Revlon PhotoReady Makeup [DISCONTINUED]

3.4

2060 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

(Active Ingredients : Titanium Dioxide 1.1%, Zinc Oxide 2.0%) Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Cyclohexasiloxane, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Nylon-12, HDI/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Calcium Aluminium Borosilicate, Alumina, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Glycerin, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Dimethicone/Bis-Isobutyl PPG-20 Crosspolymer, Trisiloxane, Methicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Tribehenin, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Cycloheptasiloxane, Silica, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol /- (CI 77019/Mica, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides, CI 77947/Zinc Oxide)


on 10/24/2010 1:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I heard a lot of great reviews on this so I decided to give it a try. I was hesitant at first, because I didn't know if I wanted to spend $13.00 on a drugstore foundation. I think it's really nice that it has a pump, unlike many other drugstore foundations. I have really large pores, and this foundation just made them seem bigger. If you look at the foundation in the sun it has little speckles of shimmer in it, which I heard wouldn't be noticeable on my skin, but sadly enough, I put it on, and there they were. I don't know how noticeable it was to other people, but I found myself feeling very conscious throughout the day about whether my face looked like a disco ball or not. Other than that, it does cover very well, and is actually awesome for pictures. I would recommend this if you are taking family portraits or senior pictures, because it does hide flaws in photos very well, but I wouldn't recommend for everyday use. Not the worst product ever, but I don't plan on buying again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 10/24/2010 12:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I did not like this foundation at all. I have combination skin with occasional breakouts and large pores and this foundation just accentuated every single one of those flaws. I bought shade 002 Vanilla and I'm generally very, very good at picking out DS shades even though I'm not able to test them. This made my face look very pale and oily. As far as coverage goes, there wasn't much to speak of. The only thing appealing about this product is the pump bottle, at least for me.

I imagine that this foundation would look pretty amazing on someone who has near perfect skin and is looking for a foundation that will give a decent glow. However, if your skin is less than perfect, be warned that there is a chance this product will highlight your flaws.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/24/2010 11:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Hmmmm. It says photoready which I thought it is only partially true. It looks beautiful on the skin during day time in photos. But it leaves a slight white cast in flash photos during the night. I don't think the shimmers in the foundation is a con worth mentioning as it was really subtle. Sort of dewy? I have combination skin. I would say this foundation has okay staying power? Due to the fact that my country is all year summer. It is really easy to blend because the texture is pretty runny. Not suitable for people with oily skin,


on 10/24/2010 1:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely LOVED this product. I'm NC20, oily skin, currently dry because of Accutane. I'm wearing the shade 003.
It's a medium coverage foundation with SPF 20 - it contains 1,1% titanium dioxide and 2% zinc oxide, so it's not a great protection, but at least it did't irritate mt skin (I can't wear chemical sunscreens). I don't need that much coverage, so this foundation was great for me. I don't even need to wear undereye concealer when I'm wearing it. Don't know if it would be suitable for someone with really oily skin because I'm on Accutane, but anyway it doesn't look very oily when I apply it. Didn't break me out. It's easy to blend and I didn't find the "shimmer" that noticeable - but I can see that it may bother some people.

EDIT: I used this foundation when I had a terrible rash in my facial skin due to chemical sunscreen in some Olay product (something with SPF50, don't remember the name). My skin was RED, dry and itchy. This foundation covered everything perfectly and I think the minerals (especially zinc oxide) helped a little on healing.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2010 10:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this in vanilla. I dont find the sparkles to be overwhelming and im usually pretty picky about that sort of thing. I think it has nice coverage that spreads well. Overall i like it.


on 10/23/2010 9:59:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is sparkly (as opposed to luminous a la Bobbi Brown or Chanel), broke me out and is chalky. What's to love?


on 10/23/2010 8:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I was looking for a cheaper alternative to my MAKE UP FOREVER HD foundation and found this one. The color matched me skin perfectly but reflects light a little too much in pictures leaving me face looking ghastly white. I am also not a fan on the shimmer, almost pixy effect it gives... it makes me look like something out of twilight. After a couple of days of using this foundation my skin also broke out with rashes on my cheeks which were severely inflamed. not getting this product ever again


on 10/23/2010 8:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was very optimistic about trying this foundation. I put it on, matched my skin and it did cover minor flaws, but it failed in "drying". Not that i want dry skin, it just seemed to stay oily, although it says oil free on the package. After an hour and a half, the minimal sparkles in it really showed up and i think it stimulated oil production in my face making the problem worse. I should have gotten the darkest color although i'm pretty fair skinned. Unfortunately with drugstore foundations you can't easily check for a match.. In pictures you could see a huge difference in my shoulders and face/neck..an unnatural difference. My face and neck were so pale, this product is not photo ready.


on 10/22/2010 9:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The truth is I personally do not like this product.
I have very fair skin and the lighter your skin is the more "shimmers" will this foundation contain thats why you cant really see them in the dark shades. I have breakouts every once in a while and this foundation DOES NOT COVER THEM! Thats why I do not like it. BUT my sister and I use the same shade and it looked really good on her. She has a clear, not oily face, just a few blemishes so it worked on her and it works on people with that kind of face. To the people with acne scars/spots this will not work.


on 10/20/2010 11:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm really surprised at all the negative reviews for this foundation! I really wanted to try it but I always consult MA before buying makeup now, so I decided not to after reading the reviews. Then I saw it on sale just as I was running out of MAC Mineralize (don't bother with that one, MAC really dropped the ball there) and grabbed it anyway. I'm so glad I did, this is easily the best liquid foundation I've ever used. The colour match is perfect - I have very fair, cool-toned skin with freckles (hate them) and lots of foundations look orange-ish or muddy on me even if they're light enough. I got this in Shell and it's an exact match.
It's lightweight, I'd say medium coverage. It evens out my skin tone wonderfully, doesn't look cakey, and hides my dry areas instead of flaking up. It doesn't really hide spots but that's what concealer's for anyway. It does rub off relatively easily which sucks, but if I keep my hands away it's fine. I haven't noticed the Cullen problem others have - I can see the glitter on my hands after application but in the sun my face just looks glowy - which is another wonderful first for me :)
If you have problem skin I'd say avoid this, but otherwise I'd recommend it to everyone. This would be my HG if it were full coverage. Very happy :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top