Urban Decay • NAKED • Palettes

rated 4.6(2175 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ShiverWithAntici on 12/13/2011 12:56:00 PM more reviews by ShiverWithAntici

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So yes, after reading countless rave reviews and watching numerous makeup tutorials using this palette, I finally gave in. It seems like a lot of money to spend on eyeshadow at one time (and it IS), but the value is incredible here. My palette came with the brush instead of the eyeliner, but I don't mind because it's actually an even better value, and it's a good brush. I can honestly say that I love every color in this palette, although I could live without the glittery fallout of Sidecar. But overall, I am very impressed with these eyeshadows. The pigmentation is excellent and the texture is buttery, and they're easy to blend. I also really love the versatility. Some critics say that it isn't versatile enough, but I guess it depends on one's expectations. I didn't purchase this expecting it to be the ONLY palette I'd need to do my makeup. I purchased this because I wanted several beautiful, high quality eyeshadows for a reasonable price, and that's exactly what this is. I could say that throwing in a few more matte colors would be an improvement, but again, I wasn't expecting this to serve every eyeshadow need (that's what custom palettes are for). Plus, I love all of the colors in the palette and already own other matte eyeshadows. My reasons for subtracting one lippie:
1) The packaging, which I'm sad to say because it's part of what drew me in, and the look and feel is gorgeous. The problem is, I know the velvet is like a dust magnet and not the easiest to clean. Also, the magnetic closure is not secure enough, nor is the cardboard sturdy enough for my liking. I know I'm going to have this palette for a long time and be traveling with it, so these factors concern me.
2) This palette is versatile and suitable for many different people, but it's by no means universal. This isn't as much a criticism as it is something worth mentioning. Maybe this goes without saying, but this palette is not going to be for everyone. Very shimmery eyeshadows can emphasize crepiness and fine lines, so if those are concerns, then yeah, this may not be your best bet (but that goes for ANY shimmery makeup from ANY brand).
Overall, I love this palette, think it's a fantastic value, and have never regretted the purchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ballerboo on 12/11/2011 2:25:00 PM more reviews by ballerboo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Although this pallet is on the pricier side, I think it's well worth it because the shadows are of good quality (no fall out) and have good pigmentation. There are a range of colors that you can wear for day or night and it's really good for traveling cause you can just take the whole pallet instead of a bunch of eye shadow pods. This is definitely a pallet that I use everyday. I have sensitive skin and I did not get a reaction or eczema flare up on my eye lips after using these shadows. i would buy this pallet again but a little goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JSFrevel on 12/11/2011 11:12:00 AM more reviews by JSFrevel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Love the pallet, but I also wish UD would make a matte version. The shimmer is not as suitable for daytime. Favorites are Dark Horse, Virgin, and Hustle. Haven't tried Creep or Gunmetal. Sidecar is very flashy, good for a special night. I love to wear Dark Horse in the crease, and Virgin or Sin as a highlight.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* basmah on 12/10/2011 5:39:00 PM more reviews by basmah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I only recently bought this palette, as it wasn't made available in my country until a few months ago (Urban Decay wasn't even available here until a year ago). Of course I've seen all the videos on Youtube raving about this palette, as well as all the blogposts. I didn't buy it online because I wanted to see this palette in person, but I bought it as soon as I had swatched the colours. I'm quite fair, about an NW15 and I agree with previous reviewers that this palette is quite warm and that most colours are somewhat dark. However, since I have dark eyes, eyebrows and hair, I can wear darker colours without it looking too harsh. I really like this palette. I use all the colours and I like them all. Fall out is not that much of a problem for me, as long as I tap my brush before I apply the shadow. All shadows are very pigmented and blend nicely. Do I feel that you have to have this palette? No, absolutely not. Do I think that this palette contains all the eyeshadows you need? Definitely not. I like this palette, but if I do an eyeshadow look using multiple eyeshadows, I almost always combine the shadows in this palette with some of my MAC shadows (usually matte ones). I actually really like the packaging. I love the feel of it and I think it's pretty sturdy, so no problems there.
Update 2/10/2012: I still really like this palette, however, I don't often reach for it. It is too warm for my pale skin during the winter. I can wear some of the colours, but not all of them, and I often have to combine them with my MAC eyeshadows in order to make a look work with my skintone at the moment. I'm sure I will get more use out of this palette during the spring and summer.
Update 3/11/2013: Even though I really loved this palette, I didn't reach for it very often and I ended up giving it to someone else (who was very happy with it and uses it a lot). I still think the colours and texture are beautiful, but I wouldn't buy it again for myself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 TheMagicQuestion on 12/9/2011 6:08:00 PM more reviews by TheMagicQuestion

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Pale girls, stop wearing this palette. You look harsh and you've wasted your money.


Non-pale girls, stop wearing this palette. You look too glittery and you've wasted your money.


I know people will vote this review down - notice that every negative review, no matter how objective, has at least a few unhelpful votes? That should say something about the sheep mentality surrounding this palette.


I'm NW15 and I got this as a gift from someone very dear who knows I like makeup. I see her often, so I gave this palette a try for two months. I absolutely hate it. Two out of the twelve colors are very nice on their own. Overall, the shade range is terrible. Every other color looks like a play on the last one, and it doesn't help that hardly any are matte. The consistency is bad. Glittery, frosty cheeks often occur as a result of wearing this palette. One of mine also crumbled really badly and was a pain to clean off of my counter. And the packaging is a disaster. After two months, it's all bent and dirty looking. Really trashy looking for $48. Granted I did spend the money myself, but I feel bad for my friend.


Every fair-skinned girl that I see wearing this just doesn't look right in the colors. I think if you're fair and insist on using these, use one shade at a time and incorporate it with something more warm. I tried blending three of these together the first day I got it, and was horrified when I looked in the mirror at Nordstrom later that day - I looked so harsh, and I consider myself to be quite skilled at eyeshadow application.


I love Urban Decay's 24/7 Eyeliners, 24/7 Shadow Pencils, Primer Potion, Deluxe Eye Shadows, setting sprays, and Feminine Palette. I think Urban Decay is great. I think the Naked palette is a big waste of money unless you have a certain skin tone (though I'm not sure what) and don't mind a limited amount of very glittery shades prone to fall-out. I think there are many other offerings out there that a person could buy for a 'go-to' palette good for everyday or travel. This isn't one of them. I think I'd rather bite the bullet and make a custom MAC palette than be saddled with this one any longer.

53 out of 94 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LianneN on 12/9/2011 9:48:00 AM more reviews by LianneN

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this palette. I wish there were more matte colours but still nice. I use this palette a lot, sometimes in conjunction with my LM matte colours. I bought a Naked Palette for my mum and my sister (hope they will like it). I use the brush it came with for concealer, don' think its good as eyeshadow brush. Although I really like the palette, I HATE the packaging, its cheap and collects dirt. The Naked 2 seems to be more sturdy packaging. The colours are just right for me, not cold but not mega warm either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nycxbabiixgurl on 12/8/2011 9:02:00 PM more reviews by nycxbabiixgurl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Im amazed at all the raves about ud naked palette.! I personally think that WnW color icon trios are much versatile and wayy cheaper. I would return this palette back to sephora but i feel bad because i opened it. I think this palette is too warm. And in daylight. The shadows looks horrific. Looks like i got 99cents shadow on my lid. Wayy to satiny and too much sheen. The brush it came w/ works just the same as eco tools eye shader brush. That cost like $4. I find myself using my Wet n wild trios way more than this palette. & i hate to say it because ud naked palette is super expensive while the wnw is dirt cheap but have the same quality. The only downfall is that wnw packaging is mad ugly. Well who cares. U wont be showing your man that you use fancy stuff. As long as the colors look fancy, who knows what brand the makeup is!

* this is definately not a must have*

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kristynrawr on 12/7/2011 11:38:00 PM more reviews by kristynrawr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this palette. I use this palette most of the time. The brush is nice, and the shadows apply smoothly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JChrisBee on 12/7/2011 11:22:00 PM more reviews by JChrisBee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After hearing, seeing, reading all the hype surrounding this product, I started comparing products. Ulta had an end cap filled with eye palettes of similar colors. Urban Decay, Smashbox, Stila, Lorac, Too Faced, and a couple of others. With an eye shadow brush, I started swiping similar colors, especially the bronzes and golds from each palette on my hand. I noticed Stilas was very powdery, more than the others and the powder was just flaking off of my skin. I already own Too Faced Natural Eye Palette and have found this is a very good palette, but a few of the colors have glitter fallout like crazy. Lorac was pretty good, but not amazingly pigmented. I swatched some from Smashbox's Be Discovered Holiday Palette on my hand. That is a big palette with brushes, eye shadows, blushes, lip gloss and creme liners on sale for $45 with an extra set of free brushes. Sounded too good to be true, and when I tried the colors they were very soft, non metallic and very low on shimmer, but not very pigmented. Not what I was looking for and it didn't have a color even close to Half Baked from UD Naked which is a shimmery golden color. I decided, of course, to get the Naked Palette after being convinced that it was the best of the bunch. There is hardly another palette like it where I enjoy every color. All of the shadows are complementary to each other and are beautiful and blendable. Very long lasting, as well. The brush included is a contoured brush that is very soft and it comes with a tiny sample of primer that is the same volume as my Too Faced free sample. With my purchase, I also received a free purple glitter eyeliner at Ulta. That was nice and a good eyeliner as well!

Okay, okay, okay! It was worth the hype. It is a luxury product. I'm still uncomfortable with the $48 price tag. But, if you're a shadow girl like I am, this is the product to get. I wouldn't waste my money on the newest Book of Shadows. Why? It's gorgeous but the shadows are half the size because they throw in a lot of other stuff to make it seem worth $64 including a portable speaker? Sorry, if I want to listen to music, I'll turn on the radio or something. And, since I liked the Baked shadow (a lovely gold darker than Half Baked) so much from the Book of Shadows I just purchased the pan separately and will use it in conjunction with the Naked Palette. Yeah, the two items almost cost about as much as the Book of Shadows, but I got exactly what I wanted. No more, no less.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 apsiepoodles on 12/7/2011 4:26:00 PM more reviews by apsiepoodles

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Overall, I think this is a great palette with high quality eye shadows. The looks I can create look professionally done and last all day with the primer. The only issues I have with the palette are that many of the shades are too similar to one another and look the same once applied, and there could be one or two more matte shades in the palette. My favorite shadows are sin and toasted. I really do feel that the price is not outrageous considering all the shadows and primer and quality brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Palettes products