Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2235 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Loopachu on 6/21/2011 1:40:00 PM more reviews by Loopachu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is quite a wet mascara, so it has a lot of buildability. You can get a dramatic effect if you're patient (although obviously not a "false-lash" effect with a mascara -- if you want that just wear false lashes!) The downside of the wetness is that it smudges really easily after you first apply, and with the big brush you have to be careful not to muck up your eyeshadow.

I think it gives a good bit of length and definition, and it's quite dark. It's not super volumizing, though. My lashes have a bit of curl to them already so I can't say as to whether it holds a curl.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XxPRINCESSAxX on 6/21/2011 1:00:00 PM more reviews by XxPRINCESSAxX

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

I am on my second tube of this and I have just purchased the "flare" version of it as well!

Obviously, this mascara will not make it look like you have long, full set of fake eyelashes on. However, it definitely enhances the eyelashes that you do have to make them look similar to that of a false-eyelash look. I have rather thin, not long but not short eyelashes and this volumizes and thickens my eyelashes and bulks them up in a way that looks 'heavy' as fake eyelashes do.

Be realistic in your expectations and you will not be disappointed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 candycane08 on 6/21/2011 11:14:00 AM more reviews by candycane08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this mascara it thickens and lengthens lashes didnt clump n didnt smell funny, and I like the wand definitley will by again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SockRocker on 6/21/2011 4:27:00 AM more reviews by SockRocker

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This product gave my lashes the best length I have ever gotten with any mascara. It didn't exactly make my lashes look fuller, but didn't thin them either. It was a nice medium. I got many compliments on my lashes and questions on what mascara I was using. However, I will not be purchasing this mascara again.
While I love how it lengthens my lashes, it always runs beneath my eyes, giving me raccoon eyes by the end of the day. No matter what I have done to prevent this (setting powder beneath my eyes, eye primer, etc,.) I always end up having them when using this mascara. It has never happened to me before with any other mascara, which is unfortunate because I do love the effect this product gives my lashes. But, I can't deal with the running of it beneath my eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Leilah27 on 6/21/2011 3:16:00 AM more reviews by Leilah27

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great product and i loved it. I have it in Very Black and it doesnt dry out. I found it may smudge after a while but not an intense smudge and that can be wiped away quite easily. I found with its spoon brush it's super easy to apply. I usually curl my lashes before applying the mascara. It makes my lashes long but they only stay long for about 2 hours at the most. Its an overall great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xchristinex on 6/20/2011 9:23:00 PM more reviews by xchristinex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have asian lashes that point straight down and this mascara holds a curl quite well. I have really oily skin and this smudges slightly after 8 hours at school. The formula initially is quite wet,but it worked better after a few uses. The thing I didn't like about this mascara was how it made my lashes look. It make them look spiky and clumped 2-3 lashes together. ech, wasn't for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Chinadoll3 on 6/20/2011 12:13:00 PM more reviews by Chinadoll3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I reallly dont like this. I have fairly long lashes, and i usually seek mascara for a tiny bit of length, a bit more volume and a lot of blackness as mine are quite fair. But this is awful - it clumps and gives you about 5 spidery clumps of lashes instead of fanining them all out. The wand picks up far to much mascara and i think the packaging is awkward and looks and feels cheap and unimpressive. The spoon wand almost ''pivots'' i suppose to allow you to get to the smaller lashes but it just makes it difficult. If your looking for a natural look I'de go for maybelline great lash or if your looking for a realy false lash effect (which this clearly isnt - it just looks rubbish and tacky) then try w7 big lash which is a steal! I got mine for about 2.50 and its the best mascara i've ever used in my life! I'll use this product if its the only thing i have but otherwise its useless for me, although i have a couple of friends who adore it it certainly isnt for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nnn3 on 6/20/2011 12:00:00 PM more reviews by nnn3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I truly hate this mascara.It looks dry and unnatural on my lashes.It clumps and smudges a lot.After I used it for a week my lashes started falling.I am glad I threw it in the bin.I will never repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SweetMurry on 6/20/2011 5:28:00 AM more reviews by SweetMurry

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Same formula as the reg volum express, just differnt wands... both have pros and cons but i love this mascara

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 OhErykah21 on 6/19/2011 4:05:00 AM more reviews by OhErykah21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

As a well experienced mascara pro here, lol I like this product :) there's really nothing bad to say about this mascara, works just fine. But my trick is to layer on two to three different types of mascara so I'll perhaps use the stiletto mascara and this one, and I'll give a really dramatic look.. Well to me it did.. The brush itself is tricky at first but once you get the hang of it, it's easy and a lovely brush "-_-"
Works really good.. Do recommend.. Find this helpful if using my tip of layering Two Different mascaras at the same time..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products