Wella • Shaders and Toners • Hair Color

rated 4.2(35 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 8/4/2014 10:36:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Used in a salon where I used to go - to counteract brassiness and neatralize ceratin colors.
Very good products line and I never had any issues. Mid-priced - not cheap but not expensive either.

Reliable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jojoS34 on 4/2/2014 12:07:00 PM more reviews by jojoS34

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after a friend dared me to dye my hair red for a party. After following the instructions very carefully and applying as needed i found that it did not work as promised. I have long thick brown hair and all that this product did was give it a slight redish tinge. It was also streaky and only affected some parts of my hair. Next day spent three quarters of an hour in the shower attempting to wash it out. Didnt work, so i had to go to school looking really weird. Nothing special and i wouldnt recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 strawberrymelons on 3/19/2014 2:11:00 PM more reviews by strawberrymelons

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This review is for T15 in pale beige blonde on BROWNISH hair :). My goal is to go back to my natural after dying my hair dark brown for the last 5 years. I left my hair to grow out for about 7 months and decided I want to make the blending of my roots with the rest look more natural. So I did balayage highlights at home. I bleached my hair twice in 2 months and dyed over it both times with a medium ash blonde dye. This still didn't help me get the orange tones out and in turn, there was a very strong yellow tint to my hair. In some lights it looked nice ad golden, in others it looked yellow. So I researched a bunch of toners with everyone saying that a toner is only for very light blonde hair and not dark blonde (which is what the bottom of my hair was basically). So I mixed the Wella T15 with 20 developer and left it on my hair for 15 minutes. I did not put this on any roots that have grown out. My hair is now a nice ashy, light brown and I absolutely love it. Everything blednds together. The color might get lighter after a few washes but I plan on toning it again in a month to completely get rid of any spots I might have missed. I LOVE THIS TONER.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Noelle102 on 1/31/2014 1:54:00 AM more reviews by Noelle102

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a review for Wella's T14 toner. I had bleached my hair (twice, with 30 vol.) 2 weeks prior, and tried to tone my yellow hair with Wella's T18... and basically nothing happened! I ended up covering it with a dark blonde demi.

I read some great things about the T14 and decided to give it a shot since I wanted to do a blonde ombre over my dark blonde/light brown base. I bleached once with a 20 vol and achieved a yellow-gold base. I then applied the toner with a 10 vol for quite a while... 30 to 40 minutes. (It's hard to break through the brass on my hair--I've struggled with it for years--so Ieft it on longer than others seem to.)

I'm AMAZED--it was everything I hoped for. My hair is a beautiful neutral blonde (not ash, but I started with a gold-ish base). This is a MUST for anyone looking to get rid of brass or tone hair that isn't bleached to the lightest stage. I imagine it would give a beautiful cool blonde if your hair is bleached to a pale yellow!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Foxxxwolf on 12/7/2013 4:11:00 PM more reviews by Foxxxwolf

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

In high school I started dying my hair permanent black and four years later I decided that I wanted to go back to my original color a few months ago (dirty blonde) I color stripped it, bleached it, toned it with Silver Lady, and then dyed it medium ash brown. The first time toning it didn't work because my hair was too dark of an orange..that's why I dyed over it. A few days ago I decided to try again so I bleached it and it was left pretty pale yellow at the roots and almost light orange everywhere else. Every review I have ever read says that you cannot tone your medium-almost light orange hair but today I did. I went to Sallys and purchased T10/Ivory Lady and 30 volume developer. When I got home I applied it and waited thirty minutes (checking it and feeling it needed the full 30 minutes) After washing out I am very pleased with the results my roots are obviously lighter at the moment but I plan to run to Walgreens and purchase a light ash dye mixed with a gold-red color corrector that I also bought at Sallys. I highly recommend this product for anyone having a problem with orange-yellow hair. :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TBonita on 10/8/2013 5:10:00 PM more reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Update: I just tried the T14. I colorfixed my multiply dyed hair and it ended up a gingery dark blonde. I tried the T14 this time because I heard it was for darker, more orangey tones. I mixed half the bottle w double the 20 vol (I have short hair) and left on 10 min. I didn't want to damage hair further or cause it to go green or something haha. When I rinsed, it came out a lovely neutral dark blonde... All brassiness gone. Since I only used half the bottle I can touch up later if the brass comes back or if I decide I want a cooler look. For now my hair needs a break and some DCs and protein treatments. I love wella's toners!


I may have reviewed this before but since I have just now finally, FINALLY achieved platinum/whitish hair I must write my story. I spent a great deal of time color oopsing, yogurt lightening, vitamin C lightening, oil leeching henna and indigo out of my hair. The henna went bye-bye but the indigo just lightened. (Fr black). So I chopped it off into a pixie. Yes, I sacrificed length for color, something I never thought I'd do! But bleaching indigo turns it the color of a swamp monster. So. I used effasol which turned me orange, bleached twice. Pls note this is over a week's period and I have a pixie cut. Pls do not damage your hair. I tried toners including Virgin Snow and White Lady thru the process but they weren't quite taking me where I wanted to be. So in my final process I used ion's 'high lift ash blonde' for 30 min (30 vol), shampooed, followed by a mix of t14&t18 (20 vol) for 15 minutes. I've always been a wuss of leaving these toners on too long but just when I said 'sh*t, my hair's grey' is the point I took it out (shampooed) and it was PERFECT!!!!! Wella toners for life!!!! Keep your eye on it at ALL TIMES because literally 5 minutes or even 2 minutes is the difference of grey or yellow... Trust me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TexasScorpio on 9/12/2013 6:41:00 PM more reviews by TexasScorpio

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After trying to turn my blonde hair red with blonde highlights, I ended up with bright orange hair with neon green highlights. (Curtesy of a well known brand hair college student). Rather than entrust my hair to another student, I purchased Color Oops from Walgreens to strip the color two days later. It removed the green and orange but left me a BRIGHT yellow (I'm pale with blue undertones. Golds do NOT look good on me.). I then applied T10 toner to my hair for 20 minutes and it came close to my natural shade of ash blonde. Dry, processed, but a PERFECT, LIVABLE color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tigerlily1787 on 8/13/2013 5:50:00 PM more reviews by tigerlily1787

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased Wella Color Charm in T14 (pale ash blonde) to counteract the brassy colors in my hair after using Sun-In. I followed the directions perfectly, mixing with Wella Color Charm 20 developer and processing for no more than 30 minutes. I didn't think it would work, because even after using Sun-In, my hair was no where near "pale blonde," it was actually a somewhat rusty shade of dark blonde. Yuck! But I left the product in for about 25 minutes, and wow! The brassy tones are gone! My hair is a pretty ashy dark blonde shade and my roots appear to blend even better than before! When I bought this product at Sally's for around $8 for the toner and developer, I was extremely skeptical. Now that I see it did everything I wanted it to, I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking to banish brassy tones!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mbuff on 4/22/2013 12:50:00 PM more reviews by mbuff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have finally found my absolute must-have go to product for achieving the "perfect" blonde! Wella T10- Pale blond which is a blue-violet toner.

After bleaching, dying and toning a few times over the last 2 weeks I was ready to give up and just deal with the undesirable gold blorange color I had. I tried 2 Wella toner before t10. First I tried pale beige blonde which didn't do much then a week later I tried beige blonde which made my hair dark and ashy on the ends. Finally I decided to bleach the t35 out of my hair for about 5 minutes. I was then at a yellow color- not pale inside of a banana color so I was worried that T10 wouldn't work since my hair was more yellow-gold. I put on T10 on my hair after washing the bleach out with wet hair and worked it through the top and back first then down through the ends. I left it on for about 5 minutes and my hair is now a very natural looking light-medium blond. No yellow or orange but, still slightly golden (which is what I need for my warm skin tone). I could have achieved cooler results had I left it on longer I believe but, I didn't want it to dark or to make my ends ashy since my hair is overprocessed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cathunsinger on 3/4/2013 12:01:00 PM more reviews by cathunsinger

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

i used the pale blonde toner in t10, in place of the t18 ivory lady which has apparently become so popular that its ALWAYS out of stock at sally's.
quick background: i had bright BRIGHT red hair for about five months, and after my hair stopped taking the color, i went back to blonde. i spent a good month and a half planning, let it fade out, then stripped it with color oops. at that point it was about a straw color, but not at all damaged. in fact in better shape then it's ever been. after that i bleached it once and it came out absolutely white. not very damaged, but white. sigh. i used the t18 which did take out the yellow, but i was too busy having a mental breakdown to properly observe and review it.
so i've had platinum hair since october 2012 until yesterday (march 3rd), when i decided to tone it and then was planning on putting in lowlights. i used t10 in pale blonde without reading reviews and ended up with purple-grey hair. hmph. i suppose i shouldnt have left it in in for as long as i did, which couldnt have been over fifteen minutes, but i was trying to make sure i got everything. regardless, i'm now a kelly osbourne medium-grey color instead of a platinum blonde. i imagine it could be much worse but all i know is that i'm going to be spending quite a while with clarifying shampoos and lightening sprays to see how much color i can strip to decide whether or not ill have to do a bleach spray or something of the sort. maybe it was my fault due to lack of timing (although the box does say, what, 30 minutes? and i left the t18 in for maybe 25 and didn't even come close to this.) but i just don't suppose i'll be toning my hair with this product ever again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Wella products

More Hair Color products