Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2235 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 margirl23 on 5/21/2011 9:40:00 PM more reviews by margirl23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The formula of this is nice, doesn't clump...i don't get thickness or much length, but it coats the last nicely...my only problem with this mascara is the wand, it just feels flimsy to me and makes for difficult, clumsy application (and i'm clumsy enough already). I will stick to my other tried and true's but i want to love this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dogdaze on 5/21/2011 12:43:00 PM more reviews by dogdaze

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm glad I reserved judgment on this one, b/c I didn't care for it at all at first; too wet and didn't perform as advertised. But I let it sit around for a bit and it is much easier to work with now. The wand is genius and really keeps lashes separated, nice lengthening too. The Blackest Black is quite black. Only this smudges on me but so does everything else. I must follow up with a coat of tubing mascara to control the smudging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 colicoli92 on 5/21/2011 11:41:00 AM more reviews by colicoli92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this mascara! For the first month or two it was great and i used it allll the time. It was great for lengthening my short, stubby blonde lashes. however, it got old and dried out really fast and i'm not sure it's worth buying a new one every two months :/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ruby2003 on 5/21/2011 8:20:00 AM more reviews by Ruby2003

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

In my search for a HG masacara I tried "the falsies". Since I was in need of something for volume and length I thought this would be a no brainer. But it wasn't. My high hopes fell short when this product clumped and gave me the dreaded spider lashes. I learned a good lesson about testing a new mascara - DO IT BEFORE YOU PUT ON ALL YOUR MAKEUP!...Nothing like having such a bad result that you have to scrap and start over. Sorry this was not a winner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JazzyJumper17 on 5/20/2011 8:36:00 AM more reviews by JazzyJumper17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This mascara is either my HG or my worst enemy. Some days it makes my lashes look AMAZINGGG. They look defined, volumized and lengthened. But, other days (most days) the formula is waaaay to liquidy and it clumps and gives me spider lashes. I just hope that maybe when the formula starts to dry out, it won't be as clumpy. I only got it for $4 at walmart, but will not repurchase. I'll stick to my lashblast mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 risingh03 on 5/19/2011 1:57:00 PM more reviews by risingh03

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I was so excited to buy this product and when I did I was so dissapointed! First, the initial application made by lashes look clumpy and by the end of the day it had flaked. On a positive note, I loved how dark and glossy my lashes looked.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovelypinktofu on 5/18/2011 7:45:00 PM more reviews by lovelypinktofu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I love the consistency of this formula- my last mascara was dry to the extreme and I was looking for that just right consistency where it's liquidy and moist and this is perfect.
I swipe this on and after a few coats it goes VROOM! I have medium-length lashes, nothing too crazy but they're fairly lengthy, but they are super stiff and need waterproof mascara to hold curls. Immediately I get almost a 1.5x length difference. It's crazy. Not as long as false eyelashes but maybe like a really toned down pair of them?
This does not hold my curls nor increase volume. It gives my lashes the long, spidery look which I actually like because I prefer my lashes looking natural but long as heck. I despise any bit of clumpiness or stiffness. For what I was looking for, this is perfect for me. The packaging is kind of silly though- what's up with that random gap between the wand and the tube? Weird.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yohina1989 on 5/18/2011 11:24:00 AM more reviews by yohina1989

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have thin and straight lashes that need waterproof mascara to hold the curl. I decided to try the Falsies mainly because of the hype. It does hold my curl very well, though I wouldn't say my lashes look like false lashes. My lashes are pretty long, just really thing, and this doesn't give very good volume to them. Also, this smudges really badly on the undereye. After a few hours, I would find smudges and it's really annoying, so no I would not buy this again. Back to looking for another mascara that does not smudge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nabs07 on 5/17/2011 1:51:00 PM more reviews by nabs07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is 1 of 3 of my favourite drugstore mascaras :) I curl my lashes before application and use the inside curve for the first coat and the outside for the second coat. I am brown girl blessed with lashes, but they are incredible thin and straight. This does the job remarkably well for the price! On occasion, I do find it clumps a lot; to combat this, I apply very slowly and carefully, but quick enough so I can apply the 2nd coat before it drives. I use a clean wand and/or a lash comb to pick up the excess product and set my lashes in place. It darkens, lenghtens and creates just the right amount of volume for day. You can pair it with L'oreals Voluminous on top for an added dramatic effect, or use One by One as a base coat and Falsies on top if you find Falsies clumps or does not seperate your lashes alone.
1 lippie off for the clumping and because it does not provide the false look on me, but it does darken, lenghten and holds a curl!
You can't expect ANY mascara to work miracles right out of the tube without using the proper make up tools & techniques to make it look fab on you!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rgeld on 5/16/2011 11:24:00 AM more reviews by rgeld

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been on the hunt for a great drugstore mascara that volumizes, lengthens, washes off easily, doesn't cause fall out, and doesn't flake all over my face throughout the day. I'm happy I gave this a try! Yes, my lashes are longer to begin with, but this mascara definitely plumped them up and made them look super long. I wouldn't go quite as far as comparing them to false eyelashes, however while shopping in Sephora for other products, the sales woman there complimented me on my eyelashes, and when she asked which mascara I use from their store, I had to kindly correct her that I simply use Maybelline Falsies! The wand is unusual but once you get the hang of it, it works great. Rarely do I find a flake on my face, it washes off easily with my cleanser (something Lash Blast did NOT do), and my eyelashes don't fall out as much as they did with Lash Blast either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products