Lancome • La Vie Est Belle • Fragrances

rated 3.7(152 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 la_dee on 5/9/2013 1:57:00 AM more reviews by la_dee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

when you first sprits it on it is a blend of britney spears fantasia and escadas moon sparkle, other words- nice but generic. on the drydown it's smells beautiful floral and caramel, reminded me of ysl candy. I tested this in the store on my handwrist and my clothes. now the other day on the morning it's still on my wrists and i can smell it in my room it's smells sweet pear lol. Want the whole bottle for summer, makes you feel happy it's very summery.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Susan2148A on 5/8/2013 1:43:00 PM more reviews by Susan2148A

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Silver, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I received a sample from Sephora, sprayed it on, and I wish I hadn't. It's just another sweet, sugary, vanilla-y fragrance that stops short of giving me a headache. I'm glad I didn't buy it. As the sweetness fades, an old-fashioned powdery scent emerges, which reminds me of inexpensive DS fragrances of long ago. I expected more from Lancome.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 5/7/2013 9:53:00 PM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ugh, the EDP is so SWEET! :o( I just can't wear this or the highly successful Flowerbomb that it's ripping off (and I have both). They're both just too richly thickly candied & syrupy sweet (and I generally like sweetness). The syrupiness is semi-balanced out by a patchouli basenote, for a spicy kick.

Strong, way too strong. Just a small spritz on my lunch hour, and I feel like I reek, like they can probably smell me a block away. I'm totally getting a headache from it. This EDP is very rich and concentratedly sweet -- like Karo or a praline syrup baristas would put in coffee drinks -- plus patchouli is added, for a spicy balance.

I don't know how it could possibly work in warmer weather -- it might be overwhelming. Advise to spritz *very* judiciously any weather, any season, any occasion.

Here are notes, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes: Pear, Black currant
Heart Notes: Iris, Jasmine, Orange blossom
Base Notes: Patchouli, Praline, Tonka bean, Vanilla

Julia Roberts was born in Oct 1967 -- was probably 45 when it launched. I don't think this fits a middle-aged woman at all -- more for a teens-20's girl. And I don't think it's elegant -- doesn't fit the black-tie ball in the commercial -- or the nonconformist theme -- since it's like many others that have followed this same sweet-patch gourmand trend.

I think a lighter, sheerer, EDT or body mist version of this would be far preferable to the uber-concentrated, uber-sweet EDP. Lightening this up and making it more sheer and airy would be an improvement, I think.

3/11/14: And lo and behold, they do have a lighter version now (Eau Legere). Better, thinner, but still very sweet. You have to really like gourmands and candy sweetness for this whole LVEB line, the lotion also.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gingersnap250 on 5/7/2013 9:23:00 PM more reviews by gingersnap250

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

This perfume is housed in such a lovely bottle! So chic! At first, it is quite sweet, but then it dries down into a really lovely day scent. I was actually surprised at the complexity of it, and I think I go against all those who complain of its sweetness. It isn't cloying to me, despite the fact that I rarely like the very sweet fragrances. This one is feminine in every sense of the word. And I do think it'd be suitable for all ages.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DefunktPistol on 5/7/2013 2:43:00 AM more reviews by DefunktPistol

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

In absolute love with this fragrance. A great perfume for the office that is not overpowering. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sassylatina on 3/30/2013 8:02:00 PM more reviews by sassylatina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I smelled this in a magazine ad sample and adored it. When I went to Macy's to try it on that was not the case. It is grossly simple - sweet and nothing else. Drug store Calgon is more complex than this. I can't imagine this being suitable on any age, it's just so overwhelming and obnoxious. I couldn't wait to go home and change after putting this on. The staying power is strong, which in other circumstances would be good. After washing my dress/cardigan that I wore when I sprayed this the scent still lingered. BLAH. Do not reccommend

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 funnygirlup on 3/29/2013 1:36:00 PM more reviews by funnygirlup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

The initial smell is unappealing-i think it's likely the patchouli and I'm so not a fan of patchouli....but then, that fades and what's left is a delicious caramel, vanilla, creme brulee deliciousness that lasts all day. The longer this perfume sits and mingles with your skin the better it smells. It's warm, inviting and comforting. Love it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 violetpython4 on 3/17/2013 10:03:00 PM more reviews by violetpython4

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Amazing! This scent is addictive! Right away it smells a bit too sweet but once it dries down it smells set. Men love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pinklady1984 on 3/16/2013 10:25:00 AM more reviews by Pinklady1984

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This perfume smells amazing! I've been using jean Paul gaultier classique for years and really fancied a change. I was given a sample of this in a department store and the first time I tried it 4 people asked what perfume I was wearing!
It lasts for hours and is such a gorgeous feminine fragrance.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 whyknot on 2/25/2013 11:50:00 AM more reviews by whyknot

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This smelled lovely and intriguing in the bottle - an irresistible sexy vanilla. When I sprayed it on, however, it went straight to nasty: cigarettes and cherry coke. Jut did not work at all with my chemistry. Too bad, cuz I really loved the scent in the bottle!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Fragrances products