Revlon PhotoReady Makeup [DISCONTINUED]

3.4

2057 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

(Active Ingredients : Titanium Dioxide 1.1%, Zinc Oxide 2.0%) Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Cyclohexasiloxane, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Nylon-12, HDI/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Calcium Aluminium Borosilicate, Alumina, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Glycerin, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Dimethicone/Bis-Isobutyl PPG-20 Crosspolymer, Trisiloxane, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Tribehenin, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Cycloheptasiloxane, Silica, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol /- (CI 77019/Mica, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides, CI 77947/Zinc Oxide)


on 10/24/2010 1:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely LOVED this product. I'm NC20, oily skin, currently dry because of Accutane. I'm wearing the shade 003.
It's a medium coverage foundation with SPF 20 - it contains 1,1% titanium dioxide and 2% zinc oxide, so it's not a great protection, but at least it did't irritate mt skin (I can't wear chemical sunscreens). I don't need that much coverage, so this foundation was great for me. I don't even need to wear undereye concealer when I'm wearing it. Don't know if it would be suitable for someone with really oily skin because I'm on Accutane, but anyway it doesn't look very oily when I apply it. Didn't break me out. It's easy to blend and I didn't find the "shimmer" that noticeable - but I can see that it may bother some people.

EDIT: I used this foundation when I had a terrible rash in my facial skin due to chemical sunscreen in some Olay product (something with SPF50, don't remember the name). My skin was RED, dry and itchy. This foundation covered everything perfectly and I think the minerals (especially zinc oxide) helped a little on healing.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 10/23/2010 10:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this in vanilla. I dont find the sparkles to be overwhelming and im usually pretty picky about that sort of thing. I think it has nice coverage that spreads well. Overall i like it.


on 10/23/2010 9:59:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is sparkly (as opposed to luminous a la Bobbi Brown or Chanel), broke me out and is chalky. What's to love?


on 10/23/2010 8:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I was looking for a cheaper alternative to my MAKE UP FOREVER HD foundation and found this one. The color matched me skin perfectly but reflects light a little too much in pictures leaving me face looking ghastly white. I am also not a fan on the shimmer, almost pixy effect it gives... it makes me look like something out of twilight. After a couple of days of using this foundation my skin also broke out with rashes on my cheeks which were severely inflamed. not getting this product ever again


on 10/23/2010 8:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was very optimistic about trying this foundation. I put it on, matched my skin and it did cover minor flaws, but it failed in "drying". Not that i want dry skin, it just seemed to stay oily, although it says oil free on the package. After an hour and a half, the minimal sparkles in it really showed up and i think it stimulated oil production in my face making the problem worse. I should have gotten the darkest color although i'm pretty fair skinned. Unfortunately with drugstore foundations you can't easily check for a match.. In pictures you could see a huge difference in my shoulders and face/neck..an unnatural difference. My face and neck were so pale, this product is not photo ready.


on 10/22/2010 9:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The truth is I personally do not like this product.
I have very fair skin and the lighter your skin is the more "shimmers" will this foundation contain thats why you cant really see them in the dark shades. I have breakouts every once in a while and this foundation DOES NOT COVER THEM! Thats why I do not like it. BUT my sister and I use the same shade and it looked really good on her. She has a clear, not oily face, just a few blemishes so it worked on her and it works on people with that kind of face. To the people with acne scars/spots this will not work.


on 10/20/2010 11:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm really surprised at all the negative reviews for this foundation! I really wanted to try it but I always consult MA before buying makeup now, so I decided not to after reading the reviews. Then I saw it on sale just as I was running out of MAC Mineralize (don't bother with that one, MAC really dropped the ball there) and grabbed it anyway. I'm so glad I did, this is easily the best liquid foundation I've ever used. The colour match is perfect - I have very fair, cool-toned skin with freckles (hate them) and lots of foundations look orange-ish or muddy on me even if they're light enough. I got this in Shell and it's an exact match.
It's lightweight, I'd say medium coverage. It evens out my skin tone wonderfully, doesn't look cakey, and hides my dry areas instead of flaking up. It doesn't really hide spots but that's what concealer's for anyway. It does rub off relatively easily which sucks, but if I keep my hands away it's fine. I haven't noticed the Cullen problem others have - I can see the glitter on my hands after application but in the sun my face just looks glowy - which is another wonderful first for me :)
If you have problem skin I'd say avoid this, but otherwise I'd recommend it to everyone. This would be my HG if it were full coverage. Very happy :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/20/2010 5:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really wanted to like this so much but i just couldn't handle looking like a cullen in sunlight. Right after i applied it, it looked decent but after going to class for only 3 hours it sunk into every pore and clung to all my dry areas even though i moisturized before. Not good at all and didnt cover hardly anything, zits or discoloration. Great packaging though but will never ever buy again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/20/2010 4:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

LOVED the way it looked on my skin, until it broke me out terribly! The color was a perfect match also. The bottle says oil free, but it was definitely the foundation that caused huge whiteheads across both cheeks and some zits across my chin. This was only after wearing it for about a week and a half. I am combin/ oily and prone to breakouts but this was more than a regular breakout, my pores were seriously clogged!
SO disapointed!


on 10/20/2010 3:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is meh. It's not bad but it's definitely not going to replace my ColorStay. I bought it in Natural Beige and it's a tad bit too dark for me. I have oily skin so PR doesn't stay on very long because of this. Also, it doesn't help that it's full of SHIMMER. This is one thing that I can't stand, the damn shimmer.

What I do like is that it feels light on my face and it covers decently. It's buildable if you want a heavier coverage. I also LOVE LOVE LOVE it's packaging. It's in a glass bottle with a pump so you don't waste a lot of product.

In conclusion, this product will work well with people who don't have oily skin and don't mind the shimmer in the product. PhotoReady just wasn't for me so I'm keeping the bottle, throwing the foundation out, and putting ColorStay in there.


Back to Top