Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation [DISCONTINUED]

3.6

2293 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 1/17/2012 9:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not in love with this stuff. It didn't offer as much coverage as I hoped for, and it didn't seem to do much to enhance my complexion except my pores. However, the color range is wonderful-I was matched with 153 (medium skin with olive undertones). I haven't tried much makeup at this price level, but I am assuming there are better options out there for me. Won't be buying this one again.



on 1/17/2012 8:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm NC25 and #123 is perfect on me. I just tried it on today and my boyfriend said I had a doll-face look and it looked made-up in a very nice way. I felt super confident on campus. I loved the feel of it on my face. I just wish it was $20 dollars less. I never really tried liquid foundation before but this makes me want to look for a cheaper alternative. I love the pump on the bottle too.


on 1/17/2012 3:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not a good foundation for dry skin. Dry patches are emphasized to the fullest - even with a moisturizer and primer. I believe, as other reviewers have pointed out, this is due to the silicon (dimethicone) in the product. The visual effect is very similar to Smashbox Photo Finish (which I also think is unsuitable for dry skin) only with pigment.

That being said, the huge selection of shades is excellent. I have not found another foundation that matched my skin tone so perfectly. I am asian with not quite pale, but light, skin coloring and yellow undertones.

I wouldn't recommend this product for others with dry skin, but if you have normal skin with minimal redness or discoloration, this product would probably be great for you. I say minimal because the coverage is only slightly more than that of a tinted moisturizer.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2012 11:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Ok so I got sucked in from all the "rave" youtube reviews about this foundation and decided to try it. Also I think the sales people at Sephora are told to push this product because they were all over me telling me this is the best foundation. I paid 80$ for the package of primer, powder and my foundation match.....which I truly regret now. I don't mind paying a little more for a great foundation but this is nothing special.

I think it is just a mediocre foundation...it has ok coverage and doesnt stay on that long. It does not give you an airbrushed look..it kind of sinks into your pores and can look blotchy after a couple hours and my skin is not oily at all.

If you want a little more coverage and a much better foundation Revlon colorstay is my HG and rivals over this foundation by lightyears. I would not buy HD again and just use it now for running to the grocery store or classetc.. and just trying to get my moneys worth out of it

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2012 9:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is one of my HG foundations! For reference I wear #155 and i am a nc37-40. It is lightweight with medium coverage which is buildable. I find I dont NEED to set it with a powder but i prefer it. the HD powder is also awesome. It is a little expensive but well worth it since it covers all of my skin... I would rather splurge on a foundation than mascara or eyeshadows. BUY IT!! =)


on 1/15/2012 11:18:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

While on the prowl for a new foundation several SA's at my NYC Sephora raved about this. I was curious about the MUFE color wheel and immediately tested the recs. Shade 115 seemed perfect, I tested this on my chin and in Sephora lighting this looked rather nice. Well, upon real life app the following morning I soon discovered this color was indeed a tad too deep for my skintone, not offense, but noticable nonetheless. But, the real deal breaker was the coverage. This sank into and really enhanced my very small pores but offered inadequate coverage in my few problem areas, namely my slightly ruddy cheeks. Not a good look. Also, I tried this during the hot humid summer months so that may have been the culprit, seeing as this slid off like oil. For cold weather this might have worked for me but the next lighter color, 110, is just a tad too white. That said, for the price and the fact this IMO requires a primer and specific weather conditions to look HD, I will look elsewhere. Not the worst but clearly a very overhyped foundation.


on 1/15/2012 11:09:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I initially tried this foundation years ago in the summer when my skin was oily. I found it had very poor coverage and sunk into my pores and didn't help with my shine.

Last month I got a sample of it when buying their Liquid Lift Foundation to give it another try since it's winter and my skin is quite dry and patchy.

Same thing; sunk into my pores, little coverage and now that I'm dry it really showed up my dry parts.

I'll give them one thing, they have a great color selection but I really don't understand the hype at all.

Sure wish it looked on me the way it does on the girl in the untouched promos !


on 1/15/2012 11:00:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i love this foundation! the finish is beautiful and the coverage is perfect, (medium but very build-able) i have it in the shade 127. once its applied, my skin looks totally flawless ! it really doesnt even feel like im wearing any makeup what so ever ! probably my main reason why i love it so so much! however i do have one little problem with this foundation and that is the staying power ! after about 3-4 hours i do see a little bit of shine, and tbh my skin isnt even oily so this kind of bothers me as i hate touching up my makeup when im out ! sooo annoying !!! the shine isnt really that bad i guess, it kind of just looks more dewy, but i tend to like a more matte foundation! this is my only problem with this foundation and it does not bother me that much, i suppose because the finish and overall look is sooo amazing i dont mind touching up every now and then ! overall i would recomend this to girls with normal to dry skin, if your skin is oily i would deffo tell you to use a mattifying primer and set it with a powder etc !


on 1/11/2012 9:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation is um... interesting.
I absolutely love the texture, and it glides on my skin so smoothly without the help of a face primer. I'd say it's a good medium coverage, I almost barely need concealer (and I have acne scars and a bad skin complexion). It also gave my face a natural glow that doesn't look oily. And the finish is very natural looking. Oh, and my color matched perfectly and I have very light skin so that was a plus.


Now.. the reason why I probably wouldn't purchase this product again despite everything that's good about it.. is because it splits apart within atleast 5 hours, and gets SUPER oily looking. Like.. it's pretty bad. If I don't want it splitting apart I really have to pack on the powder which is fine by me, but the less makeup I have to go through, the better. I'd honestly rather put up with a so-so foundation that lasts all day rather than a good one that lasts a couple hours.


on 1/8/2012 7:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Pros:
- GREAT color selection. This is the first foundation I have found that actually fits my fair skin without being to pink
- Silky texture
- Good coverage
- Weightless on the skin

Cons:
- Expensive
- Not good for oily skin

I have combination skin that leans more dry in the winter (for reference) The first few hours of wear is amazing, my skin really does look flawless. After about 6 hours I do notice some shine on my nose and forehead, but nothing major. To me its not a big deal to just touch up with some powder, it fixes the problem. I don't feel like you get a dewy finish with this foundation initially, but definitely at the end of the day it appears more dewy. There are a lot of negative reviews, but that because this foundation will not be good if you have oily skin. Use a good primer, set with powder. If your unsure of how it will work for you, ask the SA at sephora to give you a free sample, that's what I did.


Back to Top