Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation [DISCONTINUED]

3.6

2294 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 2/7/2012 10:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I initially was skeptical about this product. My skin is very sensitive and has only shown to do well with one foundation- Almay's TLC. I tried this with the help of a helpful Sephora girl. The liquid is light, creamy and smooth, and goes on easily. The coverage is medium-to heavy. It goes well with the concealer and Microfinish powder. I definitely would recommend using the primer, concealer, foundation, and microfinish powder for the best effect. It creates a flawless finish.

This foundation never makes me break out, but could be a little oily for oilier skins. The packaging is amazing, but the product itself is definitely pricey. You're looking at over $100 for the set. To me, good make-up is well worth the money.



on 2/7/2012 2:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I wear this foundation for daily use.
I know it says full coverage/hd but it is far too moisturizing for my oily/combination skin to wear out at night/anywhere I might sweat-- since it will just melt off my face. I like how natural this foundation looks, I don't think it covers as well as my other full-coverage foundations, and I don't think it lasts anywhere near as long as my mac foundation. I use this because it is extremely fast and easy to apply and blend in, feels extremely light on my face, and gives me just enough coverage to go out and do the things I need to do. I have not tested this foundation for photo quality, but I didn't buy it for that. For those with dryer skin types, I think this would work amazingly well. As for those who have oilier skin like I do, Its just an ok foundation. I do want to note though-- I absolutely love the packaging.
I would compare this to Vincent Longo's dew finish liquid foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2012 12:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Fornall the people that gave this a low review, they have no clue on what they are talking about. They mentioned cakey?!?! It's far from it! This foundation happens to be the best I've tried so far. At first I didn't like it much, I thinking what is the hype all about but as I started to wear on a day by day basis, I fell in love. It's so natural looking, its like you have nothing on and if you want more medium coverage just add another layer to your face. It also hydrates and makes your skin feel beautiful. If you haven't tried it , in say go and purchase this, its well worth the money.


on 2/5/2012 2:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just got some of this as a sample because I have been wanting to try this for a while. It is a very nice foundation. I used it with my stippling brush and I love the finish of it. However for me personally this is too much coverage. I only applied one coat all over my face and I looked too made up. I don't have any blemishes or redness and I don't normally conceal anything other than under my eye so for me this was too much.

I used a primer underneath and I can honestly say that this oxidized on my skin. I have an oily t zone and I noticed that after a few hours my face looked a bit more yellow and it started to look cakey. I can see why most people like this. I feel like it left that dewy finish which I personally do not like. I would say that this a medium coverage.


on 2/5/2012 2:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I execute a fair amount of work to get a good makeup product for my skin tone. I like a good balance between texture, length of wear, colour tone etc. My expectations are not unreasonable, but they are fair given the other products on the market and what I know I *can* achieve.

First of all, this is NOT a full coverage foundation. It is a light-medium coverage foundation. Yes if you apply a primer it will become more medium coverage. And yes if you apply layer after layer you will get more coverage, but you will also get a cakey look. I think applying with a brush will probably also look different than applying with fingers, but I like to use fingers because its faster in the morning.

-The packaging was good, I like the pump and I like the see through clear bottle and clean cap.
-The shade and colour range is awesome. Even mixing the shades is awesome. This factor is probably this foundations top selling point, but it stops there.
-The texture actually reminds me of Shiseido Sunscreen lotion. Honestly, it really does. Its kind of oily at first with a bit of grit/texture in it (I don't mean that in a bad way, I just am not sure how else to explain it). Then it dries a bit matte (but doesn't stay matte). Its important to shake the bottle each time you apply it, otherwise the emulsifiers separate from the solids it appears (again, like Shiseido Sunscreen lotion. and I should clarify that I don't understand this separation, only that you need to shake the bottle to help get consistent looks with this product)
-Even when using my Hourglass primer I found that the foundation did not stay unless I *really* layered it on in the morning. A few days I noticed that by 3pm I got the look I was aiming for, but man is that type of performance hard to rely on.

Overall I just was not that impressed with this foundation. The coverage was not good enough and I did not like having to do so much work to get the right coverage without looking like a cake. I got tired of it.

My Nars Matte foundation is much more elegant and covering. It requires a well moisturized face to apply, but it covers well and has better lasting power.

In summary, other than the shade selection, I am not clear on what is so great about this foundation. If you want light coverage then try an all natural mineral powder foundation. They give great natural looking light coverage and boy do they ever last for hours, even without primer (which is hard for even me to believe).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2012 12:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

First off, I've avoided this product for a long time because when I heard the name "HD" I thought "oh dear god, this is one of those heavy duty cakey foundations" and ran in the opposite direction. I'm around N15-20 and want a natural medium coverage from a foundation so when I went into Sephora a couple weeks ago, I definitely was not looking for this. I was interested in the Nars Sheer Glow but when I told the SA I wanted natural med coverage, she really pushed for HD and suggested to try the MUFE HD on one side and SG on the other. I did and decided to not go for the SG since the colours were off (montblanc) and it looked really streaky on me. HD on the other hand looked absolutely beautiful - applied like a dream, made my skin look so even and smooth, not thick or cakey and all, and a natural glow. I tried a full face, walked around the mall for around 30-45 mins and things were looking good: not shiny, minimal colour change, etc. So I bought 115 and was all good. But once I hit the 1hr-1.5hr mark suddenly the foundation started oxidizing majorly - a clear shade and a bit darker. My face was significantly more yellow and tanner looking than the rest of my body and nearly more than 2 shades darker than my outer arm. I thought it might have been the girl caking it on so I tried a few more days. When I applied a very sheer layer with my fingers, no noticeable oxidization. But if I tried for light-med or med coverage with a brush, then my face started changing colours. I didn't want to get 110 and have to go around for 2hrs with a whitecast face before my skin looked normal so I exchanged this for the Diorskin Nude which I've been eyeing for ages and only oxidizes minimally on my skin. Really sad this didn't work.

PROS:
lightweight
great colour selection
makes skin appear very smooth and even
doesn't accentuate dry patches or dry scabs around acne
natural glow (I got a bit shiny after a full day but not deal breaker - blot a little with tissue and you're good to go)
solid medium coverage but still natural looking
very easy to blend

CONS:
oxidizes like crazy (I have combo skin - slightly more oily tzone, normal everywhere else. Skin is actually mostly normal right now since it's winter)
Pricier but not outrageous
Clearly wont be buying again since it didn't work out for me at all.


on 2/3/2012 11:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Black

What is the hype with this foundation?. My experience:
Texture/Finish looks like polythene or plastic like,. It does not give a soft focus, natural finish nor does it give the face a clean or fresh appearence. Also feels like there is heavy goop on your face. I did like Christian dior's foundation quite light and my skin can breathe in it without feeling sticky though it is expensive.
I am giving 1 point for packaging and 1 for range of colors

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/2/2012 11:39:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I always find it amusing when a car company advertises an award in "initial quality." Most things are great when they are shiny and new. This foundation would get a 5 from me in "initial quality." By midday it's okay. By the end of the day not good.

The color match was superb. It applied beautifully. Looks natural. It didn't smell or feel weird. My only problem is it didn't last. This may last longer on somene with drier skin. I tried this over the HD primer too, BTW. I would not purchase this again nor would I recommend it for more than an hour.

My foundation testing over the last few weeks has produced a nugget of realization: products formulated to look good for camera generally do not last on me. In real life I don't get to stop what I am doing for touch-up's. I don't have a team of people standing around to fix my face constantly. Soooo, I think I am done whoring around for a while and going back to ELDW.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/2/2012 11:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Almost makes me look TOO perfect...too heavy for everyday wear, but good for special occasions and photos.

ETA: Turns greasy on me.


on 1/30/2012 4:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

So where do I began? I am shocked it has such mediocre ratings. This is the closest foundation I found to being "THE ONE"! Coming from Hispanic heritage and with very obvious yellow/olive undertones it has been a challenge to find a close match to my skin tone (NC40) that doesnt make me look "pink". I have tried drugstore brands, mac, clinique, lancome, etc. But none of them have ever been close to becoming my holy Grail. maybe except Revlon Colorstay in rich tan. Pros: WIDE array of shades for undertones, creamy texture that effortlessly blends into skin, medium to full coverage, feels uber lightweight, it has a satiny finish which looks very natural,
cons: slightly pricey but believe me i have had it for 4 months now and i am halfway through with it and wear it DAILY! yes the quality is that amazing. I only use one pump in cover my entire face wit no need for concealer. the only thing I am not loving about this foundation is that it is not good for those hot humid days, I wish it had a slightly longer staying power but then again I out and about for 8-10 hrs a day so I might be asking for too much. Nonetheless if your a cheapie like me u can always get a sample from the sephora counter to try it out before your invest in it.


Back to Top