Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2219 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* singwritenow on 4/27/2011 10:44:00 PM more reviews by singwritenow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara is not the best or the worst that I've tried.If you are looking for a mascara that is going to thicken your lashes, then I would say, go for it. If you are like me and need all the help you can get with thin, pale, sparse lashes that need lengthening, I would recommend trying the Lash Stiletto which is my current HG mascara. I actually wore the Falsies on one eye and Lash Stiletto on the other and like how Lash Stiletto lengthened my lashes much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ToxicMegacolon on 4/27/2011 7:59:00 PM more reviews by ToxicMegacolon

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

EH. I liked this mascara for about a day...and then...EH.

I have short sparse asian lashes, so I was NOT expecting "Falsies" effects with this mascara...honestly, not with any mascara. All I really want is a mascara that is dark, and good at separating my lashes. First of all, I hate the giant package. This is a similar problem I have with LashBlast. Why...why do we need a jumbo sized mascara bottle? It makes maneuvering the thing so much more difficult than just a normal handle/bottle.

Anyways...the mascara itself is ok. Pretty dark, and the formula is a nice, thin formula...but perhaps a little too thin. It has very little buildability for me..and tend to clump up into these watery little triangles. The brush itself is inexplicable...slightly haphazard bristles in a curve (?)...I doubt if that adds anything to the mascara.

Overall a pretty EH mascara for me. Nothing special, nothing great...just mediocre at best.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashwillis83 on 4/27/2011 3:11:00 PM more reviews by ashwillis83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have really enjoyed this mascara. Im on my third tube. I use the black drama kind also and it works well. It makes your lashes really bold. I wish it could lengthen a little more, But i still love it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* captainflamingo on 4/27/2011 2:50:00 PM more reviews by captainflamingo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this last week and have been wearing it every day since, usually for about 8 hours at a time. I have short, thick lashes that are curled. The thing I look for most in a mascara is length, and sometimes I've resorted to false eyelashes, hence my buying this product.
This mascara, after about 3 coats on curled lashes, gives me good length, good volume, and more thickness. It's a good mascara! I have very black, regular formula. My lashes are separated and more than actually long enough see(!!!) and just look good, though they're not exactly models for the "false lash glam" this mascara promises. I suppose if somebody were blessed with longer lashes than I to begin with, they might see that effect.
This mascara is weird, though, in the way my lashes feel when they're dry. I use a lot of coats so it's kind of hard yet soft enough for me to retouch without severe clumps(I am very careful and use a lash comb afterwards). It has minimal clumping and does not flake at all, and most mascaras tend to flake on me. At the end of the day, my cleanser removes every bit of it easily.
I would repurchase, I can see it becoming a staple in my makeup collection, and this $7 purchase eliminated the need for the countless other mascaras I have in my mascara bin, including both of the LashBlast versions and Clinique's High Impact one,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Piggie8 on 4/27/2011 5:37:00 AM more reviews by Piggie8

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

WARNING: This is such a hit and miss product. If you want a good one, you HAVE to get the Falsies regular in waterproof. The others, especially Black Drama suck like crap. They clump, flake, smudge, you name it. However, the waterproof does do it and really does give you the false eyelash effect. It lengthens more than gives volume, but not such a far difference. I can see why they call it Falsies because false eyelashes if you look at them on their own, the lashes are kind of separated, but there is a lot of them and they are long, this is what it gives. Not a loss in product, but you have to buy the regular waterproof. I actually like it very much now that I found the right one as before I wanted to burn it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SkyAlternative on 4/27/2011 1:27:00 AM more reviews by SkyAlternative

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Worst mascara I've ever used! Maybelline yet again uses false advertisements and says it will give you a false lash look without false lashes (yet the model in the adds obviously has them on!)

Made my lashes too wet and clumpy. And I KNOW how to apply mascara correctly so that wasn't the problem.

I really wanted to like this product too =[

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Charlsmum on 4/25/2011 7:15:00 PM more reviews by Charlsmum

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I just got some of this today and I dont know why I waited so long to buy some! I'm really impressed!. At first I was unsure as I put one coat on and thought it was good, but didn't look like false eyelashes. Then I put another coat and wa-laa! they grew substantially and it does actually build real volume and length which is brilliant.

I initially thought that the formula was a little too wet, but can see why now, it stays wet enough to build it up. The only downfall was that it kinda smudged on the top of my eyelid so looked a bit like badly put on eyeliner, and Im not too sure on the bendy wand.

But overall, I love this, it reminds me of my fave Lash Expansion (no longer available).

Also the price was great, I got it online in NZ for $15.00

Will defninitely buy again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JesssicaDenise on 4/25/2011 1:23:00 PM more reviews by JesssicaDenise

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara works wonders, i find it makes me look like im wear false eye lashes without false eye lashes. the brush is fantastic, it doesnt clump and it provides fantastic volume at a low price. i personally dont spend a lot of money on mascara or make up for that matter, but with this product i can justify spending the $6 or $7 that it costs, i bought the water proof version by accident and when it says waterproof it truly means it, it took me what almost felt like forever to get it off. with the brush being curved it hugs and adds a get deal of volume to each lash, without looking too harsh. it doesn't clump your lashes together like most mascaras do, it gives each individual lash a sense of great dimension and it makes an over all look spectacular. its one of my favorite mascaras to date, and i am very picky when it comes to mascaras because my eye lashes are thin, and short so they tend to clump extremely easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Pernii on 4/25/2011 8:22:00 AM more reviews by Pernii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I like it sometimes - but other times it just clumps my lashes... Not a fan

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 velveteenrose on 4/25/2011 7:41:00 AM more reviews by velveteenrose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I wouldn’t recommend this product to anyone! It caused some of my eyelashes to fall out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products