Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2190 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 CiaraAinsley on 12/4/2011 1:48:00 PM more reviews by CiaraAinsley

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is so great. 117 fits me perfectly! The SA tried to match me to 118, but that was a bit too dark for my cheek/jawline, IMO. Great color selection- it's hard to find a fair olivey shade. It makes my skin look beautiful, but don't try to use this as a concealer- it's medium coverage and I feel like a lot of the frustration people have about this foundation is from trying to use this as a concealer. This legit improved the quality of my skin too, as far as dryness goes. I have flaky patches where my eyebrows start, which is tricky to cover w/o being caky&weird, but that's not mufe's fault. Try a sample of this! It doesn't work for evveryone, but it worked so well for me that strangers & friends alike come up to me and tell me I look good...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eurasianbeauty on 12/2/2011 5:53:00 AM more reviews by eurasianbeauty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great foundation! I use shade 153 since I have medium yellow-olive toned skin and I must say that this really is the best shade match I have ever found in a foundation! It truly has those undertones that I have yet to find in other foundations. I use it mainly in the evenings, for going out or special occasions since it has a little more coverage than I usually need. I like that it does not have SPF since I use it when I take pictures and it photographs really well! It is smooth, I apply it with my Sigma flat top kabuki brush and it gives me a flawless finish. Skin is velvety smooth and not entirely matte which I like. Staying power wise I think it is quite good as well. I dont wear this foundation for a whole day which I already stated above so I cannot comment on all day wear. But for the evenings it holds up very well and looks good, never creases or flakes during the whole time. I have combination skin for reference. I use a silicone primer underneath but it also works without primer. Great foundation, which Im willing to pay the high price for! I wish they made a foundation in the same shade for the day-wear (with Spf and longer-wearing but with the same smooth texture)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 karenmusic on 12/2/2011 1:13:00 AM more reviews by karenmusic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a 127 in this foundation. I really like that it's not too yellow or too pink, it's right in the middle. It isn't too thick or tacky, it dries nicely and looks natural when I apply it with my beauty blender. Right now it's my HG foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Merlinn on 12/1/2011 2:05:00 PM more reviews by Merlinn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've tried this product twice. Once when it first came out and I recently repurchased.

Doesn't suit oily skin, or at least my oily skin. I'm not sure what in the world is in this stuff but it gave me an allergic reaction. I try to take good care of my skin and this was the only thing that was new. Everyone raves about it which is awesome for all of you, but didn't work for me.

Didn't have a good staying power either. I hear it's great for photos - but Chanel is specifically made for photos so ...? Don't quite understand the point of this foundation. It's not meant for work and if I'm going to buy a foundation just for photos this would not be it. Probably ideal for college ladies.

I was told my face wouldn't be oily. That didn't turn out to be true. I could tell before I left for work the first use I wasn't going to be happy. Already had too much of a dewy look. That look plus oil skin equals a nightmare later in the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Plagueofhamsters on 11/30/2011 9:25:00 PM more reviews by Plagueofhamsters

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

A silicone-based foundation that has been hyped to an extreme. Silicone foundations are known for creating a "second skin" effect, hence this one calling itself high-definition. However, like a silicone primer, it's a terrible product for oily, combination, sensitive, and dry skin. For oily/combination/acne-prone skin, this foundation will keep all your wonderful oil underneath the silicone layer, trapping it in the pores, clogging them. For dry skin, it will cling to every dry patch on your face, finding ones you never knew you had (in fact, I found this to be true even with my very oily skin). Do yourself a favor and don't fall into the hype of this foundation unless you have normal, fairly clear foundation. It doesn't provide more than light-medium coverage, so, if you have sunspots, post-acne hyperpigmentation, or other higher pigment issues, pass on this.

36 out of 51 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 thegreatexaggerator on 11/30/2011 9:17:00 PM more reviews by thegreatexaggerator

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Once again I fell for the hype. I don't have a sephora very close to me. But, today I had an appointment near one. So, I thought I would swing in for a test drive of the Make Up Forever HD Foundation. The lady put it on and it looked really good at first. Then, I walked around the mall for a bit and realized that it was sinking into my pores and filling in the lines. It emphasized every dry spot on my face (and I'm actually pretty oily). Honestly, it doesn't "just look like a second skin" as some gurus claim. It is pretty thick and masky looking- even when a little is applied. I took it back when I realized this. I should have known to stick with what works best for me- Lancome Teinte Idole Fresh Wear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EvilyKyoko on 11/29/2011 11:59:00 PM more reviews by EvilyKyoko

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this SO MUCH. I tried it on in the store and it looked gorgeous, just the right amount of coverage, so I splurged 40 dollars on a foundation for the first time in my life. And It broke me out. I have NEVER broken out from a foundation before, but something in this really irritated my skin, and each of the 2 times I used it I would get a huge zit. (PS, this has never happened to me with the umpteen drugstore foundations I've tried, but whatever.) I threw the box away so I can't return it =( maybe someday when I can swap I'll try swapping this. Such a disappointment because I loved the finish this left, and I miss my money. Will not repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bblopez64 on 11/29/2011 9:19:00 PM more reviews by bblopez64

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I Love the way the MUFE HD foundation feels on my skin! Is very light and does not cake on. I bought it in shade #128 and it fits my skin color perfectly. I like to use it with the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer because it makes the application extra smooth. However when I don't use a primer with this MUFE HD I find myself using more product because of my dry skin. I would love this product even more if it were less expensive but I'm willing to sacrifice some extra change for now :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mzlovely on 11/28/2011 10:17:00 AM more reviews by mzlovely

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

60% of people must have normal skin (no oilyness, and no acne scars or pimples) because I found the coverage for this to be as good as a tinted moisturizer (light coverage no matter how much I built or caked on) and staying power again, as good as a tinted moisturizer which for me is no longer than 2 hrs tops without looking cakey on the face. Definitely not worth no 40$ when I can find what it does in 7$ tinted drugstore moisturizer.
This is NOT a good idea for oily skin gals and it seemed to aggravate my exsisting pimples.. Bad. A sephora lady gave me samples of this foundation, cause I really want to find a foundation that can stay on my now oily skin face but however this was a wreck along with the Nars Sheer Glow. I think I'm pretty much done with Sephora foundations and going to try MAC foundations. Hopefully they're staying power is better and from what i heard less expensive.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* diamondtiara on 11/28/2011 3:15:00 AM more reviews by diamondtiara

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

OMG, this is awful. No, seriously, this is BAD. I don't know if I just got a bad color, or the formula disagrees with me or what, but this foundation is rotten.


For reference: I'm NW20 with mild rosacea, therefore I have pink undertones and fair, sensitive skin. I've pretty much found my HG foundation in Diorskin Nude. I wore a very light layer out to the mall today, and wound up rubbing my face a bunch after I started having a sneezing fit. Then, I went into Sephora and had an SA do some eye makeup on me. As she worked on my face with some makeup remover, she wound up removing my Diorskin Nude between my eyes and on my cheeks and offered to give me a touch-up. I told her what I wore on my skin, including the color (Cameo 022) and she left for a minute. When she returned, she had a bottle of MUFE HD in 115. "Are you cool with MUFE? I love putting this one on people!" I didn't have any objections, so I let her put a layer on with Sephora's Airbrush all over my cheeks and nose.


When I looked in the mirror, all I could think of was, "YELLOW." Then I came home and looked at my skin in my bathroom mirror, under brighter lights. Holy crap. I agree with other reviewers who called it "bizarre" "cakey" and "drying". Every single bit of dryness and bumpiness and every freaking line and pore in my young-looking skin was accentuated. Not only was I yellow, I was also aged another 5 years - I'm not exaggerating, I looked like I needed to take a bath in anti-aging moisturizer. I could see where the Diorskin was still on my chin and forehead, and those parts of my face looked flesh-colored, hydrated, and glowy. It was an amazing contrast in quality, and a great lesson in the importance of finding the proper shade. But even if MUFE HD was the exact color of my natural-born skin, I still wouldn't wear it even if you gave it to me for free; the formula seems like it would be a nightmare for dry-skinned girls. I'm pretty good at moisturizing, but I can tell that in the dead of winter, this foundation would make me look like my skin was flaking off.


All I can say is: Thank God for Sephora, where you can try new things for free. But, wow, are the SAs urged to push MUFE products on people? This is the third item by MUFE that an SA has kind of forced me to try, and I remain unimpressed. I find that kind of sad, because I really want to like this brand! Nevertheless, I'd be willing to bet that there are drugstore foundations out there that perform better than HD for a third of the cost. If you have skin anything like mine, I really suggest skipping this one. Mine was applied with a high quality brush by a professional MUA (she told me she used to work at MAC prior to working at Sephora) and the foundation was still a bad match for me in every way.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products