Revlon • Pink in the Afternoon • Lipstick

rated 4.2(193 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 paulamwiggins on 4/28/2011 12:36:00 PM more reviews by paulamwiggins

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Alas!
It's gorgeous, yes. It is so 50's chic! And it's so very Audrey. But I couldn't pull it off.
My complexion, especially now after a long Chicago winter, is just too cool/neutral and is fighting with this beautiful bright, warm pink.
The cream finish unfortunately doesn't help me. Yes, it glides on and feels great, but it shows every line and crack of my 32-year-old lips, and it makes the color issue even more pronounced.
So many women love this shade, and I truly wish it worked for me. Perhaps with a tan it would be better—or if my skin were a little more fair/porcelain so there was a stronger contrast. Ahh, well. I'll leave it for Audrey!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coffeeprincess709 on 4/9/2011 2:52:00 AM more reviews by coffeeprincess709

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My HG lipstick in the summer. It's a perfect nude pink for medium skin colors. It has no glitters and lasts up to 4-5 hours. The texture is creamy and very moisturizing. This is always in my makeup bag and I don't know what I would do without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lilinah on 4/9/2011 2:39:00 AM more reviews by lilinah

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I had read recommendations for this color in some fashion magazines as a MLBB color. As many drug stores are having "buy one, get one half off" sales, i picked up "Pink in the Afternoon". My current MLBB color is L'Oreal "Gilded Pink", a warm pink with gold shimmer, but i was hoping to find a MLBB creme to change up my look.


Unfortunately, after trying this on, it turned out not to be a MLBB color for me. "Pink/Afternoon" is an opaque cream in a nice medium-light warm pink. But it turned out to be just enough lighter than my natural lip color to make my mouth look a bit odd. Clearly, for someone with the right coloring, this may well be MLBB.


Revlon and L'Oreal are my favorite DS lipsticks: great range of colors from neutral to high fashion, moist and creamy going on. Yeah, they don't last as long as some HE lipsticks, but at $5 to $7 (US) they're significantly less than the moderate to luxury brands at $14 to $50 or more, and for casual wear i really do like them. So this still gets 4 lippies, even though it isn't the color for me, because it's a good lipstick, and a color i'm sure will work for others.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinkrose838 on 3/26/2011 9:51:00 PM more reviews by pinkrose838

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I love this lipstick. It's smooth, creamy, and a nice, natural, colour. Has a nice smooth and shiny finish. Much better than the matte lipsticks from Revlon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fevers on 3/21/2011 8:06:00 PM more reviews by fevers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Too cool for my yellow toned Chinese skintone (NARS SG Fiji/Vitalumiere Aqua B20/EL DW Desert Beige).


I also found that this settled into the cracks and flakes of my lips more much than the Colorburst lipsticks (but was this due to formula or mismatch of shade?), which made it stick out even more.


I agree that it's a lovely pink however and would probably suit a lot of other people, but not me - in fact it's probably all pinks that don't suit me sadly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darling20 on 3/18/2011 5:53:00 PM more reviews by darling20

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Yeah, so this has quickly become my HG lipstick. I purchased it for $5 including shipping on eBay after reading all the wonderful reviews, and I'm so glad I did! The color looks absolutely AMAZING with my blonde hair and blue eyes (although I can see it being universally flattering as well). It's a bright pinky-peach (more on the pink side), but not at all garish. It does apply rather dry, so I like to top it with NARS chihuahua lip gloss. Beautiful color. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 VioletOrchid on 3/15/2011 8:47:00 PM more reviews by VioletOrchid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Violet    

Upon receiving my driving license a million years ago, I donned my pink leather driving gloves, drove myself to Kmart and bought a "Driving Lipstick" - L'Oreal's Pink Tranquilo. This is pretty much that - a very bright (but not neon) creme/matte pink with peach in it. It isn't particularly flattering on me, but don't let that dissuade you. Below reviewer is correct in saying that it makes lips look very dry. Mine tend that way no matter what. If yours do not and you would like a powdery finish shrimp lip color (remember Cover Girl Lip Powders?), get this. I think on the gal with the right insouciant mood, this would be A-1. 16 year old me really wanted to be her.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 honeybb on 3/12/2011 1:17:00 PM more reviews by honeybb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Must agree completely with previous reviewer 1017. The color is peachy-awful, and the texture is thick and grainy. On me, on moisturized lips, I found it impossible to get a light swipe, it only allows for a heavy coating, and it makes my lips appear kind of dry-almost crusty, even though they are not. The only thing keeping this lipstick from the old ladies who might wear it is a frost, but it is matte. Somehow it is still not right on me. I bought it 30 minutes ago and i can't wait to return it.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 3/10/2011 4:49:00 PM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

1988 called, they want their lipstick back. Seriously, this looks and feels just like my first lipstick ever in 8th grade. I am astounded by the good reviews. This lipstick looked NOTHING like the soft pink loveliness shown in these pictures. The texture was awful and the color is painfully dated. I know some 80's fashions are back, but I can't wear the same shade lipstick I wore in 1988! I felt like I was in the cast of Saved by the Bell. I can't return this fast enough. I am NW20, rosey pigmented lips, black/brown hair, brown eyes. The only other woman I have seen wear a color like this recently is the 60 yr old woman at the gym with dyed bright blonde hair, plastic surgery and botox everywhere. This looks decent in the pics here, but on me...dated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ultrapink on 3/10/2011 8:17:00 AM more reviews by Ultrapink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

OMG!!! This is such a georgeous lipstick!!! It's a creamy soft light pink maybe expected to be for blondies, but soooooo cute in brunettes as well. I've nothing bad to say about it. It's pretty, moisturizing, with a really nice lasting power and very cheap!!!
I got it after watching Breakfast at Tiffany's 'cause I fell in love with Holly. I heard this was the one she could be wearing and I do agree 'cause I found a Revlon's vintage poster which showed this lipstick packaging during 50s and...it was the one she uses in the movie!!! I think it can fits everybody and it looks beautiful paired with green eyeshadows.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products