Redken • Color Extend Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.1(197 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Dalila80 on 12/18/2009 1:38:00 PM more reviews by Dalila80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I buy large bottle in salons - never drugstore, I000 ml. It is best shampoo I ever used. I never do blow-out, so this shampoo + same conditioner make my hair look gorgeous.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nell_daisy on 10/30/2009 1:09:00 AM more reviews by nell_daisy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It is an ok product. It cleans your hair, doesn't strip the color, doesn't weigh it down. However, not very moisturizing, doesn't add much shine, and I noticed some build up. I actually like Redken products, but everything I have tried from the color extend line was a bust.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleBear23 on 8/14/2009 7:20:00 PM more reviews by LittleBear23

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have only used this twice. So, I can't say about how good this is at preventing color from fading. I can say that my hair is really limp. I have super fine, thick, straight hair and it's just so limp right now. Also, I can normally go at least 2 days between washes before my hair looks like it needs to be washed, but less than15 hours later my bangs look oily.

Maybe this would be better for someone with curly or course hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shootxyourxgun on 8/11/2009 2:11:00 AM more reviews by shootxyourxgun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I absoloutly love this shampoo. I discovered it once I started attending beauty school and have never gone back to anything else. My hair is colored fire-engine red and this product makes the color last sooo long! I always get compliments on how my color always looks fresh. When they added cranberry oil to the ingredients a few months ago, it worked even better! The matching conditioner is amazing as well-- it makes my hair very soft but not oily, which is amazing because my hair naturally tends to be oily in the first place. Another thing I like about this line is that since it's pretty concentrated, you only need a small amount, which means if you use the correct amount, it will last you quite a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 beachbum325 on 6/2/2009 3:25:00 PM more reviews by beachbum325

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I thought it was just me who was experiencing an extremely itchy scalp after using this for a few weeks, but I see other reviewers are feeling the same thing. This bottle was a rip off, too. I have very long (mid back), wavy brown hair with some highlights and it's done nothing for my color. The UV filter? That is a sham. Take a look at the ingredients!! No wonder my skin is dying! It's FULL of harsh chemicals. Don't know why I didn't look at that before buying it - I guess I was disillusioned in thinking expensive shampoos are better. My hair looks worse than before and is dry. Please don't buy this. I am now searching for a natural shampoo and I'll pray it undoes the damage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xoxo241 on 5/15/2009 6:30:00 PM more reviews by xoxo241

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This shampoo works really well for colored hair. I dye my hair really dark and this kept the color vibrate longer. It has a yummy flowery sweet smell that isn't overpowering and I can't smell it on my hair when its dried. I didn't give 5 stars due to sulfates being in the ingredients, which are known to strip color. The price was too high but you since you are buying a salon brand, expect to pay higher than normal shampoos.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 4/29/2009 3:21:00 PM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a good, color-safe choice for my color treated hair. So far after over a month of usage, not much buildup - which is nice. It also does not strip my slightly dry hair. Redken makes great products and this is no exception. Bought another bottle in 2012. Still really liking it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iheartalize on 4/15/2009 3:10:00 AM more reviews by iheartalize

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Definitely helps to extend color!! Other shampoos and conditioners have ingredients that actually strips the color out of the hair and is way more harsh. The smell is okay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wouldyoubelieve on 3/30/2009 7:11:00 PM more reviews by wouldyoubelieve

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

oh I wish I checked the reviews before buying this! Stupid me. I remembered the blonde glam shamp and cond duo to be quite good for my hair....I think that the last time I got a oh your hair looks so healthy compliment was when I used that! Anyway, I thought this would be just as good for my hair.. maybe better even.... but no. After 1 wash my hair was left dry.. I thought that it might just be the way my hair was at that time cos I had been blowdrying it a bit which I don't usually do but with everywash it never got any softer or smoother :-( def not healthy looking. I don't want to waste it cos it's not the cheapest shampoo and conditioner out there but it's like it's sucking th moisture out of my hair slowly. It does an ok job if I use it after treating my hair with coconut oil but I mean I'm not guna do that for every shower!
Learnt my lesson. makeup alley 1st. buy 2nd!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 barrieb3 on 3/23/2009 7:05:00 PM more reviews by barrieb3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've never had great hair, but at least it is healthy looking. While using this product, I noticed my hair no longer looked healthy, in fact, it began to look dull and became difficult to style. As another reviewer mentioned, my hair never looked or felt clean after using it either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Shampoo products