Hourglass • Veil Mineral Primer SPF 15 • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.9(259 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nata779 on 4/10/2013 2:54:00 PM more reviews by nata779

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was lucky to get a sample of this. This primer is was far from being the best one. Didn't cover my redness in any significant way. I can't say foundation looked in any different way than without it. I'm not excited.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NairbRey on 4/1/2013 4:46:00 AM more reviews by NairbRey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for free at sephora thanks to my sephora points, I gotta say its good but its soooo expensive and Its not the best primer ever, I use it when Im going out clubing or a regular party under my Bare Minerals foundation and it looks great and leaves me pretty flawless ...Im still looking for that primer thats gonna set me through the roof

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SkyAlternative on 3/18/2013 2:51:00 PM more reviews by SkyAlternative

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I heard so much hype about this product and really wanted to try it. It seemed perfect for my skin- being oil-free and also has SPF. Sounds good! But my wallet nearly cried when I saw that the small 0.33 oz size of this product is $18 and the 1 oz bottle is $52. Whoa. I didn't want to plunk down the hard cash for a product I hadn't tried yet so I went to Ebay to search for samples. I was a bit surprised and yet again, not surprised to see that samples of this product (the 0.16 oz bottle) go for around $10-$13. A SAMPLE SIZE! If you are lucky you can find a seller selling it for $9. None of those prices even include shipping. Yikes.

On to the product itself, I'd say it works pretty good. I like the fact that it didn't break me out. It makes my foundation look alright. The feel is silky and smooth when you apply but once I let the product sink in and then apply my foundation, it seems to make the foundation harder to blend. After a while of blending, the end finish was decent but not exactly what I was looking for.

I wouldn't call this my HG primer, and I will keep on looking for one that suits my skin more, but this product get's a thumbs up from me. I can see myself purchasing again if I don't find anything better. I'd buy the $18 one though. $52 is way too much over what I would spend on a single cosmetic item.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NdotM on 3/17/2013 4:16:00 PM more reviews by NdotM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Im a primer addict. I first decided to splurged on this primer at Sephora (about $50) after using up a sample they gave me a week earlier. This stuff is awesome.

I have oily, acne-prone skin, which stays pretty clear as long as I stick to my skin routine. My initial fear is always, "WILL I BREAK OUT?!". So I try to stick to products that are acne-skin friendly and contain SPF. This primer met both. Although the SPF is a bit low (SPF15; Titanium dioxide and zinc oxide), the flawless finish is totally worth it. My face was shine free and my powder makeup held up great. It's water resistant, fragrance and oil free.

The package makes it easy to apply. I like that the top can be removed, so you can unscrew and dig out a few more applications with a q-tip when you get low on product.

I apply it once a day, everyday. A bottle typically lasts me about 5-6 months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 RebeccaC01 on 3/11/2013 1:43:00 AM more reviews by RebeccaC01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this because it provided a wonderful canvas for makeup but I broke out terribly a day after using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kpennock on 3/9/2013 6:47:00 PM more reviews by kpennock

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG face primer. I am almost out and so I have been using up my samples of other things but nothing is even close to this. It doesn't break me out, it isn't too thick or thin, smooths out my pores/fine lines with ease, and doesn't smell unpleasant.

The only complaint I have is the price but when it works this well....some sacrifices must be made. If you are unsure just pump the tiniest amount on your hand it will even smooth over the little lines on your hand! I can't say enough good things about it....sometimes you get what you pay for :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mars77 on 3/6/2013 3:49:00 PM more reviews by mars77

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this primer! It hasn't broken me out and it makes my foundation look great. You don't need a lot of this product. It can emphasize dry patches on your skin so make sure your face is cleansed and moisturized before use. I love the feel of this primer- it's very smooth and velvety. I let it absorb into my skin for a few minutes and then I apply foundation.
My friends and family who don't wear foundation use this product as a base/corrector for redness and they also love it! Prior to this primer, I have tried the MUFE HD primers in the yellow and green colours and while they weren't bad- this one is wayy better! It keeps my face matte for hours but because i do have combination skin, I will need to blot my t-zone towards the end of the day. This cost me a little over 60 dollars Canadian which is quite expensive for a primer, definitely a splurge! But it keeps my makeup intact and a little amount of product goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missykeyana on 3/5/2013 9:07:00 PM more reviews by missykeyana

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a 100-point perk from Sephora after reading reviews from across the beauty blogosphere. It is white with a lotion consistency and a heavily silicone feel. When I rubbed it into my face, it sank in nicely and made a smooth canvas. I didn't notice a white cast and it didn't break me out. Unfortunately, I saw no difference in the wear or look of my foundation when using this or my Olay Complete SPF 30. For that reason, I will not be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PeachFuzzz on 3/5/2013 8:09:00 PM more reviews by PeachFuzzz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This primer is probably the best one I have ever tried. I have oily skin and like most oily skinned people, I need something to manage the oilies and keep my foundation in tip top shape. My nose still becomes oily but my foundation does look great hours after application. I only use a dot of it here and there on my face. The price is uhhh....a little overpriced but I just buy the small one for $20. I have NC30 skin with strong yellow undertones and I don't see the white cast others are seeing with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lanid06 on 3/3/2013 7:13:00 PM more reviews by lanid06

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I used this as a sample and it instantly flaked my skin. do not use if you have dry skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hourglass products

More Primer/ Corrector products