MAC Studio Finish Concealer

3.9

2130 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENTS: OCTINOXATE 5.00%, TITANIUM DIOXIDE 2.00%, OCTYLDODECANOL, SYNTHETIC BEESWAX, COPERNICIA CERIFERA (CARNAUBA) WAX, SILICA, HYDROGENATED POLYISOBUTENE, SIMMONDSIA CHINENSIS (JOJOBA) SEED OIL, TOCOPHEROL, ASCORBYL PALMITATE, POLYBUTENE, PVP/HEXADECENE COPOLYMER, ALUMINA, STEARIC ACID, [+/-(MAY CONTAIN) TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891), IRON OXIDES (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), CHROMIUM OXIDE GREENS (CI 77288)]


on 6/14/2010 2:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have used this for about two years now and aboslutely love it. I have acne prone skin and like to be able to completely cover my pimples and acne scars without looking caked on. I find this conceler is creamy enough to cover. Also, I love that it has SPF in it. I have this in two differnt shades depending on summer or winter. I always apply it with a brush. A little definetly goes a long way.



on 6/11/2010 7:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

With most MAC concealers, I have a love-hate relationship with this product. The love: provide great coverage with so little product. I don't need too much of this to cover up a blemish and sometimes I'm brave enough to use this under my eyes, although the texture results in some resistance- even with using my fingers to warm it up. The hate: this product can really only be used where there is no texture to the skin- it works well on flat, even surfaces. For instance, if there was a dried up zit that is red, I wouldn't use this concealer because it would only make the blemish look worse- bringing out the dryness and texture.
Overall, although this concealer provides great coverage, it's not ideal for someone who has a lot of texture on their face.


on 6/9/2010 3:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Great coverage. I could cover a tattoo with this concealer. But it can be a little thick.


on 6/8/2010 9:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This has been my HG concealer and I've been using it since the dawn of time..........I have extremely dark circles and this is the only concealer I've found that works...and it stays on all day/night..I think its actually waterproof and has held up in the hot dominican pool side sun! My one and only complaint is that they dont offer it in NC 25 anymore...wtf?? So I'm mixing NC 20 which is too light and NC 30 which is too dark. I'm going to try NW 20 and see if that works, as I've heard its better to go more pink under the eye anyway...

Also, the pots usually last me 1 - 2 years and I wear every day, often twice a day.


EDIT: Found a way to make this not crease - swipe benefit powderflage over top. Lasts all day and no creasing :)

EDIT: As my skin is starting to age, I notice this looks more cakey on me..I have since started using pro longwear concealer and I am happy to say it has taken over as my new HG :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/6/2010 8:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

MAybe I don't know how to use this concealer, but it didn't cover my scars properly. I had to return.


on 6/5/2010 6:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Yesterday when I went to MAC and asked the MUA there what would be the best concealer for medium-full coverage, she handed me this product. Not only tha, but she tried it on my and let me say I was SURPRISED. I've tried 2 concealers before this one and both failed to satisfy me.
Yes, this formula is rather thick but here's a great technique that the lady did on me and that I tried at home today: take a fluffy, tapered eyeshadow brush (she used the 224 brush), swirl it in the concealer, then, in a circular motion, apply it on whatever blemish you want. WOW this technique is PERFECT for this type of concealer! It doesn't look cakey and helps blend out the product. Plus, you're able to build up the coverage too. I take whatever is remainding on my brush and lightly apply under my eyes: if you apply too much, it'll crease and feel heavy.
I haven't broken out from this product and I definately plan on buying it again :)
------------------------------
EDIT::

So it's been several months since I've used this concealer and I still have the same feelings towards it: loving it. One thing I've noticed is that the performance depends on what foundation I use with it (and how much of the concealer I use under said foundation).

At first I applied a mineral, loose powder fndn (BE) over the SF concealer and saw that it worked well- but only for about, say, 2 hours (this is in the summer) before I started getting that greasey, oily look again. Then I used a liquid fndn (Revlon CS) and saw that it kind of worked better (3-3.5hrs, also in the summer). But then recently I tried the new Pro Longwear fndn by MAC over the SF and concealer and I gotta say I love that combo (6 hrs without having that melting look!).

Basically, in such heat, I found that the concealer melts easily (duh lol) but will suffice if I use a sturdy fndn over it like the new MAC fndn. BUT if I utilize too much of the concealer under said fndn, I still end up with that greasey look after about 4hrs. And that doesn't help with the fact that I have really oily skin too.

It's a nice concealer and has awesome coverage but I find that it can melt way too easily which is a pain and screw up your fndn if you apply you fndn on top. I have about 40% of the product left over and plan on switching to the new Pro Longwear concealer once I'm done with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/4/2010 7:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff! It goes on smooth and covers just like it should. You also don't need a ton of it to get coverage and it's buildable too.

UPDATE:: I have found my HG concealer: MAC Studio Sculpt! I didn't know any better when I did this review, but the Studio Finish concealer is not as smooth to apply as SS, it doesn't stay as long as SS, and it's not as hydrating to the eye area as SS. Due to finding these things out, I've taken away 2 lippies. It's still good, it's just not the best.


on 6/3/2010 1:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Black

I don't know, I'm on the fence about this. Maybe I got a bad batch or the wrong colour, because the shade seemed so off. The coverage is great but I would love it if it matched me. I liked the consistency at first, but it got dry SO quickly. I think I'm going to give it another try because I want it to work, so I'll edit this.


on 6/2/2010 5:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I am on my third pot, and LOVE it! i dot it on with my finger or a foundation brush, over foundation, or sometimes just on top of a tinted moisturizer, gives a very natural skin-like finish (neither shiny nor powdery). very long lasting, and even has SPF 35. perfect to cover up blemishes and red areas around the nose. However, i wouldnt recommend this as an under-eye concealer for daytime, as its probably too opaque. As i don't need under-eye concealer, it fits my bill perfectly. one pot lasts me almost a year, and i will buy this again and again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/2/2010 10:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I adore this for under my eyes. The consistency is perfect & does not cake or crease.

I would NOT recommend this for your pimples though, I felt like using this to cover up my pimples only added to the irritation.




Back to Top