Urban Decay • NAKED • Palettes

rated 4.6(2166 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TiaDGB on 1/11/2012 4:44:00 PM more reviews by TiaDGB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

OVERVIEW:
Urban Decay's Naked Palette is a sleek compact of 12 eye shadows that can be used for neutral daytime looks all the way to smokey evening looks. Six of the shades already exist in Urban Decay's permanent collection and can be purchased as singles (Sin, Half Baked, Naked, Toasted, Gunmetal and Smog), one is a re-promoted shade (Sidecar, which was also in the First Edition Book of Shadows), and five are new shades (Virgin, Buck, Darkhorse, Hustle and Creep). Here is a breakdown of the shades:


Virgin- Shimmering, pale cream color. Very nice brow bone highlighter for lighter complexions (may be too pale and frosty for darker ones). Wonderful when popped onto the tear ducts to brighten the eye area.


Sin- Pink-based champagne. It has a shimmery finish. I love applying this to just the lid area of my fair complected clients.


Naked- Matte light brown. Though it's a matte color, the texture is very rich and buttery, not chalky.


Sidecar- Very hard to describe this shade in my own words, so I'll just go with Urban Decay's description: "Cocoa with golden sparkle sheen" (though I feel that this is more of a deep beige than "cocoa", the golden sheen is definitely there).


Buck- Matte medium brown. It's the darker sister of 'Naked' with the same lovely, smooth finish and great color payoff.


Half Baked- Shimmering/metallic true orange-based bronze.


Smog- Deep bronzey/brown with a slight sheen. I would not describe this shade as 'shimmery' though, more of a `luster`. MAC's 'Go' is almost identical.


Darkhorse- Deep chocolate brown with a very slight bronze sheen. The finish is very lustrous. Great crease color!


Toasted- Shimmery pink based medium brown.


Hustle- Rich, plummish chocolate brown shade with a slightly shimmery finish (leaning towards satin though).


Creep- Blue black with sliver shimmer. A nice step up from your basic black.


Gunmetal- As the name suggests, it`s a deep gunmetal gray with a silver sheen.


With the Naked Palette, you receive a mini sized Primer Potion, which is perfect for traveling. You also receive the Good Karma Eyeshadow Brush (I believe you could also get ones with eyeliners instead of the brush instead, but I`m not sure). The Good Karma brush isn`t great for eye shadow. I prefer to used it for concealer and if I do use it for shadow, it`s cream shadow.


THE PACKAGING


Sleek, elegant brown velvet compact with a mirror and a little compartment for the brush (I don`t even use the brush though so I put a pencil eyeliner in this compartment). Some people say that the gold lettering flakes off of the package over time, but it hasn`t happened to me yet and if you take care of this palette well, it shouldn`t. Overall, I love the packaging. Reminds me of a huge (unusually glamorous) chocolate bar :) I feel luxe just holding my Naked Palette lol.


THE PERFORMANCE


If you haven`t tried Urban Decay shadows yet, you`re in for a real treat. Even the matte shades are buttery smooth in texture and they pick up on a brush with ease. These shadows are HIGHLY pigmented (more so than MAC) and blend into each other seamlessly. The specific shades in the Naked Palette are just lovely. You can mix and match practically any of them and get a gorgeous look, but here`s a video of one of my favorite Naked Palette combos:



(this is great for both day and night).


THE VERDICT


This is one of my favorite pieces in my makeup collection. Several of my friends refuse to shell out $48 US on an eye shadow palette, but COME ON! You get 12 beautiful shades so you`re pretty much set in the shadow department. I truly believe that everyone should own this palette, it will make you see `neutrals` in a different light. Most cosmetic companies use bland browns and beiges when marketing `neutral` shadows, but Urban Decay takes it to a whole other level. I mean come on, it takes a lot to make neutral shadows that are not boring. Simply genius really.


And one more thing, this palette works on virtually ANY complexion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shannap on 1/10/2012 5:35:00 PM more reviews by Shannap

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is my first Urban Decay product and I was expecting a little bit more from the shadows. The one huge negative is the fallout- it is annoying. I've tried numerous brushes and techniques, but still have a lot. Still, the colors are very true and are creamy and long wearing. Although, I would have liked more matte shades. I will most likely not try naked2.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NicolaKate on 1/10/2012 3:51:00 PM more reviews by NicolaKate

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After seeing so many people raving about this palette, I wanted to try it out for myself and see what all the fuss was about. Already being a fan of Urban Decay products and their brushes, I decided to ask my boyfriend to buy it for me as a Christmas gift. I was pleasantly surprised at the packaging alone so I knew that I was in for a treat, lol. The velvet case is somewhat luxurious. On to the colours - neutrals that are so versatile yet glamorous and with excellent colour payoff! This palette is just perfect for adding a little glam to that fresh faced daily look but is also fantastic for creating smokey, sultry evening looks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xoxoCK on 1/10/2012 3:23:00 PM more reviews by xoxoCK

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this palette! The colours are beautiful, really pigmented and lasts all day! Yes, it is a little pricey, but I think it's totally worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaylaax3 on 1/10/2012 2:52:00 PM more reviews by kaylaax3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love the Naked Palette! :) The colors are gorgeous & last all day. I hate how it's so expensive though :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shar037 on 1/9/2012 11:56:00 PM more reviews by shar037

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I finally gave into peer pressure and bought this beauty!
Firstly, there is something so gratifying about having all of the colors in pallet form...as opposed to having a million MAC eyeshadows rolling around.
These colors are absolutely stunning. The pink shimmery shades are my fave. I read that someone didn't like the brush but I love it. Enough of a point to wet for eyeliner and dense enough to pick up product.
Some colors are a bit too shimery for me, but I tone them down with one of the matte colors.
Also, great for a pop of color on top of lip gloss!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sisterhazel on 1/9/2012 7:35:00 PM more reviews by Sisterhazel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I would have given this a 2 because I really don't like it, but I gave it a 3 for the long-wearing shadows. The colors are warm-toned, and extremely glittery. They end up smudged all over my eyes, regardless if I wear a primer, and my eyes just look dirty. I have tried using the "creep" and "gunmetal" colors as liners, and they smear, even with a dusting of powder on top. I rarely used this palette, favoring instead the Champagne and Caviar palette from NYX, which has cooler toned neutrals, and are more wearable for daytime. I finally removed this from my collection, and have it sitting in reserve, maybe I will put it up for swap. I've barely put a dent in any of these shadows, and it seems such a waste of $50. I just can't pull them off. I guess the quality is good, you do get quite a decent amount of shadows for your money. But why must UD make their shadows so glittery?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Koumiko on 1/9/2012 7:08:00 PM more reviews by Koumiko

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The palette comes with the UD Primer Potion, and together, this palette is a winner on my part. Eye shadows don't budge with the primer, and the brush is also very high quality and soft (however, I use other brushes with it).

It's pretty expensive, but you do get a lot of neutral shades with it, which can be used everyday and the darker shades can be used for night time looks, without looking like too much eye shadow, if applied right. I'd recommend this to anyone who is just starting out their eye collection, or if they prefer the natural look, but this palette pretty much can cover anyone's eye shadow needs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aprila220 on 1/9/2012 6:38:00 PM more reviews by aprila220

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've wanted this forever & now that I've got it, I'm not disappointed! My only thing I wasn't thrilled with was the brush it came with, it sucks. I would have rather had the eyeliner but it wasn't an option at Ulta when I recently got mine. So I use my own brushes, but I love all the colors (I like metallic shadows). Also, I've never had any "high-end" shadows before, only drug store like Revlon, Loreal, etc so this was a special treat for me...and I'm a happy camper.
<3 Urban Decay :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goldfish5555 on 1/7/2012 10:05:00 PM more reviews by goldfish5555

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not one of the people who went crazy for this palatte. I liked a couple of the colors in there such as naked, but in general the browns/golds were so sparkly and the lighter blue one is pretty but produced a lot of glitter fallout. Everyone loves this thing so I feel weird saying it, but the truth will set you free! If you're not a huge fan of glittery, shimmery, gold toned shadows then this might not be the palatte for you.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Palettes products