MAC • Studio Finish Concealer • Concealers

rated 3.9(2115 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 HarleyChick on 6/15/2010 11:46:00 AM more reviews by HarleyChick

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Best cover that I've found for my moderately severe melasma. Now that I'm getting older, the creamy quality doesn't bother me, and it dries down to a powdery finish. I use it on top of spf 55 sunscreen and foundation on my darkest patches. I'm hoping being opaque will help prevent the blotches from getting worse. By the end of the day, it does separate a bit, but nothing's perfect! I got the perfect color match at the store, and now purchase online when MAC offers free, no minimum purchase shipping. You can't beat that!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 melodycadence on 6/14/2010 11:28:00 PM more reviews by melodycadence

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I find it to be a bit cakey and too dry to use on blemishes or under the eyes. It is very pigmented though, so I'm sad it didn't work out for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asiandumbo8D on 6/14/2010 8:35:00 PM more reviews by asiandumbo8D

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I love this concealer.
It has truly done miracles in hiding my acne.
I would use my fingers and swirl it in to warm it up and then dot it on my problem spots.
Wow, this product helps my acne look way less noticable.
I am definitely buying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 francisvi on 6/14/2010 6:21:00 PM more reviews by francisvi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It used to be my favorite concealer. The packaging is excellent, the product is a lot for I think $14. I used up three of this, and each lasted me about a year, and I used it about 5 days a week to cover horrible post-acne marks all over my cheeks. You don't need a lot; just a little tiny dab will cover most. It's build-able. It's staying power is great (8 hours at least) on my combo-oily skin. It's overall a great investment. The only drawback is that it shows up white on picture due to its SPF. I don't use this anymore (switched to MUFE Full Cover) because of it, but this is a pretty good concealer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jay45 on 6/14/2010 2:00:00 PM more reviews by jay45

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have used this for about two years now and aboslutely love it. I have acne prone skin and like to be able to completely cover my pimples and acne scars without looking caked on. I find this conceler is creamy enough to cover. Also, I love that it has SPF in it. I have this in two differnt shades depending on summer or winter. I always apply it with a brush. A little definetly goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tammee on 6/11/2010 7:24:00 PM more reviews by Tammee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

With most MAC concealers, I have a love-hate relationship with this product. The love: provide great coverage with so little product. I don't need too much of this to cover up a blemish and sometimes I'm brave enough to use this under my eyes, although the texture results in some resistance- even with using my fingers to warm it up. The hate: this product can really only be used where there is no texture to the skin- it works well on flat, even surfaces. For instance, if there was a dried up zit that is red, I wouldn't use this concealer because it would only make the blemish look worse- bringing out the dryness and texture.
Overall, although this concealer provides great coverage, it's not ideal for someone who has a lot of texture on their face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kaisofine on 6/9/2010 3:19:00 PM more reviews by kaisofine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Great coverage. I could cover a tattoo with this concealer. But it can be a little thick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* agibeault on 6/8/2010 9:24:00 PM more reviews by agibeault

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has been my HG concealer and I've been using it since the dawn of time..........I have extremely dark circles and this is the only concealer I've found that works...and it stays on all day/night..I think its actually waterproof and has held up in the hot dominican pool side sun! My one and only complaint is that they dont offer it in NC 25 anymore...wtf?? So I'm mixing NC 20 which is too light and NC 30 which is too dark. I'm going to try NW 20 and see if that works, as I've heard its better to go more pink under the eye anyway...

Also, the pots usually last me 1 - 2 years and I wear every day, often twice a day.


EDIT: Found a way to make this not crease - swipe benefit powderflage over top. Lasts all day and no creasing :)

EDIT: As my skin is starting to age, I notice this looks more cakey on me..I have since started using pro longwear concealer and I am happy to say it has taken over as my new HG :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 1987 on 6/6/2010 8:12:00 PM more reviews by 1987

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

MAybe I don't know how to use this concealer, but it didn't cover my scars properly. I had to return.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dokibaesil on 6/5/2010 6:52:00 PM more reviews by dokibaesil

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Yesterday when I went to MAC and asked the MUA there what would be the best concealer for medium-full coverage, she handed me this product. Not only tha, but she tried it on my and let me say I was SURPRISED. I've tried 2 concealers before this one and both failed to satisfy me.
Yes, this formula is rather thick but here's a great technique that the lady did on me and that I tried at home today: take a fluffy, tapered eyeshadow brush (she used the 224 brush), swirl it in the concealer, then, in a circular motion, apply it on whatever blemish you want. WOW this technique is PERFECT for this type of concealer! It doesn't look cakey and helps blend out the product. Plus, you're able to build up the coverage too. I take whatever is remainding on my brush and lightly apply under my eyes: if you apply too much, it'll crease and feel heavy.
I haven't broken out from this product and I definately plan on buying it again :)
------------------------------
EDIT::

So it's been several months since I've used this concealer and I still have the same feelings towards it: loving it. One thing I've noticed is that the performance depends on what foundation I use with it (and how much of the concealer I use under said foundation).

At first I applied a mineral, loose powder fndn (BE) over the SF concealer and saw that it worked well- but only for about, say, 2 hours (this is in the summer) before I started getting that greasey, oily look again. Then I used a liquid fndn (Revlon CS) and saw that it kind of worked better (3-3.5hrs, also in the summer). But then recently I tried the new Pro Longwear fndn by MAC over the SF and concealer and I gotta say I love that combo (6 hrs without having that melting look!).

Basically, in such heat, I found that the concealer melts easily (duh lol) but will suffice if I use a sturdy fndn over it like the new MAC fndn. BUT if I utilize too much of the concealer under said fndn, I still end up with that greasey look after about 4hrs. And that doesn't help with the fact that I have really oily skin too.

It's a nice concealer and has awesome coverage but I find that it can melt way too easily which is a pain and screw up your fndn if you apply you fndn on top. I have about 40% of the product left over and plan on switching to the new Pro Longwear concealer once I'm done with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Concealers products