Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2177 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 yaisan3 on 11/20/2011 7:15:00 PM more reviews by yaisan3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Things you SHOULD know:

1. Medium Coverage (feels light on your face)
2. Dewy (NOT Oily, but more of a glow)
3. Lasts more than 8 hours (Provided you add a translucent powder)

Cons:

1. Price (roughly forty dollars).
2. Can wear off easily (if you touch your face frequently).
3. Intended for light use. Too much of it can produce a cakey look.

My skin:

-Oily t-zone and dry patches around cheeks
-Redness near t-zone
-Several red acne scars
-Little to no acne (a few small zits once in a while)
-A bit of discoloration (face is noticeably whiter than neck/body)

With that being said, I purchased this product after having used Bare Escentuals for over 4 years. I'm NOT a fan of cakey, over the top make-up. I'm 23 (not 30-35) and I prefer a natural (effortless yet flawless) foundation with little blush, some eyeliner, and some mascara. I was looking for a foundation that looked as effortless as powder but provided an even looking skin with a good amount of coverage for my redness and scars. I should note that I bought this accidentally. I meant to buy Matte Velvet + (because it had amazing reviews online) but for some reason picked this one up instead. My luck! The irony is that I thought this foundation would make me look oily, given that it's liquid but my husband and friends have noted that it actually looks less oily than when I used powder foundation. I was also afraid that it would break me out (most drug store products and MAC make up give me acne) but it didn't. Contrary to what others have said, this foundation provides MEDIUM (not light) coverage (I wouldn't recommend it for someone who has heavy acne), and lasts a while! Keep in mind I don't EVER touch my face for fear of acne. I only put two coats on. One overall coat and another to cover certain spots. I find that applying it with my fingertips or a sponge is easiest. I keep a transluscent powder with me which I use to touch up here and there but the make up itself has in various instances lasted over 12 hours! I would recommend it for anyone who has combination skin, little zits, discoloration, redness and wants a natural effortless everyday look.
I LOVE IT! I will continue to use it. The only reason I gave it a 4 out of 5 is that I acknowledge that it will not work on everyone and it's bordering on the pricey side.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JenniBee on 11/20/2011 3:12:00 PM more reviews by JenniBee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I splurged on this one, but I have trouble skin so need to get really quality foundations, this is fantastic! I would recommend this especially for dry/sensitive skin like me. I CAN see this being a problem for oily skin, since it isn't doesn't really matte on your face.
I am so excited that this brings some life and moisture back into my face, and the coverage is flawless. Only have to use very little of it too, even with problem skin, so looking forward to it lasting a long time.
I was out on the town and someone told me I was 'gorgeous' and I know it was just the foundation : )

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 miss_lolo on 11/20/2011 5:32:00 AM more reviews by miss_lolo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Amazing choice of colours - I think this is the first foundation I have bought that is a perfect fit. Goes on really easily after moisturiser and gives a medium finish which I love and looks really natural.

It looks great when it goes on but I find it doesn't make it through the day. By mid afternoon my face looks dry and dull. Such a shame as everything else about this foundation is perfect.

I'd use it if I was heading out for dinner but I wouldn't rely on it all day..

For the price I'd like this to make it through the afternoon!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ney on 11/18/2011 9:48:00 PM more reviews by Ney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So I've heard a lot of good things about this foundation prior to me purchasing it. The main purpose that I actually bought this product for was for a wedding that I had to attend and I thought this would be a great way to test this product. It's a great product my pictures came out perfect and my face didn't look whiter than the rest of my body! I actually used it with the HD primer and it stayed on my face which was great! The only reason that I rated this product 3 is because I have fairly dry skin and whenever I put this product (even when I have moisturized my face) on it tends to look caked and kind of dries up my face. The coverage is also on the heavy side for me. I don't think I will ever replace my MAC Mineral Foundation for this one...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MaulydaDian on 11/18/2011 7:52:00 PM more reviews by MaulydaDian

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

all i can say is just EXCELLENT this is my first HG foundation,covering my acne scar,did lasts for a day without shine,and smells so good,its just PERFECT!!!!will definitely obviously buy it again!!!and mac fix+ spray will make it more glowy and flawless!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Evesbeauty on 11/18/2011 7:21:00 PM more reviews by Evesbeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, this is my last round with foundations; have I said that before? Yes, but this time I think I've seen it all! I had been longing to try MUFE's High Definition Foundation for the past year, but I couldn't seem to pull myself away from MAC until my skin went haywire after stopping my birth control! I began to use a bit more coverage with my NC45 studio fix fluid combined with the Mineralize Skinfinish in Dark, and my favorite makeup artist stated that he "missed my skin" in those exact words. So, I decided to try MUFE's HD for the first time. 175 - struck out; too red! But 173, Amber - absolutely perfect tone for my dark olive skin tone. EUREKA, I'd found my HG foundation.....Yip, yip!!!!!

But lo and behold, after applying only 2 pumps beautifully and setting with the MUFE's much celebrated Microfinish Powder, my face looking absolutely dreamy (and natural), only 3-4 hours later, it began to slide off. Now, I do have combo-oily skin, but MAC's prep + prime powder has always worked beautifully to hold the shine at bay. As a matter of fact, I've worn NC45 naked and didn't have as much shine as I received in less than 5 hours with MUFE's HD foundation combined with the microfinish setting powder (pure silica). I couldn't believe it; I had also used MAC's oil-free lotion for extra assurance!

Yes, MUFE does match skin tones beautifully, especially when it comes to women of color, but if you have that extra bit of shine (which apparently I do), do not go this route! I even applied an extra setting powder to try for an extra strength solution to dryness, but no luck. The shine came boldly through.....Hello!

So, I've returned to NC45 Studio Fix Fluid, but I set it with Studio Careblend/Pressed Powder in Dark (instead of the mineralize skinfinish), and I highlight my cheek bones with Tarte's Hotel Heiress (instead of blush) for a beautiful finish and to warm the dual neutrality of NC45 and the powder. The good thing, no more shine! Not completely natural, but it looks good! (And I can see my skin.) Note: The Careblend covers well without looking too heavy.

Skin changes, so make sure your makeup compliments these changes along the way. What worked in the past, may not work in the future, and so on....until next time, stay beautiful!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 desireepeach on 11/18/2011 3:31:00 AM more reviews by desireepeach

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I LOVE THIS!!! Ive tried SO MANY foundations before and I keep going back to this one! Its worth the $45 or so. A little goes a long way. THE BEST!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vanessnelson on 11/16/2011 9:22:00 PM more reviews by vanessnelson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

this foundation is ok i kind od like it but even when i use a great fundation primer it tends to show my fine lines alot more than other foundations do :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gorgeoousgolden21 on 11/15/2011 2:36:00 PM more reviews by Gorgeoousgolden21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is famous for being amazing, now I can understand why! I had lost a little faith in MUFE products after purchasing the flash palette but now i remember why i love them. The only reason that this product doesn't get 5 stars from me is because every now and then it can look blotchy on my dry skin, even when it's well moisturized. I love that there are so many shades with so many different undertones. I would definitely recommend this to friends and clients.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JohanneKristensen on 11/15/2011 2:01:00 PM more reviews by JohanneKristensen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my first time buying an expensive foundation - and i think it's worth every penny. It's the best foundation I've ever tried, mostly because I'm used to maybelline and loreal. I would recommend it to my friends - it covers up but still look natural. My aunt actually told me how my skin looked like porcelain, when wearing this - i take that as a compliment!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products