Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3220 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jkpetite on 4/8/2014 5:19:00 PM more reviews by jkpetite

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this because I needed a cream/mousse foundation that doesn't contain SPF. After much research, it was between this and Rimmel's Lasting Finish liquid foundation. Well, I bought both because, well because it's makeup!! Anyhow, this is pretty good stuff, especially with primer. I tried applying with a stippling brush and a beauty blender and neither yielded good results. My ELF Studio powder brush proved to be the winner in this battle. The consistency is smooth and when applied with a flat top brush, my skin looks airbrushed. My shade was pretty easy to find - Natural Beige. The shade was a perfect match - which is pretty damn amazing since I usually have to mix at least two shades to get a match. Good job, Maybelline. The coverage is buildable - I usually only need one application to get an even tone. For heavier coverage, I just spot apply using the same brush.

There is no scent, the product itself is pretty creamy and the packaging is typical of mousse/cream foundations. It does seem like a small amount of product in the pan, but I assume that's because you really don't need much to get a nice result. I'd repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kmac81 on 4/7/2014 8:25:00 PM more reviews by Kmac81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm not a fan. I may not be applying it correctly as I find it messy to use. I just dip a clean sponge in the pot and try to just get a little product and kind of dab on where needed. Blends good but even though I'm careful some product drops off sponge as it is cakey. I have had little balls of it on my shirt. Annoying. I guess I'm not a fan of the packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Everythinghappens4areason on 4/6/2014 10:10:00 AM more reviews by Everythinghappens4areason

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i have a tanned skin, oily acne prone face, and a tight budget. I bought my first one two months ago and it works ok. It cost me P500 in the Philippines then in US i bought my second one for $8 to 10. It will be cakey IF you put too much on. I suggest use a concealer (i use Covergirl invisible concealer - light pale {btw this was my first concealer thats why its too light/whiter than my skin]) then put the foundation next in LIGHT LAYERS. It lasts for about a whole school day (7.30 am-3pm). My skin works ok to it. BUT dont forget to remove it after because it will give you a few zits. The shorter/longer you let it stay + how much you put on = works great/disaster.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 emmacurriee on 4/1/2014 3:50:00 PM more reviews by emmacurriee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really didn't like this product, it looked very cakey and left my pours looking massive. This was one of the first foundations I ever used and i wouldn't buy it again. Unfortunately I used it until the product was done because I hate wasting foundation (it was a nightmare), I like foundation to make my skin look smooth but this just made my skin look cakey and oily which made me very self conscious. I don't remember how much it cost but I assume it was between Ģ5-Ģ7. I give this product a 2/5 and would not buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sarahmedeiros on 3/27/2014 3:11:00 PM more reviews by sarahmedeiros

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Maybe I'm a loner here, but this is alright for my skin! I use the light ivory shade since I'm as pale as a ghost. I actually like how it feels, its so soft and light! With a beauty blender I got some good coverage out of this, and I didn't find it that cakey. Maybe by the end of the day, but only if I reapplied powder. For the price, I may buy again. I like it more than other mousse foundations I own.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 riceisnice on 3/27/2014 2:48:00 PM more reviews by riceisnice

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Cakeeeyyyyyy.
This was the first foundation I ever bought. I wanted something to even out my complexion and I had combination skin back then, so I thought I'd try it.
What a terible decision that was.
There's literally no coverage to this foundation. When I apply a thin layer, it looks chalky and cakey. When I try to layer on more, it pills up and rolls off of my face, and I'm back to square one. Regardless of what brush I use or if I use my fingers, this will happen.
It didn't do much for oil control either.
Highly discourage anyone from buying this. Not even worth $0.50.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lexieloveee on 3/25/2014 10:03:00 PM more reviews by Lexieloveee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ehhhh cakey !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ohdrdoctor on 3/15/2014 9:57:00 PM more reviews by ohdrdoctor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I honestly don't know why I purchased this or why I used it for so long. I'm pale yet the coverage leaves me looking like a chalky ghost nightmare. It is very drying and ends up creasing in any little smile lines you may have. Even when applied over a heavy moisturizer it manages to suck the life out of your skin. Somehow it deadens all the lovely bits of my skin and doesn't cover any imperfections. I've tried applying this several ways but it just doesn't work. I wouldn't recommend this to ANYONE because it will age your skin during wearing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 templesgirl on 3/12/2014 7:53:00 AM more reviews by templesgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this on and off since 2006 . It's the one I always go to . I have more oily skin and this makes me look airbrushed . I use a primer as we'll with it and apply with a beauty blender . I usually flip around the whole dream line . I use sandy beige during winter and honey beige in the summer . I would say it is full medium to full coverage . I suffer from adult acne .. Yeahhhh and this covers my breakouts no problem . I am surprised to see only 3 lippie rating . It really is the one I wear most often and makes my look airbrushed . I will agree if your dry stay away it will cling to your flakes .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kjelin01 on 3/8/2014 12:01:00 PM more reviews by kjelin01

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I donīt like it, wrong colour for me, and give me wrong sort of coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products