Skinceuticals Hydrating B5 Gel

4.0

186 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Serum: Water, Sodium Hyaluronate, Pantothenic Acid, PhenoxyethanolHydrating B5 Masque: Water, Glycerin, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, Sodium Hyaluronate, Phenoxyethanol, Calcium Pantothenate, Sodium Benzoate, Panthenol, Sodium PCA, Urea, Disodium EDTA, Trehalose, Polyquaternium-51


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Blue

For reference my skin is dehydrated, dry in areas, a little oily in the T-zone, prone to hormonal breakouts.

I have been using this for several weeks under my normal moisturiser after my derm told me I have dehydrated skin. I use 2 drops of it and it easily spreads over my entire face, it is absorbed very quickly (does feel tacky before it is absorbed, this soon goes away). It feels so light on my skin and does not make oily at all. I wouldnt say that this alone makes my skin feel hydrated, I feel I still need a moisturiser over it but my skin does appear more hydrated, its also really soft to the touch. I no longer have that horrible tight skin feeling. The fine lines around my eyes have really plumped out and my skin is definately improved overall. This has not caused to me have more frequent breakouts. My derm said she sees a big improvemnt too. This is pretty expensive but I think it will last a long time as a little goes a long way and I woud repurchase because of the results I see.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 2/16/2008 11:50:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Using this with CE Ferulic has given my skin a bright and even tone.I layer B5 under Olay Serum and add another moisturiser if my skin feels extra dry, then I follow with sun protector. At night I use Alpha Hydrox AHA ,then B5 then Olay Serum.The packaging is a nuisance and I hope they change to a more practical, hygenic pump bottle. I refill the sample bottles from the big bottles (which I keep in the fridge) as the smaller size is easier to handle and to take on holiday.


on 2/12/2008 1:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this cream in the morning and night before I put on Cetlaphil Moisturizer, and I find that it really does help my skin absorb and "hang on to" the moisturizer throughout the day/night. It doesn't burn or irritate my skin (unless I have a cut or something).

I have really sensitive skin, lots of contact dermititis (but not sure WHAT it's reacting to . . .) and exzema on my face. Honestly, it's not a miracle worker, and I"m not "cured", but it definatley helps. I had been using CeraVe creme with some success, but I thought once it ran out I would try this instead. I'm glad I did, I will repurchase.

The secretary at my office noticed last week that my skin was "glowing", and this is the only new addition, so there's that . . .


EDITED: After using this for a while, I realized it wasn't helping as much as I hoped, and I edited to add that I would not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2008 3:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's probably a bit early for this review, as I have only been using this product for 3 weeks, but I can always come back to edit. I bought this as a combo package w the CE ferrulic serum, which was what I really wanted. however, on spalook it was the same price for the combo bottles, so I thought, why not? As noted below, this is a completely smell-less, sticky-less product, just sinks right in and is gone. I typically have very oily skin that gets worse as the day wears on and I didn't want to confuse things/side effects by using 2 new products at once so I have only been using the B5 serum at night without a moisturizer (I don't normally use one because my skin is so oily). I wash my face w Biore glacial wash and apply 3-5 drops of the B5 serum. I have been waking up with very soft skin which would seem to indicate the moisturizing thing is working. However, I am also noticing smaller pores overall and, most importantly, much less *oil slick* effect on my tzone by the end of the day, which was normally a given. Plus, I've been using a sunscreen during the day because of the CE serum and normally this guarantees extra oily skin for me. So... I'm thinking the little B5 serum might doing some serious work. So far this is great value for the price and I would repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2008 9:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Disappointing - I didn't find this to be very hydrating. Disappointed with the whole line.


on 1/19/2008 7:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

this is going to be rather long-winded, but I think it's necessary to properly explain what this product has done for my skin. my apologies in advance. after reading about the benefits of using B5 on skin directly on tetrakis's notepad I decided to try and make my own at home since I didn't want to spend a lot of money on the skinceuticals version. at the time I was just coming off a long fight w/ contact dermatitis, and skin was red, irritated, painful, and seriously broken out. I was miserable, and decided it was worth trying to see if it helped since all the products that normally healed my CD when I've had it before were making it worse this time. So I tried making it myself, and after a week of using it decided that A.) I hated it, B.) It was the recipe I hated, and C.) it was worth it just shell out the cash and buy the real thing. So I hopped on over to ebay and bought a bottle for $40, which isn't that bad price wise. for the first few days it didn't really do much that I could see. after 3 or 4 days of continuous use my skin started to calm down, and after a few more days my skin was so healthy and hydrated I couldn't believe it. I can't really tell if that's the HA or the B5, but it is working. my skin has normalized and calmed down a lot, so I think the B5 is already improving my barrier function like it's claimed to, and the HA is doing a good job of binding moisture to my skin like it is supposed to. overall I'm very happy and will continue to use this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2008 2:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Hate to be the naysayer, but I don't think this stuff does anything for me. I've used it for about six months, and I don't see any difference in my skin. Alas, I won't be buying this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/11/2008 10:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Am in love with this! I purchased this after serum 20 AOX. I also use glycolic acid gel by neostrata and refinity. So, my skin clearly needed serious hydration. This gel has given me amazing results, just like serum 20 AOX. It is meant to be used before moisturizer, as the hyraulinic acid binds water to the skin, as an analogy, the acid is like a sponge that swells with water. My moisturizer works 100 times better with this gel. My skin is so soft, supple and moist....I don't remember my skin feeling so good ever....not with facials, the most expensive creams. Try this once, you will never go without it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2008 10:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The B5 gel is a clear, smooth serum, that sinks in immediately. I didn't think I needed added hydration since I have Combination skin with an Oily T-zone. It absolutely feels like nothing on the skin. I love that it's so simple - unlike department store brands that tend to have many ingredients; and i don't know what any of them actually do for your skin. It's a simple product with only 3 ingredients: Water, sodium hyaluronate, pantothenic acid. Sodium hyaluronate = Hyaluronic Acid: the body's natural hydrator, to bind moisture to the skin. For me, this is the perfect hydrator to use before my Shiseido sunscreen. It keeps my skin smooth and fresh looking - and has saved my skin from winter dry patches and flakies. Just re-purchased my second bottle.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/14/2007 5:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is really nice. It makes my skin smooth and my pores finer. The smoothness of my skin is very refined specially around the cheekbone area. It is also very easy to apply- sinks right in. My only complain is its glass bottle plus the dropper. How I wish that this fluid comes in a plastic pump bottle. Overall, the product is excellent and belongs to a higher league. I will repurchase as I think this is the best in its price range.



EDIT: I find that I can easily use my Sisleya e/c on top of this baby without issues in greasiness. However, I felt the need for a separate moisturizer as I feel B5 gel causes slight dryness to my combi skin. I only use this in the morning.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
144 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top