Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2162 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* peggy1234 on 9/8/2011 10:37:00 PM more reviews by peggy1234

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I thought this was possibly one of the worst foundations I have ever tried. I have dry skin. This went on so sheer and did not cover anything up. Age spots were obvious. It looked like I forgot to put makeup on. It then looked greasy, (I have a dry skin!) like I had not washed my face. It was very watery and would not give any coverage. I even shook it wondering if it was't mixed or a bad batch. I am so puzzled by the great reviews on this product. I love ester lauded double wear but it photographs so poorly that I was willing to pay for a good hd one. I wouldn't buy this even in a dollar store! The drug stores make better foundations than this for much less money. I really hated this-can you tell? Yes I stippled it and used primer. I also applied with my fingers to see if that would help. I then tried hd powder over it. Nothing worked. My husband commented that he thought I did not have makeup on and why was my face greasy?
Update 9-15-2011
I decided to give this another try due to all the rave reviews everywhere. This time I shook it really well before using it. This made it a much better product and I think that may have been the problem. It now has better coverage and does look very
natural. It seemed to hold up well and not give such a greasy look.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jcarb916 on 9/8/2011 8:51:00 PM more reviews by Jcarb916

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

Was looking for a new foundation and fell into the rave of this product. It make work wonders for others, but it didn't for me. I have combination skin and would've thought this would be alright for me, as the sephora associate suggested. But that was wrong! First off the color that I was, was no longer in stock! So I had to go for the next shade which came out too yellow on me. Even applying primer and a powder afterwards, it didn't last so long and ended up being a complete mess. I was really looking for that "HD" affect and did not get it. Even with a good primer, this still somehow managed to settle into all my pores and look too messy. For me this did not work, for others it may. I suggest this for those who have no flaws on their skin. I was happy to return this and return to my matte velvet plus, which I will love forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sm91 on 9/6/2011 3:17:00 PM more reviews by sm91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this product, however there were just a couple of things that made it not completely perfect.

Pros:
It gives excellent coverage and the colour selection is superb. I often find it hard to find a foundation that is light enough on my fair skin without going to yellow or too salmon-y, and I use 117 and its the perfect match!

Cons:
It leaves your skin feeling a little bit sticky and is hard to blend because it gets streaky and settles very quickly. I actually find it alot easier to apply this particular foundation with a stippling brush than with a foundation brush because its goes on less streaky.

Overall, I would purchase it again but I'm still on the hunt for the perfect foundation. Until then, this is as close to perfect as I've found so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 juliastl27 on 9/6/2011 1:59:00 PM more reviews by juliastl27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

i think the finish on this foundation is lovely. not too matte or sheer. i simply love MUFE and have never seen a bad product. i swapped in my usual face & body foundation by them for this one because my acne has been acting up and the face & body was too sheer. the matte velvet felt too heavy/matte for me personally, so this was a nice middle ground.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 splashy on 9/5/2011 11:37:00 AM more reviews by splashy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've finally found it, my HG foundation. I'm getting married in a few short weeks, and several weeks ago I went to Sephora to talk to a makeup artist and to ask the basic questions, namely - does this product live up to its hype? I went to Sephora with no makeup on and had the artist apply the foundation (and other products) to my face, she used the Sephora #56 (I do prefer the smaller #56 to its big sister, #55) to apply it. She only used 1 pump and I thought to myself, yeah right like this'll work! And then I looked into the mirror and I couldn't believe what I saw. It was like I was airbrushed! I knew instantly that I'd be walking out with my own bottle of this miracle in a bottle and the #56 brush. I've been using it now pretty much every day to get the hang of it and to get into my own rhythm of applying the foundation. It still works just as wonderfully as that first application.

Recently my family and I went to a wedding. My sister, who does not wear foundation, wanted to try it out. She came running into my room, pointed to her face and declared that she would be purchasing her own bottle the next day. It's THAT amazing.

Some pointers - a little bit goes a long way. Seriously, 1 pump and then add from there. Primer vs. no primer? I do prefer a primer on my t-zone and that is all. Applicators? I've only used the #56 brush. I don't like applying foundation with my fingers, and although I've heard great things about it I've never tried a Beauty Blender. Price? Yes, it is expensive. I've had my bottle since May and I still have about 1/4 of the bottle left. Also, try their setting powder. It makes your skin feel even smoother! Staying power? 8+ hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 whazzam on 9/4/2011 9:42:00 AM more reviews by whazzam

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

At first i loved this product, because it covers a lot of spots. Then I noticed, it gets really flaky, even with really good moisturizers and visage.

I'm not sure if it's the way that I apply it - maybe it needs a different brush, or sponge.

I love that it's easy to apply though, never gets messy with the tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cleopatra127 on 9/4/2011 7:02:00 AM more reviews by cleopatra127

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This's my first time foundation, and I don't have very good experience in makeup, but I bought this one based on the reviews and happy to have it.
It giving the natural look that I want as I don't wear it at all, the coverage is light to medium.
it can blended easily, I use it with my fingers.
if you need natural look regardless of high coverage, so this one is the right product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tammywiley on 9/3/2011 10:11:00 PM more reviews by tammywiley

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I didn't think much of this foundation and was disappointed as so many love it.
On application I thought this was "ok" nothing special but it didn't last on me for the day. By mid morning it became very shiny on me (even though I had powdered) and by the end of the day it had worn off quite a bit. I have normal to combination skin, maybe it is better suited to dry skins.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 5t3ph on 9/3/2011 1:55:00 PM more reviews by 5t3ph

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The coverage of this foundation is great because it is buildable; some days you are not in the mood to wear as much foundation as the next. This foundation makes me feel as if im not wearing any makeup at all which bothered me the first few times I applied it, but over time made me realize why this product is praised. I usually prefer a matte finish, and this foundation gives more of a natural, extremely slight dewy finish which isn't a bad thing. Also when using this, I do not have to reach for concealer because this does the job of multiple products. If you want to look natural with great coverage, this is the foundation for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vcgaona on 9/1/2011 2:19:00 PM more reviews by vcgaona

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wear this foundation only for special occasions (Going out to clubs/parties) I got matched to #123 which is Desert (for light skin with olive undertones) For MAC Reference I would say NC30 (Even though their products its too orange for me) I wouldn't refer myself as light skin but rather medium complexion as I am Latina. With olive undertones this foundation is not too pink or orange but neutral which is what I love about it. I have clear skin (with the help of a prescription acne treatment) with a couple of acne scars. It covers it perfectly. If you have oily skin like myself, I would recommend using a oil free and matte primer. I use 2-3 pumps to cover my face and neck. I apply this with my fingers to warm up the product so it blends better into my skin. To set this I use the HD Powder. And I end up with flawless looking skin. To make sure my makeup stays on the whole night I set it with Urban Decay All Nighter Spray (Which I love) #123 Is perfect for the Fall to Winter Season. But I might get another bottle a shade or two darker for the Spring and Summer season, but might not since I don't wear this everyday.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products