Neutrogena • Shine Control Makeup • Liquid

rated 2.5(92 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.30%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Tresor on 6/28/2012 9:52:00 PM more reviews by Tresor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have oily, sensitive, 40-something skin. I tend to use a bb cream first, then foundation, just a drop of each. Perhaps that's why it works fine on me, not others. This foundation was easy to blend, covered what it's supposed to, didn't look cakey or obvious and lasted all day without touchups. My only complaint is that my local stores don't carry my shade yet, an even number, so I have to blend 2 different odd numbered ones for a custom shade.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 designerleanne on 6/28/2012 11:23:00 AM more reviews by designerleanne

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I should have turned to makeupalley for reviews on this, rather than youtube. AWFUL. My main reason for trying this was because while I have oily/combination skin, my T-zone has been getting extra oily with the summer heat and I wanted a more matte foundation. I have minimal wrinkles and some visible pores on my nose and upper cheeks. These have always been easily concealed, even by tinted moisturizers. This foundation, however, settles into every pore, every line even the slightest crevice, is streaky and "dry" and does not cover any redness whatsoever. Looks like the equivalent of layers of heavy powder on my face. Returning today something I rarely do with drugstore makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* songy67 on 6/25/2012 10:05:00 PM more reviews by songy67

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This one is housed in a glass bottle and doesn't come with a pump. It provides medium buildable coverage that looks natural and doesn't cake up throughout the day. In terms of 'shine control' I would give it maybe a 6/10 at most. I really enjoy how natural this looks on my skin and how long-wearing it is, plus the fact that it has SPF 20 in it. Unfortunately, it breaks me out. BADLY. I'm talking cystic acne that I can't even cover up. I wish this had worked out for me, but it wreaked havoc on my skin. Not worth it.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Blueeyedbobbi21 on 6/25/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by Blueeyedbobbi21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

wow...why is this formula sooo gritty????

it just doesn't make sense. It really feels like they just added some sand into the mix. really weird :/

foundation should be pretty smooth right? lol Tested this foundation just on the back of my wrist..and the grit in in hurt my skin :(

def. not buying this. I really wanted to like this,but im not trying that gritty formulation on my face :O

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bananachan on 6/24/2012 10:47:00 PM more reviews by bananachan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I don't hate this foundation, but it did not accomplish what it says it will do. I did not experience the grainy texture or the extremely fast drying time like others have. It gives me a fair amount of coverage; however, as for controlling shine, it completely fails. If it was just another foundation, it would be fine, but it is specifically labelled as shine control foundation. Even with mattifying powder I did not see the kind of staying power I expected. I'll finish the bottle, but after that I will not be repurchasing.

Edit 9-7-12: Blech. Now that I am further into the bottle, it is starting to feel more grainy than it did. Will definitely not finish this bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whocalledforcrazy on 6/23/2012 7:26:00 AM more reviews by whocalledforcrazy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

If you have: super oily skin, want a lot of coverage or have deeper toned skin this foundation is not for you. The foundation appears thick in the bottle and has a slightly grainy texture but it spreads on the skin beautifully, evens out skin tone (I have mild post acne marks and redness from skin allergies) and I had no problem with transferring. It also dries on the skin with a texture similar to using an HD powder (super soft). I put a dot on each cheek, forehead and chin then blended with my fingers and set it with my HD powder.

Me: mid 20's, dry skin, mild skin problems, fair-medium tone, likes less is more make-up

Pros:
Good coverage, light texture, doesn't transfer, no make-up make up look, not greasy or totally matte-perfectly in between, does not oxidize, gentle

Cons:
Not for super oily skin or deeper skin tones, not a lot of shades-can be hard to match, hard to get out of bottle, grainy texture (that goes away as you spread it), doesn't do much to cover active break outs.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msog177 on 6/22/2012 5:57:00 PM more reviews by msog177

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm very surprised at the reviews for this foundation. I bought it yesterday, used it today (using my incredible BeautyBlender) and I love it. My skin feels light, the oils completely controlled. It's quite a buildable foundation, and the color (Classic Ivory) blended perfectly on my very pale skin. It's been on my face for over 8 hours and no oxidation whatsoever. Sounds like a winner to me. It's a tad expensive (I paid about $15 at Walgreens) and has no pump, but I do really like the product. I dusted some of my fragrance-free Coty powder, it set the foundation quite well, and I'm very happy with it. I love the fact that it has SPF 20. Very important.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lily91491 on 6/21/2012 5:01:00 PM more reviews by lily91491

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Am I the only one who doesn't think this foundation is terrible? Don't use to much product but it's a nice medium coverage foundation and I love the color match. I'm about an nc42 in Mac and I'm a fresh beige in neutrogena. The finish is semi matte I applied it with a flat top kabuki and I set it with mac blot powder no primer. It's really nice and held up fairly well (4 hours without touch ups on my very oily skin) without looking mask like

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Banjos on 6/21/2012 6:12:00 AM more reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Actually, I picked up a three-shade sample and tried the Classic Ivory and Buff shades on the back of my hand. There really was not enough product in the sample to cover my face. Speaking of...there was practically no coverage and it accented the imperfections. The texture was somewhat thick but it seemed to disappear quickly. A very odd makeup that I think few would like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Denise18 on 6/16/2012 6:15:00 PM more reviews by Denise18

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Huge fail! When, oh when, am I ever going to stop making these impulse drugstore buys! The new product displays at the Harmon inside BB&B get me every time! Anyway, I had seen this foundation in a display along with a mattifying pressed powder and shine control primer. There have been a number of new matte foundations out there lately (Clarins, Clinique), so when I saw this, I thought I'd give it a try.

Shade 40 Nude was a fabulous match for my NC20/25ish complexion, but the love ends right there. First off, it is impossible to pour this out of the bottle (there is no pump, think Revlon Colorstay). It's that thick. Secondly, the finish was far from matte on my combo/oily skin, and my T-zone was an oil slick within an hour. Life's too short to deal with a foundation that's impossible to pour out and leaves me looking like a greaseball.

This promptly went back to BB&B.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Liquid products