Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2214 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 bekahh101 on 5/16/2011 3:17:00 AM more reviews by bekahh101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Sadly, I was disappointed with this mascara. I had heard really good things about it and thought it seemed awesome. Having said that, it wasn't a complete failure. When I first got it, I did like it quite a lot. What I still like about it is the shape of the brush. The curve in it made it easy to use as it coat just about every lash at once, including the little ones right in the corner. The problem with it, however, is that it's very flexible and sometimes it bent back so I had to be really careful I didn't use too much pressure. Another problem is that after about 4-6 weeks after purchase, most of the bristles on the curved side of the brush started to go straight in, if that makes sense. They kind of stuck to main part of the brush, as did many of the bristles on the flat side. The formula was quite gluggy, and it clump up a fair bit however it wasn't a huge issue. Even though I only rated it 2, I did like it before the bristles started to stick. I think it must have only been mine, because a friend of mine uses this mascara and her lashes turn out beautifully. I like the packaging, however that doesn't really count for anything if the product doesn't deliver. I still have mine as an emergency, but won't repurchase to see if I can find a better tube, which I probably could, because I have found a superb replacement (Covergirl Lash Blast Volume.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 betabel on 5/14/2011 9:29:00 PM more reviews by betabel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

As a girl with almost invisible eyelashes, I'm always looking for ways to make them super black and dramatic. However, I found this mascara to be very clumpy on my lashes. They stuck together, even after an attempt with an eyelash comb. Throughout the day, I found little black flakes under my eyes. I really wanted to love this product, but the only thing good about it is the solid black color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Nymphette89 on 5/14/2011 3:23:00 AM more reviews by Nymphette89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this mascara! It leave my lash like crap! Doesn't lenght or give volume! It's a very wet mascara. If I look up wen up and my lash hit my upper eye then mascara will get on my eye! Which is a pain in the neck to get off when you finsh your eye look. The brush is werid but I can deal with that! The formal of this is ok! I don't know but I just don't like this mascara. It has to be the worst mascara I have never use in my life! Sorry Maybelline but this product suck butt big time.
Overall, worst mascara never! Don't buy it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iidunno on 5/14/2011 3:17:00 AM more reviews by iidunno

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

after a year of testing numerous mascaras i have come to realise that only maybelline waterproof mascaras work for me.. they hold my curl like a dream and it stays that way throughout the whole day. unlike other mascaras they weight down my lashes. with this mascara you need to be careful.. yes it does clump easily but i dont mind because it holds my curl and it looks nice (most of the time) this definitely does not make my lashes look like the falsies, but it does a nice job of thickening it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 newchick on 5/13/2011 2:40:00 PM more reviews by newchick

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I just tried this product since it was on sale at shoppers drugmart for $5.99 and I needed some new mascara since my stock was all dried out. I really like how it lengthens and the brush/comb makes your lashes nicely defined and not clumpy. I would defnitely buy this again. I will alternate this with L'oreal's voluminous....this stuff is pretty good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mbrow222 on 5/13/2011 1:45:00 PM more reviews by mbrow222

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I hated this product. It was far to wet and clumpy. It ended up streaking all over my eye lids and then was hard to remove. Will not repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missbutterworth on 5/13/2011 11:14:00 AM more reviews by missbutterworth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

my absolute HG mascara! definitely staying in my makeup pouch for a long time! does wonders fr my poker straight lashes. its not available in South East Asia sadly. gotta get it from Europe.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Peilin00 on 5/12/2011 9:10:00 AM more reviews by Peilin00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this product and threw it out after a few uses! This mascara is very clumpy and really not easy to use!. I though the "spoon" was innovative but definitely not user friendly. It is also messy when applying it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kelsey1161988 on 5/12/2011 8:27:00 AM more reviews by kelsey1161988

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is by far my favorite mascara and that is saying something.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shoppingaffair on 5/12/2011 6:59:00 AM more reviews by shoppingaffair

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was never fond of mascaras until I realised it was my own user error. Recently, I ventured into trying some and bought a couple of used ones for cheap. This was the only one that gave me the best results. My lashes are fine and stick straight but slightly long. Wearing this, I look like I have natural long lashes. LOVE!

I only used 1 coat with the wider-side of the brush to lengthen (I don't see volume) then use the narrower-side to separate because I just want it to look perfect. The mascara itself does not clump on me but I just like to run my lash comb through to further define and separate my lashes. My lashes also feel quite soft and not at all 'crispy'.
I cannot confirm how well it holds the curl because my hooded lids will push down the tops of my lashes. I'm using the waterproof version which seems to be a little difficult to remove even with an oil. At the rate I'm using, it should last me for quite some time. =)

+ lengthens and separates
+ no clumps and not 'crispy'
+ waterproof (lasted through a long shower)
- difficult to remove
- not easily available where I am

Did I say how much I love this?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products