Maybelline • Dream Nude Airfoam Foundation • Foundations

rated 2.7(245 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 sammeinwonderland on 12/17/2012 5:15:00 PM more reviews by sammeinwonderland

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I really liked this product. I was using the L'oreal BB cream, and decided I wanted to make a switch. I was going to try the Dream Mousse, but when I saw that the Air Foam was the same price AND it was bigger, I had to buy it. At first I thought it was the weirdest thing in the world, but it had a very even coverage, and though light, it made my skin look dewy and perfect. I got many compliments on it, and I think this is going to become my permanent foundation. I wear the shade Nude.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scraps on 12/7/2012 2:30:00 PM more reviews by scraps

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 XNubianX on 12/3/2012 9:16:00 PM more reviews by XNubianX

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

People give this product a bad rating because it doesn't provide "coverage". This is not what this product is for. If you have relatively good skin and just want to put on make-up for the hell of it but don't want to look made up this is the product for you.

It gives a good clean and natural finish and blends wonderfully. It is not heavy. I use Cocoa 370.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetfart on 12/2/2012 2:23:00 PM more reviews by sweetfart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Maybelline and Revlon came out with these mousse/foam foundations, likely in attempt to dupe Elizabeth Arden's Flawless Finish Mousse which has been on the market for years. I used Arden's and I've also used my HG Diorskin Airflash aerosol as well as some airbrush compressor systems. I'm therefore kind of a junkie/expert on non-conventional foundations.

The theory behind foam foundation is a smart idea but not quite the best. Aerosol foundations are known for giving a flawless finish due to an even distribution that hits the skin, which no regular liquid foundation can mimick. Foam/mousse foundations are perhaps the next best thing, albeit still way subpar to aerosol/airbrush foundation. The bubbleyness popping on the skin and settling is what would set this apart from any normal liquid foundation. Plain old AIR would be incorporated as a tool for applying this, as you want the bubbles to fizzle down and distribute on the skin in attempt to achieve that airbrushed finish. You still have to buff it in though, which is why it's not quite comparable to real airbrush foundation.

In comparison to Elizabeth Arden's mousse, Maybelline's is clearly lower in quality. Maybelline's definitely comes out as more of a mousse and Arden's is more of a foam. Arden's seems to be "bubblier" and more carbonated (perhaps those are sulfates?). These bubbles help to achieve a more even finish. Maybelline's fizzes down to a soppy sheer liquidy finish. Very uneven. I feel like it defeats the purpose of being a foam. The coverage is very sheer, buildable to medium at most.

Oil control is very poor (2 hours before I became a grease slick, with finishing powder), and the immediate finish was shiny (you say dewy, I say shiney...tomayto, tomawto). This definitely settled into my pores and separated. Because it is so dewy, it does not cooperate well with powder, becoming a caked up mess.

The idea from Maybelline was clever, but still no cigar. As others have said, this is mostly gimmick. You're better of using a regular liquid foundation. Perhaps the only person I would see benefitting from this is someone with drier skin who simply needs sheer coverage and wants something to apply fast with their fingers. It would be a little less messy than a normal liquid foundation. But not for me.

BTW, I have to mention that any foundation that comes in a pressurized can like these is likely to have severe ingredients that irritate sensitive skin. Even though everyone breaks out differently, I can tell you that compressed cans often contain ingredients like alcohol, propane, butane, etc. It's just like aerosol hairspray.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 macmuse on 11/30/2012 7:58:00 AM more reviews by macmuse

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Is very thin, but covers a little more than it looks like it would. What I didn't like is the ingredients—even though most traditional makeups aren't champs in this area, this one particularly was a red flag for me - propane, butane, etc. which I definitely don't want absorbing in my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Softballandmakeup12 on 11/27/2012 8:29:00 PM more reviews by Softballandmakeup12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is ok it doesnt cover to well and the colour that i got made my face go orange i dont know if it was just that the colour of it was wrong or just the product but at the end of the day my face looked oily but not too bad and when you put it on it feels a little to heavy for my liking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 calexandraa12 on 11/24/2012 8:09:00 PM more reviews by calexandraa12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Dream Nude AirFoam- 370 COCOA

Im happy this product is in my life. I use this every single day. It's super light, gives me the coverage I need. I don't have and breakouts with this foundation (I drink a shit load of water anyways). I don't understand why people have negative things to say, maybe I got lucky with the Cocoa. Love that it feels like nothings there. Amazing stuff :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jandie on 11/16/2012 3:47:00 PM more reviews by Jandie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product while on a trip. My usual foundation was absurdly heavy, so I left the bottle at home. When I got to my destination, I went to the drugstore and looked for a product that was light enough for travel. I picked up the little canister and decided to try it. Turned out, this strange spray foam foundation was better than what I had been using before. It makes me skin look great, although sometimes the coverage can get a little splotchy. (That may be a problem with me not applying it evenly enough.) Anyhow, I have been using this foundation for well over a month, and I still like it a lot. It does seem to sting quite a bit if you get it in your eyes though. More so that other foundations.
Edit--I have been using this for several months now, and I still love it. I went up a shade, and now that the match is a little better, my skin really looks fantastic. The negative reviews here really surprise me. My skin looks great!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blairg22 on 11/12/2012 10:25:00 AM more reviews by blairg22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Okay lets get started. so first when i bought this item, i was so excited because i heard such good things about it! so i tried it out and it had pretty good coverage. But then i started to break out, and i didn't think it was the foundation so i kept using it. but then my breakouts got worse. I had 7 days off of school because of hurricane sandy and didn't wear any makeup at all, and guess what, my skin cleared. whenever i use this foundation i break out. I have dry-normal skin and some acne. Also, i do not like the packaging. whenever i would use it, it would explode all over me. the price was ok, not too expensive for a drugstore foundation. I do not recommend this product AT all if you have acne or similar skin type to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kittenssecret on 11/8/2012 2:26:00 AM more reviews by kittenssecret

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Dream Nude Airfoam by Maybelline New York!
Comes in 12 Nude Perfect Shades
Light Coverage
SPF 16
Runs from $6-10 at drugstores and Ulta/Sephora
1.6 0Z
My shade: Porcelain Ivory. (Still shows up slightly orange for me but adjusts well)

Okay so just to give you a little back story on me I normally HATE foundation. Don't normally have time to apply it and most of the time just use a pressed powder. Cause that's all I really need, and normally all I can find to match my skin tone. But recently I needed something to even out skintone and redness for the becoming cold months. And I saw an advertisement on TV about this new "Light as air" foundation. And I'm just thinking so not true.

So I read a couple of reviews on it and decided to go to Ulta and pick it up with my $10 off any $10 purchase or more and get this for $0.07. Maybe a little more.
Got home, opened up the can and shook it up (BE SURE TO SHAKE UNTIL YOU FEEL IT BECOME FOAM LIKE OR IT WILL SPRAY OUT WHITE) and applied a small foam circle on to my hand and using my Elf foundation brush to apply it evenly. It sort of almost looked orange on me at first because I am super fair. I got the shade Porcelain Ivory. Lightest shade available in the Dream Nude Airfoam collection. This foundation also includes an SPF 16 which is great for that little bit of sun protection! And I thought sunblock = grease and oily, heavy foundation feel. WRONG. With in 5-6 minutes of letting it dry. I felt nothing! Not a thing on my face and my skin looked flawless and baby soft to the touch. I used my Mary-Kay Pressed Powder in 001 Ivory to set the foundation and to help it last. It lasted all night (Which I discontinued using because of my allergic reactions to Parabens and my MK powder contained them) It was a snap to remove with my nightly cleanser.

Defiantly will be re-purchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products