Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2238 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 yohina1989 on 5/18/2011 11:24:00 AM more reviews by yohina1989

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have thin and straight lashes that need waterproof mascara to hold the curl. I decided to try the Falsies mainly because of the hype. It does hold my curl very well, though I wouldn't say my lashes look like false lashes. My lashes are pretty long, just really thing, and this doesn't give very good volume to them. Also, this smudges really badly on the undereye. After a few hours, I would find smudges and it's really annoying, so no I would not buy this again. Back to looking for another mascara that does not smudge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nabs07 on 5/17/2011 1:51:00 PM more reviews by nabs07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is 1 of 3 of my favourite drugstore mascaras :) I curl my lashes before application and use the inside curve for the first coat and the outside for the second coat. I am brown girl blessed with lashes, but they are incredible thin and straight. This does the job remarkably well for the price! On occasion, I do find it clumps a lot; to combat this, I apply very slowly and carefully, but quick enough so I can apply the 2nd coat before it drives. I use a clean wand and/or a lash comb to pick up the excess product and set my lashes in place. It darkens, lenghtens and creates just the right amount of volume for day. You can pair it with L'oreals Voluminous on top for an added dramatic effect, or use One by One as a base coat and Falsies on top if you find Falsies clumps or does not seperate your lashes alone.
1 lippie off for the clumping and because it does not provide the false look on me, but it does darken, lenghten and holds a curl!
You can't expect ANY mascara to work miracles right out of the tube without using the proper make up tools & techniques to make it look fab on you!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rgeld on 5/16/2011 11:24:00 AM more reviews by rgeld

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been on the hunt for a great drugstore mascara that volumizes, lengthens, washes off easily, doesn't cause fall out, and doesn't flake all over my face throughout the day. I'm happy I gave this a try! Yes, my lashes are longer to begin with, but this mascara definitely plumped them up and made them look super long. I wouldn't go quite as far as comparing them to false eyelashes, however while shopping in Sephora for other products, the sales woman there complimented me on my eyelashes, and when she asked which mascara I use from their store, I had to kindly correct her that I simply use Maybelline Falsies! The wand is unusual but once you get the hang of it, it works great. Rarely do I find a flake on my face, it washes off easily with my cleanser (something Lash Blast did NOT do), and my eyelashes don't fall out as much as they did with Lash Blast either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephaniejadexo on 5/16/2011 8:26:00 AM more reviews by stephaniejadexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have really long eyelashes and i have tried so many different mascaras and this is one of the very few that actually make my lashes look full and long without being clumpy. I think its just as good as any high end mascara. Its also very black and easy to apply. I definitely recommend this product and ill be buying it again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bekahh101 on 5/16/2011 3:17:00 AM more reviews by bekahh101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Sadly, I was disappointed with this mascara. I had heard really good things about it and thought it seemed awesome. Having said that, it wasn't a complete failure. When I first got it, I did like it quite a lot. What I still like about it is the shape of the brush. The curve in it made it easy to use as it coat just about every lash at once, including the little ones right in the corner. The problem with it, however, is that it's very flexible and sometimes it bent back so I had to be really careful I didn't use too much pressure. Another problem is that after about 4-6 weeks after purchase, most of the bristles on the curved side of the brush started to go straight in, if that makes sense. They kind of stuck to main part of the brush, as did many of the bristles on the flat side. The formula was quite gluggy, and it clump up a fair bit however it wasn't a huge issue. Even though I only rated it 2, I did like it before the bristles started to stick. I think it must have only been mine, because a friend of mine uses this mascara and her lashes turn out beautifully. I like the packaging, however that doesn't really count for anything if the product doesn't deliver. I still have mine as an emergency, but won't repurchase to see if I can find a better tube, which I probably could, because I have found a superb replacement (Covergirl Lash Blast Volume.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 betabel on 5/14/2011 9:29:00 PM more reviews by betabel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

As a girl with almost invisible eyelashes, I'm always looking for ways to make them super black and dramatic. However, I found this mascara to be very clumpy on my lashes. They stuck together, even after an attempt with an eyelash comb. Throughout the day, I found little black flakes under my eyes. I really wanted to love this product, but the only thing good about it is the solid black color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Nymphette89 on 5/14/2011 3:23:00 AM more reviews by Nymphette89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this mascara! It leave my lash like crap! Doesn't lenght or give volume! It's a very wet mascara. If I look up wen up and my lash hit my upper eye then mascara will get on my eye! Which is a pain in the neck to get off when you finsh your eye look. The brush is werid but I can deal with that! The formal of this is ok! I don't know but I just don't like this mascara. It has to be the worst mascara I have never use in my life! Sorry Maybelline but this product suck butt big time.
Overall, worst mascara never! Don't buy it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iidunno on 5/14/2011 3:17:00 AM more reviews by iidunno

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

after a year of testing numerous mascaras i have come to realise that only maybelline waterproof mascaras work for me.. they hold my curl like a dream and it stays that way throughout the whole day. unlike other mascaras they weight down my lashes. with this mascara you need to be careful.. yes it does clump easily but i dont mind because it holds my curl and it looks nice (most of the time) this definitely does not make my lashes look like the falsies, but it does a nice job of thickening it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 newchick on 5/13/2011 2:40:00 PM more reviews by newchick

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I just tried this product since it was on sale at shoppers drugmart for $5.99 and I needed some new mascara since my stock was all dried out. I really like how it lengthens and the brush/comb makes your lashes nicely defined and not clumpy. I would defnitely buy this again. I will alternate this with L'oreal's voluminous....this stuff is pretty good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mbrow222 on 5/13/2011 1:45:00 PM more reviews by mbrow222

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I hated this product. It was far to wet and clumpy. It ended up streaking all over my eye lids and then was hard to remove. Will not repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products