Urban Decay • NAKED • Palettes

rated 4.6(2161 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 TheMagicQuestion on 12/9/2011 6:08:00 PM more reviews by TheMagicQuestion

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Pale girls, stop wearing this palette. You look harsh and you've wasted your money.


Non-pale girls, stop wearing this palette. You look too glittery and you've wasted your money.


I know people will vote this review down - notice that every negative review, no matter how objective, has at least a few unhelpful votes? That should say something about the sheep mentality surrounding this palette.


I'm NW15 and I got this as a gift from someone very dear who knows I like makeup. I see her often, so I gave this palette a try for two months. I absolutely hate it. Two out of the twelve colors are very nice on their own. Overall, the shade range is terrible. Every other color looks like a play on the last one, and it doesn't help that hardly any are matte. The consistency is bad. Glittery, frosty cheeks often occur as a result of wearing this palette. One of mine also crumbled really badly and was a pain to clean off of my counter. And the packaging is a disaster. After two months, it's all bent and dirty looking. Really trashy looking for $48. Granted I did spend the money myself, but I feel bad for my friend.


Every fair-skinned girl that I see wearing this just doesn't look right in the colors. I think if you're fair and insist on using these, use one shade at a time and incorporate it with something more warm. I tried blending three of these together the first day I got it, and was horrified when I looked in the mirror at Nordstrom later that day - I looked so harsh, and I consider myself to be quite skilled at eyeshadow application.


I love Urban Decay's 24/7 Eyeliners, 24/7 Shadow Pencils, Primer Potion, Deluxe Eye Shadows, setting sprays, and Feminine Palette. I think Urban Decay is great. I think the Naked palette is a big waste of money unless you have a certain skin tone (though I'm not sure what) and don't mind a limited amount of very glittery shades prone to fall-out. I think there are many other offerings out there that a person could buy for a 'go-to' palette good for everyday or travel. This isn't one of them. I think I'd rather bite the bullet and make a custom MAC palette than be saddled with this one any longer.

51 out of 92 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LianneN on 12/9/2011 9:48:00 AM more reviews by LianneN

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this palette. I wish there were more matte colours but still nice. I use this palette a lot, sometimes in conjunction with my LM matte colours. I bought a Naked Palette for my mum and my sister (hope they will like it). I use the brush it came with for concealer, don' think its good as eyeshadow brush. Although I really like the palette, I HATE the packaging, its cheap and collects dirt. The Naked 2 seems to be more sturdy packaging. The colours are just right for me, not cold but not mega warm either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nycxbabiixgurl on 12/8/2011 9:02:00 PM more reviews by nycxbabiixgurl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Im amazed at all the raves about ud naked palette.! I personally think that WnW color icon trios are much versatile and wayy cheaper. I would return this palette back to sephora but i feel bad because i opened it. I think this palette is too warm. And in daylight. The shadows looks horrific. Looks like i got 99cents shadow on my lid. Wayy to satiny and too much sheen. The brush it came w/ works just the same as eco tools eye shader brush. That cost like $4. I find myself using my Wet n wild trios way more than this palette. & i hate to say it because ud naked palette is super expensive while the wnw is dirt cheap but have the same quality. The only downfall is that wnw packaging is mad ugly. Well who cares. U wont be showing your man that you use fancy stuff. As long as the colors look fancy, who knows what brand the makeup is!

* this is definately not a must have*

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kristynrawr on 12/7/2011 11:38:00 PM more reviews by kristynrawr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this palette. I use this palette most of the time. The brush is nice, and the shadows apply smoothly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JChrisBee on 12/7/2011 11:22:00 PM more reviews by JChrisBee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After hearing, seeing, reading all the hype surrounding this product, I started comparing products. Ulta had an end cap filled with eye palettes of similar colors. Urban Decay, Smashbox, Stila, Lorac, Too Faced, and a couple of others. With an eye shadow brush, I started swiping similar colors, especially the bronzes and golds from each palette on my hand. I noticed Stilas was very powdery, more than the others and the powder was just flaking off of my skin. I already own Too Faced Natural Eye Palette and have found this is a very good palette, but a few of the colors have glitter fallout like crazy. Lorac was pretty good, but not amazingly pigmented. I swatched some from Smashbox's Be Discovered Holiday Palette on my hand. That is a big palette with brushes, eye shadows, blushes, lip gloss and creme liners on sale for $45 with an extra set of free brushes. Sounded too good to be true, and when I tried the colors they were very soft, non metallic and very low on shimmer, but not very pigmented. Not what I was looking for and it didn't have a color even close to Half Baked from UD Naked which is a shimmery golden color. I decided, of course, to get the Naked Palette after being convinced that it was the best of the bunch. There is hardly another palette like it where I enjoy every color. All of the shadows are complementary to each other and are beautiful and blendable. Very long lasting, as well. The brush included is a contoured brush that is very soft and it comes with a tiny sample of primer that is the same volume as my Too Faced free sample. With my purchase, I also received a free purple glitter eyeliner at Ulta. That was nice and a good eyeliner as well!

Okay, okay, okay! It was worth the hype. It is a luxury product. I'm still uncomfortable with the $48 price tag. But, if you're a shadow girl like I am, this is the product to get. I wouldn't waste my money on the newest Book of Shadows. Why? It's gorgeous but the shadows are half the size because they throw in a lot of other stuff to make it seem worth $64 including a portable speaker? Sorry, if I want to listen to music, I'll turn on the radio or something. And, since I liked the Baked shadow (a lovely gold darker than Half Baked) so much from the Book of Shadows I just purchased the pan separately and will use it in conjunction with the Naked Palette. Yeah, the two items almost cost about as much as the Book of Shadows, but I got exactly what I wanted. No more, no less.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 apsiepoodles on 12/7/2011 4:26:00 PM more reviews by apsiepoodles

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Overall, I think this is a great palette with high quality eye shadows. The looks I can create look professionally done and last all day with the primer. The only issues I have with the palette are that many of the shades are too similar to one another and look the same once applied, and there could be one or two more matte shades in the palette. My favorite shadows are sin and toasted. I really do feel that the price is not outrageous considering all the shadows and primer and quality brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blufrenzy93 on 12/7/2011 4:12:00 PM more reviews by blufrenzy93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely adore the Naked Palette. It is very creamy, highly pigmented, and just overall wonderful. To be honest, I bought it because a girl on Facebook was making constant statuses about the "hunt" for the NP. She went to many different stores to find it. After all of that, I decided to give it go, since at the time, was my first department store makeup purchase. Best move I've ever made. Now I have my best friend and even my mom hooked on it. Finally, I love the brush it comes with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shannon804 on 12/7/2011 4:02:00 PM more reviews by shannon804

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this palette. If I could only own one eyeshadow palette, Naked would be it for all the reasons other commenters have written.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starlette17 on 12/5/2011 10:19:00 PM more reviews by starlette17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Amazing! Believe the hype , everyone should have this in their collection! Yes it's pricey but you get a great selection of quality eyeshadows and this palette will last you quite awhile. My favorites are Sin, Sidecar, Smog, Darkhorse and Toasted and Hustle! The colors are fabulous and you can create a natural, low key eye look or a dark and smokey look. I prefer neutral colors on my blue eyes so this is pretty much all the eye shadow colors I need. Definitely will purchase again.. or maybe try the N2!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 12/5/2011 9:34:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I just got this as a gift about a week ago. I wouldn't have picked this for myself since I don't wear alot of neutral/brown shadows but I like the range of colors this offers. As everyone else has said, it's very versatile. My favorite is Virgin and Sin, which are the two I've used the most so far. And I love the brush included-- it's very soft.


Actually I thought this would have more neutrals than it does... the majority of these seem very warm, frosty, metallic and definitely don't translate as neutral to my eyes. And the glitter fallout in Sidecar is awful. But overall these are fun to play around with and the variety of looks this offers is fantastic. Really nice quality shadows. It'd be a great travel option.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Palettes products