Urban Decay • NAKED • Palettes

rated 4.6(2161 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 pmangelo on 1/13/2012 10:29:00 PM more reviews by pmangelo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Until I bought this palette, I was a drugstore-only cosmetics consumer -- now I am ruined forever :), thanks to the terrific colors and pigmentation. Given the quality, this is really a great value -- I also have Naked 2 and think the two palettes compliment each other nicely.Clearly, this is a gateway product...because I also have become addicted to the primer that came with these shadows!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jazztap10 on 1/13/2012 11:53:00 AM more reviews by jazztap10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I couldn't decide between picking a 3 or 4 for this product. The eyeshadows are definitely fantastic quality, that's for sure. They blend really well and last all day. I was quite disappointed in the colours though. I didn't expect them to be quite so shimmery, and I personally prefer matte colours. I can't fault the palette for that though, because I should have realized that they were too shimmery for me from the swatches. Overall, it's good quality palette, but it just isn't for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AshleyBillxo on 1/13/2012 11:33:00 AM more reviews by AshleyBillxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

im not a person who wears eyeshadow everyday but if i do then i'll always be wearing neutrals. this pallet is perfect for someone like me it has every color you'd need to create tons of day to night looks and all the shadows are in one place. there very pigmented and such gorgeous colors i dont see how anyone couldnt like this pallet i think urban decay were genius to make this !!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* christi4200 on 1/13/2012 9:57:00 AM more reviews by christi4200

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted the NAKED palette for over a year, and I finally received one for Christmas from my lovely mom. I was ecstatic, and definitely not disappointed with it- it actually far surpassed my expectations. My mom had a $15 off Sephora coupon too, so this only ended up costing $33 US. How freakin awesome is that? It's certainly worth the full price of $48 tho, but I'll get into that in a sec. Everything has been said about this palette already, and I'll just add to the majority when I say that these shadows are very richly pigmented, blend like a dream, and are incredibly buttery. A lot of people complain about fallout, and there IS a little, I'm not gonna lie, but it's not enough to bother me, or lower my rating. It's also nothing that tapping off the excess from your brush when u dip into the shadow, or a good primer can't help. UDPP is great, but a more affordable dupe for that is by Palladio, (avail @ Sally's/Ulta), called Herbal e/s primer, it's $8 I believe.

I'm a warm toned NC30-40 (depending on the time of year), and these shadows suit me very well. However, my mom is much more fair, around NC 10-15, and these shades also suit her, such as Virgin (a fantastic highlighter, and brightener for the tear ducts), Naked (a great blending shade), Sin (great for a simple wash all over the lid), & Toasted (also great for all over the lid and up into the crease as well), to name a few. There are several other shades that suit her pale complexion too, in fact, except Half Baked, all of them work great on her.

Also, for the life of me, I just cannot get over anyone saying this palette is expensive. That absolutely boggles my mind, and I am NOT rich by any stretch of the imagination. (I'm a single mom on a tight budget actually). But, you get 12 x Full Size (1.3 g or 0.05 oz.) *gorgeous* eyeshadows for $48--12 full size e/s that as singles are $17 each. If you were to purchase them separately, you would spend $204. Not to mention, it includes a very decent brush (that is really fab for concealer btw) and a mini primer potion that you get several uses out of since you only need the tiniest bit for both lids. I used to be a mostly drugstore makeup girl before MUA got its' hands on me, and I still thought this was a great deal even then. (And I was MUCH cheaper then!) So please stop complaining that this is expensive ladies, because it's NOT. You'd pay nearly the same price as this palette costs for 12 Maybelline, Revlon, or CG eyeshadows bought separately at the drugstore! (and they wouldn't come with a brush, primer, or be nearly as good quality either.) If this cost $60, it would still be worth it.

As I said, I've discovered that the synthetic brush included with this palette is absolutely fantastic for concealer. It's good for patting/packing color on the lids too, but I mostly use it with my LM secret camoflage, or MAC Studio Finish concealer, and it works brilliantly. And a great little tip for the primer potion, that I must pass on, is it makes a FAB under-eye primer as well as on the lids. It creates a smooth, wonderful base for your concealer, helping to stop creasing and makes ur concealer last longer. Especially if ur like me, and u dislike powdering to set your under-eye concealer.

Anyway, there are so, so many looks you can achieve with this palette, whether it's a dramatic party look, or a barely there natural Sunday church-going look :) I say buy it. And I will probably be purchasing NAKED 2 as well, but I have to make sure they're not too similar first by swatching N2 in person. Who am I kidding, I will buy it anyway lol. I hope this review helped somebody make a decision. =)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fallingashes93 on 1/13/2012 12:14:00 AM more reviews by fallingashes93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the perfect palette. The colors are so gorgeous and well pigmented. It is also a great value. It's the only eyeshadows I use when I want to do something besides mascara and liquid eyeliner. Amazing I got my eye on naked palette 2

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TiaDGB on 1/11/2012 4:44:00 PM more reviews by TiaDGB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

OVERVIEW:
Urban Decay's Naked Palette is a sleek compact of 12 eye shadows that can be used for neutral daytime looks all the way to smokey evening looks. Six of the shades already exist in Urban Decay's permanent collection and can be purchased as singles (Sin, Half Baked, Naked, Toasted, Gunmetal and Smog), one is a re-promoted shade (Sidecar, which was also in the First Edition Book of Shadows), and five are new shades (Virgin, Buck, Darkhorse, Hustle and Creep). Here is a breakdown of the shades:


Virgin- Shimmering, pale cream color. Very nice brow bone highlighter for lighter complexions (may be too pale and frosty for darker ones). Wonderful when popped onto the tear ducts to brighten the eye area.


Sin- Pink-based champagne. It has a shimmery finish. I love applying this to just the lid area of my fair complected clients.


Naked- Matte light brown. Though it's a matte color, the texture is very rich and buttery, not chalky.


Sidecar- Very hard to describe this shade in my own words, so I'll just go with Urban Decay's description: "Cocoa with golden sparkle sheen" (though I feel that this is more of a deep beige than "cocoa", the golden sheen is definitely there).


Buck- Matte medium brown. It's the darker sister of 'Naked' with the same lovely, smooth finish and great color payoff.


Half Baked- Shimmering/metallic true orange-based bronze.


Smog- Deep bronzey/brown with a slight sheen. I would not describe this shade as 'shimmery' though, more of a `luster`. MAC's 'Go' is almost identical.


Darkhorse- Deep chocolate brown with a very slight bronze sheen. The finish is very lustrous. Great crease color!


Toasted- Shimmery pink based medium brown.


Hustle- Rich, plummish chocolate brown shade with a slightly shimmery finish (leaning towards satin though).


Creep- Blue black with sliver shimmer. A nice step up from your basic black.


Gunmetal- As the name suggests, it`s a deep gunmetal gray with a silver sheen.


With the Naked Palette, you receive a mini sized Primer Potion, which is perfect for traveling. You also receive the Good Karma Eyeshadow Brush (I believe you could also get ones with eyeliners instead of the brush instead, but I`m not sure). The Good Karma brush isn`t great for eye shadow. I prefer to used it for concealer and if I do use it for shadow, it`s cream shadow.


THE PACKAGING


Sleek, elegant brown velvet compact with a mirror and a little compartment for the brush (I don`t even use the brush though so I put a pencil eyeliner in this compartment). Some people say that the gold lettering flakes off of the package over time, but it hasn`t happened to me yet and if you take care of this palette well, it shouldn`t. Overall, I love the packaging. Reminds me of a huge (unusually glamorous) chocolate bar :) I feel luxe just holding my Naked Palette lol.


THE PERFORMANCE


If you haven`t tried Urban Decay shadows yet, you`re in for a real treat. Even the matte shades are buttery smooth in texture and they pick up on a brush with ease. These shadows are HIGHLY pigmented (more so than MAC) and blend into each other seamlessly. The specific shades in the Naked Palette are just lovely. You can mix and match practically any of them and get a gorgeous look, but here`s a video of one of my favorite Naked Palette combos:



(this is great for both day and night).


THE VERDICT


This is one of my favorite pieces in my makeup collection. Several of my friends refuse to shell out $48 US on an eye shadow palette, but COME ON! You get 12 beautiful shades so you`re pretty much set in the shadow department. I truly believe that everyone should own this palette, it will make you see `neutrals` in a different light. Most cosmetic companies use bland browns and beiges when marketing `neutral` shadows, but Urban Decay takes it to a whole other level. I mean come on, it takes a lot to make neutral shadows that are not boring. Simply genius really.


And one more thing, this palette works on virtually ANY complexion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shannap on 1/10/2012 5:35:00 PM more reviews by Shannap

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is my first Urban Decay product and I was expecting a little bit more from the shadows. The one huge negative is the fallout- it is annoying. I've tried numerous brushes and techniques, but still have a lot. Still, the colors are very true and are creamy and long wearing. Although, I would have liked more matte shades. I will most likely not try naked2.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NicolaKate on 1/10/2012 3:51:00 PM more reviews by NicolaKate

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After seeing so many people raving about this palette, I wanted to try it out for myself and see what all the fuss was about. Already being a fan of Urban Decay products and their brushes, I decided to ask my boyfriend to buy it for me as a Christmas gift. I was pleasantly surprised at the packaging alone so I knew that I was in for a treat, lol. The velvet case is somewhat luxurious. On to the colours - neutrals that are so versatile yet glamorous and with excellent colour payoff! This palette is just perfect for adding a little glam to that fresh faced daily look but is also fantastic for creating smokey, sultry evening looks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xoxoCK on 1/10/2012 3:23:00 PM more reviews by xoxoCK

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this palette! The colours are beautiful, really pigmented and lasts all day! Yes, it is a little pricey, but I think it's totally worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaylaax3 on 1/10/2012 2:52:00 PM more reviews by kaylaax3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love the Naked Palette! :) The colors are gorgeous & last all day. I hate how it's so expensive though :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Palettes products