Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation [DISCONTINUED]

3.6

2291 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 3/7/2012 12:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

One of my favorite foundations on the market! Love the color match and the finish! While it doesn't last all day for me, the great thing about this foundation is that when you do touch-ups, it doesn't look cakey. So I can confidently touch up by t zone around 3pm and not worry that I look like I have 5 pounds of foundation on!

http://mytakemyblog.blogspot.com/



on 3/7/2012 12:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I use this foundation with MUFE stippling brush 55N and I must say I love it so far. The coverage is medium to light, if one has dry areas or scars I do not recommend this or maybe over MUFE HD Serum that is very hydrating.
However the finish, especially for a light coverage foundation is very nice, matte but not chalky so I love it.
One other thing that makes it great for me is the unique color #115 (light) which is light enough but also pink enough to match my skin perfectly - I have yet to find another pale foundation that matches me so well.
Lasting power it's pretty good, haven't tried it in summer yet but it does not cake, ball up, or go out in streaks. When it goes it's more like a fade away which is good.
The only con is of course lack of SPF but since this is a professional brand and this foundation is aimed for indoor photo shoots especially close-ups, it's very understandable why it doesn't contain any.
I feel really happy to have found a really professional item from a professional brand.


on 3/7/2012 12:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So, I haven't written a review in years (literally) and decided it was about time to finally write one again granted my recent experience with this foundation. I have mainly bounced around various drugstore foundations (Almay, Neutrogena, Maybelline, Revlon Colorstay) as well as been a MAC StudioFix Powder user for several years. I am getting older now (25) and my skin has gone from being oily and covered in zits to being slightly dry with less to cover up. That being said, I no longer need heavy coverage or matte foundations and wanted to experiment with various "HD", 'hydrating" and satin finish foundations.

I tried MAC's Studio Sculpt (NC40) but I hated it, it was bright orange (like every other foundation I try from MAC), oxidized on me and gave me awful coverage. It looked uneven and felt like it was just sitting in my pores.

Then my boyfriend's sister recommended MUFE HD to me and I also read that it was used by several celebrities including, yes, the makeup maven herself: Kim Kardashian. The Makeup Alley reviews on it were so so but I decided to at least sample it out.

When I FIRST walked into Sephora, they matched me to 170 and 173 and gave me the respective samples. Let's just say it was way, way, way too dark. Like oompa loompa dark. I tried to get re-matched on a different occasion and the lady matched me to 153 and gave me a sample. It was much better but it still appeared too orange on me. I got frustrated and started researching swatches online and decided 140 would be my best bet so instead of getting a sample, I walked in and bought it. I was definitely getting closer to my perfect color match but this color was still a little light and too peachy. I researched swatches again and realized 127 and 140 were almost identical but 127 had more yellow to it so I went back into Sephora and exchanged it for 127. This was much warmer and a better color match for me but after wearing it for a week or two, it still wasn't perfect and though I liked the shade, the undertone still seemed off to me.

When I walked in for a personal consultation at Sephora, the lady said she wasn't a huge fan of MUFE HD and instead had me exchange the foundation entirely for NARS Sheerglow in the color Syracuse. I ended up buying it but never used to it because when I got home, her application still seemed way too golden/orangey on me and I still felt like the quality of MUFE HD was much better despite the hell I had been going through to find a good color match. I actually walked into Sephora the very next day with the NARS Sheerglow I had bought prior, sat down with a MUA and explained my entire situation. I told her how I kept getting matched to the wrong color and how MUAs were trying to steer me to other foundations like NARS and Laura Mercier but I was determined to find the right color match because I liked the foundation that much.

After doing a lot of research, I told her that I felt like the two potential best matches for me would be 123 or 128. She agreed and put both of them on my jawline and we mutually decided that 123 made my face look brighter and blended seamlessly into my skin and even managed to match my neck. She ended up applying it all over my face and patted on some HD powder to help it stay put and what can I say? After months of trying a million colors, doing online research and even being duped into buying another foundation entirely I finally found my match.

For reference, Sephora's website says that 123 (Desert) is made for light skin with olive undertones but I consider myself medium with olive undertones and I do have a slight tan. Don't let the numbers scare you, 123 is darker than 127 and 127 is darker than 140 so the numbering system is not based on the depth or darkness by any means. I have also read that all the numbers ending in 3 in this foundation are meant for olive undertones (123, 153, 173.)

I am 25 years old, an NC30 in all of MAC's liquid formulations and a C4 in MAC's Studio Fix Powder. My background is South Asian (Indian, Pakistani and Bangladeshi) as a point of reference for anyone who is as frustrated as I was. I got samples of NARS Sheerglow in Barcelona and Stromboli to find the perfect color for me in that foundation out of sheer curiosity but as for my HG foundation right now, it HAS to be MUFE HD.

It blends in perfectly, makes my skin glow and look radiant, it lasts all day and gives medium coverage with a dewy finish. I have yet to take pictures with it on but I am pretty sure it will look fantastic. Also, even if the color match is off, it blends into your skin after a few minutes so I feel like even if I get tanner or lighter, I won't have to go buy another color.

I use this with Monistat Chafing Gel as a primer, Studio Finish concealer in NW30 for my under eyes, I buff it on with Sephora's Platinum #55 Airbrush and set it with MAC's MSF in Medium Plus.

HG Status for me! :)

****Update: I tried MAC's Studio Fix Fluid, Estee Lauder Doublewear, Revlon Colorstay, Dior Nude, Tarte Full Coverage, Lancome 24 Hour Teint Idole, Clinque City Base and Stay Matte Foundation samples over the past few months and MUFE HD still wins.

26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.


on 3/6/2012 8:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I never intended to try this foundation based on people comparing the Photoready foundation by Revlon to it, as that was a bust for me. However, a knowledgeable associate at Sephora changed my mine and I am in love.

I am generally an nc20 in SFF during the winter months, and purchased this is #118. This shade has a beige undertone but surprisingly works to balance out the sallowness i have at this time of year. I initially tried shade #117, but it was a touch on the light side and the strong yellow undertone made me look jaundice.

The consistency is of a light fluid, easy to distribute and blend. It works well with a damp sponge, duo fibre, flat top kabuki and plain old fingertips. Each method give a flawless canvas without looking or feeling heavy. It is almost too perfect, as it hides my light freckles. For lighter coverage that evens skin tone and blurs imperfections you can try mixing with their HD primer which gives this a tinted moisturizer effect.

This works well with my oily tzone as I only blot once a day (I do use a primer). I also use this in conjunction with their HD primer, blush, and finishing powder. The result a completely flawless appearance. I would not wear this day to day (work from home mom) as I dont think I need to look "perfect" everyday, but it's a good option for the weekends and a night out.

Overall a good purchase and something I wish I tried sooner. Retails for $46 CDN or $89 in a kit (Includes travel sized HD primer, finishing powder and full size kabuki).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2012 1:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

If I could find the receipt and box for this, I'd return it. I bought it after a lot of careful thought because EVERYONE on youtube and online raved about it. This must be the kind of foundation that only looks good if you have perfect skin to begin with. If you have any blemishes or dry spots it's horrible. My skin isn't horrible but it isn't perfect. This foundation sucks for covering up what spots I do have, which is the point of foundation. It doesn't last. It comes off easily. I gave it three lippies instead of 1 or 2 because of the nice packaging and because the color (117) was a perfect color match for me. For reference, I wear Revlon Colorstay 150 Buff and I'm about an NC20 in mac.
I really wanted to love this foundation. I actually like the way it looks on my forehead, but as previously stated, that's because the skin on my forehead is perfect. I consider the price ridiculous, but that's only because I didn't like the foundation. If it were great, I'd consider it worth the price. Having said all that, I do love the MUFE HD primer (the white one) and the MUFE HD setting powder. But when it comes to foundation, I don't know why I keep looking for something better than Revlon Colorstay, which never lets me down. If you're tempted to buy MUFE HD because all of the beauty gurus say it's the bomb or because you want to splurge on a higher-end foundation, get a sample first. It doesn't live up to the hype, in my opinion.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2012 3:10:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Personally, I like this foundation because it has a matte finish and I almost never get that from a liquid foundation. I think only those with troubled skin would dislike this product because It's not heavy. My skin is clear, so this just makes the texture look
Awesome.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/4/2012 7:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was feeling in the mood to get a new foundation and have been hearing about this stuff. I usually wear Laura Mercier and have always been happy with that foundation, but again, was looking for a change. While I'm sure this is a great foundation, its just not for me. It felt super light on my face and I get it, no one wants to feel weighed down by make up face, but I mean, this felt almost non existent. I am definitely not feeling this for my face, I need MORE to cover this mug.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2012 8:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really like this foundation. I have combination oily skin and this doesn't slide off my face halfway through the day. I get lots of compliments on my skin when I wear it. It's a bit pricey, but totally worth it!! :)


on 3/3/2012 3:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

I'm honesty not sure about this foundation. There's just sooo much hype about it and my sister, who also owns this, recommended this to me.
So I thought "Why not?" I bought the foundation and tried it for a week. Now, my skin is pretty oily, but in the winter, it's sadly both dry and oily. Applying this foundation was a bit frustrating. I already applied this very smooth moisturizer, applied primer, then when I applied MUFE HD, all these flakes showed up! I was soo annoyed. I even tried to work WITH the foundation by exfoliating and applied more moisturizer at night, but the flakes still showed up when I used this!
Now, I'm going to return this and hunt for a foundation that doesn't flake up.
FYI, the oils on my skin showed up, despite the fact that it dried up my skin at application ARRGH


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation came highly recommended and after using it for a few months I agree that it's a great product, although it has its flaws.
Pros: It's light coverage, so it won't cover pimples or broken blood vessels, but it goes on nicely over concealers and under-eye creams, and can be built up. I find that wearing a primer and using a brush (I use Sephora Airbrush 55) really helps to make the product go farther. I felt that a lot of it got lost to my fingers when I put it on without a brush. The coverage is better than the powder foundations I've used, while it doesn't cause breakouts as much as thicker drugstore liquid foundations. It really transforms my uneven skin!
Cons: The staying power could be better, it definitely disappears over the course of the day, especially if you're prone to touching your face. It brings flaky skin into prominence, when my skin was first getting used to Retinol I'd put it on in the morning and look in the mirror at work to find my face molting off- the HD foundation was clumping to the flakes... not a good look.
Overall I'm very pleased with the product, at $40 it's not cheap, but it's far above drugstore quality. I haven't tried many of MUFE's competitors' products, but I'd rather repurchase this than play around. I advise first timers to try a few different shades (the selection is great!) before choosing as it will look different in natural light.


Back to Top