Urban Decay NAKED

4.6

2270 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Urban Decay is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Gunmetal Ingredients: Talc,Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Zinc Stearate,Polyethylene Terephthalate,Methylparaben,Acrylates Copolymer,Propylparaben Sidecar Ingredients: Polyethylene Terephthalate,Talc,Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Zinc Stearate,Acrylates Copolymer,Methylparaben,Propylparaben Half Baked Ingredients: Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Talc,Zinc Stearate,Methylparaben,Propylparaben Sin, Smog, Toasted Ingredients: Talc,Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Zinc Stearate,Methylparaben,Propylparaben Darkhorse, Hustle, Virgin Ingredients: Talc,Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Zinc Stearate,Phenoxyethanol,Sodium Dehyroacetate,Sorbic Acid Buck Ingredients: Talc,Zinc Stearate,Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Phenoxyethanol,Sodium Dehyroacetate,Sorbic Acid Naked Ingredients: Zinc Stearate,Dimethicone,Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Magnesium Carbonate,Phenoxyethanol,Sodium Dehyroacetate,Sorbic Acid Creep Ingredients: Talc,Ethylhexyl Palmitate,Zinc Stearate, Phenoxyethanol,Sodium Dehyroacetate,Sorbic Acid,Tin Oxide All shades may contain: CI 77019 (Mica), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 75470 (Carmine), CI 77742 (Manganese Violet), CI 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyanide), CI 77288 (Chromium Oxide Greens), CI 77289 (Chromium Hydroxide Green), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), CI 77000 (Aluminum Powder), CI 77400 (Bronze Powder), CI 19140 (Yellow 5 lake), CI 42090 (Blue 1 Lake) Cyclopentasiloxane,C11-12 Isoparaffin,Paraffin,Polybutene,Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil,Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil,Ceresin,Ozokerite,Cera Microcristallina (Microcrystalline Wax),Phenoxyethanol,Tocopherol ,Ascorbyl Palmitate,CI 77491/77492/77499 (Iron Oxides),CI 77019 (Mica) May Contain: CI 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyandie)


on 3/27/2012 11:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This palette is GREAT! They are so worth the $50.00!



on 3/26/2012 4:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love my Naked Palette, and even though I only use about half of these colors, I still think it is worth it.

PROS
- Shadows are a sizeable amount
- Neutral, everyday-usable shades that are easy to build up
- My favourites are Virgin (LOVE), Sin, Half-Baked and Smog
- I prefer the layout of the shadows compared to Naked 2
- Good for makeup beginners

CONS
- Too many sparkly shades
- The velvet packaging gets dirty too easily
- I kind of wish I waited for the Naked 2, haha

OVERALL: Buy this if your eyeshadow collection is not super huge, its probably the best set to start off with. I will be waiting for the day they release a Matte Version.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The only reason I said i would not repurchase this product is because its $50 frickin dollars! I can understand why because it is such a good product, but seriously?! Ridiculous. I really really like this palette, but I do have one complaint; When trying to do a smokey eye, these colors will absolutely not do it! I try to put dark horse on the outer corners of my eye and side car on the inner lid, and it looked horrible! There is no inbetween colors in this palette, and that does make me mad. Anyway, This is still a pretty good product, I just wouldn't buy it again


on 3/24/2012 7:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Not a fan!

But I sure wanted to love it. I'm fair with freckles, dirty blonde hair that's fine and a little limp. I was in need of a pick me up and I was hoping to get some of the smoky Kardashian eye magic happening, since it clearly would never happen in the hair department!

Once in Sephora, I ignored the niggling little voice in my head that was saying, "Hmmm there sure seems to be a lot of glittery fall out and, erm, the left side of the palette is a little muddy in colour." I figured if everyone else loved the palette I would, too.

No dice.

For me the left side of the palette is too way muddy. The colours do nothing for me and rather than creating a smoky eye, they create a sickly eye. The colours melt and merge into a ghastly khaki and then melt downwards, pooling in the crease at first and then migrating to my lash line and finally under my eye. Add to that the glittery fall out and by 1 pm I'm constantly swiping an ever increasing smear of craptastic khaki from underneath my eye and feeling like a hot mess.

Not fun.

And let's talk about the glittery fallout, shall we? Sidecar, a pinky brown neutral with glitter galore, really should be my favourite colour, and it should be flattering. But there is nothing flattering about a 34 year old woman witch chunks of glitter all over her cheeks (not to mention the colour translates to just 'meh' on my skin). And to those who say, well, use a piece of paper under your eye when applying to catch fall out, I say: BAH. at $60 CDN this shit should practically apply itself.

Plus the primer was a joke. Everything I mentioned above was increased by 200% percent by using the primer, versus not.

But, in all fairness i have come to rely on sin as my go-to for a simple eye, with virgin as brow highlight. Buck is great for my brows, or, to use as a base, underneath sin, to add depth and make the colour pop (which begs the question, isn't that what the primer is supposed to do?)

And, the brush really works for me. I use it for other shadows and it makes even the most powdery of shadows a bit more creamy in texture and builds and blends nicely.

((HINT-- if you're colouring is similar to mine look into the The Balm's shadows. Insane Jane and Just this once Jamie are amazing as a base either on their own or blended and devilish danielle is a fab highlighter on the brow bone and corner of the eye. Just sezzin'))



21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2012 6:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm not the best at eye shadow application so this is from a totally amatuer perspective! I find the colours are nice basic nudes but what surprise me, and disappointed me, the most was the glittery shadow falls all over the eye area, under it etc. This is very odd for an expensive product. I think the quality of the shadow is not fantastic but he variety and colours make up for it. I apply it facing the table so that I don't end up covered in glitter. I would like to try Naked II, I think it would be less samey in terms of the gold tones that seem to be in most of the shadows. I'll use it as I invested in it and perhaps will learn to use it better!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2012 3:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I finally caved in and bought the naked palette when I saw that Sephora had it in stock. I had a hard time deciding between the original Naked palette and the Naked 2 palette but I really wanted to try the eye shadow primer so I got the first one. The colours are a good mix of matte neutrals and shimmery bronzes along with some nice sparkly shades. The eye shadow primer is amazing as it amplifies the colours of all the shadows put on top of it and it keeps my eye makeup on until I wash it off. I would have preferred the kit with the double-ended eyeliner or the double-ended brush but this shader brush did an okay job of packing on the shadow.

For an everyday look, I apply naked all over the lid to mattiify and hide any discolouration. I then put sin on the inner corners and virgin on the brow bone for highlight. I like to put a wash of half baked focusing on the centre of the lid and blending outwards. Sometimes I like to add dark horse or smog in the outer v. Lastly I use creep as an eyeliner and then I'm ready to go! If I am running late, I'll only put sidecar on because it is a gorgeous sparkly bronze colour that works by itself.

The naked palette is great for creating smoky eyes for a night out, but personally I don't like the look of a smoky eye on me so I change it up a bit. I put half baked all over the lid and smudge toasted in the crease with hustle in the outer v. This creates a cool golden purple look that looks great with my tanned skin.

Naked and Buck are also great colours to use on the brow and I personally like to mix them to get the perfect colour.


on 3/24/2012 1:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I already have filled a palette of almost 30 various Mac and other brands of neutral shadows and didn't feel the need to get this although I did secretly kind of want it. I was really happy when my boyfriend got me this as a gift. I've also seen the shades from both this and the Naked II but the original Naked appealed to me a lot more. Even though I thought that I didn't need it, I find myself using this a lot since I got it. All of the shades are absolutely beautiful neutral colors and they can mix and match for so many different looks. It's very handy to have a set of beautiful neutral shades all in one palette. The packaging is also fantastic, I love the velvety fabric exterior and also that it doesn't add much bulk and has a mirror and a slot for a brush. The brush provided also works well for cream shadow bases although not so well for shadows since its synthetic and doesn't pick up powder well. These shades and Urban Decay shadows in general have a bit more fallout than Mac ones but its not enough to bother me. I think this is a must have for most people, even if you do already own a lot of neutrals like I do. I find that there are nuanced shades in the palette that I don't already have and its just a great product to travel with or use on days that you want no brainer shadow combinations. The shadows are also very pigmented. It's just amazing to find a palette where all the shades are spot on good quality.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/21/2012 7:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Wouldn't buy again because I'd need to go international to do it and the ratio of shimmer to matte is too high - as such I don't think I'll ever get through it all.


I bought this palette in France when I was travelling for a year and sick of only having a choice of two Bobbi Brown Gel Eyeliners to use as both shadow and liner. It travelled really well and none of the shadows have shattered even after having some rather rough experiences. The mirror did crack on the very second day though. All it needed was a little bit of pressure applied to the top but luckily it didn't get in the eyeshadows. Have to admit, I didn't really test how the velvet case travels completely on its own. I kept it in the plastic box it came in for water and dust proofing purposes.


My palette came with the shadow brush and not the double ended pencil. That was a disappointing surprise at first. I didn't check the bottom of the box before I purchased, obviously. But, as my trip wore on, I was grateful that that was what it came with. Although I haven't really used it since I got back, that brush did everything I asked it to while I was on the road. It applies shadow really well, can even be used for some rudimentary blending and is effective at smudging liner and for lower lash line work. Also liked the fact that it's a kit brush with a long handle: just a preference.


Shadows themselves are really pigmented and soft. For a long time, the brush in the kit was the only one I had (and later I picked up a No. 7 Blending Brush) so for much of the time I was blending with my fingers. Not great if you're going for intricacy obviously, but for a variety of smoky eyes on a night out it was absolutely fine.


I would say this is one to consider if you're going on a trip and want a variety of shadows for wearable night time looks. Just make sure to keep the case in something that will keep it protected from water and keep it closed. You don't want shadow dust all over your clothing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Best $50 spent on make-up to date. All the neutrals have enough shimmer and sparkle to be sexy and they all combine very well with one another. Only reservation: if you don't like glitter on your face by the end of the night, try a different brand!


on 3/20/2012 10:16:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I USE NOTHING ELSE:
There is everything to love about this palette. I love the the colour range of shadows, the quality, pigmentation, staying power, and the multitude of looks achievable from just the one source!
After receiving it as a gift, I have not used any other eye shadows.
There are shades that can be used to highlight, contour and line; colour combinations for everyday and even for prom; and can be used to create both understated and dramatic looks.
It makes a great gift for girlfriends!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Palettes


Contour Kit
Contour Kit
91 Reviews
The Nudes
The Nudes
98 Reviews
NAKED
NAKED
2269 Reviews
PRO Palette
PRO Palette
245 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

New Year's Eve & Party Smokey Makeup Tutorial! 2015 by Angie Wilches

Bronzed Naked Palette Tutorial! by fashionista804

How to Look Like Kim Kardashian- Smoky & Glowy Makeup Tutorial- Naked Palette! by OMGigi

Urban Decay Naked Palette Neutral Tutorial by ShyGirlBeauty

Top Rated Palettes

image

MAC 15-PAN

190 reviews


Top Rated Urban Decay Products

image

Toasted

143 reviews
image

Vice 2

44 reviews
image

Sin

331 reviews
image

Half Baked

197 reviews
Back to Top