Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation [DISCONTINUED]

3.6

2294 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 1/29/2012 9:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

I really like this foundation - and while I wouldn't call it HG, it is definitely a stellar product. First, they have an incredible selection of colors that matches just about any undertone you can think of (which is fantastic). Second, I love the coverage and feel of this product on my face. It covers a lot (I can skip concealer with this) without making me feel like my face has been caked with make-up and I'm wearing a mask. However, you can definitely build this very easily to give yourself more of a full-coverage look. Third, this gives me a semi-matte or more satiny finish, which can be very difficult to find in a foundation. Plus, it lasts a very long time and does help keep some of the oilies at bay.

I will say though, even though I like this foundation, I find it to be a little much for day-wear. It makes your face look mannequin-perfect, and personally, I don't like looking overly "made-up" during the day. For the evening though, this foundation is perfect. It looks great on camera (also helped because you don't have to worry about sunscreen creating weird white casts) and lasts and lasts and lasts. I will definitely be buying this again when I run out, because it covers so beautifully and I know that I will be able to find the perfect shade match. Highly recommend!



Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I went from liquid, to mineral swearing I would never go back, and then I went back because mineral was just messy. I thought I really liked MUFE's Mat foundation and I did but, then my mom had this and I am so happy. I love this foundation. I have oily acne prone skin so I thought the mat one would be so much better for me but, this turned out to have better coverage, last longer, and make me just feel good. I know people think this is a pricey foundation but, sometimes a product is just right for you. If this was $12 or $60 I'd buy it either way.


on 1/27/2012 11:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This foundation is amazing! It matches my skintone perfectly and has amazing coverage. I don't even need to use a concealor anymore. Despite the pricetag, one pump a day goes a long way for me so it lasts a couple of months. I will be purchasing this until they stop making it!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am always on the hunt to try new foundations and try out different coverages and such, well I got this foundation about 2 months ago, and it is honestly one of the best foundations I've used. I can't use Mac foundations because all they do is break me out and irritate my skin, so I decided to give this a try also surrounded by all the hype, I got matched with color 155 and it's the perfect shade for my skintone, comes in a nice bottle with a pump which is a huge plus. I apply this best with a flat top brush and get a really nice matte finish, I have oily combo skin and I don't need to touch up during the day, I've even worn this for over 10 hours and it still looks great. It is ridiciculously priced but when its a really good product why not?? I think it's worth it! Best part is the husband doesn't even notice I have this on and always compliments on how great my skin looks;)


on 1/25/2012 11:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

after receiving this in 125 its ok.It doesn't make me wanna do cartwheels, looks ok in photos.


on 1/24/2012 11:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am a combo skin NC30/C4 light tan Asian gal and have #123. It is an average foundation for me. The pigmentation and match are really good; I only need a dime blob for medium coverage on my entire face. However, it is unkind to dry patches yet makes my T-zone shiny. The upside is that it is incredibly lightweight and I don’t even feel it on my skin. I would not use this daily, but maybe (maybe) for special occasions where I need a FULL face, I would use this formula for the good coverage and lightweight feeling, as long as I bring a powder compact for shine. Glad I tried it just to have firsthand experience about all the fuss, but will not repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2012 3:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought this because of the hype surrounding it. Have been using it on and off, here and there, for about a year now. I honestly don't get the hype. It has medium coverage...doesn't me look marvelous in photos...I don't really get it.

For a foundation, I just think it does what it's supposed to do. No hype needed. I think the packaging is great, I love the pump. I got a decent match for my skin tone so that's nice too. However....$40? I could get the same results elsewhere for less money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2012 7:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really love this foundation! As of now, its my favorite one. I usually wear this on special occasions because its pretty expensive. $40... However, I think its worth it. Or at least try it out. The first time I went to sephora, they were sold out of my shade. So they gave me a sample size from the tester (along with a sample of the primer and the hd powder). Which was nice because I get to actually test it out before purchasing it.I loved it so much I eventually went back and bought a full size of the primer and the foundation. My best friend loves it too.

The shade #127 is a perfect match for me. I tried three shades and this one just simply disappered. It covers blemeshes pretty well. Its oil-free and it doesn't break me out. It doesn't have any SPF, which is great for photos. It has a pump which is very helpful! Be careful, cause the pump is removable and I didn't know that....and some of my foundation spilled because the pump was a tad loose.
I usually squirt about 1 and 1/2 pumps (maybe two) and it covers my whole face and neck. It has a matte finish...and I would say it lasts for most of the day, I would recommend setting it with a powder. Any kind of powder...drugstore or high end... I didn't buy the MUFE HD powder, but like I said before.... I bought the MUFE HD primer in Neutral(#0). Which also helps make the foundation last.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/20/2012 4:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used to reach for this all the time if I'm going out at night. It provides a long-lasting matte finish even in the hottest clubs. It's definitely a thicker coverage than I normally wear.

Recently I've realized that the shade I use (118) is just a tiny bit too dark for me and I can't seem to find one that's just right. Until I find the right shade, I'll have to say goodbye to this foundation :(


on 1/19/2012 9:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I recently got a sample of this product from Sephora along with the Matte Velvet foundation because I was unsure of which one I was going to want. The shade 115 matches me perfectly, even though I have yellow undertones (maybe the SA labeled it wrong..??). The coverage is medium, which is exactly what I wanted. Even though I have slight acne scarring from my teen years, the foundation evens out my skintone and covers the scars well enough to where I need very little concealer on top. It hasn't broken me out and stays really well over the course of the day. Granted, I've only worn this during the winter when my skin is normal type, so I'm curious to see how this holds up during the summer when I'm oily and sweaty. Either way, this is a fantastic foundation for myself in the winter!! Definitely recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top