NARS • Casino • Bronzers

rated 4.3(192 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Bradiette on 10/17/2009 1:19:00 AM more reviews by Bradiette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Tan, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

My HG bronzer for the last 5 years! I asolutely love the color, the subtle shimmer that acts as a highlighter and I love how I can still use it when I'm not that tan, I just use less! When I'm too pale to pull of the Casino or don't want such a dramatic look, I just use Laguna instead! I constantly use this as an eyeshadow too, often mixed with another color, my favorite is the blue from South Pacific. The reason I love this bronzer so much (and better than Laguna) is the shade, I love bronzer but I really only like cool colors on my skin and I feel like this has a cooler effect than other bronzers. I'm not sure if that makes sense since it's brown-based and brown is warm, but it's not coppery or orangey like I feel so many bronzers are.

My only complaint is that when I carry it with me, the powder sometimes breaks up and then I have to replace it. I always have one or more broken ones at home and one to carry with me. I just wish they made one that was half the size and half the price so it's easier to tote around and no big deal when I break it! I will never use up all the broken Nars bronzers I have and can't bare to throw out, anyone know how make them pressed again?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missanne on 9/26/2009 7:26:00 PM more reviews by missanne

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Makes my nc50 complexion look sooo healthy. Gives my skin such a sheen and glow. I have been wearing this for years and no matter what other bronzer I try, I always always come back to this. Casino doesn't make me look sparkley like most bronzers do. Definitely brown girl friendly. I use my Bobbi Brown face brush for flawless application.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CeciliaM on 9/15/2009 12:22:00 AM more reviews by CeciliaM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have medium olive skin, and first wore Laguna, but Casino is deeper without being too orange. It creates amazing shading. I would definitely buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nikkip25 on 6/18/2009 1:31:00 AM more reviews by nikkip25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

when the nars rep recommended this color to me, i thought to myself, NOO WAAYYY!! WAY TOO DARK!!! she tried this on one cheek and laguna on the other side, and i honestly could't really tell a difference! (NC40 for ref)
the only difference i could tell was that casino had a rosey undertone to it which i know would turn me off so why purchase it? i own MAC so ceylon (which is probably not the same, but comparble) and i rarely use it because of the rosey undertone it carries!!!
overall good product, but i prefer laguna more! wish there was an in between shade!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* juicycouture on 4/30/2009 12:17:00 PM more reviews by juicycouture

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

omg, the texture on this is remarkable. it's finely milled and goes on buttery smooth. just great. casino is a mid-tone brown/bronze with red undertones and a slight gold shimmer. it doesn't make you look orange/red, dirty or any variation of bad. i love it for summer as it provides a nice fresh faced glow from within. the shimmery is very subtle and nicely enhances the bronzer. i like to apply this with my mac 165, but i'm sure any cheek or buffer brush will suffice. the price is a little on the steep side, but the product is of very high quality. the packaging is a sleek matte black. it also comes with a very large mirror.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 4/10/2009 10:46:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

NARS Casino .. you rock my world! I initially started with Laguna, but it seemed to lack something on my NC42 skintone .. so I decided to check out Casino and see how it compared ... Now we're talking :) Casino is absolutely beautiful! I have about a dozen bronzers that I rotate between, and casino is the only one that I've actually almost finished. It has enough of a shimmer to keep it from looking too chalky once applied, but not so much shimmer that I look greasy or shiny. It just makes my skin look naturally sun-kissed. This bronzer has captured my heart ..I love it!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessjess1 on 3/26/2009 2:08:00 AM more reviews by jessjess1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

The NARS packaging is awesome - you can drop it on a marble floor and run it over in your car and it still survives! I think Casino is for when you have deep complexion or for a night effect, but would never give it up and think it should be in every makeup box.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bex9 on 3/6/2009 11:13:00 PM more reviews by bex9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG bronzer. For sure. To the extent that I am tempted to lower my review rating on other blush type products just to emphasize that this is my favorite bar none. I am an NC20/ dior 10/ MUFE 115/ Revlon Buff etc, and this is so perfect for my skin tone.

I would actually never have picked this out if not for a SA at Sephora who put it on me during a foundation testing. I have acne prone skin, but at this point retin-a micro and a good skincare routine have the acne mostly under control, except my main problem is redness and a few scars. I had heard before that if you have skin prone to redness that you should avoid adding more red/pink tones to your skin, but it wasnt until the SA put this on me that I really had a lightbulb moment. This makes my skin look fab, and still has some warmth to the undertones that it doesnt look too brown or blah in any way, and I especially love it because every other brozer I've used I've felt like I needed to throw some blush on the apples of my cheeks to add some warm colour. Not this. This is perfect on its own.

Before I was all about Nars in deep throat or penny lane or orgasm, but now this is definetly my go-to colour. I know this somewhat contradicts with a review below which suggests that people with red in their skin should stay away for this exact bronzer, but I find that after foundation and concealor have done their thing and cooled down my tones that I need something to bring back some warmth and love to my face! I am pale with blonde hair and blue eyes and this bring life back to my pale skin without emphasizing any redness. This makes me glow. Oh, and also one of BIGGEST pros- it last so much longer than anything else. The other nars products were decent, but I would still have to pack em in my purse if I was going to be out all day. Not this. Doesnt have to leave the makeup drawer :) THANKYOU NARS.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tristinbrittany on 2/26/2009 10:48:00 PM more reviews by tristinbrittany

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this bronzer. I've been looking for years for a bronzer that is intense enough to not have to put layers of it on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tigrou on 2/26/2009 8:23:00 AM more reviews by Tigrou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

NARS has 2 bronzers: Casino and Laguna. When you go to NARS or Sephora, they will tell you that Laguna is for lighter skin tones while Casino is for darker ones. But THIS IS NOT TRUE!!!! Both bronzers look quite similar when placed side-by-side. But in fact, Laguna is a true bronze color which means it has green undertones while Casino has rosy undertones. Both are very pretty and natural, BUT if you have any ruddniess or redness to your skin, Casino is going to make it worse because you are adding more rosy red to your skin. Whereas Laguna would neutralize the red tones (green neutralizes red, like with concealer and primer) and make your face look less ruddy. If you do not have any red in your skin, Casino will look gorgeous no matter if your skin is light or dark (lighter skin, lighter hand). If you do, stick to Laguna, even if you have darker skin (and just layer it). The reason people think a bronzer looks dirty is because they have chosen one with the wrong undertone. If you want to test my conclusion, swipe both bronzers with your finger and rub them side by side on the inner part of your wrist (or any other area that is the most pale) and you will instantly see what I mean. So in summary, a gorgeous bronzer, but make sure the color is for you. For a comparison, go to: http://just-makeup.net/images/nars/2989472192_317ca3e1b7.jpg

36 out of 37 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Bronzers products