Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2150 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 thebreezyboo on 11/11/2011 10:25:00 AM more reviews by thebreezyboo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This USED to be my HG! Until I tried Revlon Photoready! WOW is all I can say. This was my drugstore foundation purchase in over 10 years. I grew up with Chanel and over the past cpl years have been wearing MUFE HD and MAC studiofix. I still love mufe foundation bc of the moisture it gives my skin and the overall look (esp in pictures) but it has some stiff competition!

Compared to MUFE: This has better coverage and doesnt feel "wet" like mufe does. I dont even need a concealor or to set with powder! & I have redness that I need to cover! It also lasts longer!

Compared to MAC studio fix: The coverage is similar but it doesnt feel as heavy! Also it doesnt smell bad like MAC does!

For reference:
MUFE 127
MAC NC25-30
BE-Medium Beige
Photoready- 004 Nude and 008. 004 Is good for now bc I am a little light but I will add in 008 as I get tanner. 006 IS darker than 008

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Monicawellness on 11/9/2011 4:58:00 PM more reviews by Monicawellness

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

LOOOOOVE THIS. I PUMP 2 PUMPS of face and body to give me all day coverage but since its too light i pump 1 pump of HD and gives me perfect skin all day i love love love them and they dont run out quickly

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MitchieCatalano on 11/9/2011 3:52:00 PM more reviews by MitchieCatalano

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is AMAZING, now I'm a tinted moisturizer girl so every foundation out there freaks me out because they're so thick now this foundation is light! I won't say that you won't feel it on your skin because you will ( i sheer it out with a moisturizer) The coverage is full which is why I sheer it out! it comes in tones of shades, and for the first time in my life i found something that MATCHES me I'm Turkish so I have that olivey tan that's IMPOSSIBLE to match I wear 127 and it's PERFECT. It comes with a pump as well, and it's also not that expensive because you only need the tiniest amount of it (1/2 a pump for me)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Simplicity310 on 11/8/2011 4:03:00 PM more reviews by Simplicity310

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

OMG -- where has this foundation been all of my life!?! After trying almost every department store foundation (Chanel, Bobbi Brown, Giorgio Armani, MAC, NARS, Laura Mercier, Estee Lauder, Clarins, Bare Escentuals and Lancome) -- I have finally found my HG. Most of the listed brands with the exception of Giorgio Armani, Laura Mercier, EL and Chanel broke me out horribly. I have been searching for a foundation that matches my complexion (seems easy enough --- NOT ONE BIT FOR my MAC NC43/olive undertone complexion) provides coverage, is long lasting, allows my skin to look like skin, photographs well and doesn’t break me out (I have highly sensitive, cystic acne that is calming down but horrible scarring)! This meets and exceeds everything I've ever hoped for in a foundation. This was recommended to me by a Sephora employee when I told her that I liked Giorgio Armani but hated mixing two colors and never getting quite the right color. She knew that I would enjoy a foundation with a little more "slip" to it. Initially, I was matched to #153 and it was a bit too light but I was willing to put up with it. I went back last week and matched myself to #173 and perfecto! I am so happy and this looks so amazing on. I feel confident and like I can face the world. Run, do not walk to the nearest location for this foundation ladies. :)
UPDATE 4/27/12: This foundation is very nice but definitely contributed to my breakouts. I've since stopped using it and my skin has cleared up dramatically.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msabbagh on 11/7/2011 10:19:00 PM more reviews by msabbagh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation really does make a difference in photos. I prefer it over the Revlon photoready foundation because it doesnt have shimmer like the Revlon does. It has nice coverage w/o looking like you're wearing anything. It also doesn't break me out like most foundations do. I have olive skin tone and use 127 in winter and 128 in summer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beccagc on 11/7/2011 9:39:00 PM more reviews by beccagc

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation in the fairest tone with yellow undertones. I was extremely excited to try this product because of the rave reviews on sephora and elsewhere on the web. I had seen makeup tutorials of celebrities like Kim Kardashian using it and apparently it looks flawless in photos which is a plus. So I bought it, went right home and tried it, but honestly was a little bummed. It seemed to look a lot like any other foundations i've used in the past that were much less expensive. It blended nicely but I'm unsure if it was because of the makeup or my new MAC blending sponge. Regardless, over time the product has grown on me and I do see that it's fairly good quality but it definitely doesn't last as long as its advertised to. After long shifts at work running around, when I got home, a lot of the concealer has come off. Works for looking polished, but pricey.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AMakeupAddict on 11/7/2011 5:07:00 PM more reviews by AMakeupAddict

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

If you have oily skin, do not purchase this product! I have combination skin in which my t-zone gets very oily, but my cheeks get incredibly dry, and after using this product within a matter of a couple hours my face became an oil slick. Disgusting! ALSO, the color was so dull. I can only imagine that this foundation would be good for somebody with normal to dry skin who plans to take pictures.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BreannNicole on 11/7/2011 3:25:00 AM more reviews by BreannNicole

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was not impressed with this at all. I love that they have a large color selection. But the coverage and staying power was very weak. It didnt really give me that full coverage i love.Once i added the benefit hello flawless powder it was better. But for $40 it should be able to stand alone and not need a powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 fly2sky012 on 11/6/2011 7:30:00 PM more reviews by fly2sky012

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was given a sample of this a few years ago and LOVED it! It gave great coverage, didn't break me out, went on like a dream, and felt wonderful. I don't know why I never ended up actually buying a full size of it, but I do remember loving it. So I recently went and bought the full size version, remembering how amazing the sample was. I don't know if they ended up changing the formula, but it was not good. It almost seemed like a different product it was so bad! No matter what I did, it made my skin look super dry, even with moisturizer and primer. Also, the great coverage I remember it giving was definitely not there. It looked terrible. I tried it the next day, with the same awful results. I ended up returning it. You're much better off with a drugstore foundation than this, in my opinion. I would definitely ask for a sample of it before the full size, at least.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Live4Beauty on 11/6/2011 8:24:00 AM more reviews by Live4Beauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I just recently went back to liquid foundation as my skin has been on the drier side lately. I have to say, this stuff is AMAZING. The color choices are spot on. Normally, colors are wayyyy too pink or orange for me, but 117 is a perfect match. (for reference, I was matched N5 in MAC, but it's way too dark).

The coverage is fantastic. It makes pores invisible. Once it's set with powder, it lasts all day! Will definitely repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products