Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3217 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 emmacurriee on 4/1/2014 3:50:00 PM more reviews by emmacurriee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really didn't like this product, it looked very cakey and left my pours looking massive. This was one of the first foundations I ever used and i wouldn't buy it again. Unfortunately I used it until the product was done because I hate wasting foundation (it was a nightmare), I like foundation to make my skin look smooth but this just made my skin look cakey and oily which made me very self conscious. I don't remember how much it cost but I assume it was between £5-£7. I give this product a 2/5 and would not buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sarahmedeiros on 3/27/2014 3:11:00 PM more reviews by sarahmedeiros

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Maybe I'm a loner here, but this is alright for my skin! I use the light ivory shade since I'm as pale as a ghost. I actually like how it feels, its so soft and light! With a beauty blender I got some good coverage out of this, and I didn't find it that cakey. Maybe by the end of the day, but only if I reapplied powder. For the price, I may buy again. I like it more than other mousse foundations I own.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 riceisnice on 3/27/2014 2:48:00 PM more reviews by riceisnice

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Cakeeeyyyyyy.
This was the first foundation I ever bought. I wanted something to even out my complexion and I had combination skin back then, so I thought I'd try it.
What a terible decision that was.
There's literally no coverage to this foundation. When I apply a thin layer, it looks chalky and cakey. When I try to layer on more, it pills up and rolls off of my face, and I'm back to square one. Regardless of what brush I use or if I use my fingers, this will happen.
It didn't do much for oil control either.
Highly discourage anyone from buying this. Not even worth $0.50.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lexieloveee on 3/25/2014 10:03:00 PM more reviews by Lexieloveee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ehhhh cakey !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ohdrdoctor on 3/15/2014 9:57:00 PM more reviews by ohdrdoctor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I honestly don't know why I purchased this or why I used it for so long. I'm pale yet the coverage leaves me looking like a chalky ghost nightmare. It is very drying and ends up creasing in any little smile lines you may have. Even when applied over a heavy moisturizer it manages to suck the life out of your skin. Somehow it deadens all the lovely bits of my skin and doesn't cover any imperfections. I've tried applying this several ways but it just doesn't work. I wouldn't recommend this to ANYONE because it will age your skin during wearing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 templesgirl on 3/12/2014 7:53:00 AM more reviews by templesgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this on and off since 2006 . It's the one I always go to . I have more oily skin and this makes me look airbrushed . I use a primer as we'll with it and apply with a beauty blender . I usually flip around the whole dream line . I use sandy beige during winter and honey beige in the summer . I would say it is full medium to full coverage . I suffer from adult acne .. Yeahhhh and this covers my breakouts no problem . I am surprised to see only 3 lippie rating . It really is the one I wear most often and makes my look airbrushed . I will agree if your dry stay away it will cling to your flakes .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kjelin01 on 3/8/2014 12:01:00 PM more reviews by kjelin01

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don´t like it, wrong colour for me, and give me wrong sort of coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jenniferlee5 on 3/5/2014 1:52:00 AM more reviews by jenniferlee5

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I have used two of these foundations, in medium, one 2.5 and one 2.0 depending on the season. for a long time, I considered these to be my hg because i have very oily skin and these go on smooth, matte, and made my skin look even colored, with a nice yellow undertone that cancelled out any redness. it's quick and easy to apply, and blends into your jawline and hairline seamlessly. I have now changed brands to L'Oréal true match liquid foundation in w4, which gives my skin a luminosity that maybelline dream matte mousse did not give me. (Also, I found the glass pot and fingers method of application to be to be unhygenic for my acne prone skin. the formulation is very flaky so i don't know if a brush would work, i tried a beauty blender but it didn't put enough product on my skin.) dream matte mousse definitely accentuates all fine lines, pores, and dry skin you may have. I think on a person with smooth young skin without these issues, just looking to cut back shine and even out skintone, maybelline dream matte would be a good selection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 piercethesassy on 3/3/2014 4:00:00 PM more reviews by piercethesassy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this foundation! Two of my friends recommended it to me & I decided to buy it. All 3 of us have oily skin, but it doesn't make you look shiny. I use the lightest shade (I forgot what it's called; it's upstairs) & it's a really good match. I've already repurchased once, & I'll definitely be doing it again when I run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ajewelofgod on 3/2/2014 4:25:00 PM more reviews by ajewelofgod

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

This dried out my skin and caked up as time went by. I prefer sort of dewy semi matte foundations. I tried it out for a couple of days after that I put it to the side. About a couple of weeks ago I mixed this with another foundation that was really dark. And I gave it to my sister as a gift. It matched her skin really well. I think the formulae may work for her as well as she is a little more oilier than I am. The packaging was okay if it wasn't valet I could've dealt with the matte look by adding highlighter to get a dewy glow. I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products