New York Color • Browser • Brows

rated 4.0(187 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kschmiddy on 10/22/2006 11:13:00 PM more reviews by kschmiddy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm on my second Browser. I'm a natural blonde with eyebrows that are a mix of brown hairs and light blonde hairs, so a brow color is a must. Browser has both a powder and a wax in a cute adorable little box, and you just CAN'T beat the price. High end brow stuff just isn't worth it, because honestly you can't tell the difference between this $2 wax and a $28 one when it's on! It gets the job done! The color for blondes looks a bit orangey in the box and if you put too much directly on skin, but if you apply it, with the wax, to your brow hairs themselves and use a light hand it simply looks wonderful. I would imagine it would also work equally well for strawberry blondes and redheads, as well, as it's a nice universal taupe and not yellow at all. One thing I really appreciate is the matte finish it produces, too. If money IS an object, you'll definitely want to go with this, and even if it isn't, this is still a great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* swampbird on 10/19/2006 5:38:00 AM more reviews by swampbird

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

wait, i'm confused. what am i doing wrong?? why am i the only person who doesn't like this?? on me this (the blonde/lighter color) is absolutely hideous... very, very orange and unnatural looking. =( will stick to my Rimmel pencil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 1sohappy2 on 9/23/2006 11:54:00 PM more reviews by 1sohappy2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The best IMO

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 olivialoaf on 9/17/2006 10:39:00 PM more reviews by olivialoaf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not sure about this. I bought this based on the reviews here. I think this product is too much work for everyday use. I prefer to stick with pencil I can use quickly. I do like the wax, but have to use it sparingly or my brows really do look "waxed/greasy" down of my skin. I bought the blonde kit. The powder appears to be a strange colour, but works well and seems to be neautral. The brush and tweezers in this kit are horrible and the slide out tray is awkward. I'd say I'd only use the powder with a separate brush. But, it was cheap and would be good if you are really into shaping and defing your brows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 malia911 on 9/9/2006 2:40:00 AM more reviews by malia911

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Can't say enough about this product. Dirt cheap, fabulous color (I have brownish black hair and the brown kit is perfect), and goes on so easily. I have never needed to use the wax...just line my brows with the powder, set with translucent powder, and go! Lasts all day, too! My absolute HG brow kit!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tattooednglossy on 8/20/2006 8:05:00 PM more reviews by tattooednglossy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I wonder why people would shell out over TWENTY bucks for Smashbox Brow Tech when NYC makes the Browser Kit.
A brow powder, a wax, a small tweezer and a useless brush in a cute little case with a vinyl cover that is a serious bitch to get off. But aside from that, I couldn't love this product more, this is another one I tell all my clients about. I mean, it's like TWO DOLLARS at Wal-Mart, come on.
The brush is horrible, ditch that and get a good firm brow brush, I recommend the Essence of Beauty brush from CVS or the Smashbox #12.
Anyway - this is what I like to do to get the max out of this kit.
Wax, thin layer across the brow hairs. Then powder and fill them in nice, then go back over them with the wax to seal the color in. I think the first layer of wax helps to get the powder to stick to the hairs, so the powder isn't just flying around haphazardly looking for nice freshly madeup face skin to land on. The top coating of wax will seal that color in ALL DAY LONG. This is a great product at a STEAL of a price. I literally keep 5 of these in each color at all times and would gladly buy out the countrys reserve of it if it were ever discontinued. That good.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KDCook on 8/3/2006 4:57:00 PM more reviews by KDCook

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This does wonders for my eyebrows, I have medium brown hair and the brunette kit was perfect. I hadn't done much with my eyebrows except pluck and after reading the reviews thought I should give this a try. It's amazing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* odanit on 7/1/2006 10:56:00 AM more reviews by odanit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am Asian with warm black/brown - not jet black hair. My brow hairs are black, but because they are sparse they look more grey-ish from afar. I bought this NYC Browser kit for brunettes. The brown powder looks amazingly natural on me and gives the perfect tone to my brows. I think if I used the black kit my brows would look too dark. The brown is a true brown colour and is the perfect level of pigmentation. This brow colour also doubles as an eyeliner when I use it wet, and can also be used as an eyeshadow for the corners/crease. This is one of my favourite products in my makeup bag. The colour is a true brown and can be used for more than just your brows.


UPDATE: After seeing myself in photos and realising how reddish the product looks I am demoting NYC Browser Kit in Brunette to two lippies. Its saving grace is the awesome mini tweezers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pandiddles on 6/17/2006 4:13:00 PM more reviews by pandiddles

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I never really used brow makeup, as I'm a dirty blonde with fairly full, well-defined brows, and blonde pencils were always too orangey, while darker ones were, well, too dark. Enter NYC browsers in blonde. This does not have the dreaded orange effect, but rather is a neutral taupe tone, and it doesn't give the look of "stage brows." I find the wax/powder thing gets a bit messy, and I have been using the cheap brush, so I should probably replace that. But otherwise, great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dollfaced41 on 5/13/2006 12:41:00 PM more reviews by dollfaced41

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this for around $3 at target and I'm so glad I found it before I bought a brow kit for over 10x the price. This keeps my brows in perfect arch all the time. The wax is light and non-sticky, but keeps every thing in place. The powder (brunette) is very neutral and matches perfectly with my colouring. The tweezers were a little difficult to handle at first, but once I got the hang of them, they worked better for me than my big tweezers - no more over plucking! There are a few cons: the stiff little brush they give you simply digs holes in the wax and powder - I threw mine away. There is also no mirror, which keeps this from being the *perfect* brow kit. But for $3, I'm definitely satisifed. Well done NYC!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Brows products