Neutrogena • Shine Control Makeup • Liquid

rated 2.6(97 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.32%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 blueflamingo on 8/2/2012 7:00:00 AM more reviews by blueflamingo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation actually works for me. I tried it originally from a sample. First sample was gritty, second wasn't. I'm guessing there's some kind of rice powder or such? Didn't read the ingredients. Using a foundation brush, I don't feel it anyway. I don't find it settles into fine lines or pores, and the coverage is better than most and buildable. I wish it had more staying power, since foundation with an SPF20 would seem to be something designed for summer type weather (live in hot, humid Florida). The big bummer of this foundation is the bottle. Neutrogena design people, what were you thinking? The bottle opening is smaller than Colorstay, and at least the bottle I bought doesn't flow, so I have to use a qtip to get it out. That's going to mean a lot of waste at the bottom of the bottle. That alone might make it something I wouldn't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princess101 on 7/24/2012 9:57:00 PM more reviews by princess101

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this product while on a trip to the US (from Canada) as we don't have Neutrogena cosmetics available in our drugstore/mass grocery stores. I didn't read any reviews prior to purchasing this and am glad I didn't, as I know I would've skipped buying this.

For me, I feel like this is a lighter version of Revlon's Colorstay liquid foundation. It has the oil control capabilities that Colorstay provides, but without the heavy, mask-like finish. I apply this with a beauty blender and while I do have to work in sections, as this dries fairly quickly, the finish is what I would describe as satin-matte. It does not have a sheen, but is not flat looking as Colorstay can be.

I did not notice any of the fine grains while using the beauty blender, but did notice them when applying with my fingers. After applying with my fingers, I let the foundation dry and once I set with powder the small granules were gone---presumably brushed off by my powder brush.

The staying power is fantastic, as it lasted a full 12 hours with only a blot on my nose about 8 hours in. Even then, the foundation did not seperate or look shiny, but rather dewy.

I think those who don't like the heavier feel or full coverage of Colorstay should give this a try. The shade range is rather limited, but still worth looking at. For reference I am MAC NC25 and wear this in the shade Nude.

I do not care for the glass bottle packaging, as the foundation is damn near impossible to get out. I use a plastic spatula to scoop mine through the neck, as banging on the back of my hand has proved pointless. There is no easy way of transfering this to a bottle with a pump due to it's thickness. If anyone knows of a pump that would fit---PM me!

*I think results will vary depending on your application method and the products used to prep the skin prior to your foundation (ie. moisturizers, sunscreen, primer etc)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lillicannon on 7/13/2012 8:13:00 AM more reviews by lillicannon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I normally have major "settling into fine lines" problems but had none with this makeup. Perhaps this is because I take care of my oily skin very well: Tazorac, salicylic acid and moisturizer.

The makeup applied smoothly with a sponge, covered well but looked natural, and did last 3-4 hours before looking glowy, which is a very long time for my skin. Most foundations only last 1 hour before oil breaks through. There were only four colors, but the Buff worked well for my tanned skin, which in the winter requires the fairest color. Hopefully other people will like this so that they make more colors!

Texture is like a thick liquid, almost a cream. It is in a tall bottle so I just tapped the sponge on the top and got the right amount. It blends super-easily and is hard to over-apply. You have a bit of time to play before it sets, unlike Color Stay, which dries nearly instantly. Also, no weird smells!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ladyli3n on 7/5/2012 11:43:00 AM more reviews by ladyli3n

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily skin - in terms of being "oil-controlling" it did keep me matte longer then most foundations. HOWEVER, i will not be repurchasing this because its settles into fine lines really bad. it emphasizes any pores you have and can look quite cakey. If you have perfect skin and just want to even out, this might be for you. If you have any problems that your trying to hide - this will just emphasize it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lck2011 on 7/1/2012 11:22:00 PM more reviews by lck2011

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm very surprise that so many people dislike this foundation!!! I'm in totally in love with it!!! My skin is very oily (sometimes a couple hours after washing my face I can see the oil coming out of my porous) and on top of that I have rosacea, scars from acne and some black heads on my nose (they're not that bad since l stoped using mineral powder/foundation) my HG foundation is Estee Lauder Double wear, but is has a very high price tag, so l've been looking for drug store option for my everyday use, I came across to this one in one of my favorite beauty blogs, and after thinking a lot I bought it. So here's is my experience
1-. I have very oily skin and on top of that l live in Florida so is HOT and HUMID

2.- this is a light to medium coverage, but is buildable, l'm not big fan of heavy foundation cuze in the long run looks cakey and fake, I dont have a perfect skin but I can work with it and make look better, doesnt matter how much makeup you put in your face if you have a lot break outs and bumps a full coverage foundation is going to make it look worse. Sometimes I use some green primer to conceal my redness, I havent use yet with this foundation but it covers pretty much everything.

3-. yes is grainy, yep very weird the look of it remind me of mac sculp but the feeling is like a light exfoliator, it doesnt hurt me at all, I applied with a Elf Flat brush and it looks amazing

4-. the bottle is a pain, very hard to take the product out, what the hell they're were thinking???!!!

5-. it last for more than 8 hours!!! it wasnt complety matte but I had a natural glowy look no oil, I didnt bloat it with paper, l applied some of the shine control pressed powder (that only comes in one color) and wait for couple more hours and it look great!!!

6-. besides the packing that sucks, I love this foundation, it reatails around 12.99 (target) but if get one of those ulta coupons is easy to score a decent deal even less than $10 dollars

Tomorrow l'm getting the primer and also I will try to upload some before and after pics and no breakouts yet!!!!

UPDATE 07/03/12!!! JUST UPLOADED MY PICS, FOR APPLICATION I USE ELF POWDER BRUSH, I' M NOT WEARING ANY KIND OF PRIMER, GREEN PRIMER OR CONCEALER, THIS COLOR HAS A YELLOW UNDERTONES, NO BREAKOUTS YET, GOT THE PRIMER YESTERDAY AND I LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT FEELS GREAT ON MY SKIN :)

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tresor on 6/28/2012 9:52:00 PM more reviews by Tresor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have oily, sensitive, 40-something skin. I tend to use a bb cream first, then foundation, just a drop of each. Perhaps that's why it works fine on me, not others. This foundation was easy to blend, covered what it's supposed to, didn't look cakey or obvious and lasted all day without touchups. My only complaint is that my local stores don't carry my shade yet, an even number, so I have to blend 2 different odd numbered ones for a custom shade.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 designerleanne on 6/28/2012 11:23:00 AM more reviews by designerleanne

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I should have turned to makeupalley for reviews on this, rather than youtube. AWFUL. My main reason for trying this was because while I have oily/combination skin, my T-zone has been getting extra oily with the summer heat and I wanted a more matte foundation. I have minimal wrinkles and some visible pores on my nose and upper cheeks. These have always been easily concealed, even by tinted moisturizers. This foundation, however, settles into every pore, every line even the slightest crevice, is streaky and "dry" and does not cover any redness whatsoever. Looks like the equivalent of layers of heavy powder on my face. Returning today something I rarely do with drugstore makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* songy67 on 6/25/2012 10:05:00 PM more reviews by songy67

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This one is housed in a glass bottle and doesn't come with a pump. It provides medium buildable coverage that looks natural and doesn't cake up throughout the day. In terms of 'shine control' I would give it maybe a 6/10 at most. I really enjoy how natural this looks on my skin and how long-wearing it is, plus the fact that it has SPF 20 in it. Unfortunately, it breaks me out. BADLY. I'm talking cystic acne that I can't even cover up. I wish this had worked out for me, but it wreaked havoc on my skin. Not worth it.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Blueeyedbobbi21 on 6/25/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by Blueeyedbobbi21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

wow...why is this formula sooo gritty????

it just doesn't make sense. It really feels like they just added some sand into the mix. really weird :/

foundation should be pretty smooth right? lol Tested this foundation just on the back of my wrist..and the grit in in hurt my skin :(

def. not buying this. I really wanted to like this,but im not trying that gritty formulation on my face :O

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bananachan on 6/24/2012 10:47:00 PM more reviews by bananachan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I don't hate this foundation, but it did not accomplish what it says it will do. I did not experience the grainy texture or the extremely fast drying time like others have. It gives me a fair amount of coverage; however, as for controlling shine, it completely fails. If it was just another foundation, it would be fine, but it is specifically labelled as shine control foundation. Even with mattifying powder I did not see the kind of staying power I expected. I'll finish the bottle, but after that I will not be repurchasing.

Edit 9-7-12: Blech. Now that I am further into the bottle, it is starting to feel more grainy than it did. Will definitely not finish this bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Liquid products