Neutrogena • Shine Control Makeup • Liquid

rated 2.5(90 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.31%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* songy67 on 6/25/2012 10:05:00 PM more reviews by songy67

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This one is housed in a glass bottle and doesn't come with a pump. It provides medium buildable coverage that looks natural and doesn't cake up throughout the day. In terms of 'shine control' I would give it maybe a 6/10 at most. I really enjoy how natural this looks on my skin and how long-wearing it is, plus the fact that it has SPF 20 in it. Unfortunately, it breaks me out. BADLY. I'm talking cystic acne that I can't even cover up. I wish this had worked out for me, but it wreaked havoc on my skin. Not worth it.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Blueeyedbobbi21 on 6/25/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by Blueeyedbobbi21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

wow...why is this formula sooo gritty????

it just doesn't make sense. It really feels like they just added some sand into the mix. really weird :/

foundation should be pretty smooth right? lol Tested this foundation just on the back of my wrist..and the grit in in hurt my skin :(

def. not buying this. I really wanted to like this,but im not trying that gritty formulation on my face :O

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bananachan on 6/24/2012 10:47:00 PM more reviews by bananachan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I don't hate this foundation, but it did not accomplish what it says it will do. I did not experience the grainy texture or the extremely fast drying time like others have. It gives me a fair amount of coverage; however, as for controlling shine, it completely fails. If it was just another foundation, it would be fine, but it is specifically labelled as shine control foundation. Even with mattifying powder I did not see the kind of staying power I expected. I'll finish the bottle, but after that I will not be repurchasing.

Edit 9-7-12: Blech. Now that I am further into the bottle, it is starting to feel more grainy than it did. Will definitely not finish this bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whocalledforcrazy on 6/23/2012 7:26:00 AM more reviews by whocalledforcrazy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

If you have: super oily skin, want a lot of coverage or have deeper toned skin this foundation is not for you. The foundation appears thick in the bottle and has a slightly grainy texture but it spreads on the skin beautifully, evens out skin tone (I have mild post acne marks and redness from skin allergies) and I had no problem with transferring. It also dries on the skin with a texture similar to using an HD powder (super soft). I put a dot on each cheek, forehead and chin then blended with my fingers and set it with my HD powder.

Me: mid 20's, dry skin, mild skin problems, fair-medium tone, likes less is more make-up

Pros:
Good coverage, light texture, doesn't transfer, no make-up make up look, not greasy or totally matte-perfectly in between, does not oxidize, gentle

Cons:
Not for super oily skin or deeper skin tones, not a lot of shades-can be hard to match, hard to get out of bottle, grainy texture (that goes away as you spread it), doesn't do much to cover active break outs.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msog177 on 6/22/2012 5:57:00 PM more reviews by msog177

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm very surprised at the reviews for this foundation. I bought it yesterday, used it today (using my incredible BeautyBlender) and I love it. My skin feels light, the oils completely controlled. It's quite a buildable foundation, and the color (Classic Ivory) blended perfectly on my very pale skin. It's been on my face for over 8 hours and no oxidation whatsoever. Sounds like a winner to me. It's a tad expensive (I paid about $15 at Walgreens) and has no pump, but I do really like the product. I dusted some of my fragrance-free Coty powder, it set the foundation quite well, and I'm very happy with it. I love the fact that it has SPF 20. Very important.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lily91491 on 6/21/2012 5:01:00 PM more reviews by lily91491

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Am I the only one who doesn't think this foundation is terrible? Don't use to much product but it's a nice medium coverage foundation and I love the color match. I'm about an nc42 in Mac and I'm a fresh beige in neutrogena. The finish is semi matte I applied it with a flat top kabuki and I set it with mac blot powder no primer. It's really nice and held up fairly well (4 hours without touch ups on my very oily skin) without looking mask like

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Banjos on 6/21/2012 6:12:00 AM more reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Actually, I picked up a three-shade sample and tried the Classic Ivory and Buff shades on the back of my hand. There really was not enough product in the sample to cover my face. Speaking of...there was practically no coverage and it accented the imperfections. The texture was somewhat thick but it seemed to disappear quickly. A very odd makeup that I think few would like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Denise18 on 6/16/2012 6:15:00 PM more reviews by Denise18

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Huge fail! When, oh when, am I ever going to stop making these impulse drugstore buys! The new product displays at the Harmon inside BB&B get me every time! Anyway, I had seen this foundation in a display along with a mattifying pressed powder and shine control primer. There have been a number of new matte foundations out there lately (Clarins, Clinique), so when I saw this, I thought I'd give it a try.

Shade 40 Nude was a fabulous match for my NC20/25ish complexion, but the love ends right there. First off, it is impossible to pour this out of the bottle (there is no pump, think Revlon Colorstay). It's that thick. Secondly, the finish was far from matte on my combo/oily skin, and my T-zone was an oil slick within an hour. Life's too short to deal with a foundation that's impossible to pour out and leaves me looking like a greaseball.

This promptly went back to BB&B.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Mandanich on 6/15/2012 10:14:00 AM more reviews by Mandanich

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the worst foundation I have ever used. I had to return it. At first the product appealed to me because I have oily skin and I thought this might help me in that area. First of all, not only is their no pump but the product is so thick and sticky that it will not come out of the bottle even if flipped upside down and I have to use a Q-tip to get it out which is highly unsanitary to have to continually stick things inside the bottle just to get the product out. The texture of this foundation has a very strange, sandy feeling to it. It felt like I was rubbing an exfoliate on my face. It felt rough like it was scratching my skin. Even after blending the product very well, it looked awful. It was cakey, and created a dirty appearance to my face. I tried using my fingers, using a brush, primer, etc. Nothing can fix this disaster... I do not recommend this at all.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeautBetty on 6/13/2012 11:34:00 AM more reviews by BeautBetty

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't upload a picture but believe me the packaging is a dupe for Revlon Colorstay
This is a very brand new product. I found it while browsing Bed Bath and Beyond, which is the only place I've seen it ( ao 6-13-12). It was $11.89USD without their 20% coupon.
Cons: There are only a few shades: Ivory , Buff (30), BeigeNude (60) and a couple of others, can't remember.
The shades match closely to the other Neutrogena products. Pick a sample card if available. I use their Healthy Skin, the mineral powders as well and like both.
The new line offers a shine control primer, foundation and powder
The packaging for the bottle and powder are dupes for the Revlon Colorstay line. You could almost mistake it!
I purchased the foundation only - Buff 30.
I have mature but still oily skin, especially around my nose. Barely one hour after application, my nose was oily. It was not humid where I live or hot (live in Southern California by the water).
This did not provide a matte coverage.
It felt sticky to the touch upon application. I did use Vichy setting powder ( white stuff)
To me, it was more like a tinted moisturizer.
Pro: It does have SPF 20, broad sectrum and a rice protein complex.
I like bottles, having a pump is not big deal to me anyway-use a q-tip to pull foundation and put on back of hand to apply. Use just clean fingers or a sponge. I don't think it would apply well with a brush
At end of day I used a Ponds cleaning sheet to see if there was anything left, and there were traces of the product, so obviously stayed all day. But I could not tell I was wearing anything
I have applied a few more days to give it a good try but uh! it's just not there for me
I like to feel natural but "finished"; this does not mean pancaked (like some of the young gals at Mac-which is scary to me, sorry!) with my foundation. This did not give me that dressed, finished, pulled together look
I like a more matte and oil free finish and this did not give me that. If you like oil free and matte, stay with Colorstay or EL DW for that or even DW Light or as inexpensive as the Rimmel Match Perfection or CG True Blend ( all are matte and long lasting on me). If you have dry skin or winter weather the Revlon Colorstay for dry skin also works ( for me during my dryer days!)
If you like a TM feel and have nice skin, I think you will do well with this.
It does not cover marks, spots or other imperfections.
I hope someone else posts their experience with this product and see it differently
This is going back. If you have read my previews, I absolutely hate returning products because of higher costs eventually passed back to us, the consumer. But this is truly a waste of my meager $ these days, even with a coupon

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Liquid products