with the way Mitsouko was before the oakmoss was ripped away.
If you are looking for a real chypre with discernable oakmoss and miss the velvet of real chypres, then buy Black Violet ! You will not be disappointed. I love this as much as Mitsouko it seems.
One lippie off as Black Violet is not very tenacious . However it has that lovely diffuse nature of good old real perfume!
I will buy the very large size instead 100 mls the next time round .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laurentothemax on 12/3/2011 9:23:00 PM more reviews by laurentothemax

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

when the woman with the strong eastern european accent at the neiman marcus counter said "darling, this is BY FAR the sexiest fragrance on the market," i caved. Its devastatingly sexy. Its dark, floral-chypre that is intoxicating. Lovely on its own, and damn amazing when layered with tom ford's black orchid.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissNoirNoir on 8/23/2011 1:37:00 AM more reviews by MissNoirNoir

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

Black Violet by Tom Ford is in his Private Blend collection. It is an Eau de parfum which means that the fragrance is much more concentrated and therefore the product should last you a while. I have pictured it in front of the antique clock (sorry about the dust!) because that is what I am reminded of when I smell this perfume: antiquity and luxury.
When you purchase the bottle, it is presented in a dark brown box with gold accents which I find displays it's 'prestigious' nature. On first spray, Black Violet opens with citrus notes and on dry down the perfume radiates with soft violet and dark moss and woodsy notes. It has been said that scents can trigger past memories- I find that Tom Ford's fragrances do this and more. Whenever I wear this, my mood changes and my mind is flooded with memories of late night drives to the beach in winter and evokes feelings of mystery and excitement.
I find that this fragrance has almost a 'femme fatale' element about it; it is almost like when you wear it, you feel mysterious, powerful, and very luxurious (considering how expensive these perfumes are!) If you ever feel daring enough to purchase a very 'high end' perfume (in Australia, Private Blends are $299 each! O_O), I would recommend Black Violet or really any of the Private Blend collection.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 10/2/2010 11:45:00 AM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ashtray and soap. First on is completely oriental Ashtray, drying to soapy floral notes and stale smoke. It smells like the coat of a woman who smokes, with remnants of her perfume in the folds. It's not as awful as I'm making it sound, but I dislike this intensely. AND it won't scrub off, so staying power is unfortunately very good.Urk.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dagney on 1/11/2010 12:35:00 PM more reviews by Dagney

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Black Violet is quite pleasant. I feel this is truly a unisex fragrance. Opens with a masculine cologne type citrus and quickly turns into a fresh lemony note. The remainder of the fragrance is lovely violet with amber underneath. I read that one of the basenotes is oakmoss but I don't get any oakmoss at all. Had to spray quite liberally to experience the violet note and the scent wears quite close to the skin. Minus 1 lippie because not long lasting. Overall, smells great and I feel quite comfortable wearing Black Violet all day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rydenfan3 on 4/6/2009 3:40:00 PM more reviews by Rydenfan3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is soooo damn expensive. I bought a full bottle recently. I do love the smell but unlike some other reviews I get absolutely no violet out of it. To me it smells just like the top notes of Black Orchid (the ones that die down after a few minutes leaving you wonder..where did that amazing and fantastic smell go?) and I think that's what drew me to it. It manages to be woodsy and citrusy with a hint of chypre, without being too masculine or harsh smelling. Unfortunately, perhaps due to the high concentration of natural essential oils, this does not have the best staying power. The bottle is too fancy and expensive to just throw in my purse and I wish there was a lotion or purse sized version you could get to refresh it throughout the day.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hollyc01 on 12/19/2008 9:09:00 AM more reviews by hollyc01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Totally underwhelming. While this is very pretty, it is nothing more than a simple little floral with poor sillage and lasting power (on me anyway). I have no problem with this type of fragrance, however, I would not want to pay the price ($$$$$$) only to have people tell me how nice my body spray is and what drugstore did I buy it in. Sorry Tom, maybe you should hang out with Pierre Montale for a little while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautyqueeny on 10/14/2008 10:36:00 PM more reviews by beautyqueeny

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is so pretty and fresh and I could wear it anywhere. I love it... I feel like me in this. It reminds me of Sisley's Eau D'Soir. Just lovely. It lasts on me all day,I never reapply with this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tom Ford products

More Fragrances products