Bulgari • Black • Fragrances

rated 4.1(179 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 AzureTe on 5/31/2008 7:56:00 PM more reviews by AzureTe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this scent. Just love it. It works beautifully with my skin chemistry. I think this might be a love it or hate it thing, but it probably helps that I get all the notes. I'm sure I'd hate it if I only smelled rubber :). As it is, the rubber gives this scent a distinctive edge that I find really sexy. I also get compliments from husband on this one, and he's largely indifferent to my scents, so that says something.


I don't find this too masculine personally, although I think it'd smell really good on a guy. I don't like delicate florals or other "girly" kinds of scents very much though. If that's what you prefer then this is not for you. The packaging is perfectly suited to the juice, but I've heard of people having problems with the spray mechanism (I personally haven't).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Norwat on 5/30/2008 8:49:00 PM more reviews by Norwat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Smells like RUBBER. I do not get tea notes. No vanilla. No amber. No sandalwood. Definitely no spices. Just rubber, maybe some rubbing alcohol, whiff of lab chemicals. Have a full bottle and tried this several times over six months (summer, winter). Not for me.
Sometimes this and DKNY Black Cashmere are said to have similar notes, which is how I ended up with it. However, to me, it is NOT like Black Cashmere - that is a rich, round, warm scent that I want to breathe deeply in. This is a very thin, cold, edgy thing that would probably appeal to very thin, cool, edgy people. If you like florals (not that I do) or gourmand-type scents - this probably won't be for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ciuwawa on 5/21/2008 3:14:00 PM more reviews by ciuwawa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

A POWER scent.
I read about this on perfume forums & bought blind - 100% convinced it would be the perfect leather / rubber / vanilla blend.
Like Agent Provocateur, I just didn't get it...it was too sweet and the rubber seared through the deeply buried flowers. I left it for a few months, then, reading about it again, gave it another try...and curiously - I am ready for it now...LOVE it...could bath in it...a million sprays are not enough.
It's the only scent (as well as some Carthusias) that I catch a whiff off during the day...wonder who smells so delicious, then realise it's me...I love that.
It's definitely unisex and I'd love to meet the man who selects this - gloriously, unashamedly forceful and confident.
This is no shrinking wallflower...but Grace and Bianca giving it all at Studio 54....all those years ago.
You gotta wear heels!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BluCherub on 5/3/2008 7:05:00 AM more reviews by BluCherub

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Very sexy. This scent is in NO WAY like CK One...it smells like burnt rubber, leather, smokey tea, vanilla and a hint of jasmin. I got this for my boyfriend who is too much of a bloke to wear scent, and he loved it. Problem is I do too! Not all women can pull this one off...besides being quite masculine, it is also strange but it's quite enigmatic and daring. Luckily it isn't overpowering...it is balanced perfectly in my opinion. Apparantly Angelina Jolie's fragrance of choice...I think the idea of it suits the image she portrays...that kind of woman. I read waaaay too many trashy mags!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nixe on 4/19/2008 2:10:00 PM more reviews by Nixe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

How perfectly urban and minimalist. This is thoroughly 90s in all my favorite ways: it's low-rise sandblast jeans and supple black leather clad. It's glamorously casual. It's the smell of fresh pavement and gasoline, rubber, soft leather and vanilla. It's the sent of a long-legged woman in a black kidskin corset riding off on her brand new motorcycle, shiny chrome and glossy hair and lips glinting all the way. The bottle fits the fragrance perfectly. This is a masterpiece.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 debrsl on 3/4/2008 10:06:00 PM more reviews by debrsl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The top notes of smoky tea and bergamot are exquisite. I only wish it had stayed with that, in which case I would have given it a five. However, it rather quickly went to an extremely flowery fragrance on my skin, namely jasmine. It's not a full white-flower scent either, hence the three rating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TRKK on 3/4/2008 5:57:00 AM more reviews by TRKK

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

CK One. This smells exactly like CK One, the old unisex fragrance. How odd. Given what I've read about this, and it's reputation, I was totally expecting something out of this world. Instead, I hardly get any of that rubber note that practically every review states, and worse, this on me smells like a run-of-the-mill, slightly feminine and watered-down men's cologne. I actually find this quite pedestrian. I wouldn't mind smelling this on a guy though. Disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RayKayRed on 2/5/2008 6:17:00 PM more reviews by RayKayRed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I adore this one. I like Bvlgari overall and have the The Vert, The Rouge & Notte in my collection so was not too surprised when this one pulled me in right away. I bought it sight (um, smell?) unseen with the suspicion from the notes it would be a keeper.

I tend to gravitate towards the more unusual scents - nothing fruity or flowery (with some exceptions for something spectacular!) and this one definitely fits the bill of unusual! Definitely not flowery. Definitely not sweet (I just do not get that strong vanilla others do, it is more of a smoky vanilla underlying the rubber!)

I definitely get the asphalt and rubber tire smell, but that is precisely what is so compelling about it. I find it unusually sexy in a rugged...and while I have not smelt it on a man yet I think it would be just as intriguing in a bold, very manly, way. Maybe it speaks to my preference for a hot date at a motocross track or a sweaty run over champagne, strawberries and candles but to me this is just pure sex appeal in a "I want to take control" kind of way ;)

As others have said it is definitely NOT for everyone; but it most certainly is unusual and very different from the usual candied/flowered/fruity affair and is very appealing...unlike some other "black" fragrances that seem black in name only, this one is to me the epitome of "black".

I also love the bottle, reminds me of a hockey puck. Not the easiest to hold (or carry around, at least not in larger sizes) but the rubber "puck" definitely suits the fragrance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 banshee1 on 1/1/2008 7:50:00 PM more reviews by banshee1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Although touted as unisex, it's a scent that not all women can wear, but if you can, you should. If you're looking for something pretty and flowery, you would hate this. If you are looking for something edgey, tough, and unique then this is for you. Its very sexy on guys. Images of skyscrapers, gasoline, urban cosmopolitan places, leather, fast cars, and hot sex in unconventional places come to mind. Has amazing dry down and gorgeous packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gingerbreadgirl on 11/24/2007 7:59:00 PM more reviews by Gingerbreadgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Very similar to Dzing! minus the saffron and the fresh ground black pepper - I also get a pretty strong anise. Not bad, but a little too masculine for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bulgari products

More Fragrances products