Jean Paul Gaultier • Classique EDT • Fragrances

rated 4.1(182 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* triotrio on 12/11/2007 12:17:00 PM more reviews by triotrio

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This was the very first "adult" fragrance I fell in love with, waaaay back when I was about 17. I had that "OH!" reaction. To my suprise, I've never gotten sick of it, but perhaps that's because I haven't overdone it by wearing it constantly. I regard this strictly as a Night fragrance. It's far too strong for the office, and the staying power is formidable. But going out all glammed up at night I give myself a conservative two squirts and I love smelling myself all night long. I'm no good at describing perfumes - all that "top note" and "fade down" business - so I'll leave that to the other reviews. Suffice to say that I've always found this to be quite distintive and recogniseable, which I think classic scents should be. I've often smelt this on the street on women walking past me - that distinctive sexy, fruity, joyous scent. There are few other scents that one would recognise that immediately, especially these days, when companies are churning out scents on a conveyor belt. Though the search continues for my HG "office" scent - I can see myself wearing this after dark for the rest of my life.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mai1978 on 12/7/2007 10:15:00 PM more reviews by mai1978

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Delicious! This has a light champagne, almost boozy, note in the beginning that is more wonderful than it sounds. It changes over time and is wonderful at every stage.
WARNING: I bought mine over the internet, but I tried it out again at Sephora and I was horrified to find that it was awful and smelled nothing like what I had. What happened was that Sephora stored the tester bottle next to hot lights and over time it ruined the fragrance. Shield your bottles from the heat and light!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gita1 on 11/27/2007 9:56:00 AM more reviews by Gita1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This fragrance is incredible. It is sweet, warm, feminine bliss. It is so well blended and smooth. It dries down to a wonderful ambery vanilla unlike any other vanilla. I prefer the edt to the edp which is a bit flatter. I love what a reviewer says below - "this is classically feminine, though definitely with a sexy, passionate base." I would not change a thing on this one. Perfection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 smcgraw on 11/22/2007 3:38:00 AM more reviews by smcgraw

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I like this better than the EDP, it has a little more of a soapy, clean note than the EDP which just smells a little dirty to me. But they both have that day-old perfume smell to my nose, a sour note that I remember from Lucky You and Dream Angels Heavenly. I think of the EDP as morning-after sexy, when you know you had a wild night but now you just want to go home and shower. I probably would have loved it when I was 21.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CecileCecile on 11/11/2007 3:35:00 PM more reviews by CecileCecile

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Starts off with a zing, then fades to a 'minor chord' of citrus that somehow has an almost chypre-ish feel. Very gradually settles into a sweetish, semi-heady floral with a touch of soapiness - not exactly what comes to mind when I imagine 'sex in a bottle', but each to their own. Staying power was indeed good like many others have said. Not a bad scent, but on my skin it doesn't quite seem to live up to its full potential. The bottle, which I adored when it was first released, seems cliche' to me now, and I really can't stand that can, either. I think Classique is worth a try, I can see how it can be delightful on some - but as for me, no sale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Emese1 on 10/1/2007 7:36:00 AM more reviews by Emese1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It smells expensive. Similar to Addict, but better (I guess because the edt wasn't so overpowering). I really wanted to like it, unfortunately it's just not me, totally different from my personality. And if I wear heavier, more oriental scents I like to smell the vanilla most, like in Hypnotic Poison, bacuse it's more comforting to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissChocoholic on 8/31/2007 10:34:00 AM more reviews by MissChocoholic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Still my absolute favorite perfume!! I've tried so many in the past - Chanels, Bvlgari's, Guerlains, Creeds, Bond New Yorks, etc. - you get the picture. But this fragrance has always been my stand-by. The only formulation that I like however, is the EDT. I find that it has more of an effervescent, lighter quality to it and accentuates the ginger note more so than in the EDP, which I find to be a bit too cloying and boozy for me. The initial spray of the EDT can be pretty powerful, but after about 20 mins or so, it dries down so nicely to a semi-sweet, semi-spicy, gingery floral-oriental. I usually wear this all year round - in the summer, 1 spray will do...and you still get a really nice waft of this fragrance during the day. I also get so many compliments on this fragrance from both men and women. Will always be re-purchasing a bottle. :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jolie_g on 7/10/2007 11:27:00 AM more reviews by jolie_g

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I've had this since december last year as a christmas gift. I thought the smell was fantastic and can't get enough of it. I still use this regularly and people always say that I smell really really good, makes them want to be around me :) The packaging is really cute! I use it more in the fall and winter time, I use it slightly during the summer only because I don't wanna spend any money for summer fragrances and thus I'm still loving my classique JPG. voila! The smell stays all day long!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maschaa on 5/5/2007 6:40:00 PM more reviews by maschaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I hate this!!!! Used to be a favorite, used to wear it when I was at friends etc but then I got my own bottle and after 2 uses I almost vomited when spraying again. Eww!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nastycat on 2/4/2007 1:52:00 PM more reviews by nastycat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

so many reviews, I'll keep mine short, since I'm not a huge fan. it is not objectionable- but I find it just a bit too common. too strong on 1st application, it dries down nicely. wouldnt buy again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jean Paul Gaultier products

More Fragrances products