Maybelline • Dream Nude Airfoam Foundation • Foundations

rated 2.7(232 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AndreaJunelle on 10/22/2012 5:40:00 AM more reviews by AndreaJunelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This certainly isn't my Holy Grail foundation, but it isn't incredibly terrible either.. I read some of the negative reviews before purchasing, but went for it anway lol. I noticed it was less than $8 USD at my local WalMart, and I was intrigued by the whole "airfoam" thing ;)
The first time I tried this I was disappointed so say the least.. I gave it a good shake, but I dispensed out wayyy too much product, and tried to rub it all over my face with my fingers - FAIL.
First of all, the first pump that comes out (whether you give the can a 3 second shake or a 3 minute shake) comes out not the correct color. There's some white/off white foam that comes out (I thought it was *supposed* to look like this) -but if it's not "foundation colored" -don't use that first pump.
And since I dispensed too much out as well,(like a golf ball size instead of a walnut size like instructed) -it was extremely streaky, hard to blend(b/c there was too much), and it took literally *forever* to set(as it's rather wet once it's applied..)
Also, the lightest shade (Porcelain Ivory I believe?) is not a perfect match for my NC15(fair/warm) skin. It's a tad on the dark side :(
So I tried it again and made sure to really shake the product for a good (at least)60 seconds first before pressing down on the pump, and I also pressed *very* lightly - just hard enough to get a small walnut sized amount out. This seems like a perfect size for my entire face. I also used a beauty blender sponge to apply, stippling the beauty blender around on my face, patting the product on. And with this technique, to my surprise, it looked much better! But it was still not a perfect color match :( Other than that issue, it seemed to last fairly long on my oil slick skin, didn't accentuate any dryness/flakies(which tends to happen to me this time of year/cooler weather), and give light coverage(what I was looking for).
If you are someone looking for full coverage though, this is simply not the right foundation for you.
The 3rd time I tried this, I used the same application techniques as listed above, but applied a thin layer of my L'oreal Magic BB Cream first, like a primer. It is a product that is also very light coverage, so I thought maybe mixing the two together would give me a more medium coverage look, and may help me with the little color mis-match problem as well - and I was right! So far, pairing this Dream AirFoam foundation with L'oreal's Magic BB Cream is my favorite way of wearing it. It's still a bit "wet?" right after application and takes a few minutes to really set, but it's something different. I knew after my first terrible experience with it that it was going to take some getting used to, as it's not your normal, run of the mill, liquid foundation. If you keep that in mind, can find a color match, and don't apply too much, it's really not a terrible product.
I even fell asleep wearing the L'oreal Magic BB + Maybelline AirFoam together (shame on me, I know, I know..) -and when I woke up, I was so pleasantly surprised to look in the mirror and still see a matte, poreless looking face! It was *quite* a surprise as I didn't expect much from this after reading all of the negative things said here, as well as other places on the internet.
It also hasn't given me any issues with breakouts, or oxidizing/changing colors once applied.
Overall, I do plan to use up the remainder of what I have and am not returning this back to the store, giving it away, or anything like that. But doubt I will repurchase. It's a bit too much work to get it looking they way I like since I don't have a great shade match :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Buehler87 on 10/21/2012 1:33:00 AM more reviews by Buehler87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I didn't notice any drying effects. It did take a bit to set though. My problem with it is that it's orange. When you dispense the product you can see that it is very orange (and yes I shook it very thoroughly for about 2 minutes). There is also a very limited shade selection available. I am fair skinned so I went with the lightest shade and it was just off. I think this product would be okay for people with tan skin. But the orange in the product does counteract dark circles, so in a pinch I use it as a concealer. To dull out the orange you can mix it to make tinted moisturizer, but it's not phenomenal or anything. It's so light and well, airy, that you have to apply a few layers of the product under your eyes. It's not the greatest thing ever but at least I found a way I can use what I have left... if I don't just end up getting rid of it anyway.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 geordieness on 10/20/2012 9:08:00 PM more reviews by geordieness

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Pros:
- Interesting concept.
- Easy application.

Cons:
- Caused a severe allergic reaction. (YMMV though, I do have highly sensitive skin)
- Didn't come off easily, despite having a watery / oily consistency.
- Lightest tone (Porcelain Ivory) was too dark and orangey for my skin tone.
- Little coverage but was almost like a badly applied fake tan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AllieMonique on 10/17/2012 10:02:00 PM more reviews by AllieMonique

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a complete waste of money i really regret buying it and wish i could return it but i cant
i dont know why it even got released because surely they would of had trials of it and at that point they should of know that this product was really bad because its basically water , NO COVERAGE AT ALL
for the price i paid i would look better going out with like dirt on my face a really horrible product

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Alexxithymiaa on 10/15/2012 11:00:00 AM more reviews by Alexxithymiaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have super light skin and this fondation has this weird orange tint to it. It is very watery, and doesn't have any coverage. If you squirt too much, you can't put it back in the bottle, you either waste it or put it all on your face. I have dark circles and doesn't cover them at all. Even after you shake the bottle, the pigment is unevenly distributed. Ever since I stated using it, I have been getting acne, while before I would only get an occasional pimple.

I believe this would be a good fondation for someone with already perfect skin, that is slightly dry, and only needs a little bit of coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alycatt on 10/9/2012 7:14:00 PM more reviews by Alycatt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Unless you want your sink and walls covered in foundation, I would suggest practicing the bottle's pump outside... I pressed it so lightly but it was a mess. Other than that, this is a reallyy great product and doesn't clog my pores, which is awesome cause I breakout easily. Even though it makes my skin feel oilier, it looks very matte and porcelain- so I just use oil blotters so its not too bad. I definitely recommend this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 citygirl030300 on 10/7/2012 6:26:00 PM more reviews by citygirl030300

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It is a great product! It's light and makes my skin look very even. Also, it does cover up. It feels really good on your skin because it's foam. It feels like it just sinks in your skin and lets it breathe. I am totally buying this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 happyhoppy on 10/3/2012 8:38:00 AM more reviews by happyhoppy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm glad I didn't read the negative reviews before buying this product because I wouldn't have bought it.
I usually dislike drugstore foundations but I love this one. I have combination skin and it looks semi matte on me. It doesn't cake, it evens out my complexion (I have some redness on my cheeks) and I can't feel it on my skin.
I've been using it on VERY humid days and no problem so far!
Also, it is very easy to apply.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AmberKay on 9/28/2012 9:33:00 PM more reviews by AmberKay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like this...it's not great, but its not horrible. It is a bit oily feeling on the skin, which I don't like. i can definitely feel it sitting on top of my skin when I'm wearing it. I generally squirt some moisturizer on my hand next to the foam and mix it together before I apply it, and that really seems to help.

Not my favorite, but I do use it sometimes. I won't buy it again because this bottle will probably last me forever since I only use it once a month, if that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Steph18v on 9/24/2012 1:13:00 AM more reviews by Steph18v

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am in love with this product!
I was quite hesitant to purchase due to the many bad reviews but I am so glad I bought it.

It's amazing, it's low to medium coverage but great for those who don't like or don't need as much coverage. It's so fresh and light it feels like you have nothing on!
It gives me a flawless finish and is prefect for school.

The pump thing takes a few shots to get use to, but if you learn to control it and press lightly, you can get your desired amount easily. I love the texture and the smooth feeling it leaves on your skin.


Lovelovelove this foundation! Would recommend it and buy I would definetly it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products