Urban Decay • NAKED • Palettes

rated 4.6(2155 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nlt87 on 11/2/2011 11:14:00 AM more reviews by nlt87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this pallete when it first came out and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. This is my first UD product I've ever bought and I'm hooked. The colors are all gorgeous, pigmentation is insane and with or without the primer they do last for hours, the mini UDPP although I used it up ages ago and I did find a cheaper primer I also loved and I loved the packaging and I surprisingly still have the eyeliners it came with. I really felt like a little kid when i opened it up. The colors are similar yet unique. It is a very pricey product but if you divide it by the 12 shadows primer and the brush it now comes with the price really isn't that bad if you look at it that way. The only disappointing thing about it is after this came out many other brands came out with neutral palletes like this and I did find a dupe for it I don't know if it's still made but it's from forever 21 it's called natural pallete I believe, it has similar colors but the eyeshadows aren't as creamy as the UD ones. I marked it as a product I'd never buy again only because I love this pallete so much that I really only use it for special occasions,this is more as a collectors item for me then anything else. I do recommend it you can do so many different looks and it's great for traveling it has everything inside of it that you'd need.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ilovescrabble on 11/2/2011 8:05:00 AM more reviews by ilovescrabble

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love the naked palette. It has so many similar yet so different colours for everyday wear! theres a different colour every day and i really like the brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xchavirax on 10/31/2011 4:32:00 PM more reviews by xchavirax

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm Going to start off by saying I'm seventeen, so I had to tutor and babysit For a while before I could fit this into my budget and still have money for school, band, and just plain going out.

I expected a lot from this palette after all the hype, and in a way i got what i wanted, smooth, soft buttery colors in a range of neutrals with slight shimmer and glitter and just matte. I Love: Half Baked, Smog, (Day Smokey Eye)
Creep, And Gunmetal. (Night Smokey Eye)
HOWEVER. The packaging wasn't my favorite. I Marked the quality/ as a three. The gold letters can scratch off, and the velvety case can get dirty. This disappointed me.

THE BRUSH. was crap... I was sad that it was selling for $26 when it didn't pick anything up. The bristles are too thin. i wish it would've just come with the liners like before... :/

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Crimsonbury on 10/31/2011 4:03:00 PM more reviews by Crimsonbury

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I asked for the naked palette for my birthday and was put on a waiting list and I only received it from sephora just over a week ago. It was a gift from my mother, and as it is expensive I don't think I would have bought it with my own money as I am a university student with a part time job. But when this runs out I think I'll have to fork over the money to get a new one!

I really love this palette. I've never had an eyeshadow palette before, I only have maybe 7-8 single shadows (only use like 4 of them) and this palette really gives me so many more looks! I already had sin, that was my everyday go to shadow for a few years a while ago. The other colours are great as well! I use this palette everyday and put a mix of virgin and sin on my lids for an everyday look, and I love to play around with the darker and shimmery shadows for night. And they are all very good quality! Give good pigmentation and last a while.

I'm also impressed with the package they come in. For some reason I was expecting it to be much bigger and bulkier (I had never seen the actual palette in sephora because it was always sold out!), but I love how compact and pretty it is. I can easily fit this in my purse (even a small purse might hold it) if I'm going out and need to do my makeup on the go or something. It's great that there is a little space to put a brush.

The reason I'm giving it a rating of 4 instead of 5, is not because of the eyeshadows themselves, but the brush and the primer potion they come with! The brush is just crappy. I didn;t read any reviews where anyone mentioned the brush, but for me it just does not work. It's to slippery and synthetic, it doesn't pick up the shadow and doesn't deposit it on my lids like a it should. Won't be using that brush ever.
Now for the primer potion...I already had a full size primer potion from UD which was awesome, love it. It makes my makeup last for hours and hours. But this little sample sized primer is not great. It's liquidly compared to my bigger primer, it doesn't feel as creamy and thick as it should. I've also noticed that my eyeshadow starts to crease sooner with the sample primer. I'll use this one for everyday, but when I need my shadow to last the whole day and night, I won't use the sample primer, it just doesn't cut it like the big sized primer does. It's like UD is cheaping out when the sample sizes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Marybeth818 on 10/29/2011 8:43:00 AM more reviews by Marybeth818

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I am writing because I am 45 and cool-toned, so I wasn't sure whether to buy this,like a lot of other people who are older and/or cool-toned. I kept the receipt just in case I didn't end up liking it, but I did. There are plenty of colors that work, it doesn't really accentuate wrinkles, and people are right to note that the quality is very high, and that the price is good for so many usable ones plus a brush and UDPP. So I say go for it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tali7 on 10/29/2011 5:27:00 AM more reviews by Tali7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this back in January (I had been looking for it for months and nearly had a heart attack when I finally found it in debenhams! My SO had to tell me to take my hands away from my mouth lol).

Since January, I can probably count the number of times I have used any other shadow other than my Naked palette. Seriously. I wear it all the time, both for work and my spare time. I have had zero problem with fallout with any of the shadows, and they always stay put until it's time for me to remove my m/u. I'd always used MAC shadows before I bought this, and was shocked to find that UD eye products are so much better! They never crease or even budge an inch (whether that's thanks to the primer potion or just the eye shadows I don't know). And the pencils are also excellent, and last all day, even on my waterline!!

Overall this is great value for money, will last me years, are the best shadows I have ever used, and I, anyway, think they're suitable for work as well as play!

I love it so much I'm buying one for my sister for Xmas!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Zabby on 10/27/2011 10:16:00 AM more reviews by Zabby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Overall I think this palette is a great value for money purchase. As many have said, the amount of full eyeshadows you get for the price is generous. And the quality is amazing - so easy to blend, never chalky.
I do wish there were more matte shadows in it, especially for a palette called Naked. This is my go-to palette for work and other times when I want a made up but very neutral toned down look. Glitter and sparkles aren't what Im looking for.
One day I made the mistake of wearing Sidecar to work, applying it sparingly just to give my lids a little gold. I wont be making that mistake again. When I looked in the mirror after a few hours, my cheeks were covered in glitter. Covered. I just wanted to go home. And since I wear foundation, just wiping them off wasnt an option. And I did wear a primer that works for me. So now I hate that shade!
The others have treated me very well though, and I have used them all in my makeup rotation, so overall great purchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blueingreen on 10/27/2011 2:20:00 AM more reviews by blueingreen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The Naked Palette is a nice assortment of pretty neutrals. I would summarize the colors as follows:

Virgin is very frosty off-white
Sin is frosty slightly pink light beige
Naked is matte neutral light taupe brown
Sidecar is frosty sandy light brown with a lot of silvery glitter
Buck is matte warm medium brown
Half Baked is metallic very non-yellow gold
Smog is frosty bronzed medium brown
Darkhorse is satiny dark brown
Toasted is frosty medium bronzed copper (lighter and more pink than Smog to my eye)
Hustle is satiny cool, purplish medium-dark brown
Creep is satiny black with silver/white shimmer
Gunmetal is cool, frosty medium-dark gray with white/silver glitter

It also comes with a mini Primer Potion in the original sheer light color and either an UD shadow brush or a dual ended liner with Zero (flat, deep black) and Whiskey (warm brown). The primer, liner(s), and brush are all excellent. I particularly like the brush, which is especially great for building up less pigmented shadows. As far as the shadows in the pallet go, I think they are all good to great quality. Honestly, I even like the glitter, though I find all the frost excessive in terms of creating a perfectly well-rounded pallet. Even so, it is incredibly useful for creating practically infinite brown eyeshadow looks. I think it is particularly well suited for creating the warm bronzey style of smoky eye Victoria's Secret models and men's magazine babes always seem to be wearing.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sarahalthea on 10/25/2011 9:02:00 AM more reviews by sarahalthea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Pro-
1. Amount of colors compared to price
2. Brush
3. Packaging

Con-
1. Inconsistency in quality. Some shades stay put, others have a god-awful fallout mess. Even with primer.
2. Variety of colors. For neutral colors, they only have 2 matte shades that are appropriate for day wear. And they are boring.
3. Even the pale colors pull too much pink for them to be a "natural look".
4. Too.much.sparkle.for.work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rabumentos on 10/23/2011 8:43:00 PM more reviews by rabumentos

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

The good:
- All of the shadows have beautiful texture and are very pigmented. They're smooth to the touch and blend easily without losing too much of their pigmentation.
- There's a nice variety of shimmery and matte shadows.
- The packaging is nice, though prone to getting dirty very easily.

The bad:
- I would have liked to have gotten a palette with the double-ended eyeliner, but alas, I was a little late to jump on the Naked train. Oh, well.
- The color "Sidecar" has a ridiculous amount of fallout.

This was my first experience with Urban Decay's shadows, and man, am I glad that this was my first. I love having a palette that I can use every day not just for subtle looks, but glamorous ones as well. My single favorite color out of the entire palette is Half Baked. This gorgeous golden color is universally flattering, and I always get complimented on how pretty my eyes look when I wear this color. I'm sad to say that I'm not a huge fan of Sidecar, which is unfortunate, since it's a really good color for my skin tone, but I can't put it on while I'm rushing in the morning because the chunkier glitter results in a lot of fallout. That isn't to say that I've never worn it, but if I do wear it, I have to do some planning in advance so that I can manage the fallout. If it weren't for Sidecar's fallout, this would be a perfect palette to me. You've made me a believer in your eyeshadows, Urban Decay. I've got some high hopes for you.

The bottom line: This palette is flattering on so many skin tones and so versatile in terms of what kind of looks you can create with the palette alone. It's well worth the splurge.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Palettes products