Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation [DISCONTINUED]

3.6

2294 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 3/3/2012 8:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really like this foundation. I have combination oily skin and this doesn't slide off my face halfway through the day. I get lots of compliments on my skin when I wear it. It's a bit pricey, but totally worth it!! :)



on 3/3/2012 3:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

I'm honesty not sure about this foundation. There's just sooo much hype about it and my sister, who also owns this, recommended this to me.
So I thought "Why not?" I bought the foundation and tried it for a week. Now, my skin is pretty oily, but in the winter, it's sadly both dry and oily. Applying this foundation was a bit frustrating. I already applied this very smooth moisturizer, applied primer, then when I applied MUFE HD, all these flakes showed up! I was soo annoyed. I even tried to work WITH the foundation by exfoliating and applied more moisturizer at night, but the flakes still showed up when I used this!
Now, I'm going to return this and hunt for a foundation that doesn't flake up.
FYI, the oils on my skin showed up, despite the fact that it dried up my skin at application ARRGH


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation came highly recommended and after using it for a few months I agree that it's a great product, although it has its flaws.
Pros: It's light coverage, so it won't cover pimples or broken blood vessels, but it goes on nicely over concealers and under-eye creams, and can be built up. I find that wearing a primer and using a brush (I use Sephora Airbrush 55) really helps to make the product go farther. I felt that a lot of it got lost to my fingers when I put it on without a brush. The coverage is better than the powder foundations I've used, while it doesn't cause breakouts as much as thicker drugstore liquid foundations. It really transforms my uneven skin!
Cons: The staying power could be better, it definitely disappears over the course of the day, especially if you're prone to touching your face. It brings flaky skin into prominence, when my skin was first getting used to Retinol I'd put it on in the morning and look in the mirror at work to find my face molting off- the HD foundation was clumping to the flakes... not a good look.
Overall I'm very pleased with the product, at $40 it's not cheap, but it's far above drugstore quality. I haven't tried many of MUFE's competitors' products, but I'd rather repurchase this than play around. I advise first timers to try a few different shades (the selection is great!) before choosing as it will look different in natural light.


on 3/2/2012 12:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Been using the HD foundation #115 and the redness reducing primer for a couple of months and I really like them both. The foundation goes on smooth, I usually just use my fingers (if I use a foundation brush it can look streaky), and it has an almost matte finish but in a flattering way that covers pores. This foundation feels good on my skin almost powdery and has never broken me out. It def needs powder to set and I don't feel like it really lasts a full 8hr day. That's my only complaint. I would buy again, but for the $40+ price I am going to try out MAC studio finish before I come right back to this one.


on 3/1/2012 5:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I feel like I have been using this long enough to write a decent review now. I have normal to dry, acne prone, NC15-20 (depending on the time of year) skin, and I really love this product. I wear 118, and it is just ever-so-slightly too dark for my face. However I tend to wear it very sheerly, so it actually perks up my face nicely. I think that in the summer time, it'll be a perfect match for me.

I like the versatility this product has. On its own, it is medium coverage, but buildable, I find. However, it also plays well with other products. I often mix this with my moisturizer for a more sheer coverage, and the finish is gorgeous. I have also had good luck mixing it with other foundations such as Revlon Colorstay. That gave me a long-wearing foundation that didn't flash back white in photographs. I find that when applying this foundation, the best way to go is either with a stippling brush or a damp sponge. I have tried it a few times with my fingers and it was somewhat on the streaky side.

This foundation wears really well on my skin and doesn't break me out. I usually just set it lightly in my t zone with a silica powder, and it doesn't get cakey throughout the day. I'm sure it'll require something a little more heavy duty to keep it in place in the summer months, but I'll adjust my routine as needed.

The only negative thing I have to say about this foundation is that it will emphasize your dry patches if you aren't properly primed and moisturized. It'll look great from 5 feet away, but when you get close to the mirror, you'll see flakes and patchiness galore. I've found that silicone-based primers don't help much, and that ones that sink more into the skin seem to help this foundation not to cling. Just a good moisturizer will do the trick though.

Overall, to me it is worth the price, and I'll be repurchasing when I run out.


Pros:
- wide variety of shades/undertones
- looks great in photographs, no spf
- can be worn sheerly, or built up for more coverage
- doesn't break out my very acne prone skin
- has a convenient, hygienic pump
- wears well throughout the day without breaking down and looking cakey
- does not emphasize the larger pores on my cheeks, even after hours of wear



Cons:
- $40+ price tag
- can emphasize dry patches if not properly exfoliated/moisturized

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2012 5:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love it!! I'll never use anything else.


on 2/28/2012 9:34:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The best foundation I have ever worn.I only wished that it had a sunblock.


on 2/28/2012 12:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this foundation. Definately HG for me. Goes on like a dream and goes so well with the HD primer. Whenever I use this foundation, my friends always tell me my skin looks flawless. I usually use this with some moisturizer under or if I am going out to a big even then I will use primer. Matches my skin perfectly. I have tried so many different foundations, I am glad I finally found one that works really great for me! I usually always set it with MAC MSF natural. LOVE LOVE LOVE. Will repurchase for sure! I recommend it to everyone who asks me for foundation recs.


on 2/27/2012 8:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have been using this product for a couple years, but im always changing foundations in between because this is no where near HG status. The only reason i keep it is because it does not irritate my skin (which is hard to come by), its lightweight and the colour is a match and with my pale skin thats pretty hard.

This foundation is NOT for anyone will combination skin. The second i put it on, i look greasy and need constant powder ontop of it. I assume this would work great for those with dry skin that want a dewy finish but thats not me. This also slides right off my face, primer or no primer. It does photograph well, but i have yet to run into a foundation that doesnt have SPF that doesnt photograph decently.

Will not repurchase... will try ELDW.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I saw soo many great revies on this product, so i was convinced!
I bought it, well actually i bought the MUFE complexion kit which came along with the foundation. When it comes to picking out the right shade, its amazing. They have SOOO many different shades you cant go wrong!
However, i have combination skin, and LARGEE pores. Along with very noticable blackheads on my noise and cheeks. And this foundation MADE IT WORSE.
On the areas where my skin wasnt as bad, like my chin and temples, the foundation works well with a foundation brush. However, if you have fine lines and combination skin, DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. It may work wonders for people with smaller pores and more of a smoother complexion, but not for my skin.

FML.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top