Revlon • PhotoReady Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.4(2052 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 JesseF on 10/20/2010 11:16:00 PM more reviews by JesseF

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm really surprised at all the negative reviews for this foundation! I really wanted to try it but I always consult MA before buying makeup now, so I decided not to after reading the reviews. Then I saw it on sale just as I was running out of MAC Mineralize (don't bother with that one, MAC really dropped the ball there) and grabbed it anyway. I'm so glad I did, this is easily the best liquid foundation I've ever used. The colour match is perfect - I have very fair, cool-toned skin with freckles (hate them) and lots of foundations look orange-ish or muddy on me even if they're light enough. I got this in Shell and it's an exact match.
It's lightweight, I'd say medium coverage. It evens out my skin tone wonderfully, doesn't look cakey, and hides my dry areas instead of flaking up. It doesn't really hide spots but that's what concealer's for anyway. It does rub off relatively easily which sucks, but if I keep my hands away it's fine. I haven't noticed the Cullen problem others have - I can see the glitter on my hands after application but in the sun my face just looks glowy - which is another wonderful first for me :)
If you have problem skin I'd say avoid this, but otherwise I'd recommend it to everyone. This would be my HG if it were full coverage. Very happy :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lovesnc213 on 10/20/2010 5:45:00 PM more reviews by lovesnc213

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to like this so much but i just couldn't handle looking like a cullen in sunlight. Right after i applied it, it looked decent but after going to class for only 3 hours it sunk into every pore and clung to all my dry areas even though i moisturized before. Not good at all and didnt cover hardly anything, zits or discoloration. Great packaging though but will never ever buy again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 laurahf on 10/20/2010 4:12:00 PM more reviews by laurahf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

LOVED the way it looked on my skin, until it broke me out terribly! The color was a perfect match also. The bottle says oil free, but it was definitely the foundation that caused huge whiteheads across both cheeks and some zits across my chin. This was only after wearing it for about a week and a half. I am combin/ oily and prone to breakouts but this was more than a regular breakout, my pores were seriously clogged!
SO disapointed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 purplepaulina on 10/20/2010 3:29:00 PM more reviews by purplepaulina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is meh. It's not bad but it's definitely not going to replace my ColorStay. I bought it in Natural Beige and it's a tad bit too dark for me. I have oily skin so PR doesn't stay on very long because of this. Also, it doesn't help that it's full of SHIMMER. This is one thing that I can't stand, the damn shimmer.

What I do like is that it feels light on my face and it covers decently. It's buildable if you want a heavier coverage. I also LOVE LOVE LOVE it's packaging. It's in a glass bottle with a pump so you don't waste a lot of product.

In conclusion, this product will work well with people who don't have oily skin and don't mind the shimmer in the product. PhotoReady just wasn't for me so I'm keeping the bottle, throwing the foundation out, and putting ColorStay in there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Adriana265 on 10/19/2010 10:41:00 AM more reviews by Adriana265

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For reference, I'm an NC42 with golden undertones, normal-combo oily sensitive skin. I got PhotoReady in the colour 'Caramel' which is a pretty good match for my skin (although now winter is coming it's looking a little too dark). Caramel has no obvious pink/yellow/red undertone to it, I would describe it as a dark tan colour with a *slight* yellow undertone, but barely noticeable. I think I found my colour match with merely sheer luck as the shade selection is a little basic - most of them are beige or pink undertoned.



The consistency of the foundation is medium, it's not runny at all, but not overly creamy either. It blends very easily with minimal-no streakiness. I don't find that it feels too heavy or thick on my face either (I only apply 1 layer, but more will probably feel a little thick).




In regards to the packaging, it's a definate win for Revlon! I love the pump, it's hygienic and less messy. 1 pump provides enough for my whole face and some left over, which I just blend on my neck. It costs about 11.99 which is pricey for a DS foundation, so definately TRY BEFORE YOU BUY!



I wouldn't say this is a FULL coverage foundation, which is fine for me as I have no acne, scarring or major blemishes...if you want full coverage, I think it'd be best to opt with the ColorStay and not PhotoReady. However, PhotoReady covers reddness and the tiny flat pimples I somtimes have on my cheeks/chin. Depending on how much I apply, I can get light-medium coverage.




Yes, there is shimmer. Yes, it is small shimmer. I do not notice it in regular indoor lighting. BUT...in natural daylight, it looks like a hot glittery mess. I kid you not, I look like a darker version of Edward Cullen. The shimmer is gold in colour so can look pretty obvious if the sun is really strong out and someone is close to you. And I'm not talking just a few bits of shimmer here and there, oh no...it covers every single inch of the face, it's everywhere. Some people have said that some shades have no/little shimmer, this is not the case. I swatched each and every shade on my hand, and it left shimmery residue all over.


However, I will say that if you are not in direct sunlight, the shimmer is NOT noticeable. For that reason, I love wearing this foundation in the evening/night time or in winter when the sun is barely out. If I want to wear it in the daytime, I simply mix 1/2 pump PhotoReady to 1/2 pump mattifying moisturiser and cannot detect shimmer on my face, even in daylight. So if that's a problem for you, try mixing it :)



Make sure you take it off properly with an oil cleanser and then regular cleanser and then toner....the shimmers in it are a PITA to move and can clog your pores easily, so you want to make sure every trace is off your face. I think that's why some people are breaking out from this. If I follow that cleansing regime I do not break out when wearing this foundation. If I am lazy and only use my regular cleanser, I break out with big painful whiteheads. Go figure.



The lasting power is very good - around 9 to 10 hours on me with no blotting whatsoever. Those with oily skin may need to blot of touch up throughout the day though. It also has an SPF of 20, but despite that, it doesn't give my face much of a white cast in pictures.


Here is a picture of me wearing Revlon PhotoReady in Caramel (I'm in the middle) :



0
Full Size Image




Overall I think this is a nice foundation. I would repurchase!



UPDATE: This has become HG. I wear it day and night....looks perfect! I just continue to mix it with some moisturiser and wow....I get compliments all the time...I look flawless without having a cake face. No breakouts or irritation. Lasts all day. Love it.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 snowflake91 on 10/19/2010 12:24:00 AM more reviews by snowflake91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation has both good points and bad. My biggest gripe is not the sparkle but rather the poor coverage even with a primer underneath. It isn't terrible but I had high hope for this foundation yet I find it enhances my dry spots quite a bit. The sheen it gives looks amazing on it own but I like to wear a light dusting of powder on top but when I apply my skinfinish I end up looking like a shiny, glittery mess (slight exaggeration here). I gave my normal/matte powder a go instead and found that even though I only apply the lightest amount, it makes my skin look 'made up'. And I say this because compared to using my full coverage estee lauder double wear with powder, the photo ready looks slightly more cakey with a much less flawless finish. This is probably because I need apply more of the photoready for decent coverage.
But even though the photo ready doesn't seem to work with my other products, I would say if you have relatively good skin, don't need setting powder and like a slight dewy finish, this might be a good foundation for you

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 walkfashionbaby on 10/18/2010 3:13:00 AM more reviews by walkfashionbaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Underwhelming. I think this would work best on people that don't need a lot of coverage. I wish I didn't spend $10 on it and returned it when I had the chance. I definitely will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aprilpinkbeauty on 10/17/2010 9:50:00 PM more reviews by aprilpinkbeauty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

What I love:


The pump on the bottle, good price, easily accessible (can't get Makeup Forever where I live), it didn't break me out and its buildable.


What I dislike:.


I'm not a huge fan of the coverage...sometimes I don't have enough time in the morning to pack on a few layers just to get the coverage I need. Also, no matter what shade I try I look washed out. My face looks white in person and in pictures and I look like I'm sick. I usually have to pile on the bronzer just to get my colour back. I honestly don't find that it photographs well - I look at pictures of myself wearing Colourstay and I like it a lot more.


I will use up the bottle I have but I will not be repurchasing. I think I love my Revlon Colourstay way too much :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 liveitup on 10/17/2010 5:09:00 AM more reviews by liveitup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really, really, really want to stay with this product. And I have, despite the problems, but my face just continued to get worse. In the end, I told myself to break up with PhotoReady and move on. So I did. On a serious note, the finish is wonderful. The foundation itself lasts a very long time, through the thick (exercise, running three hours, sweat) and thin (work and school). The sparkles on my face aren't something I really mind (in fact, something I like about the way it transfers onto my skin) but I do think it was this sparkle shit that clogged my pores. Even after my night routine, I could see these sparkles on my face. I like you when the foundation is on, but please go away when I take my makeup off! It didn't, it just wanted to stay. Damn sparkles, so obsessed with me. At first the breakouts were minimal, but I suppose as the sparkles just wouldn't leave their newfound home, they began to settle and worsen my acne problem. I ended up breaking out in small acne bumps all over my forehead (never before have I gotten those small bumps, let alone acne on my forehead) and now it is sitting in the back of my drawer, crying out to me. But I must resist. Revlon, take out those damn glitters and I'll be buying every shade and jar off your counters. I will buy off your company, okay? So take them out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 10/17/2010 2:32:00 AM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have thrown this out with my other old foundations which I had bought years ago.

It didn't make my skin look great in any type of lighting. In fact, as some have joked, it makes my skin look glittery (Edward Cullen in sunlight). At first it didn't bother me but that's because I didn't step outside with it on. Then to add on it cakes. Oh my goodness does this cake (almost as bad as Colorstay!). One more negative to the bunch is that it doesn't blend. It just sat on my face like no other. I tried different moisturizers and primers but I think my face just over all hates Revlon foundations.

3/23/13 update: I tried this again. Years later and it's still pretty awful. I just wanted something that I could apply with my fingers that has a light-medium coverage. This just caked no matter how I applied it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products