Lancome La Vie Est Belle

3.7

159 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/26/2013 1:52:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I finally got a lovely large sample of this fragrance and I will be buying the large bottle. I am not going to list the ingredients as I see others have done so already. I will just add here that I find this scent very lovely, soft, and lady like. It makes me feel wonderful when I wear it and I think others probably get a lift from it too. I don't find it too strong or over powering. At first spray it is powerful but that fades pretty quickly and stays closer to the body. It remains on my clothes for quite a few hours and stays fresh. It sort of reminds me of Miss Dior and Shalimar combined. Two of my favorite scents and now this one will be added to my list of favorites.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 7/17/2013 7:11:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Simply stated, I find this to be a cheap (in the olfactory sense) rip off of Coco Mlle.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite new perfume. I absolutely love it!!!! I also love the lotion (almost as much) and the shower gel.


on 6/16/2013 11:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've had a sample of this for a while and avoided trying it, because the patchouli & praline made me think it would just be a disappointing Angel clone (I love Thierry Mugler's Angel, but the million fragrances made to somewhat copy it tend to be awful on me). Much to my surprise, I really like this and can't pick out the patchouli or praline at all. On me, this is mostly jasmine, iris, and vanilla with undertones of pear and currant. It's definitely a warm, sweet fragrance, but the jasmine and iris give it a sensual, perfumey feel that cuts through the sweetness nicely. A lot of floral blends tend to be too sharp and give me a headache, but I really like La Vie Est Belle. Sweet, vanilla-y floral. It's almost warm, sunny, and reminiscent of honeysuckle and golden sweetness on my skin (actually, it reminds me quite a bit of the sweet Miss Dior Cherie). I'm not sure if I'd ever purchase a full bottle, in part because I own a bottle of Miss Dior Cherie, but I do like this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This fragrance contains: Patchouli, Orange Blossom, Gourmand, Jasmine, and Iris Palida. And in my opinion the marriage of these ingredients is absolutely phenomenal. Each component complements one another. It is strong, but not over-bearing. In fact, I think it is a bit intoxicating to the wearer and others.

Whenever I wear this fragrance, I feel sexy, pretty, and oh so feminine. It lingers a bit when I enter a room; but not in an obtrusive way. It simply envelopes your senses and that of others. This has become a Holy Grail fragrance for me because of the way it makes me feel. In every sense of the word--like a woman!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2013 9:45:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Nordstrom sent me a sample of this with some makeup I ordered. It is overbearing, cloying, way too sweet and headache inducing. Usually I give away sample vials I do not care for , but that I think my daughter or a friend might like. I actually put the vial of La Vie Est Belle in a ziplock so it would not stink up my garbage can. Yes, that is how godawful I thought this was.
I rated this a 3 on packaging and price because I have no idea what they are. I wish MUA would let us not rate those for fragrance, but I can never seem to post a review without having to do so.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Ah La vie belle. When I first smelled I fell in love and KNEW this would be my signature scent. After buying it I am kind of on the fence now. Dont get me wrong this scent smells great and unique but to much fruit for me. This fragrence is by far THE best out of all of the Lancome perfumes and if you want to smell elegant this perfume is the way to go. I do feel that the bottle is a little bit to much, and perfer something more simply

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/9/2013 1:57:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

when you first sprits it on it is a blend of britney spears fantasia and escadas moon sparkle, other words- nice but generic. on the drydown it's smells beautiful floral and caramel, reminded me of ysl candy. I tested this in the store on my handwrist and my clothes. now the other day on the morning it's still on my wrists and i can smell it in my room it's smells sweet pear lol. Want the whole bottle for summer, makes you feel happy it's very summery.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2013 1:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Silver, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I received a sample from Sephora, sprayed it on, and I wish I hadn't. It's just another sweet, sugary, vanilla-y fragrance that stops short of giving me a headache. I'm glad I didn't buy it. As the sweetness fades, an old-fashioned powdery scent emerges, which reminds me of inexpensive DS fragrances of long ago. I expected more from Lancome.


on 5/7/2013 9:53:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Ugh, the EDP is so SWEET! :o( I just can't wear this or the highly successful Flowerbomb that it's ripping off (and I have both). They're both just too richly thickly candied & syrupy sweet (and I generally like sweetness). The syrupiness is semi-balanced out by a patchouli basenote, for a spicy kick.

Strong, way too strong. Just a small spritz on my lunch hour, and I feel like I reek, like they can probably smell me a block away. I'm totally getting a headache from it. This EDP is very rich and concentratedly sweet -- like Karo or a praline syrup baristas would put in coffee drinks -- plus patchouli is added, for a spicy balance.

I don't know how it could possibly work in warmer weather -- it might be overwhelming. Advise to spritz *very* judiciously any weather, any season, any occasion.

Here are notes, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes: Pear, Black currant
Heart Notes: Iris, Jasmine, Orange blossom
Base Notes: Patchouli, Praline, Tonka bean, Vanilla

Julia Roberts was born in Oct 1967 -- was probably 45 when it launched. I don't think this fits a middle-aged woman at all -- more for a teens-20's girl. And I don't think it's elegant -- doesn't fit the black-tie ball in the commercial -- or the nonconformist theme -- since it's like many others that have followed this same sweet-patch gourmand trend.

I think a lighter, sheerer, EDT or body mist version of this would be far preferable to the uber-concentrated, uber-sweet EDP. Lightening this up and making it more sheer and airy would be an improvement, I think.

3/11/14: And lo and behold, they do have a lighter version now (Eau Legere). Better, thinner, but still very sweet. You have to really like gourmands and candy sweetness for this whole LVEB line, the lotion also.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1370 Reviews
Chance
959 Reviews
No.5
943 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
139 Reviews
Si
43 Reviews


Back to Top