Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation

3.6

2232 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 11/7/2011 3:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was not impressed with this at all. I love that they have a large color selection. But the coverage and staying power was very weak. It didnt really give me that full coverage i love.Once i added the benefit hello flawless powder it was better. But for $40 it should be able to stand alone and not need a powder.



on 11/6/2011 7:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was given a sample of this a few years ago and LOVED it! It gave great coverage, didn't break me out, went on like a dream, and felt wonderful. I don't know why I never ended up actually buying a full size of it, but I do remember loving it. So I recently went and bought the full size version, remembering how amazing the sample was. I don't know if they ended up changing the formula, but it was not good. It almost seemed like a different product it was so bad! No matter what I did, it made my skin look super dry, even with moisturizer and primer. Also, the great coverage I remember it giving was definitely not there. It looked terrible. I tried it the next day, with the same awful results. I ended up returning it. You're much better off with a drugstore foundation than this, in my opinion. I would definitely ask for a sample of it before the full size, at least.


on 11/6/2011 8:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I just recently went back to liquid foundation as my skin has been on the drier side lately. I have to say, this stuff is AMAZING. The color choices are spot on. Normally, colors are wayyyy too pink or orange for me, but 117 is a perfect match. (for reference, I was matched N5 in MAC, but it's way too dark).

The coverage is fantastic. It makes pores invisible. Once it's set with powder, it lasts all day! Will definitely repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

so after a year and a bit of wearing MUFE HD, I finally decided that it's not working the way I want for the money I pay. It just doesn't stay on!! And while I don't think its aggravated my skin, I don't think it has done me any favours either. I wasn't satisfied with the coverage either (didn't hide acne scars). I'm a professor and I really can't be worried about my makeup separating in the middle of a lecture!!!!
Oh ya- the lids keep cracking and breaking, which really annoys me!

UPDATE: my skin was freaking out from a lot of product switches. I realized that this was the foundation i wore when my skin was the best. So i put down the acne solutions, mat velvet and colorstay and decided to give this another go. I was shocked at the amount of coverage I got, how weightless and comfortable it felt, and how much better it matched my skin tone--- still not perfect tho (i think if i mixed 115 and 117 together it would be perfect, albeit expensive). My skin has not had any new breakouts and my recent flare up (which was BAD to the point where i didn't leave the house) is subsiding with the use of other treatments (epiduo and clindamycin).

There are still two negatives: 1) it really only lasts 5-6 hours MAX (def better with a setting powder) and, 2) despite it feeling moisturizing it does cling to dry patches like a motha f'er. My nose is super sensitive and prone to dryness -- i think it may be eczema - so I have to use another foundation there (mat velvet) or just a powder (meow cosmetics). But that little extra step is worth the results, my skin looks natural and coverage is good.

One last thing for acne prone people: Removing HD is much much easier than full coverage foundations. I know how important it is to cover acne and scaring, but i bet those heavy foundations left traces of makeup on my skin even after cleansing... and at the very least I'm sure my skin was aggravated by all the makeup wipes i was using - or the double cleansing. I'd rather bare some spots for awhile than create new ones with heavy makeup... just some food for thought.


on 10/30/2011 4:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

I don't see why this product has so many negative reviews. I absolutely love this product, down to the packaging. The line comes is SO MANY shades. Made for everyone. The foundation is a full coverage but is so light, I can breathe through it just fine. And it control much of my oil. It's a bit pricey, broke my bank for that week. But lasts long time, it's my sixth month with this product and it looks like I haven't even dent it. But overall, I love this product. I will try other foundations, but if I ever run out I WILL buy again.


on 10/30/2011 1:20:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Pros
- the bottle lasts you a long time
- lots of color choices, from very pale skin tones to darker ones. It matched my NC/NW20 skintone & was not at all orange on my (as almost all other foundations that I have tried are).

Cons
-can cake sometimes.
- although the coverage is medium & buildable, sometimes it did not provide me with enough coverage.
- did not last very long....sometimes an hour or 2 after putting on this on, it was gone

Conclusion
- It's not the best foundation I've ever used nor the worst. It's in the middle. Would I buy it again? I'd rather try other foundations to find my HG one but I find a lot of foundations dont come in my skin tone (I'm quite fair) and this one did have one that suited my skintone just right. So as I am on the hunt for an HG foundation, I always have this one on my counter as a back up.
- I find myself going back to this foundation time and time again. I've recently compared it with Estee Lauder's double wear and would prefer the MUFE HD to EL Double Wear.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm really surprised at the many negative reviews of this foundation. I have been wanting to try this foundation ever since I swatched it at Sephora 2 years ago. Of course the price tag was something that deterred from trying it for so long. Finally after receiving a very generous Sephora gift card from a friend I worked up the nerve to purchase this in Ivory #115. It ended up being the perfect shade despite my poor color choices on previous online purchases. The consistency is what I absolutely love about this product. Its technically a liquid but its quite creamy and perfect for my dry skin. It stays on through out the day and offers great full coverage. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for flawless skin. Will definitely repurchase!


on 10/27/2011 7:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

ok, so It's gotta be me! I hate this foundation. I keep trying and trying to love it, but it doesn't seem to stay on. If anyone has any tips PLEASE let me know, because I'm stumped. I am mac nw20/22, and I bought 118, which both Sephora Rep and those nifty little makeup charts suggest. Tried it and it went on kinda dry, used both a stippling brush, and then again with a beauty blender. I felt it was kind of light. I kinda like my foundations maybe a tiny bit darker, so I don't look like the living dead. I don't have overly greasy skin. And it's not overly dry. It depends on the day. Lately it's been on the drier side. I used moisterizer. I used primer. Didn't last. I ordered a 2nd color to mix this with. I got 125 and added a little to the 118, and used a foundation brush. I had spoken to someone at sephora, and she recommended not moisterizing in the am, but at night, and just using primer. Did that, nothing. And the 125 looks like the same color as the 118.. I want that flawless face that Kim K gets from this stuff, and I can't figure it out. Just bought Embryolisse to try tomorrow. If that doesn't work, back it goes. Anyone who has any tips, PLEASE, please let me know!


on 10/26/2011 9:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I was reading so many reviews and decided to give it a try. So far I have been using Revlon Colorstay that gives me full coverage but I was looking for somthing that is easier to apply and easier to remove. I got a sample from Sephora (shade #118, that was actually little too dark for me) but it was not applying easy, but somehow stripy. Also, after few hours, my face felt kind of velvety and shiny, this foundaytion rubs off easily and does not look natural on my skin. Also it is very expensive, so I am glad I tried a sample first.


on 10/24/2011 4:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried this makeup based on the very good reviews I read, but I´m afraid that it is not for me.

It looked nice when applying but after few minutes (and I say minutes) my face started to look like the desert of Victoria. It was also quite hard to remove.

Happy that I just tried a sample.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

THE NUMBER ONE REASON YOUR FOUNDATION DOESN'T LAST! by gossmakeupartist



Top Rated Make Up For Ever Products

image

Kabuki Brush

42 reviews
image

Star Powder

89 reviews
image

Eye shadows

74 reviews
Back to Top