Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation

3.6

2287 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 3/5/2012 1:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

If I could find the receipt and box for this, I'd return it. I bought it after a lot of careful thought because EVERYONE on youtube and online raved about it. This must be the kind of foundation that only looks good if you have perfect skin to begin with. If you have any blemishes or dry spots it's horrible. My skin isn't horrible but it isn't perfect. This foundation sucks for covering up what spots I do have, which is the point of foundation. It doesn't last. It comes off easily. I gave it three lippies instead of 1 or 2 because of the nice packaging and because the color (117) was a perfect color match for me. For reference, I wear Revlon Colorstay 150 Buff and I'm about an NC20 in mac.
I really wanted to love this foundation. I actually like the way it looks on my forehead, but as previously stated, that's because the skin on my forehead is perfect. I consider the price ridiculous, but that's only because I didn't like the foundation. If it were great, I'd consider it worth the price. Having said all that, I do love the MUFE HD primer (the white one) and the MUFE HD setting powder. But when it comes to foundation, I don't know why I keep looking for something better than Revlon Colorstay, which never lets me down. If you're tempted to buy MUFE HD because all of the beauty gurus say it's the bomb or because you want to splurge on a higher-end foundation, get a sample first. It doesn't live up to the hype, in my opinion.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 3/5/2012 3:10:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Personally, I like this foundation because it has a matte finish and I almost never get that from a liquid foundation. I think only those with troubled skin would dislike this product because It's not heavy. My skin is clear, so this just makes the texture look
Awesome.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/4/2012 7:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was feeling in the mood to get a new foundation and have been hearing about this stuff. I usually wear Laura Mercier and have always been happy with that foundation, but again, was looking for a change. While I'm sure this is a great foundation, its just not for me. It felt super light on my face and I get it, no one wants to feel weighed down by make up face, but I mean, this felt almost non existent. I am definitely not feeling this for my face, I need MORE to cover this mug.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2012 8:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really like this foundation. I have combination oily skin and this doesn't slide off my face halfway through the day. I get lots of compliments on my skin when I wear it. It's a bit pricey, but totally worth it!! :)


on 3/3/2012 3:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

I'm honesty not sure about this foundation. There's just sooo much hype about it and my sister, who also owns this, recommended this to me.
So I thought "Why not?" I bought the foundation and tried it for a week. Now, my skin is pretty oily, but in the winter, it's sadly both dry and oily. Applying this foundation was a bit frustrating. I already applied this very smooth moisturizer, applied primer, then when I applied MUFE HD, all these flakes showed up! I was soo annoyed. I even tried to work WITH the foundation by exfoliating and applied more moisturizer at night, but the flakes still showed up when I used this!
Now, I'm going to return this and hunt for a foundation that doesn't flake up.
FYI, the oils on my skin showed up, despite the fact that it dried up my skin at application ARRGH


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation came highly recommended and after using it for a few months I agree that it's a great product, although it has its flaws.
Pros: It's light coverage, so it won't cover pimples or broken blood vessels, but it goes on nicely over concealers and under-eye creams, and can be built up. I find that wearing a primer and using a brush (I use Sephora Airbrush 55) really helps to make the product go farther. I felt that a lot of it got lost to my fingers when I put it on without a brush. The coverage is better than the powder foundations I've used, while it doesn't cause breakouts as much as thicker drugstore liquid foundations. It really transforms my uneven skin!
Cons: The staying power could be better, it definitely disappears over the course of the day, especially if you're prone to touching your face. It brings flaky skin into prominence, when my skin was first getting used to Retinol I'd put it on in the morning and look in the mirror at work to find my face molting off- the HD foundation was clumping to the flakes... not a good look.
Overall I'm very pleased with the product, at $40 it's not cheap, but it's far above drugstore quality. I haven't tried many of MUFE's competitors' products, but I'd rather repurchase this than play around. I advise first timers to try a few different shades (the selection is great!) before choosing as it will look different in natural light.


on 3/2/2012 12:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Been using the HD foundation #115 and the redness reducing primer for a couple of months and I really like them both. The foundation goes on smooth, I usually just use my fingers (if I use a foundation brush it can look streaky), and it has an almost matte finish but in a flattering way that covers pores. This foundation feels good on my skin almost powdery and has never broken me out. It def needs powder to set and I don't feel like it really lasts a full 8hr day. That's my only complaint. I would buy again, but for the $40+ price I am going to try out MAC studio finish before I come right back to this one.


on 3/1/2012 5:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I feel like I have been using this long enough to write a decent review now. I have normal to dry, acne prone, NC15-20 (depending on the time of year) skin, and I really love this product. I wear 118, and it is just ever-so-slightly too dark for my face. However I tend to wear it very sheerly, so it actually perks up my face nicely. I think that in the summer time, it'll be a perfect match for me.

I like the versatility this product has. On its own, it is medium coverage, but buildable, I find. However, it also plays well with other products. I often mix this with my moisturizer for a more sheer coverage, and the finish is gorgeous. I have also had good luck mixing it with other foundations such as Revlon Colorstay. That gave me a long-wearing foundation that didn't flash back white in photographs. I find that when applying this foundation, the best way to go is either with a stippling brush or a damp sponge. I have tried it a few times with my fingers and it was somewhat on the streaky side.

This foundation wears really well on my skin and doesn't break me out. I usually just set it lightly in my t zone with a silica powder, and it doesn't get cakey throughout the day. I'm sure it'll require something a little more heavy duty to keep it in place in the summer months, but I'll adjust my routine as needed.

The only negative thing I have to say about this foundation is that it will emphasize your dry patches if you aren't properly primed and moisturized. It'll look great from 5 feet away, but when you get close to the mirror, you'll see flakes and patchiness galore. I've found that silicone-based primers don't help much, and that ones that sink more into the skin seem to help this foundation not to cling. Just a good moisturizer will do the trick though.

Overall, to me it is worth the price, and I'll be repurchasing when I run out.


Pros:
- wide variety of shades/undertones
- looks great in photographs, no spf
- can be worn sheerly, or built up for more coverage
- doesn't break out my very acne prone skin
- has a convenient, hygienic pump
- wears well throughout the day without breaking down and looking cakey
- does not emphasize the larger pores on my cheeks, even after hours of wear



Cons:
- $40+ price tag
- can emphasize dry patches if not properly exfoliated/moisturized

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2012 5:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love it!! I'll never use anything else.


on 2/28/2012 9:34:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The best foundation I have ever worn.I only wished that it had a sunblock.


Back to Top