Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2135 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 beccagc on 11/7/2011 9:39:00 PM more reviews by beccagc

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation in the fairest tone with yellow undertones. I was extremely excited to try this product because of the rave reviews on sephora and elsewhere on the web. I had seen makeup tutorials of celebrities like Kim Kardashian using it and apparently it looks flawless in photos which is a plus. So I bought it, went right home and tried it, but honestly was a little bummed. It seemed to look a lot like any other foundations i've used in the past that were much less expensive. It blended nicely but I'm unsure if it was because of the makeup or my new MAC blending sponge. Regardless, over time the product has grown on me and I do see that it's fairly good quality but it definitely doesn't last as long as its advertised to. After long shifts at work running around, when I got home, a lot of the concealer has come off. Works for looking polished, but pricey.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AMakeupAddict on 11/7/2011 5:07:00 PM more reviews by AMakeupAddict

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

If you have oily skin, do not purchase this product! I have combination skin in which my t-zone gets very oily, but my cheeks get incredibly dry, and after using this product within a matter of a couple hours my face became an oil slick. Disgusting! ALSO, the color was so dull. I can only imagine that this foundation would be good for somebody with normal to dry skin who plans to take pictures.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BreannNicole on 11/7/2011 3:25:00 AM more reviews by BreannNicole

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was not impressed with this at all. I love that they have a large color selection. But the coverage and staying power was very weak. It didnt really give me that full coverage i love.Once i added the benefit hello flawless powder it was better. But for $40 it should be able to stand alone and not need a powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 fly2sky012 on 11/6/2011 7:30:00 PM more reviews by fly2sky012

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was given a sample of this a few years ago and LOVED it! It gave great coverage, didn't break me out, went on like a dream, and felt wonderful. I don't know why I never ended up actually buying a full size of it, but I do remember loving it. So I recently went and bought the full size version, remembering how amazing the sample was. I don't know if they ended up changing the formula, but it was not good. It almost seemed like a different product it was so bad! No matter what I did, it made my skin look super dry, even with moisturizer and primer. Also, the great coverage I remember it giving was definitely not there. It looked terrible. I tried it the next day, with the same awful results. I ended up returning it. You're much better off with a drugstore foundation than this, in my opinion. I would definitely ask for a sample of it before the full size, at least.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Live4Beauty on 11/6/2011 8:24:00 AM more reviews by Live4Beauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I just recently went back to liquid foundation as my skin has been on the drier side lately. I have to say, this stuff is AMAZING. The color choices are spot on. Normally, colors are wayyyy too pink or orange for me, but 117 is a perfect match. (for reference, I was matched N5 in MAC, but it's way too dark).

The coverage is fantastic. It makes pores invisible. Once it's set with powder, it lasts all day! Will definitely repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 atomickittenlove on 11/3/2011 12:43:00 PM more reviews by atomickittenlove

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

EDIT 2: After I stopped using my primer (Hourglass mineral veil) my skin has improved significantly and now this foundation works like a charm! I'm also applying it with a #56 Sephora foundation brush which does create a much nicer finish. Here's my current routine that's working for me:
1.Moisturize
2.HD Foundation (sometimes I mix in a bit of MUFE face and body for more dimensional colour)
3.Let dry
4. Set with essence translucent powder
5. Spray avene thermal water
6. Let dry
7. Finish rest of makeup (blush, eyes, etc)
8. Spray with MUFE setting spray
Result: flawless!

EDIT: so after a year and a bit of wearing MUFE HD, I finally decided that it's not working the way I want for the money I pay. It just doesn't stay on!! And well I don't think its aggravated my skin, I don't think it's done me any favours either. I wasn't too satisfied with the coverage either (didn't hide my acne scars). I've switched to Revlon Colorstay - it's only been a week but RC totally beats MUFE HD in my opinion.

Oh ya and the lid keeps cracking and breaking - which really annoys me!

------------------

Love this makeup's finish and coverage. HOWEVER, I'm not sure if this clogs my pores or not.

Pros:
Pump is awesome
Blends well
Perfect color match
Doesn't oxidize
Lasts more than 5 hours (if set with powder)
Medium coverage
Goes on nice with fingers

Cons:
Slides off in humidity (without powder)
Pricey - but I think its worth it
NO SPF!!! Huge con for me.

I've been wearing it for about a month- I'm going to buy the matte velvet plus today to see if that gives me the coverage I need on my scars. Also need to find a primer or something with sunscreen..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissLoiss on 10/30/2011 4:36:00 PM more reviews by MissLoiss

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I don't see why this product has so many negative reviews. I absolutely love this product, down to the packaging. The line comes is SO MANY shades. Made for everyone. The foundation is a full coverage but is so light, I can breathe through it just fine. And it control much of my oil. It's a bit pricey, broke my bank for that week. But lasts long time, it's my sixth month with this product and it looks like I haven't even dent it. But overall, I love this product. I will try other foundations, but if I ever run out I WILL buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jessitanner on 10/30/2011 1:20:00 PM more reviews by jessitanner

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Pros
- the bottle lasts you a long time
- lots of color choices, from very pale skin tones to darker ones. It matched my NC/NW20 skintone & was not at all orange on my (as almost all other foundations that I have tried are).

Cons
-can cake sometimes.
- although the coverage is medium & buildable, sometimes it did not provide me with enough coverage.
- did not last very long....sometimes an hour or 2 after putting on this on, it was gone

Conclusion
- It's not the best foundation I've ever used nor the worst. It's in the middle. Would I buy it again? I'd rather try other foundations to find my HG one but I find a lot of foundations dont come in my skin tone (I'm quite fair) and this one did have one that suited my skintone just right. So as I am on the hunt for an HG foundation, I always have this one on my counter as a back up.
- I find myself going back to this foundation time and time again. I've recently compared it with Estee Lauder's double wear and would prefer the MUFE HD to EL Double Wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cassidyjean117 on 10/28/2011 8:40:00 PM more reviews by cassidyjean117

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm really surprised at the many negative reviews of this foundation. I have been wanting to try this foundation ever since I swatched it at Sephora 2 years ago. Of course the price tag was something that deterred from trying it for so long. Finally after receiving a very generous Sephora gift card from a friend I worked up the nerve to purchase this in Ivory #115. It ended up being the perfect shade despite my poor color choices on previous online purchases. The consistency is what I absolutely love about this product. Its technically a liquid but its quite creamy and perfect for my dry skin. It stays on through out the day and offers great full coverage. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for flawless skin. Will definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kim84 on 10/27/2011 7:42:00 PM more reviews by kim84

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

ok, so It's gotta be me! I hate this foundation. I keep trying and trying to love it, but it doesn't seem to stay on. If anyone has any tips PLEASE let me know, because I'm stumped. I am mac nw20/22, and I bought 118, which both Sephora Rep and those nifty little makeup charts suggest. Tried it and it went on kinda dry, used both a stippling brush, and then again with a beauty blender. I felt it was kind of light. I kinda like my foundations maybe a tiny bit darker, so I don't look like the living dead. I don't have overly greasy skin. And it's not overly dry. It depends on the day. Lately it's been on the drier side. I used moisterizer. I used primer. Didn't last. I ordered a 2nd color to mix this with. I got 125 and added a little to the 118, and used a foundation brush. I had spoken to someone at sephora, and she recommended not moisterizing in the am, but at night, and just using primer. Did that, nothing. And the 125 looks like the same color as the 118.. I want that flawless face that Kim K gets from this stuff, and I can't figure it out. Just bought Embryolisse to try tomorrow. If that doesn't work, back it goes. Anyone who has any tips, PLEASE, please let me know!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products