Queen Helene • Cholesterol Hair Conditioning Cream • Conditioner

rated 3.5(180 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 medmunky on 10/18/2007 11:10:00 AM more reviews by medmunky

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My old hair: dry, fried, thick, naturally curly and slightly relaxed African 50% Asian 50% hair. Since I moved away from roller sets to blow drying/flat ironing, the noticeable damage to my hair grew more and more obvious, despite trims. Made a move to my nearest beauty supply store and got a hold of a tub of QH cholesterol. Put on a plastic cap and sat under warm dryer for 10 minutes, rinsed. Results: slightly better texture, softer for sure, but dull and sheenless hair. I tried again, mixing 2 parts QH plus one part olive oil, put on a plastic cap, under dryer for 15 minutes, lightly shampooed, then rinsed and WOW! My new hair looks glossy and healthy but not greasy or heavy. I get less frizz with natural styles and when straightened, my hair has sheen without adding oil sprays or pomades. I do this QH + olive oil treatment twice per month. I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PrissuyGirl1218 on 9/1/2007 6:02:00 PM more reviews by PrissuyGirl1218

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product many many many years ago. Back then i hated it! It left my hair sticky and dull and lifeless and DRY. But Now i finally learned how to use this and my hair has never been in better condition. I have thick naturally pitch black curly hair which I decided to relax. My hair was so damaged, the natural black color got brassy and kind of brown. I bought this again to give it another try. This is how it worked for me...
Wash your hair then add a generous amount to hair, brush through and sit under a dryer or heating car for about 15 mins, then leave on for an extra 15 mins.
After you rinse it, add any other moisturizing leave in conditioner or hair repair. I usually use Hask Placenta and Motions Oil Moisturizer Protein Conditioner.
Donít blow dry or anything, go on a day or two like that. Then when ur ready to style your hair, Wash it with clarifying shampoo (i use Suave Daily clarifier) and a regular conditioner (i usually use Hi Pro Pac or Dove Sheer Moisture) Put on light leave in conditioner (like Fantasia Line or Dove or Infisuium 23, Neutrogena, or Organics) Blow Dry and style as usual!
Trust me when u say ur hair will have the shine and softness of a lifetime, without being weighed down.
I learned with time then the hair needs a lot of moisture but too much makes it dull believe it or not. Then too much clarifying makes it dry. A balance really helps A LOT.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bisco on 8/27/2007 6:39:00 PM more reviews by bisco

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

well I found out about Queen Helene products years ago, due to a magazine I got in junior high.


I recently got this to help my dry hair, I got a perm last month or a little before that, that made my hair a little dry.

I've had perms before, and I know they can do this. But I love the low maintenance of curls. So I know, that I have to condition more, and clarify less. Using this, helps so much with making my hair soft.

I'll be going blonde soon, and I know because of this product no harm will be caused. My Sarah Jessica Parker hair is finally coming into place. Oh, and CAT hair products are amazing for curls.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kdeichsel on 7/24/2007 9:04:00 PM more reviews by kdeichsel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

At my walmart, Queen helene is shelved along side the black/african women's hair products so, as I dont have that kinkiness to my hair, I was worried that this product would be too heavy or too moisturizing, which would make my hair look oily and flat....


nope. none of that.... just smooth, hydrated, touchably soft hair. I very generously applied this to my ends and sparingly near the roots and waited under cap for 20 minutes in my shower - washed it out - and was disappointed. My hair felt dry and stringy, so i was all confused..

but, when my hair fully dried, the hair was soft, shiny, manageable - i dont know why, but somehow the emolients or slip agents in the product clung to my hair, making the strands seem softer and more uniform, and my hair was LESS FRIZZY and CURLIER!


For a pittance of $5.00 CAN for 15 ounces, i will definitely buy this product again... and, while purchasing queen helene, i also picked up pink lotion by lusters which works GREAT on my dry hair as a frizz eliminator/hair shiner (but don't add too much - specifically to fine, thin, limp, caucasian hair - i accidentally put in too much and it looked really oily - play with the amount until you figure out what's right..). And this product was only $6.00 CAN for I believe 300 ml. Amazing! Why have I been throwing my money away on aveda, redken, biolage, kerastase, and farouk? NO MORE! Today i take the pledge -


"i swear that I will no longer allow hair stylists to sell me over prized, over hyped "miracle" products that cannot repair hair because it is dead and will NOT magically become alive again, nor will i be swayed by the glitz of marketting - a $5.00 product is as good as a $30.00 product!"

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CecileCecile on 4/17/2007 6:06:00 PM more reviews by CecileCecile

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Others may think that this is weird, but I actually like the tactile connection to the product by scooping out of a jar with my hand. I also like being able to get every last little bit of product out of the container. Having said that I will comment on the results I got. After sitting in the tub for 20 minutes with a generous coat of this and a cap over it, I was surprised to find after removing the cap that there was hardly anything to rinse away. It was as if my hair had 'drank' most of it in. Later after it had dried a bit I noticed that my ponytail base circumference was thicker. Completely dry, my hair was soft but not surface smooth and definitely not detangled so I see now why people follow up with silicones. The next morning, during my daily brush-out I noticed a definite decrease in breakage/strand loss. The smell is not the greatest but I can live with it once or twice a week. It gave my hair the lasting moisture, thickness and protection that I was not getting with my other products. I will continue using this for as long as I continue to chemically abuse my hair.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aliceintenacious on 3/9/2007 12:57:00 PM more reviews by aliceintenacious

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Okay this stuff is great. Amazing, even. I don't think people use this correctly and that's why they write the negative reviews : ( that being said, this stuff when used properly makes my hair gorgeous. I used to bleach my hair, about 3 years ago or so, when it was about chin length. I have since grown it well past my shoulders and so the bottom half is old and damaged. I have not colored my hair in 3 years. So the top is very healthy and to keep it that way I have to do some sort of deep conditioning once a week on the ends. This stuff is perfect for that. I have fine hair so this is how I use cholesterol: I get in the shower, wet my hair completely, apply the cholesterol VERY generously to the ends, and lightly at the top. I shave my legs or whatever for about 10 minutes, then rinse it out. RINSE WELL. Then I shampoo roots and apply a very very light coating of a silicone based conditioner to the ends, rinse and viola! my hair feels like a child's. Fingers slip right through it. This SAVES me from having to get the dreaded trim! Try this please and use it correctly. You will be amazed.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MRICKS on 1/6/2007 5:38:00 PM more reviews by MRICKS

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have fine, relaxed hair and Queen Helene does an excellant job of replenishing dryness often caused by relaxers, coloring, and hair sprays. It leaves my hair soft and moisturized. After blow drying, my hair feels silky and looks shiney. I've also used Silky Elements, which works well too. But you can't be the price of Queen Helene.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pyewaket on 1/4/2007 6:17:00 AM more reviews by pyewaket

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

i have baby fine hair and use this when ever i bleach my hair to restore moisture and strength. Once I over bleached my roots, and this stuff protected my hair from all the damage! (my bleached hairs never fall out!). I also use this in between colorings (I bleach, then dye my hair magenta) to revive my locks. Sometimes I do find it irritates my scalp and makes it itchy. It smells terrible, but it does a good job at keeping my hair in good condition. I would probably buy this again since its huge and cheap, but I'd like something that smells a bit better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jonana84 on 12/2/2006 6:29:00 PM more reviews by Jonana84

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have very curly hair that has a propensity to frizz. While this may shock some people, I use a small amount every morning as a leave in under a small amount of hair gel. I get compliments on the shine and complete curl of my hair all the time. My curls never separate, my hair is never greasy and I achieve maximum curl without the "wet look". I do wish the container was not a tub as I once purchased it in a squeeze bottle (which I was never able to find again) because reaching in for a glob every day is not my favorite feature of this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 B_Phlyy on 10/16/2006 4:14:00 PM more reviews by B_Phlyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great deep conditioner to use if you have some form of dryness. I used it on my relaxed and natural curly hair and it works great. I think using heat makes it penetrate better and makes it easier to rinse out. The only thing I don't like is the supe bid tub and the scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Queen Helene products

More Conditioner products