Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2190 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 vanessnelson on 11/16/2011 9:22:00 PM more reviews by vanessnelson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

this foundation is ok i kind od like it but even when i use a great fundation primer it tends to show my fine lines alot more than other foundations do :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gorgeoousgolden21 on 11/15/2011 2:36:00 PM more reviews by Gorgeoousgolden21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is famous for being amazing, now I can understand why! I had lost a little faith in MUFE products after purchasing the flash palette but now i remember why i love them. The only reason that this product doesn't get 5 stars from me is because every now and then it can look blotchy on my dry skin, even when it's well moisturized. I love that there are so many shades with so many different undertones. I would definitely recommend this to friends and clients.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JohanneKristensen on 11/15/2011 2:01:00 PM more reviews by JohanneKristensen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my first time buying an expensive foundation - and i think it's worth every penny. It's the best foundation I've ever tried, mostly because I'm used to maybelline and loreal. I would recommend it to my friends - it covers up but still look natural. My aunt actually told me how my skin looked like porcelain, when wearing this - i take that as a compliment!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AgentSometime on 11/15/2011 1:01:00 AM more reviews by AgentSometime

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is just bizarre. I don't know how it manages to both accentuate the teeniest dry areas on your face AND feel greasy and sticky all at the same time. I used a water based primer and a setting powder and it never felt like it set. I could feel it when I touched my face. Within the hour, my face was an oil slick and all of my pores were accentuated. It didn't even look all that nice to begin with. It made every little line on my forehead look worse and the coverage wasn't that great. It also settled into my laugh lines fairly easily. The application was frustrating, it didn't go on smoothly at all. I suppose it looked nice on camera, but then again, all my foundations make my skin look flawless with flash on. I've tried the Mat Velvet (which is, admittedly, VERY matte) and that one actually looks a lot nicer, but gets less hype. Glad I got a sample, because this is definitely not worth $40 to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Journey03 on 11/13/2011 11:49:00 PM more reviews by Journey03

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I repurchased this product after returning the same one in March of this year. I mainly returned it because the SA color matched me wrong and I ended up hating it because of it. So I trotted down to Sephora again to give it another go. This time I was smart and tried two samples before purchasing it. I tried the #120 and #123. The #120 was way too light and the #123 was spot on. It's just the teeniest too yellow, but once I put on setting powder, bronzer and blush it works. It's so hard to color match my skin and I find most products are either too pink too yellow or too beige and unnatural on me (for reference I am half Greek and half black). Once I tried this on for the full day and it did not cake, crepe, separate or settle into my fine lines- which made me go out and shell out the $40 and purchase the full size. I like how it made my skin dewey and not oily by the end of the day and it was comfortable to wear. The only complaint I have about this product is I don't like how it transfers so easily when you accidently touch your face or decide to try and put on a turtle neck sweater AFTER you put on your makeup (bad idea). Even by the end of they day, if you accidently touch your face you end up with makeup on your hands. I wish they had another product that will not transfer... other than that, i am happy with it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sippinonkrystyle on 11/12/2011 6:31:00 PM more reviews by Sippinonkrystyle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Good medium coverage and the finish is a nice Demi-matte look. I love the way it looks in photos and in person cause it really looks like u have nothing on. I have to make sure I prime and set this or it won't last past 3 hours on my combo-oily skin. Good color range but it is expensive. The pump on the packaging is good but I hate how you can't tell when how much is left in it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 violettecyrille on 11/12/2011 6:09:00 PM more reviews by violettecyrille

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have a light complexion with olive undertones. I would call myself neutral as far as skin tone goes and 120 suits me well. This product comes in a large range of colors, so most people should be able to find a match.

Application: I gave this product a 1 month test run. It goes on smoothly and evenly. It's easy to work with and blend. The pump bottle is a big bonus. Upon application it gives my skin a very nice, even tone. I would call the immediate finish a satin/matte. I set it with powder and it looks very nice. It has good coverage without looking fake.

Wear: This is where I was completely dissatisfied. After about 2 hours, I looked really shiny. Granted, I have oily skin, but most other foundations don't start looking shiny on me until about 4 hours after application. It didn't even look like a "good" shiny (i.e., dewy), but absolutely greasy. It also started to migrate and slip on my face. I always set with powder and blot as needed, but this didn't help at all. I normally blot every 3-4 hours, but I could lift oil off my face every 30 minutes to an hour with this particular foundation. Gross.

Price: Extremely expensive for what it does for me. I would not purchase again, but this may be a great product for those with drier skin and smaller pores.

Edit: I decided to give this another try and realized this isn't going to work for me. This turns me into a grease ball even though I've been on a high dose of spironolactone for several months to control sebum and acne. Due to the meds, I would consider my skin "normal/dry" on typical days, but wearing this foundation makes me slicker than Crisco.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crimsonangel on 11/12/2011 4:44:00 PM more reviews by crimsonangel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

OMG! I know this is known to be a very good foundation, but I didn't know it would be THIS good! There are a couple of bad aspects of this foundation, such as the price. In Sephora in the US, it retails for about $40. I know compared to some higher-end brand foundations it's on the cheaper side, but you still have to pay $40. Also, this foundation doesn't really build up to full coverage without getting cakey so if you have severe acne/blemishes, you will need concealer.

Actually other than those few things, this foundation is pretty amazing, partially because it's medium-light coverage. I have combo/oily skin and sometimes finding a foundation that isn't too oily or too matte for me can be a bit challenging. So I end up getting matte foundations for the most part, since I do get oily throughout the day. This foundation is great because it's matte, with a tiny bit of dewiness in it and I can powder my face to reduce the shine if need to. The Make Up For Ever foundation also has a great range of shades, so it's not very difficult to find the shade you need, which in my case I was able to get my perfect shade 128. The best part of this foundation is that it is very very long lasting. I tend to be out of the house for 12 hours and I can see the foundation on my makeup wipe, which I think is pretty amazing! And you only need about a pump and a half!

Overall, I think this is a great foundation. Although if you seek full coverage, you might want to try a different foundation. I sometimes this foundation is best for those who have semi-clear skin already because putting too many layers of this foundation can look cakey. Even though this foundation is pricey, I will buy this again because I just love the finish and the wear time on this!

Sorry this was such a long review! I just love the foundation THAT much. Hopefully this was helpful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sonalikay on 11/12/2011 2:05:00 PM more reviews by sonalikay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

My Sephora girl helped me pick this out. I really like the color selection. It's typically hard to find the exact shade for my darker skin but Make Up For Ever really has a good selection for just about anyone. Now, not going to lie, this is quite a pricy bottle. For about $42 you're getting a foundation with a pump that holds about 1 oz of product.

Soo, about the product. This is great for those with oily/combination skin. It leaves a semi-matte finish while still looking fresh and healthy. The foundation was originally created for photoshoot environments so that pictures would look flawless. Needless to say, it definitely gives me a great look to my skin. I think it's called the "soft focus HD". Since I've been wearing this, I've received many compliments about my skin. I think this is pretty comparable to the drugstore Revlon Colorstay foundation. That's about $10, much cheaper than the MF foundation. Butttt, I really like the soft focus effect this foundation gives me. This is something I haven't seen a drugstore foundation accomplish.

Overall, I think this is a pretty great investment. For a hefty price, you've got great skin. Because it's so expensive, I've started using this product only for special occasions or occasions where I know I'll be taking lots of pictures. I'd recommend a similar cheaper foundation for everyday wear though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Verondear on 11/12/2011 10:04:00 AM more reviews by Verondear

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

This product was recommended to me by my local Sephora sa. I love it that this line of product offers a wide range of shade color and finally found a shade that blends in nicely when applied onto my skin and I love it that it comes with a pump for easier measurement. I use Too Faced Poreless Primer and philosophy moisturizer underneath the foundation. It make my skin glowing when taking pictures, but I feel that this foundation doesn't last long on my oily skin. I top this off with MUFE Matte Foundation Powder because MAC Prep and Prime powder isn't helping. I read that this foundation is build-able to achieve full coverage but with the high price, I expect something more lasting than just a few hours after application. I'm not a big fan of the dewy look and prefer something more matte than this. I haven't given up on MUFE products yet, will try the Mat Velvet instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products