Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation [DISCONTINUED]

3.6

2291 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 2/11/2012 4:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was excited to try this foundation after all the rave reviews but sadly I am not impressed. It doesn't have a smooth coverage; especially by the end of the day. In flash pictures it really washed me out. I am going to stick with MAC pro longwear.



on 2/10/2012 7:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just started using this foundation about 2 weeks ago and I love it! Before I used Bare Minerals powder, but the coverage wasn't that great, so I decided to give liquid foundation a try. This HD foundation looks great on my skin and lasts a long time. My skin is normal/a little dry, I wouldn't recommend this for people with oily skin, you guys should probably try the mat velvet instead. Yes, $40 is quite pricey, but worth it for me!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a pretty pricey foundation but I decided to get it. I have been using it for over a month and I have not noticed any differences in my skin, witch is good. I would say the coverage is medium but very buildable. This does not feel to heavy or cakey on my skin unless I put on a ton of layers. One thing I hate about this foundation is the staying power. I will but it on around 6 AM and by 11 AM it will be gone not matter what primer and powder I use with it. It does not look and different in photos than other foundations so if that is what you want to get it for I would recommend the Revlon Photo Ready foundation. I like the packaging because it is very sleek and it has a pump. I would recommend this foundation if you do not want a full coverage long wearing foundation but if you do skip it! I will not be repurchasing. Thanks for reading and I hope this helps!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2012 3:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation is definitely not a good winter foundation for me. It tends to stick to dry patches, even after using a good moisturizer. This is less of a problem during the summer, when my skin tends to be more oily. I also hate the fact that the lightest colour is not available in my country, as that one is my best colour match. I tend to prefer a lighter coverage that can be build to a medium. This foundation on me is more a medium to full coverage foundation and I find it hard to sheer out. It also feels heavy on my face (probably due to the fact that I'm used to lighter foundations). I think this is a great foundation for people with normal/combination and perhaps even oily skin who prefermedium to full coverage. However, I am not one of those people and therefore would not repurchase this foundation.


on 2/10/2012 3:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I purchased this foundation as I heard it was one of Kim Kardashians favourite foundations and I admire her flawless make up look, although I found it hard trying to track this foundation down at first but when I did I was hesitant as it seemed quite expensive but looked good so I thought I would just go for it as it would be worth it.

Another problem I had was trying to determine my shade over the internet but I eventually choose Golden Beige which turned out too dark for my everyday make up and instead I used it for going clubbing and when I had faked tanned. I was glad I choose a shade I could use along with my fake tan as I had got it for it's HD quality and especially for events in which photos would be taken. I personally didn't think it was that special though and it made my skin feel very oily when applying it. However, this did make it easier to blend.

I didn't hate the product but I personally thought it could be a lot better and I had really high expectations and the foundation just didn't match what I was hoping the foundation would do. I have tried cheaper foundations in which have been a lot better suited to my skin. I doubt I will be purchasing the foundation again.


on 2/8/2012 10:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this foundation for about three months now and I am confident that I will not be switching to anything else soon. For reference, I'm NC 30 and use 127 Dark Sand and I apply this with a dense, flat-top brush. The finish is flawless and dewy on my combination skin. I use finishing powder if I want a more matte look. It does not break me out! Even though it is a full-coverage foundation, it's very natural looking and lasts all day. I know this is gross but to prove my point I kept it on while at the gym. Sweat was dripping down my face and after I was all done and dried off, the foundation did not smear off at all!!! I still looked fresh-faced. Please try this foundation. Ask for a sample if you're not convinced. Everybody must try it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2012 10:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've had this foundation for about 6 months in the shade 120. It's generally a pretty good foundation. My skin is not oily but my driest areas are my cheeks and sides of my lip. I find this foundation covers pretty well, but doesn't completely cover the slight darkspots i have from acne scaring. I use about 1.5 pumps and apply with a normal (paddle shaped) foundation brush and get a satin finish, not matte but not overly dewy, so dewy-ish I guess? Packaging I find is really chunky looking so I don't like that but I like that it has a pump applicator. Doesn't make skin break out my I find I have to use a heavy moisturizer in order to avoid my skin from feeling dehydrated around my dry spots.


on 2/7/2012 10:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I initially was skeptical about this product. My skin is very sensitive and has only shown to do well with one foundation- Almay's TLC. I tried this with the help of a helpful Sephora girl. The liquid is light, creamy and smooth, and goes on easily. The coverage is medium-to heavy. It goes well with the concealer and Microfinish powder. I definitely would recommend using the primer, concealer, foundation, and microfinish powder for the best effect. It creates a flawless finish.

This foundation never makes me break out, but could be a little oily for oilier skins. The packaging is amazing, but the product itself is definitely pricey. You're looking at over $100 for the set. To me, good make-up is well worth the money.


on 2/7/2012 2:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I wear this foundation for daily use.
I know it says full coverage/hd but it is far too moisturizing for my oily/combination skin to wear out at night/anywhere I might sweat-- since it will just melt off my face. I like how natural this foundation looks, I don't think it covers as well as my other full-coverage foundations, and I don't think it lasts anywhere near as long as my mac foundation. I use this because it is extremely fast and easy to apply and blend in, feels extremely light on my face, and gives me just enough coverage to go out and do the things I need to do. I have not tested this foundation for photo quality, but I didn't buy it for that. For those with dryer skin types, I think this would work amazingly well. As for those who have oilier skin like I do, Its just an ok foundation. I do want to note though-- I absolutely love the packaging.
I would compare this to Vincent Longo's dew finish liquid foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2012 12:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Fornall the people that gave this a low review, they have no clue on what they are talking about. They mentioned cakey?!?! It's far from it! This foundation happens to be the best I've tried so far. At first I didn't like it much, I thinking what is the hype all about but as I started to wear on a day by day basis, I fell in love. It's so natural looking, its like you have nothing on and if you want more medium coverage just add another layer to your face. It also hydrates and makes your skin feel beautiful. If you haven't tried it , in say go and purchase this, its well worth the money.


Back to Top