Revlon • Super Lustrous Creme - Pink in the Afternoon • Lipstick

rated 4.2(199 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkeyedfran on 7/9/2011 3:23:00 PM more reviews by darkeyedfran

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ulta is seriously fabulous! I had a 3.50 off of any 10.00 coupon and the revlon was buy two get one free! walked away with 3 revlon SL lipsticks for 11 dollars. I was originally looking for Pink Velvet but they didn't carry the color! I took a big gamble on this color since i didn't consult MUA before buying! I remembered this color from some group swatches though and thought "what the heck, i'm getting it for free anyways". I love it! its a very confusing color to photograph however! It turns up very blue-based with a flash but its more neutral/warm in person. this does not look "80's" pink on me at all. for reference i'm about half mexican and half spanish (roughly) and i have a light complexion for my race. However I am not an ivory color nor do i have pink undertones so finding a pink that looks good on me that doesn't have a brown mixed in is very hard! this is a true pink that leans a little towards peachy pink. the color is fabulous and I think its hilarious that my original quest for a pink lipstick like Audrey Hepburns was what made me turn toward the revlon lipsticks in the first place! Im so thrilled that i picked this color! I haven't really mentioned how these wear, i love the formula, its very creamy but doesn't slide around your lips like a silky lip formula does. nothing lasts long on my lips because im notorious for licking them, drinking water, etc. the middle always wears on me first. I really dont mind taking these out of my bag and reapplying however because they are so chic and vintage looking. I feel absolutely glamorous when I wear any of my revlon lippies! I also love that I can wear this with a smokey eye! I wouldn't recommend wearing this with colorful eyeshadow or you may look trashy, this isnt sheer enough or nude enough to pull that off

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 characterarc on 7/3/2011 1:00:00 AM more reviews by characterarc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty pick-me-up shade of pink but it makes my teeth look yellow. :((( I can wear it to work sometimes and tone it down a bit by layering a bit of NYX Natural Megashine lipgloss over it. Staying power is poor on me, about 2 hours max. It settles into my lines, feathers, and is rather a dry formula overall. Not very creamy. Tugs on my lips as I apply. For ref, I'm NC25 in Mac.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 00courtney00 on 6/30/2011 12:40:00 AM more reviews by 00courtney00

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I truly adore this lipstick. An absolute MLBB color for me. Silky application, really moisturizing and good lasting power of 4 hours (even after lunch and lots of drinks).
It's a wonderful color for all occasions including work.

To avoid an overly creme pastel look I apply a generous layer of the lipstick, press a tissue between my lips then add a very thin layer over the top.

I have already repurchased this a few times and will definitely continue to do so!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 6/26/2011 11:46:00 AM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

With my red hair and fair complexion this particular shade from Revlon looked obnoxious on me. It was reminded me of a retro bright pink-peach lipstick. I enjoy bright lipsticks, but this made my lips look like they could glow in the dark. Additionally I found the texture grainy and it left my lips feeling very dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 highwayrendezvous on 6/20/2011 8:40:00 AM more reviews by highwayrendezvous

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

If I could only have one lipstick with me, I'd definitely choose this one. For a girl who is just venturing into the womanly realm of lipsticks, this is not too grown-up, yet still retains a sophisticated touch and never fails to make me feel pretty and confident when I wear this.

Texture-wise, it is indeed a lil' gritty, a little too thick? You might end up looking older if you apply too much. I always apply this to the centre of my lips, smudge it with my finger and lightly blot. Oh, apply lip balm after that if needed. Just a few dabs of lipbalm should do the trick if your lips are feeling a tad dry.

The colour's just so beautiful and really flatters my NC 25-30 Asian skintone (I'm fair but very slight yellow tones). I like it more than MAC's Fanfare Cremesheen Lipstick actually. It's a lil' lighter than my lip colour, but a beautiful, chic neutral pink that so reminds me of a Parisian lady standing by a fountain nonetheless.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 celegia on 5/27/2011 10:20:00 AM more reviews by celegia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Remember the last scene of "Breakfast at Tiffany's"? You see an "it girl" with a glamorous raincoat, ballet flats and a sleek ponytail. You think how you could look like her. Yes, you own a raincoat, same kind of shoes and, if you spend enough time, you can arrange the hairstyle. But there must be something that you miss...
Wake up! It's the make up. A light cover for your face that could transform every girl from kitch to chic.
How can you achieve Holly/Audrey look? It couldn't be easier!
You need transparent powder, soft smokey eyes (brown or grey doesn't matter), green or blue eyeliner blended with black one and rosy blush. Don't forget a generous hand of lenghtening mascara.
And voilà, the last magic touch! A gorgeous lipstick, called "Pink in the afternoon", right to make your lips fuller.
Apply it lightly because it's pasty and you don't want to look like your old aunt.
Unfortunately you may not end up looking exactly like Holly if you don't have a wet cat!

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 paulamwiggins on 4/28/2011 12:36:00 PM more reviews by paulamwiggins

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Alas!
It's gorgeous, yes. It is so 50's chic! And it's so very Audrey. But I couldn't pull it off.
My complexion, especially now after a long Chicago winter, is just too cool/neutral and is fighting with this beautiful bright, warm pink.
The cream finish unfortunately doesn't help me. Yes, it glides on and feels great, but it shows every line and crack of my 32-year-old lips, and it makes the color issue even more pronounced.
So many women love this shade, and I truly wish it worked for me. Perhaps with a tan it would be better—or if my skin were a little more fair/porcelain so there was a stronger contrast. Ahh, well. I'll leave it for Audrey!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coffeeprincess709 on 4/9/2011 2:52:00 AM more reviews by coffeeprincess709

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My HG lipstick in the summer. It's a perfect nude pink for medium skin colors. It has no glitters and lasts up to 4-5 hours. The texture is creamy and very moisturizing. This is always in my makeup bag and I don't know what I would do without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lilinah on 4/9/2011 2:39:00 AM more reviews by lilinah

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I had read recommendations for this color in some fashion magazines as a MLBB color. As many drug stores are having "buy one, get one half off" sales, i picked up "Pink in the Afternoon". My current MLBB color is L'Oreal "Gilded Pink", a warm pink with gold shimmer, but i was hoping to find a MLBB creme to change up my look.


Unfortunately, after trying this on, it turned out not to be a MLBB color for me. "Pink/Afternoon" is an opaque cream in a nice medium-light warm pink. But it turned out to be just enough lighter than my natural lip color to make my mouth look a bit odd. Clearly, for someone with the right coloring, this may well be MLBB.


Revlon and L'Oreal are my favorite DS lipsticks: great range of colors from neutral to high fashion, moist and creamy going on. Yeah, they don't last as long as some HE lipsticks, but at $5 to $7 (US) they're significantly less than the moderate to luxury brands at $14 to $50 or more, and for casual wear i really do like them. So this still gets 4 lippies, even though it isn't the color for me, because it's a good lipstick, and a color i'm sure will work for others.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinkrose838 on 3/26/2011 9:51:00 PM more reviews by pinkrose838

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I love this lipstick. It's smooth, creamy, and a nice, natural, colour. Has a nice smooth and shiny finish. Much better than the matte lipsticks from Revlon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products