Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2150 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Mmerzy on 10/22/2011 12:29:00 AM more reviews by Mmerzy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I actually hated this product. It didn't look natural on my skin at all. The woman at sephora told me in the store that I just needed to moisturizer before I wore it and my face would look flawless..... Well I did that. I really wanted to like this product but it looked Cakey and not smooth at all! I have clear, smooth skin and I dont need that much help so I was surprised that this did more damage than help. No thank you. It's put me off make up for ever, forever.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lessandes on 10/21/2011 5:36:00 PM more reviews by Lessandes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

On my constant hunt for the perfect foundation (for pale, dry and sensitive sin) I came across the HD foundation by MUFE. Before I had their Matt+ foundation which was okay, but made for oily skin, so I always had to mix it with some cream so that I could distribute it evenly on my super dry face.
When I found out about the HD range...I wanted to give it a try. I read lots of rave-reviews about it, went excited to the store and....got disappointed: None of the colors were matching my skin, plus they seemed to be very disorganized.
Anyways, the MUA their gave me the "lightest" color (which wasn't the lowest number....) but it looked far too dark and too pink. But since I really wanted to give this foundation a try....I bought it. If it wouldn't be for me, I still could use it on my clients.
At home I did a little more research on the strange color selection they have and read, that the foundations were made mainly for arabic women with different skin tones (dunno if this is true...).
Still I wanted to give it a try.
It comes with a pump and it is very very thin. I applied it to my face with the 187 and it truely was the wrong shade buuut....after blending it out it kinda adjusted to my skin tone and it really became my skin. Although it was so thin and watery, coverage was surprisingly high without caking or creasing.
Yesterday I finished the bottle of it: Very long lasting; little bit goes a looong way, adjusting to my skin tone, really looks like skin not make-up.
Still I want to try other foundations before purchasing this again, reasons for that:
- the color selection: although it was adjusting to my skin tone, I'm not sure if it would when I had to apply more of it
- price
- packaging: When I finished 2/3 of it, the pump "broke"...I don't know what went wrong, I didn't dropped it or anything but one day when I opened my make-up case....foundation was everywhere except in the bottle

For now I'm using MAC Studio Sculpt again since I really really like the smoothing effect it has on my skin - something I really missed with the HD one.
But I think I'd buy it again next summer when I'm in need for a foundation that stays on during sweaty hotworking days without becoming a mask or rubbing off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 beckelm on 10/21/2011 4:12:00 PM more reviews by beckelm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I got a very large sample of this at Sephora and really loved it the first day or two. it blended well, gave a polished look, and didn't feel too heavy.
However, i noticed a few large, under-the-skin-demon-pimples over the course of the week i tried it, which have cleared up since switching to another foundation. overall i think this is a solid foundation choice but i don't think it is a quality skin-care product and tended to create and intensify skin issues. I ended up buying Tarte's ReCreate foundation which i love and find is actually improving my skin quality. MUFE, while being a solid foundation seemed to be putting me in a vicious cycle of creating skin issues, covering them, then creating more.
i wouldn't recommend this for someone with generally good skin looking for a daily foundation for a polished look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jaylyn85 on 10/20/2011 9:04:00 AM more reviews by jaylyn85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this foundation, It gives me a really polished look without looking like I have any make up on. I'm not sure that I would call it full coverage though. I have fairly clear skin so all I really need is for a foundation to even out my skin tone which this does do, but If you had many pimples or imperfections I'm not sure how well this would cover them, you would definitely need concealer . The foundation is fairly watery which I like because I find that these sort of foundations look more natural, I feel like the purpose of foundation is to make your skin look perfect not to look like you have paint all over your face. So if you like your foundation thick then this probably isn't for you. The color range is fantastic and matches my skin nicely. Overall I like this and would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Candace8592 on 10/16/2011 9:19:00 PM more reviews by Candace8592

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I gave thsi a 4 for two reasons. One is that despite the amazing color selection even the lightest shade is a tad too dark for me and I have to mix this with another lighter foundation from a different brand. Also the price, it's expensive. if you can get around that though it's the best foundation I have ever used. It makes acne scarring basically disspear and really looks flawlesss on lasting all day. I would reccomend it to others but I will only repurchase it in the summer since I will be dark enough to use it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kedb27 on 10/16/2011 12:10:00 AM more reviews by Kedb27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Perfect for summer!! It is a light foundation, specifically designed for HD cameras and film, so don't expect thick and heavy coverage foundation (such as Mac). I love this because it literally just feels like your wearing nothing. In summer, i plan to use only one layer. For now I'm using one layer, but to build a little more colour and coverage I apply a 2nd layer on the centre of my forehead, nose, chin and under eye area. It is impossible to use too much because it is very light. Better coverage and staying power than a tinted moisturizer and light enough to look like you don't have foundation on :) just great skin... perfect!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bridget12xo on 10/14/2011 1:44:00 AM more reviews by bridget12xo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My favorite foundation thus far! I am a tinted moisturizer lover, but I needed something with more coverage for special occasions and to cover acne scars in photographs, etc. This foundation is amazing for people who don't want the caked-with-foundation look. It leaves skin smooth and glowy, not too matte or cakey. It has good coverage and is buildable. I usually put just one thin layer all over my face and another thin layer over zits and acne scars, and I don't even need concealer! The color I have runs a tad too yellow for me and the colors were kind of difficult to decide between with the lighting in my Sephora, but I did notice that had a good selection of shades.
Pros:
-not cakey
-leaves skin smooth and glowing
-good range of shades
-photographs well
-natural looking
Cons
-expensive ($40+)
-runs yellow

Give this a try if you want a natural but better look!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PrButtrcup on 10/14/2011 1:31:00 AM more reviews by PrButtrcup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation. I have dry skin and it does not emphasize dryness or settle into little lines. I also have freckles and melasma (from pregnancies) and it evens out my skin without looking heavy. I use a foundation brush to apply and it blends perfectly.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Mrs15Heb on 10/12/2011 6:35:00 PM more reviews by Mrs15Heb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
1. Feels like velvet on your HAND.
2. Somewhat easy to find a color match if you get matched at Sephora.

Cons:
1. $40 US
2. Sits in fine lines and wrinkles even with an anti-aging (RoC), anti-wrinkle (FusionBeauty), or anti-pore (2Faced Primed and Poreless) primer
3. NEVER SETS ON THE SKIN - STAYS WET ALL DAY even on me with dry skin... From when I applied in the morning to when I removed at night, after having set with HD microfinishing powder ($30 US and I do love that product).. it was wet.. I wiped my finger across my forehead b/c it was glistening... and foundation just came right off... So disgusting.
4. You will look like grease all day and it is not flattering.... although the perfect parts of my face looked nice like my cheeks, my forehead has small wrinkles/cracks in it and i'm not that old.. the foundation sunk right in no matter how I applied, with my fingers, foundation brush, stippling brush....
5. Slides off zits during application...doesn't cover.. and I did shake the bottle.. i didn't use too much at first and then tried to builld and the interaction b/w the foundation and MUFE's 5 pan concealer palette was a greasy mess... Turns out the concealer worked fine w/o the foundation ne where near it.

GOOD LUCK WITH THIS GIRLS but if I were you I'd go get some Revlon Colorstay and see how that compares to ne other foundations you've tried. SPF only 6.. doesn't interfere with pictures.. in fact, when I wear that I get the most compliments about my skin and don't need concealer, it looks the most natural when gently swirled on with a stippling brush.. I'm returning the MUFE HD, wearing my Revlon in the meantime, and exchanging for Tarte Amazonian Clay Full Coverage SPF 15.. much better ratings, wider variety of people like it and that one sounds more believable to me than the hype with the HD!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joygasmxd on 10/11/2011 1:54:00 AM more reviews by joygasmxd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My HG. I'm used to using MAC foundations which tend to be very thick and dry really chalky, but this happens to be very light weight. My absolute favorite foundation by far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products