Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2252 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ruby2003 on 5/21/2011 8:20:00 AM more reviews by Ruby2003

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

In my search for a HG masacara I tried "the falsies". Since I was in need of something for volume and length I thought this would be a no brainer. But it wasn't. My high hopes fell short when this product clumped and gave me the dreaded spider lashes. I learned a good lesson about testing a new mascara - DO IT BEFORE YOU PUT ON ALL YOUR MAKEUP!...Nothing like having such a bad result that you have to scrap and start over. Sorry this was not a winner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JazzyJumper17 on 5/20/2011 8:36:00 AM more reviews by JazzyJumper17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This mascara is either my HG or my worst enemy. Some days it makes my lashes look AMAZINGGG. They look defined, volumized and lengthened. But, other days (most days) the formula is waaaay to liquidy and it clumps and gives me spider lashes. I just hope that maybe when the formula starts to dry out, it won't be as clumpy. I only got it for $4 at walmart, but will not repurchase. I'll stick to my lashblast mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 risingh03 on 5/19/2011 1:57:00 PM more reviews by risingh03

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I was so excited to buy this product and when I did I was so dissapointed! First, the initial application made by lashes look clumpy and by the end of the day it had flaked. On a positive note, I loved how dark and glossy my lashes looked.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovelypinktofu on 5/18/2011 7:45:00 PM more reviews by lovelypinktofu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I love the consistency of this formula- my last mascara was dry to the extreme and I was looking for that just right consistency where it's liquidy and moist and this is perfect.
I swipe this on and after a few coats it goes VROOM! I have medium-length lashes, nothing too crazy but they're fairly lengthy, but they are super stiff and need waterproof mascara to hold curls. Immediately I get almost a 1.5x length difference. It's crazy. Not as long as false eyelashes but maybe like a really toned down pair of them?
This does not hold my curls nor increase volume. It gives my lashes the long, spidery look which I actually like because I prefer my lashes looking natural but long as heck. I despise any bit of clumpiness or stiffness. For what I was looking for, this is perfect for me. The packaging is kind of silly though- what's up with that random gap between the wand and the tube? Weird.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yohina1989 on 5/18/2011 11:24:00 AM more reviews by yohina1989

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have thin and straight lashes that need waterproof mascara to hold the curl. I decided to try the Falsies mainly because of the hype. It does hold my curl very well, though I wouldn't say my lashes look like false lashes. My lashes are pretty long, just really thing, and this doesn't give very good volume to them. Also, this smudges really badly on the undereye. After a few hours, I would find smudges and it's really annoying, so no I would not buy this again. Back to looking for another mascara that does not smudge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nabs07 on 5/17/2011 1:51:00 PM more reviews by nabs07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is 1 of 3 of my favourite drugstore mascaras :) I curl my lashes before application and use the inside curve for the first coat and the outside for the second coat. I am brown girl blessed with lashes, but they are incredible thin and straight. This does the job remarkably well for the price! On occasion, I do find it clumps a lot; to combat this, I apply very slowly and carefully, but quick enough so I can apply the 2nd coat before it drives. I use a clean wand and/or a lash comb to pick up the excess product and set my lashes in place. It darkens, lenghtens and creates just the right amount of volume for day. You can pair it with L'oreals Voluminous on top for an added dramatic effect, or use One by One as a base coat and Falsies on top if you find Falsies clumps or does not seperate your lashes alone.
1 lippie off for the clumping and because it does not provide the false look on me, but it does darken, lenghten and holds a curl!
You can't expect ANY mascara to work miracles right out of the tube without using the proper make up tools & techniques to make it look fab on you!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rgeld on 5/16/2011 11:24:00 AM more reviews by rgeld

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been on the hunt for a great drugstore mascara that volumizes, lengthens, washes off easily, doesn't cause fall out, and doesn't flake all over my face throughout the day. I'm happy I gave this a try! Yes, my lashes are longer to begin with, but this mascara definitely plumped them up and made them look super long. I wouldn't go quite as far as comparing them to false eyelashes, however while shopping in Sephora for other products, the sales woman there complimented me on my eyelashes, and when she asked which mascara I use from their store, I had to kindly correct her that I simply use Maybelline Falsies! The wand is unusual but once you get the hang of it, it works great. Rarely do I find a flake on my face, it washes off easily with my cleanser (something Lash Blast did NOT do), and my eyelashes don't fall out as much as they did with Lash Blast either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephaniejadexo on 5/16/2011 8:26:00 AM more reviews by stephaniejadexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have really long eyelashes and i have tried so many different mascaras and this is one of the very few that actually make my lashes look full and long without being clumpy. I think its just as good as any high end mascara. Its also very black and easy to apply. I definitely recommend this product and ill be buying it again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bekahh101 on 5/16/2011 3:17:00 AM more reviews by bekahh101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Sadly, I was disappointed with this mascara. I had heard really good things about it and thought it seemed awesome. Having said that, it wasn't a complete failure. When I first got it, I did like it quite a lot. What I still like about it is the shape of the brush. The curve in it made it easy to use as it coat just about every lash at once, including the little ones right in the corner. The problem with it, however, is that it's very flexible and sometimes it bent back so I had to be really careful I didn't use too much pressure. Another problem is that after about 4-6 weeks after purchase, most of the bristles on the curved side of the brush started to go straight in, if that makes sense. They kind of stuck to main part of the brush, as did many of the bristles on the flat side. The formula was quite gluggy, and it clump up a fair bit however it wasn't a huge issue. Even though I only rated it 2, I did like it before the bristles started to stick. I think it must have only been mine, because a friend of mine uses this mascara and her lashes turn out beautifully. I like the packaging, however that doesn't really count for anything if the product doesn't deliver. I still have mine as an emergency, but won't repurchase to see if I can find a better tube, which I probably could, because I have found a superb replacement (Covergirl Lash Blast Volume.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 betabel on 5/14/2011 9:29:00 PM more reviews by betabel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

As a girl with almost invisible eyelashes, I'm always looking for ways to make them super black and dramatic. However, I found this mascara to be very clumpy on my lashes. They stuck together, even after an attempt with an eyelash comb. Throughout the day, I found little black flakes under my eyes. I really wanted to love this product, but the only thing good about it is the solid black color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products